6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Demon Hunter V2, Patch 1.05 - More survivabilities!

polarzbearz
post Nov 21 2012, 07:00 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(Gecko @ Nov 21 2012, 05:31 PM)
Thinking of changing my Cala with LS to another rare hxbow (want to make sure that extra CD can increase my overall dps or not).
Try this DPS calculator. Pretty good for a DH I'd say. I'm always using it to check DPS gain/loss before making my purchases.
polarzbearz
post Nov 22 2012, 10:36 AM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(fallenrav @ Nov 21 2012, 09:50 PM)
yo, new in town, been away from d3 for a while and finally back in action...
although the difficulties are lower now, but i see everywhere ppl are using those gears that i am not really familiar with...

any suggestion for my dh to get higher dps?
which skills are good to play currently?

thank you all sifus in advance...
my profile
http://us.battle.net/d3/en/profile/fallenr...3/hero/10733335
First upgrade your amulet, then shoes, and then rings if possible (CC+CD+AVG DMG+DEX or CD+ASPD+AVG DMG + DEX or any other combinations).

For itemisations, you can refer to others profile here to get an overall idea on how to build your DH, like:-
- 2890's (http://eu.battle.net/d3/en/profile/SwSw-2890/hero/3515351)
- Lau Pan's (http://us.battle.net/d3/en/profile/wahlau-2762/hero/4700324)
- etc..

Added on

[attachmentid=3168687]

Anyway, I've just hit pLvl 70 and gonna uninstall D3 and go hiatus a little.. need to concentrate back onto life and get serious a little, too many works held back laugh.gif

Here's my stats before going hiatus again. Hopefully item values don't drop tooooo much a I'm really lazy to convert my items to gold; and then re-purchasing them again when I starts playing again.

@2890: Hope to see that you'll hit your dream target (200k+SOJ) by the time when I starts playing laugh.gif, and best if Region Transfer + PvP is made avail.

This post has been edited by polarzbearz: Nov 22 2012, 11:43 AM
polarzbearz
post Nov 22 2012, 12:37 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(d3dragonslayer @ Nov 22 2012, 11:45 AM)
@polarzbearz
all the best to your life and d3 life is always be here waiting for you icon_rolleyes.gif
Thanks! laugh.gif

QUOTE(2890 @ Nov 22 2012, 12:34 PM)
Aduh, how long you go hiatus man? I'm gonna be less active also. Gonna start my studies soon as well.

Nice AR and yeah i hope you get your 200k DPS and 100k HP target. Or have you done so? =D
If things go right should be until late Jan 2013.. unless I've completed all my tasks early tongue.gif

Still haven't achieve my target yet. Currently sitting at roughly 193 / 90.. kinda hard to squeeze 10k more HP now as it's hard to increase Life % / VIT now sad.gif

This post has been edited by polarzbearz: Nov 22 2012, 12:37 PM
polarzbearz
post Nov 22 2012, 07:37 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(fallenrav @ Nov 22 2012, 07:25 PM)
both of your eqs are awesome...
i am now left with less than 2 mil of gold sad.gif still struggling to get more, upgrading the items little by little...

Actually my play style is a bit old, 2h xbow with primary focus on the dps... (inherit from 1.0.4... sad.gif)
so currently is glass cannon build i would say...

my current active skills are both hatred generator, evasive fire for crowd and hunger arrow for elite...
still havent have much clue what to go ahead for...
this active skills also from 1.0.4, survived thru act 2 biggrin.gif
stuck at act 3 :/

any friendly advice for fellow dh to get to where you are currently?
Playing style / build wise:

I see you using SA + ShSh + Archery. Try dropping ShSh for Tactical Advantage, it's crazily effective for kiting and keeping max distance / off-screen distance from elites at a lower-cost (than SS). Also instead of using two hatred generator skill, use only one or the another (HA is more suited IMO, due to it's nature for kiting, and also since you're already using it for packs.). After that you gotta need a skill to deal with mob packs, which I prefer Elemental Arrow due to it's range & number of hits (good for proc-ing Night Stalker; if you are using it). As for Smoke Screen, I tend to replace it with Vault:Tumble due to 1) lower discipline cost (spammability) and 2) easier to use for keeping distance (press-aim-continue shooting). Instead of using ferret, I use Bat for better hatred regeneration to spam Elemental Arrow: Ball Lightning. Shadow Power: Gloom is a must in almost every build - for elites / main HP regeneration skill, especially reflect damages.

