6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Nokia Lumia WP8

s7ran9er
post Oct 16 2012, 09:04 PM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

I think they just did a slap to the existing WP7 users, no Xbox Music support for WP7.

You'll find Xbox Music to be on Windows 8, Windows Phone 8 iOS and ANDROID.
s7ran9er
post Oct 30 2012, 08:11 AM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(erichhl @ Oct 30 2012, 02:35 AM)
no bluetooth file transfer..... wtf.... sad.gif
nfc lah doh.gif

Recent announcement just made me hold back to get WP8 but the directx support sure is tempting, imagine your PC games running on WP8, I'm seeing some potential here.

This post has been edited by s7ran9er: Oct 30 2012, 08:12 AM
s7ran9er
post Oct 30 2012, 09:28 AM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(SheeKenSays @ Oct 30 2012, 09:17 AM)
Yesterday when I passed by Lowyat after work, found that they had the Windows8 all set up & promoting...

Going to pass by again today to have a play with the new OS~~
That's Windows 8. laugh.gif
s7ran9er
post Oct 30 2012, 12:34 PM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(erichhl @ Oct 30 2012, 12:29 PM)
review from gsmarena didn't mention nfc file transfer leh.... nfc for e-wallet only....

Good luck Microsoft! notworthy.gif

Well, did a little bit of digging and found...

This post has been edited by s7ran9er: Oct 30 2012, 12:36 PM
s7ran9er
post Oct 30 2012, 12:49 PM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(luckyhillkop @ Oct 30 2012, 12:41 PM)
No that's speed dialing.
Not a deal breaker to me but a very useful feature, especially considering how lazy I am tongue.gif
I find this very useful for me and when I found WP lacking of this feature, I use TellMe (hold Windows logo to launch) to dial a number which really helps sometimes but my pronunciation must be accurate when screaming their names "call luckyhillkop office" and return "sorry, can't find that name in your contact list".

This post has been edited by s7ran9er: Oct 30 2012, 12:50 PM
s7ran9er
post Oct 30 2012, 02:45 PM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(Wan @ Oct 30 2012, 02:28 PM)
Whats good is that in IE can change the refresh stop button with tab or favourites. How I wish can have at least two. tab and fav. It's a pain having to press the ...
I think the current IE on WP7.5 runs fairly good, just the basic things not the much complicated stuff. That being said, third party browsers are available on the marketplace with some additional perks on them, I say they're pretty good too with gestures enabled browsing. smile.gif

If you wish to view complicated/heavy/java oriented website, better get other phone or a tablet. sweat.gif
s7ran9er
post Oct 30 2012, 03:02 PM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(Wan @ Oct 30 2012, 02:55 PM)
I just want those buttons. Before mango, it was there right?

I love how it is in Ipod touch/iOS..easy to click. It's there all the time. Why the heck Microsoft feel they need to hide those buttons I don't know. People use it all the time! They were late to the tabbed browsing experience on desktop IE as well. Sigh.
Now come to think about it, yeah I do missed that bar below when I had my HD7. Let's just see if WP8's IE has any nice features to offer, perhaps gestures browsing. What I like about the IE on my phone is the speed and naw, I ain't talking about the browsing speed but rather the launch speed of IE, though this IE behave jerky when browsing an "overlay" popup. doh.gif

QUOTE(luckyhillkop @ Oct 30 2012, 02:57 PM)
Same with me, I'm just not interested with other phones. WP8 and 920 change that.
This is what happening to the world now, people switches phone really fast, especially the tech-junkies people, yeah you all are reading this line. laugh.gif
s7ran9er
post Oct 31 2012, 04:40 PM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

The way how they market the WP8 is "cater for each of us and not all of us", I think this direction has already been done by Android and they pretty much follow the trend til now.

Well yeah, you get the icons grid on both iOS and Android but on Android, they allow users to customise their homescreens with widgets and all that, hows that for "cater each of us"?

The things that mentioned above like the issues for WP7 is pretty much a deal breaker for me on WP8, the apps on the marketplace are bloated by a great deal amount of "basic" apps.

