penang folks come in, where to 开光?

TSarthur88
post Aug 23 2012, 10:23 AM, updated 14y ago

1,070 posts

my brother told me before that got one temple in pulau tikus offer 开光 to normal folks....regardless of ur item is car, motorbike, necklace or whatever...
so i wana ask here, where is that place? is it really 开光 or just another faker?
can suggest me a temple/monk that really 开光?

another question, i want to buy 佛珠 that made of wood in bayan lepas area, but i didnt see any shop that sells stuff for praying...perhaps i missed out...can penang kia point me?

note: not sure 开光 is the correct term or not, pls correct me if do. not for those who are not superstitious..

trollers are welcome, help me bump this thread... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by arthur88: Aug 24 2012, 10:08 AM
alwinnng
post Aug 23 2012, 10:30 AM

4,296 posts

开光 what is this??

and this 佛珠 ???
TSarthur88
post Aug 23 2012, 10:37 AM

1,070 posts

QUOTE(alwinnng @ Aug 23 2012, 10:30 AM)
开光 what is this??

and this 佛珠 ???
i assume u can read mandarin words...

开光(not sure about the term) is some sort of simple ceremony done by chinese bomoh, or some sort, normally to azimat to help protect u from "dirty" things and protect u from physical harm, like accident...

佛珠 is the necklace with big round beds that monks holding it while chatting..
xecton
post Aug 23 2012, 11:10 AM

The Reverend
734 posts

Why must you buy from Bayan Lepas?
One of the streets adjoining Penang Road has a lot of such praying materials shops. Try there.
TSarthur88
post Aug 23 2012, 11:17 AM

1,070 posts

QUOTE(xecton @ Aug 23 2012, 11:10 AM)
Why must you buy from Bayan Lepas?
One of the streets adjoining Penang Road has a lot of such praying materials shops. Try there.
hahahaha...simple enough, cause i live in bayan lepas...
of course u want to buy things that is convenient to you, right?
xecton
post Aug 23 2012, 11:25 AM

The Reverend
734 posts

Okay... then try Sungai Ara.... should have 1 or 2 of those shops.

Actually, I can't read mandarin. Have no idea what you wanted to buy except it's praying material.
BlackWoods
post Aug 23 2012, 12:09 PM

Dark Knight
2,152 posts

Guanyin temple near Penang road.
Thang Siang temple near Snake Temple.
TSarthur88
post Aug 23 2012, 12:53 PM

1,070 posts

QUOTE(xecton @ Aug 23 2012, 11:25 AM)
Okay... then try Sungai Ara.... should have 1 or 2 of those shops.

Actually, I can't read mandarin. Have no idea what you wanted to buy except it's praying material.
guess i still need to waste some fuel to round2 to check the shops...

Added on August 23, 2012, 12:55 pm
QUOTE(BlackWoods @ Aug 23 2012, 12:09 PM)
Guanyin temple near Penang road.
Thang Siang temple near Snake Temple.
okay thanks.
what about the indian temple (i think) in pulau tikus there, on the way to botanical garden, there is a junction, exactly at the junction there is an indian temple...my colleagues suggest me there...

This post has been edited by arthur88: Aug 23 2012, 12:55 PM
ghoss
post Aug 23 2012, 01:01 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(arthur88 @ Aug 23 2012, 12:53 PM)
guess i still need to waste some fuel to round2 to check the shops...

Added on August 23, 2012, 12:55 pm
okay thanks.
what about the indian temple (i think) in pulau tikus there, on the way to botanical garden, there is a junction, exactly at the junction there is an indian temple...my colleagues suggest me there...
Not near pulau tikus at all lar..... it's at http://goo.gl/maps/VYrTL

Everytime passby also got people ask the indian temple people to do praying for new car / bikes .