So you skill build should look something like this:

Hungering Arrow: SoT / DA
Elemental Arrow: BL
Vault: Tumble (or SmokeScreen: Lingering Fog if you insist)
Shadow Power: Gloom
Companion: Bat
Preparation: Focused Mind (for <40 disc) or Backup Plan (for >=40 disc)

Passives: Steady Aim, Archery, Tactical Advantage (when your DPS is at a more comfortable level, drop Steady Aim for Vengeance OR Night Stalker)

I'm not saying this is a must but it'll smooth out farming quite a little, of course that'll depend on your playing style. But this should generally fit most of the DH's

As for Equipment / itemisation wise;

Can't really help much there as a total revamp will cost a lot. But a general tip is start from equipments that give you MORE-DPS-per-COST ratio (e.g. 10m for +12k DPS w/o SS; vs 5m for +9k DPS w/o SS. The 5m is a better choice of upgrading; UNLESS the 10m is a cheap cheap cheap deal). Like I mentioned previously, start with amulet as it'll give the most dps-per-cost in your current setup, IMO.

And finally, like 2890 said - you can refer to my profile for itemisation ideas too, if you prefer moving towards a more tanky build (basically minimum kiting and face-tank most packs, and even better when combined with defensive skills like Guardian Turret + Numbling Traps.)

Added on
@2890: Just checked diabloprogress again, I'm one step closer to my target already laugh.gif

This post has been edited by polarzbearz: Nov 22 2012, 08:09 PM
polarzbearz
post Nov 22 2012, 08:00 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(2890 @ Nov 22 2012, 07:52 PM)
@polarzbearz

Yeah, i saw it. 196k and 930K. So you need 4k more and 70k. I have 196k and 600k (with amethyst). How can we get extra 4k without upgrading the manticore? I think amulet is my only way.

oh btw, i checked a 1.2k + 2OS manticore gives me a 50k DPS boost. INSANE
WTF 50k boost? shocking.gif
Additional 100% crit (2OS 127x DPS) will give me 32.9k boost only tho. Need more ASPD + CritRate for DPS boost sweat.gif

4k DPS + 70k EHP is kinda hard for my current set-up already I think. Losing Life% will drop my EHP (to pump DPS); and maintaining DPS for more EHP will be crazy too. Affordable ones I think should be bracer (+30~50 total combined stats of DEX+VIT), followed by shoulders / quivers (>100m due to Life% on them). Still not sure on my upgrading path yet, might be going for give-and-take route (sacrificing EHP on one for DPS; and cover the loss of EHP from another by sacrificing a little DPS (not more than 50% of the DPS gain else it's pointless).

All these will be in the future tho, only can theorycraft now since I uninstalled D3 from all my comps laugh.gif
polarzbearz
post Nov 23 2012, 12:37 AM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(fallenrav @ Nov 23 2012, 12:30 AM)
reporting some progress, the skills recommended are awesome!
I able to at least play around MP3 without getting slain too much  rclxms.gif
still getting used to it though...

thank you again biggrin.gif you guys are the best!
Good to see that you're doing well. Just a heads up, as I'm not sure if you read it wrongly / you prefer that skill.

What I meant was the Elemental Arrow with the rune "Ball Lightning" instead of Lightning Bolts, for larger AoE and number of hits (to proc Night Stalker).

