7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Nokia Lumia WP8

azraeil
post Dec 5 2012, 03:39 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(luckyhillkop @ Dec 5 2012, 10:17 AM)
Hmm so complicated. Just wondering, do u have the latest version of whatsapp? The latest version should have email chat history option.
I have version 2.8.2 I think and not the latest version. I will have to manually download the latest version (2.8.8 I think) because for WP8 you will not find it in the store. I've also heard people having some issues with it so I don't want to mess with it yet. I can live with some of the quirks with the current version I have right now.
azraeil
post Dec 5 2012, 06:45 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(super_evil_alien @ Dec 5 2012, 12:35 PM)
You sideloaded the application?
Err what does that mean? I downloaded the application last week when I first got the phone. I think I used the US store and managed to download it directly to my phone.
azraeil
post Dec 5 2012, 07:31 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Dec 5 2012, 01:59 PM)
only 1st gen & 2nd gen WP7 can do sideload

sideload apps = jailbreak apps

but, wp8 not yet unlockable .
Ahhh WP also got this jailbreaking thingy ehh ... sweet.
azraeil
post Dec 6 2012, 03:02 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(johnny82 @ Dec 6 2012, 09:10 AM)
coming from an iphone.. i dont mind trying nokia lumia to be honest.. the new 1 looks good to me..  the only downside to me its rather expensive.. and the horror of previous windows phone.. couldnt even upgrade and stuck on their old os? hopefully this wont happen to lumia 820 and 920

just did some research...

The Nokia Lumia 900 will be sold starting from 26 May 2012 throughout all 3 carriers in Singapore. Singtel, Starhub & M1 at the recommended retail price of SGD $849 (RM 2.1K+)

half year later.. in lowyat forum ppl selling new nokia 900 for 1k..
1k price drop in half a year..goodness.. probably ill buy next year to test  yawn.gif
RM1999 for Lumia 920 is cheap. You cannot get a 16GB iPhone for that kind of price (yes, I know people will argue that iPhone is a Lambo/Ferrari which is absurd). I switched from the 4s to the Lumia and I'm lovin' it.

As for the prices after 1 year. There is a reason for that, it's due to the fact that Windows Phone 8 is coming out and you cannot upgrade the 900 to that OS. I'm sure with the new NT kernel for WP8 and support for multi-core processor, I'm sure the OS support will be better than the previous WP7
azraeil
post Dec 6 2012, 04:08 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Confirm that the phone is going to go on sale on the 21st? I will be back in KL in early January and thought of buying some of the accessories (wireless charger, wireless stand and maybe the JBL speakers as well)
azraeil
post Dec 7 2012, 11:04 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

It's funny that over here in Saudi, the White & Black are the ones sold out, Yellow & Red are in stock. I guess the Arabs here cannot "carry" the Yellow/Red color.
azraeil
post Dec 8 2012, 01:03 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

Went to the Nokia store yesterday to get back my money for the pre-order. I don't know what is going on with the Nokia store here but they really do suck. There were 6-7 people crowding arounf the new 920 and 820 (live models but secured to the normal security apparatus) and while waiting to get my money back, I showed them my Lumia (so jadi salesman sket). They were mighty impressed with the camera and the function and asked me a lot of questions about the apps etc. Anyway, it was funny because I told them that it will be impossible to get it from the store and recommended them to get it from the exclusive mobile operator here.

As they were giving me back my money, I asked if they have the wirelss charger and lucky for me they have 5 units in stock but no yellow so I went and got the white plate. Paid an extra 45 riyal (the cost was SAR245) and went home happy. Tested the charging on the plate last night and was really happy with it. Someone called and I just picked up the Lumia without having to juggle with taking out the micro-usb etc etc ... pretty cool I would say.
azraeil
post Dec 8 2012, 02:36 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(kuroneko0509 @ Dec 8 2012, 08:13 AM)
i heard there's a problem with wireless charging, where it doesn't stop charging eventhough already full capacity
The thing is, how do we know that it's stopped charging even with the MicroUSB charger? Is there an indicator that it has stopped charging?
azraeil
post Dec 8 2012, 03:27 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(kuroneko0509 @ Dec 8 2012, 09:47 AM)
should be no excess heat i believe when stopped charging....
Thanks! I will check it out tonight as well.
azraeil
post Dec 8 2012, 03:55 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(kuroneko0509 @ Dec 8 2012, 10:39 AM)
just realized that i couldn't find back the thread in wpcentral mentioning about this thing...
i believe when using wireless charging, the phone should be a bit warm.... try check whether after 100%, it remain warm or not...
my wireless charger will only arrive next year  cry.gif
At least you got it for free right? I had to pay an extra RM245 (RM190) for the thing ... heh heh heh
azraeil
post Dec 8 2012, 05:52 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(lkhoe @ Dec 8 2012, 11:56 AM)
Which nokia.store is.selling d.charging plate? Need a red one to march my red 920.
I'm in Saudi so I'm not sure if my answer will be relevant to your situation.

