Do you think this forum suck?, Many people started screw this web forum

TSchicken_little
post Feb 6 2006, 10:39 AM, updated 20y ago

Maybe from begining this web is well, but until a time. There's much of the flammers like to spread out alot of bullshit. And i dont think it is a design comunity but it is like a Pasar Malam forum. mad.gif vmad.gif mad.gif vmad.gif

I love LYN because here is peaceful and fun. At last, we got communication from each other.

This is the Malaysia the most worst design forum?:

http://www.doxob.com

What do you think? Or u havent experience the atmosphere inside? U will get the answer soon..

This post has been edited by chicken_little: Feb 6 2006, 10:39 AM
siaukia
post Feb 6 2006, 10:53 AM

1,491 posts

erm, i'd respect freedom of speech, but i'd also understand the way you feel about that other forum, but afterall a forum is targeted towards a clear group of audience, and clearly doxob has its own audience on its own and doesnt really matter if they have high traffics or inviting new users.

Of course, at first glance, and my impression towards the forum aren't that positive, as a fresh new designer, i'd find myself neglected from the 'elite' group they formed, but, there are still bunch and millions forum out there that you can be with, and start a positive group and built a potentially helpful designers that are friendly on your own!

doesn't matter if there is rotten flower ,as long you willing to do it, and repair it, or renew it, there's still hope,

look at others, though it's not much difference from the situation you felt from doxob,
www.sifoo.com
www.webmastermalaysia.com

anymore?

Well, it's normal if you get pissed from how the way you're being mistreated. But well, enjoy your stay here in lyn if you feel warmer (of course for me, it does biggrin.gif)

trust your instinct, do what you feel is comfortable and welcoming, you never know that it might end up lyn is the one that promotes and creates designers portal in the end.

no one's at fault, it's the matter who's going to improve the current situation. and who's joining. i'm in biggrin.gif~
nada-
post Feb 6 2006, 11:09 AM

264 posts

Well, regarding doxob.

I've actually talked to quite a few people regarding doxob. I myself find it quite sad that doxob was run and monitored badly as it is suppose to be our design forum community.
First of all I can see a clear difference of the moderators doing their job here compared to doxob. Whether they have volunteered or not, a moderator is a moderator and if he is not fit to become one then he should not become one. The moderators should respect as well as do a good job of keeping things in order. Take a good look at how DA's forum are monitored. Its a no nonsense manner and highly respectful.

I also felt dissapointed many a times of the discussion in doxob as it just seemed alot of designers were so focused in showing off theirwork and getting comments like 'cool' and 'nice', and when criticed otherwise were flame. It seemed alot of people there couldnt take critics constructively and took it very negatively as well. But on the other hand when discussing design issues such as plagarism, new media, or even pricing.. people weren't interested. This is not the forums fault but the mentality of the people there. Sure I cant force this upon them and I'm not saying please do, but designers should have a cultural awareness about things and there are many issues about design and social issues to discuss upon.
Just imagine if it had an area to teach young pups how to write up a contract to protect themselves.. as well as the old dogs talking about issues such as pricing, or leading design companies here in malaysia.
There was even a case of talking about plagarism and some say nowadays nothing is original so its ok to copy and even a moderator said "he didnt copy 100% so its ok right.." I mean just look at the mentality of the place. No one is going to respect the moderators much less the designers there and there was one moderator who said profanity to the members and even called them nasty names. Moderators should never do that for that matter, thats why there was an outburst there, not saying it was completely that moderators fault, but he should have known better and stopped it instead of carrying on with posting as he did.

Actually alot of it has to do with the mentality of designers here in malaysia.

I see great potential if doxob was run properly as well as monitored properly. One is that it could create a large interest in local design companies searching for potential fresh designers and other companies that post jobs in doxob and second is it ties and forms a respectful design community which it hasn't or doesnt.

Anyway this is just my honest opinion and I hope will be taken into consideration.

This post has been edited by nada-: Feb 6 2006, 11:23 AM
bullshido
post Feb 6 2006, 11:16 AM

30 posts

Visited WebmasterMalaysia. It is on record there that "Most users ever online was 213, 18-08-2005 at 05:05 PM."

At least over at LYN, we have more people 'contributing' to the site.

And yeah, in terms of design, LYN is nothing special, but I feel it is reflective of the crowd that you may see shopping for PCs at Low Yat or at the local mamak stall.

So it's LYN in Malaysia for me.
viking81
post Feb 6 2006, 11:19 AM

48 posts

hi threadstarter... can u change ur title so that people dun misunderstand and think that u are referring to LYN?
dinodog_Jr
post Feb 6 2006, 11:59 AM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

ya pls change it ...U misleading me too...

azxel
post Feb 6 2006, 12:01 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

ahhh.. doxob.com?

You guys got problems with me also ah? unsure.gif

I can't speak for the entire team running it. Most of us (well.. some of us) are busy with work. You know lah... designers don't really have that much time to do other stuff as we're constantly overworked. Most of the team are now more focused on their career.

