Nokia Lumia WP8

oszie
post Nov 8 2012, 12:06 AM

184 posts

Can grab one for me too?

QUOTE(silencer @ Nov 8 2012, 12:02 AM)
Will be flying to US for business Travel and will try to grab the unlocked version from AT&T store.
objectifyme
post Nov 8 2012, 12:14 AM

804 posts

QUOTE(oszie @ Nov 8 2012, 12:06 AM)
Can grab one for me too?
What about warranty? Is it covered locally?
aspire2oo6
post Nov 8 2012, 12:34 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

buying anything from oversea and didnt kena tax is call waterset. So no warranty except from the origin of the country is it from
matthewctj
post Nov 8 2012, 09:33 AM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(jonchai @ Nov 5 2012, 02:10 PM)
Well, just to clear off some confusions you may have, notifications are "Live".

This is where Live Tile come into play. You receive a Toast notification which will appear on your screen for about 5 secs, and then it will go off. If you pin your app into the Start page, your app's tile will show (#) number of messages you have. In WP8, a tile can be stretched to form a wide tile. When that happens, it has sufficient space to also display your messages (up to 5 last received messages). These are called Live Apps.
May I take it that Toast is default? And it functions similarly to the few seconds pop up that appears in iOS (have not tried Android) before it goes blank again? If that is true, then I am sold to WP8. Was waiting for iP5 solely because I thought one would have to turn on the phone to look at the live tiles to see the (#) to know that there is a message.

Thanks ... now I am really looking forward to the Lumia 920.
jonchai
post Nov 8 2012, 10:06 AM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(matthewctj @ Nov 8 2012, 09:33 AM)
May I take it that Toast is default? And it functions similarly to the few seconds pop up that appears in iOS (have not tried Android) before it goes blank again? If that is true, then I am sold to WP8. Was waiting for iP5 solely because I thought one would have to turn on the phone to look at the live tiles to see the (#) to know that there is a message.

Thanks ... now I am really looking forward to the Lumia 920.
Yes, Toast itself is default. As soon as a "Push" message is delivered to your phone, you will get a Toast notification for about 5 seconds or so. You may swipe it to the right to hide it immediately. However, the downside of WP is that there's a lack of notification center. For example, on Android (I believe iOS too, long time no use, can't remember), as soon as you receive a notification, slide down from the top of the screen, you will see a summary of notifications.

On WP, you can't (at least not yet). Once the toast is gone, they are gone forever. You will need to rely on Live Tiles for indication. All is not lost, as reported, this feature may come sooner than we all thought biggrin.gif

Added on November 8, 2012, 10:07 am
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 8 2012, 12:34 AM)
buying anything from oversea and didnt kena tax is call waterset. So no warranty except from the origin of the country is it from
LOL waterset, nice rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by jonchai: Nov 8 2012, 10:07 AM
andrewtho
post Nov 8 2012, 10:09 AM

Hooded Knight
5,936 posts

QUOTE(objectifyme @ Nov 8 2012, 12:14 AM)
What about warranty? Is it covered locally?
Nope. You have to send back to the country of origin for warranty claims.
matthewctj
post Nov 8 2012, 10:17 AM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(jonchai @ Nov 8 2012, 10:06 AM)
Yes, Toast itself is default. As soon as a "Push" message is delivered to your phone, you will get a Toast notification for about 5 seconds or so. You may swipe it to the right to hide it immediately. However, the downside of WP is that there's a lack of notification center. For example, on Android (I believe iOS too, long time no use, can't remember), as soon as you receive a notification, slide down from the top of the screen, you will see a summary of notifications.

On WP, you can't (at least not yet). Once the toast is gone, they are gone forever. You will need to rely on Live Tiles for indication. All is not lost, as reported, this feature may come sooner than we all thought  biggrin.gif
With iOS, as long as I don't go to the home screen, it will always appear when I press the home/standby button. Only after going into the home screen, will it appear in the respective app with (#) similarly to live tiles I guess. So, you are saying that even if I don't go to the home screen, that toast notification will disappear?

In any case, I really do hope this feature will be implemented or improved upon. I just have to bring myself to carrying a 180g phone, that's all. If only the design could be sleeker. Doesn't really suit people with small hands like myself. But I guess that's the price to pay if we want the features of the WP8/Lumia 920.
aspire2oo6
post Nov 8 2012, 10:38 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(jonchai @ Nov 8 2012, 10:06 AM)

On WP, you can't (at least not yet). Once the toast is gone, they are gone forever. You will need to rely on Live Tiles for indication. All is not lost, as reported, this feature may come sooner than we all thought  biggrin.gif

Added on November 8, 2012, 10:07 am
LOL waterset, nice  rclxms.gif
If 2nd hand resell lower if buyer know will demand for further discount if no sticker
jonchai
post Nov 8 2012, 11:01 AM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(matthewctj @ Nov 8 2012, 10:17 AM)
With iOS, as long as I don't go to the home screen, it will always appear when I press the home/standby button. Only after going into the home screen, will it appear in the respective app with (#) similarly to live tiles I guess. So, you are saying that even if I don't go to the home screen, that toast notification will disappear?