Xbox Live games on the other hand are quite fun to play with but these titles are pretty old in my opinion and pricey. sweat.gif
s7ran9er
post Oct 31 2012, 04:57 PM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(luckyhillkop @ Oct 31 2012, 04:44 PM)
How pricey is pricey? Can get under rm10?
depends on the titles lah, some decent one cost you around $4-$6 on the marketplace, say I want to buy Plants vs Zombies on Marketplace, it cost me $SGD6.99 while in GooglePlay it cost $US2.99 and on iTunes Store, it cost only $US0.99. Pricey? Perhaps, and for those who are familiar with the Xbox LIVE, the avatar can be equip with really nice looking gears for your own but the avatars doesn't come cheap, you have to buy gold points to do exchange which is really expensive too.

Also, some old titles like Angry Birds or Fruit Ninja (both outdated version), only cost you $SGD1.59 for each.

At the mean time some folks well most of them doesn't really bother to spend to much on apps. sweat.gif

EDIT: WHILE WHILE WHILE

Added on October 31, 2012, 5:10 pm
QUOTE(jonchai @ Oct 31 2012, 03:25 PM)
1. Confirmed.

2. Confirmed, although it doesn't annoy me as much.

3. No problem without text reflow for me.

4. To be confirmed. I was hoping they'd include the option. Any source to back this up?

There are plenty of things yet to be fixed from WP7 and I believe will be carried over through WP8.

1. Change of region. This can be done by going through customer service, but it is a hectic process. Why can't they just allow it as an option on our Windows Live profile? Heck, I'd even consider paying $10 for every change. Now I'm stuck to Australia, FFS.

2. Calendar. Windows Live calendar system tries too hard to be smart, ends up becoming an ass. They took regions / timezones into considerations, so some birthdays are out of sync. This only happens if you rely on Windows Live to handle birthdays. No impact on Facebook calendars.

3. Notification center. For the millionth time, Microsoft, toast is not enough. I want a summary of all notifications.

4. If your no. 4 is indeed confirmed, then this will be my issue with Microsoft / WP8. People always assume that they are "connected" to the WiFi. Take my mum for example, she's on a 100MB plan per month. I bought her a 710 some time ago. She played with her phone (connected to WiFi) then left it to idle, and it went to sleep. Then she woke it up again, tried to download Nokia Maps' maps. 1 map is over 100MB and immediately, she received an SMS from Maxis. How good an experience was it?
1. Change of region in account can be a hassle and it takes a lot of time (maybe months) to readjust your region.
2. Calender is cool at first by how they display the events but that doesn't seem to work so well with me since the most of the functions are dug deep into it which is why I chose Tasks on the Marketplace.
3. Text reflow is something missing in IE browser, the browser can do basic reading only but not as smart enough and there is a term for this I learnt from HTCshowme videos, "swipe to swipe reading"?
4. WiFi doesn't bother me much since whatsapp takes care of it by playing a dummy radio to keep the wifi alive and jumping back to app quicker.
5. Notification center was suppose to be your live tiles, no? Well, some date back I actually dreamed of having a notification center by swiping left. wub.gif

Oh btw folks, this thread sure de-railed long. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by s7ran9er: Oct 31 2012, 05:10 PM
s7ran9er
post Oct 31 2012, 05:32 PM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(luckyhillkop @ Oct 31 2012, 05:16 PM)
Wow that's pricey, price difference is just too big.
So u mean as long as we have whatsapp the wifi will stay connected?
Yeah tested and works fine for me but the result could be different on some devices since jonchai mentioned apps being suspended when not in use but the Whatsapp trick should work wonders or you can launch a radio app that keeps the wifi alive.

Also, to keep your wifi alive, you can plug your phone into the charger too. biggrin.gif
s7ran9er
post Nov 1 2012, 10:59 AM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(jonchai @ Nov 1 2012, 10:00 AM)
I don't mind it being slow as long as it is released before Christmas. Otherwise, it's a lost sales on my end, potentially 3 units that I'd be buying.
3 UNITS? Must be developer unit then? Btw, why dont you sign up for MS dev program and get yourself a dev unit? At least they can get the "ungettable" ones from oversea say like HTC Titan. laugh.gif