Added on December 8, 2012, 5:53 pmWill check the power output for the wireless charger tonight.

This post has been edited by azraeil: Dec 8 2012, 05:53 PM
azraeil
post Dec 8 2012, 08:29 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(JasonWilton @ Dec 8 2012, 03:25 PM)
the wireless charger need to charge ar?  blush.gif
No, the wireless charger is connected to the main electrical outlet.
azraeil
post Dec 8 2012, 08:35 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(JasonWilton @ Dec 8 2012, 03:31 PM)
errrr so it's still connected to the main electrical outlet? what if i take it out the house?
Heh heh heh ... then you have to take the plug with you la. The main aim for the wireless charger is to enable you to charge the phone wirelessly, the charger is permanently connected to the electrical outlet and you will just need to put your Nokia on the charger plate. When you receive a call, you will not need to take the phone out from the charger, just pick it up and answer the call.

Some say that it is a small matter but let me tell you, I have had one USB cable charger ripped when I picked up and answer a call on my iPhone which was charging at the time. Forgot that it was charging and the phone's been ringing a while so in a rush picked it up and wham ... kena beli cable baru.
azraeil
post Dec 9 2012, 01:53 AM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(monocle @ Dec 8 2012, 08:42 PM)
So with mass storage support, just drag and drop like android?
I remember wp7 need to use zune..
Yes. Just drag and drop.
azraeil
post Dec 9 2012, 12:23 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(JasonWilton @ Dec 9 2012, 04:57 AM)
oh man, i thought you can take the plate anywhere you go after you charge the plate  cry.gif
that's what I call a true wireless charging  icon_rolleyes.gif
That would be a wireless battery pack right? I think that would be a good idea but the one implemented right now is like those cordless phone base station.
azraeil
post Dec 9 2012, 02:23 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Dec 9 2012, 09:12 AM)
a true wireless charging is suppose to be like below

Power Plug > Wireless charging device > -------- 10meter radius ---------- > Phone ** walk freely with your phone

brows.gif  brows.gif
Then we will have all this groups saying that it is causing cancer etc ....
azraeil
post Dec 10 2012, 06:16 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(azomic @ Dec 10 2012, 11:12 AM)
I like cyan, but the red and yellow is striking good! and the matte grey looks professional. and now i am confuse.  cry.gif probably gonna get white color?easily match with any case or themes. unsure.gif
Cyan is only available in the US market.
azraeil
post Dec 11 2012, 02:51 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(prash @ Dec 11 2012, 09:46 AM)
i think whatsapp was waiting for this update. New version should be out soon and working by the time we receive our preorders  biggrin.gif
Let's hope so but the 920 still has not received this update.
azraeil
post Dec 11 2012, 06:42 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(prash @ Dec 11 2012, 12:31 PM)
920 shouldnt be far behind. this is one thing i hated about android. fragmentation.
Let's hope so. I am still waiting for the Nokia Touch + update and hopefully the latest updates that has been rolled out to the HTC 8x. Apparently there's more to this update that the Wifi always on update.

WP8 Updates for HTC 8x
azraeil
post Dec 11 2012, 06:48 PM

Prince of Ravens
4,286 posts

QUOTE(prash @ Dec 11 2012, 01:46 PM)
notification center next pls
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

I am quite happy that WP8 or Microsoft is coming up with these updates and extra features. Very impressive.

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0410sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:44 PM