The beads thing I don't know sorry
TSarthur88
post Aug 23 2012, 01:06 PM

1,070 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ Aug 23 2012, 01:01 PM)
Not near pulau tikus at all lar..... it's at http://goo.gl/maps/VYrTL

Everytime passby also got people ask the indian temple people to do praying for new car / bikes .

The beads thing I don't know sorry
my bro and colleagues said near pulau tikus (probably i'm not familiar with that area)
yes, i got passby there twice, but didnt see anyone do praying on car or bikes...

here come the questions i really want to know, compare this temple with other two suggestions suggested by Blackwoods, this indian temple more "powerful"?
ghoss
post Aug 23 2012, 01:11 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(arthur88 @ Aug 23 2012, 01:06 PM)
my bro and colleagues said near pulau tikus (probably i'm not familiar with that area)
yes, i got passby there twice, but didnt see anyone do praying on car or bikes...

here come the questions i really want to know, compare this temple with other two suggestions suggested by Blackwoods, this indian temple more "powerful"?
erm those 2 are Chinese temple , that one is indian temple , they only do the ritual around 3-6pm .

I don't think the chinese temple got do the ritual , never do it before
TSarthur88
post Aug 23 2012, 01:30 PM

1,070 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ Aug 23 2012, 01:11 PM)
erm those 2 are Chinese temple , that one is indian temple , they only do the ritual around 3-6pm .

I don't think the chinese temple got do the ritual , never do it before
u urself ady go do it?
everyday 3-6pm also available?
ghoss
post Aug 23 2012, 01:33 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(arthur88 @ Aug 23 2012, 01:30 PM)
u urself ady go do it?
everyday 3-6pm also available?
wa tarak do it before still virgin.
I guess so , later I passby I take pic for you
TSarthur88
post Aug 23 2012, 01:35 PM

1,070 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ Aug 23 2012, 01:33 PM)
wa tarak do it before still virgin.
I guess so  , later I passby I take pic for you
dunid la, i know how to go to there....just that not sure which one (few suggestions) to go nia...
need to give angpau bo? or he do it for free?
ghoss
post Aug 23 2012, 01:36 PM

975 posts

QUOTE(arthur88 @ Aug 23 2012, 01:35 PM)
dunid la, i know how to go to there....just that not sure which one (few suggestions) to go nia...
of cos need to give ang pao , how much I not sure , but i assume rm 50 gua....

if not mistaken maybe is give donation to the temple instead of ang pao hmm.gif
xecton
post Aug 23 2012, 01:37 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(arthur88 @ Aug 23 2012, 01:35 PM)
Free? You think got free meh?
TSarthur88
post Aug 23 2012, 01:38 PM

1,070 posts

QUOTE(xecton @ Aug 23 2012, 01:37 PM)
Free? You think got free meh?
i go Bukit Mertajam ask for azimat, free....or azimat and this ritual/ceremony is different thing?

you done this before?

Added on August 23, 2012, 1:39 pm
QUOTE(ghoss @ Aug 23 2012, 01:36 PM)
of cos need to give ang pao , how much I not sure , but i assume rm 50 gua....

if not mistaken maybe is give donation to the temple instead of ang pao  hmm.gif
give donation can la....angpau.... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by arthur88: Aug 23 2012, 01:39 PM
xecton
post Aug 23 2012, 01:41 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

No.... never done such things before.

But the indian temple is really famous
SUSpgkia8
post Aug 24 2012, 03:42 AM

190 posts

If such things works, we dont need insurance anymore. And our traffic accident rate will not keep increasing. Hello, now is 2012 my dear SJKC friend. Wake up and start using some brain cell to think
roystevenung
post Aug 24 2012, 09:21 AM

2,173 posts

QUOTE(pgkia8 @ Aug 24 2012, 03:42 AM)
If such things works, we dont need insurance anymore. And our traffic accident rate will not keep increasing. Hello, now is 2012 my dear SJKC friend. Wake up and start using some brain cell to think
Did anyone mention the word "insurance"? biggrin.gif whistling.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

0.0685sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:53 PM