Chances that the MS/Nokia employees are already holding the device.
s7ran9er
post Nov 1 2012, 12:30 PM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(BBXiong @ Nov 1 2012, 11:09 AM)
yes, they should be holding one by now, internal testing, normally teams that are involve would have already start using them as their daily device to determine if it is stable enough as a final version, if there is bug, they throw to software team to solve them
well, MS encourage the students with that by giving them dev units. Dev sets are unlocked though but you cant call. brows.gif
s7ran9er
post Nov 4 2012, 10:43 PM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

recently I just found another annoying thing, I'm not sure about you WP users but whenever there's a call coming and I happen to be in wifi mode on standby, then I picked the call and almost after saying "hello?" the phone just blast everything at your ear if you didn't turn on silent, notifications sound like whatsapp or message rings will just blast through your ear during the conversasion making you really really uncomfortable when hearing the other side. doh.gif
s7ran9er
post Nov 5 2012, 09:08 AM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(PeeEl @ Nov 4 2012, 11:36 PM)
There is no setting to turn it off?
Yeah of course but I rely on the sound all the time so that I dont have to stare at the live tiles every single 5 minutes just to make sure I don't miss anything from my clients. (My clients love to use Whatsapp).

QUOTE(jonchai @ Nov 4 2012, 11:47 PM)
Well, not exactly at your ear. Depending on where your speakers are. This is also the reason why I stopped using WM on phone. I get messages all the time, and a lot of calls daily too. It's okay to sound sometimes, but all the time is annoying.
I understand the speaker is located at the bottom of my Lumia but during calls on my phone, the phone/OS will ring at your ear (where the 'voice' speaker is located) instead of the big one below. And even sometimes when I'm on data connected (3G/H) it doesn't really update my notifications on the live tiles instead it happens during calls. doh.gif

Well, most of the rings are from Whatsapp.
s7ran9er
post Nov 5 2012, 10:07 AM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(jonchai @ Nov 5 2012, 10:01 AM)
Another Whatsapp issue  rclxms.gif

Yes, I feel you man. I have a L800 myself and like I said, I got so pissed with it that I turned off Windows Messenger entirely.

Just a note of caution, this sudden blast can be avoided. Prior to the loud blast, you'll first hear 2 rings (sounds like bell ringing) then followed by a full blast. So, move it away from your ear prior to the full blast, it will save you  smile.gif
You have time properly though but I have yet to master this technique! shakehead.gif
s7ran9er
post Nov 5 2012, 11:03 AM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(PeeEl @ Nov 5 2012, 10:09 AM)
I think you misunderstand.

I am asking whether there is any setting to off notification sound, whether it's a message or incoming call, when you are on a call, like what they have in S3.
Opps sorry. sweat.gif

Yes you can for the basics (message/emails/ring) but not for all like apps.

QUOTE(jonchai @ Nov 5 2012, 10:10 AM)
Well, unfortunately, that's the only solution I can give you  biggrin.gif

I'm not Microsoft, so I can't really fix that for you.

Perhaps you can do a vote at User Voice portal.

User Voice here
This, well during the announcement of WP8, I receiced emails from this site saying there are a couple of features were implemented in the new OS but not for WP7.8. doh.gif

s7ran9er
post Nov 5 2012, 02:21 PM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

There was a feature requested when they announce WP7 users can't go to WP8. The users raged and they made a suggestion to bring every features in WP8 into WP7.8 but now I don't see it on the Hot list.
s7ran9er
post Nov 8 2012, 05:24 PM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(prash @ Nov 8 2012, 03:55 PM)
just crossed my mind. If Nokia Malaysia has stock of the old lumias, they might delay launch of new lumias until these clear out. sad.gif
oh haven't you all heard? Buy a Lumia and get a Vios starting now? brows.gif
s7ran9er
post Nov 12 2012, 05:29 PM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

been watching couple of videos out there for the Lumia 920, I gotta say it's pretty good for the camera and the new version of Nokia Drive just launches instantly!
s7ran9er
post Nov 13 2012, 01:48 PM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

if you all plan to get 920 in the future, then I suggest you all get a proper casing to protect the sharp edges because of the added weight of the phone, if it drops to the solid floor, it's gonna hurt really really bad, especially the edge of close to the headphone jack.

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0227sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:20 AM