So sorry for not paying attention to all you web designers out there over at doxob.com tongue.gif as I'm not well-versed with web design. Doxob.com is multi-layered when it comes to design. We're not just about web design.

Peaceful here at lowyat? I guess so to a certain extend. I did ask for Warzone to be created for one purpose over at doxob.com, and that was for members to voice their opinion and challenge each other with wits on issues in design, the world, life in particular (not b!tch about the forum).

However, I find it funny that when moderators (okok.. we're humans too and sometimes we mess up) step in to handle a situation or try to keep things in order, we're flamed for it. I guess there's no pleasing everyone, right? Even here at lowyat.net, I've seen a decrease in activity compared to the begining of last year. Each forum has their own set of rules, and not everyone will be pleased by it. Perhaps, some of us should have kept quiet and let the team make doxob.com into a closed forum, membership by invite or through portfolio judgement? Then you guys would say that we're elitist. I do agree that some people in the team are narrowminded though. sweat.gif

Lastly, I just want to say that a forum isn't shaped by the moderators or admin. It's shaped by it's members. The team only serves to keep a certain amount of order within the forum. Wind (the founder) has been gracious to allow doxob.com to be a place where design is fun. It's true that doxob.com isn't what it used to be a few years back. It's true that certain clamp downs on certain topics are harsh. But know this, doxob.com has never banned anyone from it's forum because of voicing their opinions.
nada-
post Feb 6 2006, 12:14 PM

264 posts

No doxob hasn't banned anyone but it should do so if the member is out of order and is disrespectful towards the moderators as well as other members.

Warzone isn't the problem, but what doxob needed was a good moderators to make sure people watch their mouths and be respectful and more intelligent when giving out points. Here in LYT, if people keep rambling on nonsense the thread is either closed or the moderator steps in to tell them to stop it.
I can say Azxel you did your share of closing threads and giving points. But whether moderators are working on their career so are people here, it doesnt excuse to the extent of abusive language and name calling. Come on we are above all of that or are we? I'm not here to start a controversy or anything but I did see great potential in doxob.

True that the forum is what the people are, but the moderators play apart as well. True also that alot of people seem to talk cock above anything else there and as said earlier designers need to be more matured and open minded when having discussions instead of logging in with a new account and name and blasting with unintelligent comments.

Whether a moderator is flamed or not you all should always step in and behave in a proper manner. If a moderator is acting like an ass then he should be removed from being one. Its not about pleasing people but doing the simple task of moderating. I actually dont want doxob moderators to be crowd pleasers but actually people we respect and look to when things get shitty in the forum.

As said earlier also think of the potential if design firms take doxob as a serious design community and also a place to find young, intelligent and fresh talents.
azxel
post Feb 6 2006, 12:20 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

I understand. However, I'm only a minority of the mods there. Not as tight as the rest of the mods who are 'old timers' there. There's an amount or rather, limit to some mods's say when it comes to demoting and promoting mods.

I'll see what I can stir up (no promises though) within the doxob.com team about changing people within to get it really moving. Honestly though... I'll probably need to try again in 2007. laugh.gif

Anyone wanna be a mod?
Sesshoumaru
post Feb 6 2006, 12:36 PM

1,190 posts

I believe that any forum where a mod calls a member to keep their crappy mouth shut or/is rude like Flying Sphagetti Monster's forum and the said doxob.com isn't a forum that deserves respect.
Edit: Looks like the mods there seriously have grammar and attitude problems. Crude remarks are bountiful. =)

This post has been edited by Sesshoumaru: Feb 6 2006, 12:40 PM
siaukia
post Feb 6 2006, 01:23 PM

1,491 posts

Afterall, in my opinion, honestly, a forum or a community exist not because of the mod, but because of the community themself, and it exist for them, not the community has to please the forum on the way it is (not that i say user can disobey rules and regulation)

so whats the use of having bountiful of mods and accounts that are not accessed and forum that no one comes in to talk about the topic they should actively talk about? it makes no sense and it wastes money right?

and i'ts really so important to maintain and create a positive 'atmosphere'. Of course you can choose to forever still keep it professional looking as if only 'elites' can join the 'group' and 'be-in-it'. But that makes a dead community so it seems.

for me, either a community or a forum with a negative aura or atmosphere is better off removed. Unless some revamp are being made, it makes no different by changing mod, adding mod, banning user, etc etc

so my point is, it's for the user, it's not the excuses of pointing finger at who, saying who is busy who is not, look, everyone's time is very precious, even teenager down to old granpa, every single second of thier life is precious. So, I'd get quite fired up when someone said about they're busy with their and bluntly comparing their life or other moderator from other community (younger teenager) are not busy, they are in fact, and their time is so precious also, and thats why i luv Lyn's mod as well.

so that's being said. you want a better community? bringing up a good design community? fix it or remove it! smile.gif my 2 cent. thanks
Intrigue
post Feb 8 2006, 01:58 AM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

3 years ago... i was in doxob and it was a great and fun community but after that... it became worse and since then i had left it and hardly take a look @ the forum.

0.0136sec    0.23    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 05:48 AM