In any case, I really do hope this feature will be implemented or improved upon. I just have to bring myself to carrying a 180g phone, that's all. If only the design could be sleeker. Doesn't really suit people with small hands like myself. But I guess that's the price to pay if we want the features of the WP8/Lumia 920.
Yes, toast notification will appear even when you're in games or anywhere else for that matter.

brows.gif it's a relatively small price to pay compared to the superb camera offerings, on top of that, the navigation system, augmented reality toys, lenses and so on ...
aspire2oo6
post Nov 8 2012, 12:02 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

We haven't really see how superb is the camera because still blindly talk and no significant result shown yet
noorimanyosh
post Nov 8 2012, 02:12 PM

saoirse ronan :3
2,148 posts

hey the price for 820/920 have been announced or not??
SheeKenSays
post Nov 8 2012, 02:18 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(noorimanyosh @ Nov 8 2012, 02:12 PM)
hey the price for 820/920 have been announced or not??
Did a google search, got into this...if it's 500USD w/o contract, would it be around 1.7-1.8 in MYR?? add in a few hundred for tax & other stuff??

US L920 w/ & w/o contract Price~~
rogrog
post Nov 8 2012, 02:24 PM

635 posts

QUOTE(SheeKenSays @ Nov 8 2012, 02:18 PM)
Did a google search, got into this...if it's 500USD w/o contract, would it be around 1.7-1.8 in MYR?? add in a few hundred for tax & other stuff??

US L920 w/ & w/o contract Price~~
Malaysia mobile phone dont have tax. hmm.gif hmm.gif Thats mean the price gonna be brows.gif brows.gif rclxm9.gif
SheeKenSays
post Nov 8 2012, 02:38 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(rogrog @ Nov 8 2012, 02:24 PM)
Malaysia mobile phone dont have tax.  hmm.gif  hmm.gif Thats mean the price gonna be  brows.gif  brows.gif  rclxm9.gif
Ini...ini...too tempting liao...C'mon!!! Reach our shores already!!

If can, I would want to get this for X'mas!! rclxms.gif
rogrog
post Nov 8 2012, 02:41 PM

635 posts

QUOTE(SheeKenSays @ Nov 8 2012, 02:38 PM)
Ini...ini...too tempting liao...C'mon!!! Reach our shores already!!

If can, I would want to get this for X'mas!!  rclxms.gif
If it doesnt land before xmas, imma spend my $$ on other thing liao whistling.gif whistling.gif
LightningZERO
post Nov 8 2012, 03:00 PM

The Golden Knight
1,696 posts

Luckily this two months I pocket empty...I still can wait XD
prash
post Nov 8 2012, 03:55 PM

247 posts

just crossed my mind. If Nokia Malaysia has stock of the old lumias, they might delay launch of new lumias until these clear out. sad.gif
SheeKenSays
post Nov 8 2012, 04:03 PM

207 posts

QUOTE(prash @ Nov 8 2012, 03:55 PM)
just crossed my mind. If Nokia Malaysia has stock of the old lumias, they might delay launch of new lumias until these clear out. sad.gif
Waffak!? Won't be that dog guar?? I mean...come on...want liddat mehhh cry.gif
jonchai
post Nov 8 2012, 05:05 PM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(prash @ Nov 8 2012, 03:55 PM)
Actually, my biggest concern is that they might actually wait until 4G gets implemented early next year. Although spectrum is about the same as most other countries, they might just wait until that happens and then announce that it's the first 4G LTE phone available (although it's not exactly true, this is marketing nonetheless). Let's hope I'm wrong.

As for aspire, I do count on the reviews to label it as "superb". Some shots (especially those from Engadget) may have been off the mark, but most of the shots were indeed "superb" compared to current offerings from other smartphones.
matthewctj
post Nov 8 2012, 05:17 PM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Nov 8 2012, 12:02 PM)
We haven't really see how superb is the camera because still blindly talk and no significant result shown yet
The plus point which Nokia is promoting is on the night shots. Look for the video which shows the Lumia 920 vs S3 vs iP5. It is there.

124 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Top

0.0267sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:02 AM