DOTA players needed for my master thesis research, Just to answer some research questions!

TS1051104213
post Aug 18 2012, 09:02 PM, updated 14y ago

Dear DOTA players,

I really need you guys to help me answer some of my research questions in order to complete my master research paper.

I believe many of the older generations keep nagging everyday that playing online games is a wasting of times and can't learn anything from it.... Due to that, my research area is to analyze the knowledge sharing behavior among DOTA players which will lead to learning outcome.

Your sharing of experience in DOTA game will be much appreciated. Please answer all the questions as detail as you can and examples do help in the research.

Please answer the questions below and send it back to me once you are done.

You can pm me here if you have any doubt or send the answer back to me at synia_04@yahoo.com.

THANK YOU VERY MUCH! notworthy.gif

Name : Occupation :

Background:
1. How you know about DOTA?
2. When you started to play DOTA?
3. Why do you choose to play DOTA?
4. What makes you keep playing DOTA?

Game experience:
1. Can you share some of your experience when playing DOTA?
2. Do you face any difficulties in playing DOTA? Please provide examples.
3. How do you overcome those difficulties while playing DOTA?
4. What will you do if you need to perform task in team?
5. Will you and other DOTA players share knowledge or tricks? Please provide examples on what is shared.
6. How to share knowledge and information among DOTA players? Please provide sources or website link if it is online resources (e.g. blogs or forums).
7. What will you do when you get new knowledge and information?
8. Will you improve or develop new tricks from knowledge and information that you get? How you do it? Please provide examples.
9. Will you share what you have learned or things which is proved workable in DOTA? What will you do to share it?
10. How do you keep updating yourself about new changes in DOTA? How long you take to adapt in a new environment or to master a skill?

THANKS for answering!

hikashi
post Aug 18 2012, 11:25 PM

Pusheeeeeeeett
1,065 posts

Try use something better for your Master thesis like Likert Scale.
This kind of questionare kinda troublesome for us to reply.
v1n0d
post Aug 22 2012, 12:20 PM

Another roof, another proof.
3,197 posts

For the love of God, redesign your questionnaire. Also, use an online service to display your questionnaire, don't just textwall here. Seriously, which university allows you to conduct your data gathering in such an unprofessional manner?
amixalucard
post Aug 22 2012, 01:08 PM

41 posts

Dota is a crap game, its does not have improvement in gameplay and graphic. Most of the people play this crap is hippies that does not have a proper income to buy decent gaming hardware n girlfriend. Th cannot afford to buy original game including warcraft 3 battle crest due economical situation or give damn about copyright licenses. Spending hundred hour on Dota is fun for them, its like same as grinding in world of warcrap. Same with playing cstrike. Get a life man~

Added on August 22, 2012, 1:24 pm
Background:
1. How you know about DOTA?
From my schoolmate in 2007

2. When you started to play DOTA?
When spending entirely life in Cyber Cafe~

3. Why do you choose to play DOTA?
Affordable

4. What makes you keep playing DOTA?
Because of phenomenal hype occured in cyber cafe, everyone play dota at that time

Game experience:
1. Can you share some of your experience when playing DOTA?
Dota is creep based hack n slash with additional of looting system.

2. Do you face any difficulties in playing DOTA? Please provide examples.
Cannot avoid wasted hundred of hour spend on the game

3. How do you overcome those difficulties while playing DOTA?
Always pwnd other players to fulfill satisfaction of winning

4. What will you do if you need to perform task in team?
Only come toward ally if he nearly pwnd the enemy. Steal his/her kill!

5. Will you and other DOTA players share knowledge or tricks? Please provide examples on what is shared.
Only share equipment and loot. After then, goes back home then sleep.

6. How to share knowledge and information among DOTA players? Please provide sources or website link if it is online resources (e.g. blogs or forums).
-g a r e n a forum, home of pirates~

7. What will you do when you get new knowledge and information?
Nobody listen when focusing in game season

8. Will you improve or develop new tricks from knowledge and information that you get? How you do it? Please provide examples.
Do you think self defense skill can use in this game?

9. Will you share what you have learned or things which is proved workable in DOTA? What will you do to share it?
Its a hype! Face it!

10. How do you keep updating yourself about new changes in DOTA? How long you take to adapt in a new environment or to master a skill?
No! from since, now then future i will not touch again dota! whistling.gif

This post has been edited by amixalucard: Aug 22 2012, 01:27 PM
Hao Ren
post Aug 22 2012, 06:55 PM

269 posts

seems like he got pawned a lot....
CheaTeRz
post Aug 29 2012, 09:47 AM

They can't beat me so they call me Cheater. oh silly
1,400 posts

QUOTE(Hao Ren @ Aug 22 2012, 06:55 PM)
seems like he got pawned a lot....
not to mention the kind of lone wolf player who play only to ks his teammates rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by CheaTeRz: Aug 29 2012, 09:48 AM
TehWateva
post Aug 29 2012, 02:00 PM

Schadenfreude Beaches.
1,448 posts

Haven't touched Dota in ages, can i still answer this?

Dota2 on the other hand....
SUSAmeiN
post Aug 29 2012, 02:05 PM

★★★★★★★
4,735 posts

Master buat macam ni saja?

guna la google doc ka... atau others PROPER questionnaire site.. doh.gif
8lackheaven
post Aug 29 2012, 02:17 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(CheaTeRz @ Aug 29 2012, 09:47 AM)
not to mention the kind of lone wolf player who play only to ks his teammates  rclxms.gif
oi come dota xD

0.0140sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:31 PM