Anyway, you're definitely on the right track on your gears and you'll just need more fund and slowly climb up the stairs, good luck with that! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by polarzbearz: Nov 23 2012, 12:37 AM
polarzbearz
post Nov 23 2012, 02:21 AM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(fallenrav @ Nov 23 2012, 01:59 AM)
Yeah, was using lightning bolts for like, erm... 5 secs... figure out something wrong, used ball lightning instead, and its done...
lol... kind cool i would say, the proc for night stalker can use to infinite trigger gloom during elite pack...
seems to me like tanking for dh not really a dream anymore  flex.gif

reached paragon lvl 20 now.. time to zzz... hopefully bnet updates my latest gear so that i can update my siggy also..
thank you again, see if tomorrow better or not biggrin.gif
Yup. Tanking on DH is really just about gloom (or alternatively using LS, but more costly to maintain high DPS) - sustaining glooms long enough and if possible, chaining it endlessly during elite encounter; and when gloom is down, being able to take few hits before gloom is made available again.

Anyway, have you tried using Bat Companion for better hatred regen? Might be able to help you in spamming ball lightning laugh.gif

This post has been edited by polarzbearz: Nov 23 2012, 02:22 AM
polarzbearz
post Nov 25 2012, 12:49 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

@MOBAJOBG

Nice amount of gold there shocking.gif drool.gif

I should give MP10 Diablo a try too. So far the only MP10 boss I tested is Ghom.
polarzbearz
post Nov 25 2012, 12:59 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(2890 @ Nov 25 2012, 12:53 PM)
@polarzbearz,

i'm getting my 2 socket manticore soon. A mempo with crit just drop today =DDDDDDDD
drool.gif Nice! A dex roll on the mempo too?

Hoho, gonna have a hard time chasing up again once I'm freed from works
polarzbearz
post Nov 25 2012, 01:06 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(2890 @ Nov 25 2012, 01:03 PM)
Int. I know dex worth much more but with my savings i should afford one.

Well, i'm starting my studies soon too.. =(

oh btw, the survey you posted, nice layout.
Sell it & buy a dex-rolled one thumbup.gif

Haha, reality's harsh.. so studies' more important tongue.gif And yeah, I saw your entry (due to the email written). Appreciated it man! notworthy.gif
polarzbearz
post Nov 25 2012, 04:39 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

Went in to check my leftover AH sales and saw this ring, went to bid and won it with all my fortunes cry.gif. I even had to go and kill some trash mobs to loot $$ to remove gem in my old ring doh.gif

+4.7k DPS (raw w/ scoundrel), -13 AR and Armor (roughly)
polarzbearz
post Nov 25 2012, 04:48 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(AdamNg @ Nov 25 2012, 04:46 PM)
190 vitality vs (100 vitality + 11% life), which will give more HP?
Completely depend on your existing build & items. For me, the one with bonus % yields more HP (around 1.4k more).

The simple rule is: If your base VIT is high and life % is low, % will benefit you more. If your base VIT is low, both VIT and % should give about the same HP bonus. To be sure, use an EHP calculator to check.
polarzbearz
post Nov 25 2012, 09:17 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

Went to try solo-ing Diablo in MP10 as well, took him down in about 13 minutes. Mostly face tanked throughout the match, except cages which I will kite (to be safe, as a cage will bring my hp down to roughly 30%).

Bola Shot - Thunder Ball
Spike trap - Echoing Blast
Sentry - Guardian Turret
Shadow Power - Gloom
Companion - Boar
Preparation - Battle scar

Perfectionist
Night Stalker
Numbing Traps

This post has been edited by polarzbearz: Nov 25 2012, 09:18 PM
polarzbearz
post Nov 25 2012, 09:42 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(SiZ.i7 @ Nov 25 2012, 09:38 PM)
want to see ur gear
http://www.diabloprogress.com/hero/jishiny...Apprize/5902600 blush.gif
polarzbearz
post Nov 25 2012, 09:59 PM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(SiZ.i7 @ Nov 25 2012, 09:57 PM)
wow..90.1k hp..
Haha. Different people different style - some love speed, some love hard hitting crits, and I'm kind of an EHP freak that are not willing to lose out DPS. tongue.gif
polarzbearz
post Nov 26 2012, 12:17 AM

Gracie
4,816 posts

DiabloProgress updated.. that new ring gave me DPS boost but dropped some of my EHP cry.gif

DPS Unbuffed: 196,040.21 -> 200,602.07 = +4561.86
EHP Unbuffed: 923,990 -> 901,968 = -22,022
polarzbearz
post Nov 26 2012, 01:06 AM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(limadekad @ Nov 26 2012, 12:48 AM)
Can anyone here guide on ways to improve my hero? Thanks smile.gif

http://us.battle.net/d3/en/profile/limadekad-6796/hero/28428607

Lazy to re-type again for skill build so

Playing style / build wise:

Hungering Arrow: Devouring Arrow / Spray of Teeth if CC > 50%
Elemental Arrow: Ball Lightning
Vault: Tumble (or SmokeScreen: Lingering Fog if you insist)
Shadow Power: Gloom
Companion: Bat
Preparation: Focused Mind (for <40 disc) or Backup Plan (for >=40 disc)

Passives: Steady Aim, Archery, Tactical Advantage (when your DPS is at a more comfortable level, drop Steady Aim for Vengeance OR Night Stalker)

Explanations:

HA is more suited for packs due to its nature for kiting
Elemental Arrow is good for mob packs due to it's range & number of hits (good for proc-ing Night Stalker; if you are using it).
Vault (Tumble) + Tactical Advantage = crazily effective for kiting and keeping max distance / off-screen distance from elites at a lower-cost (than SS).
Shadow Power: Gloom is a must in almost every build - for elites / main HP regeneration skill, especially reflect damages.
Instead of using ferret, use Bat for better hatred regeneration to spam your hatred spender.
Preparation for disc recovery.

This is not a compulsary skill build to follow, it's just a base template and you are free to adjust according to your need. However the recommended skill build is one of the most effective build for DH which should generally fit most players

Gears / itemisation wise:

Too lazy to go through details, here's the summary:
  • Your Effective HP (EHP) is nice, especially your HP. However, your All Resist is kinda on the low side. Armor's should be fine for now.
  • Get Crit. Chance from your Quiver, Amulet and Bracers. Your crit chance is too low.
  • Get a socket + base critical weapon.
  • A base template of what a balanced DH should aim for is:
    • At least 35% critical chance
    • At least 300% critical damage (Weapon gives the most Crit. Damage - get weapons with base crit. % and a socket (easily > 100% critical damage in total))
    • At least +30% Attack Speed (Rings / Quivers / etc)
    • At least 35k HP
    • At least 3k Armor
    • At least 350 All Resist
    • Do not search for all-in-one stats when finding an item, those items are usually expensive. Instead try to "give-and-take". e.g. Get a bracer with 150 DEX, 120 VIT, 5.5% CC without AR; then replace the lost AR from other parts. This will definitely be cheaper than aiming for 150 DEX 120 VIT 5.5% CC 50 AR bracers.
    • Also one of the most important point is to use a DPS / EHP calculator before making purchases. Some good ones are like http://d3up.com or Dretar's DH DPS & EHP Calculator
    • This is a very basic template for reference only, work your way up from here
  • Refer to other player's build here for an idea (not to get the exact same item, but an idea on what stats to get for a particular slot) e.g.

This post has been edited by polarzbearz: Nov 26 2012, 01:24 AM
polarzbearz
post Nov 26 2012, 02:35 AM

Gracie
4,816 posts

Reattempted Diablo @ MP10 again. Nailed it at 09'37" (actually got it at 09'17" but forgot to take a screenshot when I started, so redone it doh.gif)

polarzbearz
post Nov 26 2012, 02:59 AM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(morningstar5770 @ Nov 26 2012, 02:57 AM)
wow, stand and shoot only
9 minutes !
both dh build pretty solid ...
so the lesser u kite around , lesser time to kill diablo or elites pack right ?
Yeah, that reason is why I go for tanky build.. less kiting, more shooting (since kiting = 0 damage dealt regardless of your dps)
polarzbearz
post Nov 26 2012, 03:17 AM

Gracie
4,816 posts

QUOTE(lksing78 @ Nov 26 2012, 03:02 AM)
I can only see from far far away....haih... sad.gif
Can one, just need one uber loots to close the gap tongue.gif

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0498sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled