English Clubs Liverpool FC- The Kop Talk 2012, Liverpool 0-2 Arsenal - 2nd defeat!

Duke Red
post Aug 19 2012, 07:52 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Aug 19 2012, 01:48 AM)
Look at it this way, Agger purposely got sent off because he dun wan to be sold to Barca , any possibilities?

Actually the refree was too harsh, a red card was not needed, penalty okay, as it was a 50 50 situation, Ronaldo and Nani does it most of the time too
He got himself sent off intentionally? What does that have to do with him not wanting to be sold to Barca?

The red card was warranted as he was the last man and he did shove Long, even if the contact was minimal. The Skrtel decision on the other hand was appalling. Skrtel didn't even see him.

I already said before the season started that Rodgers would not have much time to work with the lads what with Euro, the Olympics and player vacations taken into consideration. Can't say I'm surprised though that some have already turned on him although I feel expectations were a little unrealistic. Challenge for the title? Really? I'm a sceptic as well but I'm willing to back him and wait until the seasons over at least.

It was pretty much the same story yesterday. We dominate possession, spurn chances and get punished. Suarez himself was guilty of not taking at least 5 golden opportunities.
Duke Red
post Aug 19 2012, 09:39 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(realshinjae @ Aug 19 2012, 09:30 AM)
Damn it ref. Both shouldnt be a penalty. mad.gif

Agger got the red as he was the last man, but the shoving is out of the box.
Skrtel was going to clear the ball!!
Thing is if we had put away our chances, it wouldn't have mattered. Suarez is a fantastic player but he is just as much to blame as anyone for spurning guilt edges chances. He scores amazing goals for Uruguay but for some reason, can't do the same in a red shirt.

One positive for me was the showing from Martin Kelly and Joe Allen. Kelly put in a solid matured performance executing a couple of good challenges. I don't see him as a permanent fixture on the right as good as he is there. Hoping to see him play a more central role in years to come ala Carra. Allen did nothing spectacular but I felt he got back when it mattered and his distribution was simple but tidy.
Duke Red
post Aug 20 2012, 07:24 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(radio_head @ Aug 19 2012, 04:44 PM)
Since when not seeing = no foul? Like that no one will ever get sent off for elbowing laa

Typical....
You're back! Did you see the said offence? Long came from behind Skrtel and tripped over the letters legs. Reminds me of how Malouda once won an audacious penalty off Steve Finnan years back. Anyway, it's called an opinion. If you read articles on the game, you'll note that opinions differ but I know you won't. Typical...

Added on August 20, 2012, 7:31 am
QUOTE(Sifha238 @ Aug 19 2012, 03:55 PM)
I like enter Liverpool thread after match, they are many Shebby wannabe give football analysis
Thanks. I on the other hand don't like entering your thread. Too many hollow, one-liner attention seeking posters like yourself. A place where brains go to die and you're a model citizen smile.gif

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Aug 20 2012, 07:35 AM
Duke Red
post Aug 20 2012, 08:49 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(redkop63 @ Aug 20 2012, 07:55 AM)
We can't wait too long to win things or get back to the top 4. Not sure what FSG will think of that in view of KD gone in 1 season. I think by then the club may have been folded where big time sponsors would have gone elsewhere and we have a bloated wages to take care of and could end up like Rangers. Call it knee jerk but I hope not to see that day of reckoning.

Hate to say Adidas was right in what they have said about us, they're right in many ways. How often we hear bosses telling us ..... "just get it done i don't want to hear excuses". Dreams are made of this and time is an essence to achieve success in the modern game, as much as I hate to believe but has to admit that being the case in the modern game. Patience will not be the flavor in the modern game as what the FSG has demonstrated in KD's case. Never mind what they say in the open, they will always be looking for success within the shortest possible time and they'll be cold blooded if they need to. Anyway they're businessmen and 'human sentiments" doesn't come into play for them.

As for the fan base, we're drifting from being one of the most popular and best supported club to one of the also rans. All said and done, the modern game is dictated by sponsorhips, air time and fan base, FSG should be able to tell us more.
Standard Chartered have signed on until the end of 2014. Not sure how long Warrior will remain sponsors but suffice to say, they'll be here at least as long as FSG own the club. The thing about the Adidas statement is this. Whatever our league form at the moment, we still sell the most number of jerseys worldwide behind the mancs, Barca and Real Madrid.

Many of us fans from the 80's have withstood the test of time. I mean we went through almost a whole decade winning only two cups and yet, our loyalty is unshakeable. Ask posters here and you'll note that some became fans in the 90's under Souness or Evans when we were not competing for the league, same as now. People scoff when I say we're a special club but indeed I believe we are despite snide and sarcastic comments from our rivals. Who give a flying f anyway. What matters is what we believe. As my signature says, "our faith is the weapon most feared by our enemies". It says a lot to me. Human sentiment may not have a place amongst businessmen but it does amongst the fans. It is because of sentiment that I stood tall through trying times despite being mocked by my manc supporting mates every time.

The Rangers comparison is a little extreme. Firstly, FSG cleared any debt we had upon taking over. They then proceeded to trim our wage bill. Unchecked spending may bring us back full circle which is why Rodgers has to sell to buy, and which is also why we've not gone for the big names. We've basically signed a bunch of kids this season.

Anyway it's first game of the season so let's get behind Rodgers and the lads.
Duke Red
post Aug 20 2012, 02:17 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(redkop63 @ Aug 20 2012, 12:05 PM)
There's no guarantee that Stanchart and Warrior will continue to be the sponsors if success is not delivered to them between now and then, otherwise they will most probably be roasted by their own board. They are through and through businessmen and they have no sentiments over the club that they sponsor, as what you've rightly mentioned their consicence is guided by profits while ours is by loyalty.

Coming from the 70s tribe, yes we were the in-thing and those successes of the 70s and 80s carries us through to the 90s and perhaps a little over 2000s. Lack of succeses over the 90s and beyond 2000 has caused our popularity and fan base to grow  by a much slower pace and I have to eat the humble pie to say that it's the case now. Don't get me wrong, I'm not happy and I'm not proud at all with what I've just expressed and I'm not getting any less loyal by saying so and it pains me to say that, but we have to acknowledge the reality of the situation of the club now.

Let's look at the LFC now, not the one that we know of in the 70s/80s/90s, it's like any other business entity that survives on the success of customers retention and new customers coming through the pipeline. Situation now stands that due to our recent lack of successes (90s and 2000s) the club very much retains the customer base, like you and me plus many others from the same era because we were very much associated with those successful years. I won't also fail to also mention and to give much credit to many of the supporters here trickling in after year 2000, moreso after 2010, which is often associated with those lean years.

Time has moved, the way football club is run has also changed by much and it evolves around winning on the pitch and gets translated into financial rewards while also broadening of the customers/fan base. Yes, I'm very happy to know from your tone  that you're through and through a diehard Liverpool fan and I'm no different but we need to be down to earth to acknowledge where we are now compared to say 20 or 25 years ago. To hell with what the mancs have to say about us, it doesn't bother me a bit.

I think we’re debating on a different basis, your is more tawords fans loyalty while mine is towards the long term suvival and growth of the club from the financial and the widening of the fan base.

Thanks for sharing your thought.
Success does attract more wealthy sponsors, without a doubt. Having said that, Liverpool is a club in a very unique situation. I mentioned the 3 clubs who sell more kits than us and if you look at them. They constantly challenge for honours every year. There are many clubs who do but sell less kits than us. It is indeed about revenue for the sponsors. If we sell kits and people watch our games, they'll be happy because all they want are eyeballs. The only uncertainty is how long we can keep growing our fanbase. You may be right to suggest that growth in this aspect has stagnated but I'm more inclined to believe that the global fanbase has been diluted with the introduction of more contending teams like Chelsea and Man City. In the past it was either Man Utd or Liverpool.

Not saying that we'll be all good if we continue to struggle but the situations is hardly critical yet. Just saying that to compare us with Ranger at this point is a little extreme.

Duke Red
post Aug 20 2012, 04:42 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(redkop63 @ Aug 20 2012, 03:53 PM)
So, what's the prediction for Man City's game?
We will create chances, this is almost certain. City have conceded 4 goals in their past w Premiership games. 2 against QPR when they clinched the Premiership and another 2 against Southampton over the weekend. My concern is we're still struggling to score. Suarez could have had a hat trick against WBA.

I think we played pretty well against WBA until Agger got sent off. We did concede a goal before that but it was a wonder strike from Gera. If we can keep our shape against City, I think we could steal all 3 points. We'll need to keep it tight at the back. Agger's absence will be felt.

Added on August 20, 2012, 4:44 pm
QUOTE(digilife @ Aug 20 2012, 04:10 PM)
Okay, now the hatred towards BR is gone( because he used the wrong tactics and undermine Steve Ckarke capabilities in out smarting him)

Lets support BR for atleast ONE point in our next game, We can do it because our fans sing a song whenever we play and this will win games.

Even if we lose, i dun mind BUT BR must get the tactics right by fielding the correct players in the right position.

Go BR go, do your best and play good passing and possession football, we have Allen which was the best player other than Reina in our last game.
Considering that hindsight is 20-20, why don't you go out on a limb and tell me what tactics you think he should deploy and which personnel he should play?

There was hatred directed at Rodgers?

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Aug 20 2012, 04:44 PM
Duke Red
post Aug 21 2012, 06:30 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(hfi @ Aug 20 2012, 10:30 PM)
WTF rest Suarez after the first match of the season and when we are severely lacking creativty up front ? Utter madness.
Aye I think it's ludicrous to leave him out. He may not have scored against WBA but he was easily our most dangerous player. The problem with playing Carroll as a lone striker is that teams can nullify his presence by defending a high line. Carroll doesn't have the mobility or the pace to get in behind defenders. He's most effective in and around the box. Suarez, being the constant threat he is, forces defences to play tighter and deeper. Contesting the midfield to stem a tide of City attacks is one thing but we need to defend from the front and Suarez closes down defenders as good as anyone. Carroll doesn't do this as well for obvious reasons. I'd actually like to see Carroll play as the fulcrum with Suarez and Borini flanking him in an attacking trident. Playing Carroll alone against Lescott and Kompany will be akin to sending lambs to the slaughter house. Both defenders are quick and strong.

I have to agree that Carra is past it but I'm equally as hesitant about playing Coates against strikers with good mobility like Aguero or Tevez. To be honest, I'd much rather see Martin Kelly play in the middle for this one. I don't think he's getting the recognition he deserves, I thought he was one four best players against WBA but no one seems to have taken notice. He looks matured beyond his years. He doesn't commit silly challenges and he tracks players well. He can be exposed by express trains on the flank like any fullback (especially a 6'3" one) but he'd make a really quick central defender.
Duke Red
post Aug 22 2012, 11:13 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Aug 22 2012, 09:42 AM)
The missus, despite having very little interest in football probably sensed my disappointment (with both the results and probably the sacking of KD from many moons ago) actually asked this;

"How many 3-0 defeats will the club take before BR is booted out?"

Normally I would have laughed this off, but Manchester City, Arsenal, Sunderland, Man Utd and Norwich are our next five games. Sunderland and Norwich, which on paper would be the most winnable are away games. hmm.gif

If things go sour, would the owners stomach 6 defeats in a row?
Brendan Rodgers has been dealt a tough hand here. During discussions on which manager we should hire, it was already said that the new gaffer was going to have a tough task. Bad enough that Euro 2012 and the Olympics bridged last season and this one, we had to be given a tough schedule to top it off. Maybe that's why Martinez turned the job down eh? In the little time that Rodgers has had with the team, he has had to implement a new system of play to face established championship material sides. Also, how many training sessions has Borini and Allen had with the team? What chance does Rodgers have? It is by no means an impossible task and we'll have to grind results out. I don't see us playing supremely dominant football at least for the first quarter of the season.

I see posters talking about changing our strategy and tactics but I'd beg to differ. I want Rodgers to have the lads play exactly how he wants them to. Yes, throw the lads into the deep end of the ocean and see them sink or swim. Live or die by the sword. The next 5 games aren't going to be easy games anyway.
Duke Red
post Aug 22 2012, 11:29 AM

6,112 posts

Premiership old boy, Peter Enckelman has been cleared to play for Hearts against us. I've never seen any other keeper concede from a throw-in before.
Duke Red
post Aug 22 2012, 11:35 AM

6,112 posts

With a week to go before the transfer window closes, it looks increasingly likely that Daniel Agger will stay, at least until the January transfer window. Have said that, there are still concerns over his fitness levels and whether or not he can stay fit for at least two thirds of the season. With Jamie Carragher clearly missing a yard of pace and Sebastian Coates still struggling to adapt to the frantic pace of English football, I reckon that Michael Dawson would have provided ample cover. Unfortunately it looks like QPR have signed him and even if they didn't, we'd probably be using the $7.5 mil to strengthen other positions. Still, we conceded 3 against WBA and I can't help but think we need to bolster our defence. If you don't concede, you can't lose.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/19334852
Duke Red
post Aug 22 2012, 11:45 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Aug 22 2012, 11:43 AM)
Didn't we also sign a young highly rated scottish cb last season? is he loaned out or has he been sold?
Aye, Danny Wilson. He's been used sparringly as a leftback but that's about it. If we were to use one of the young uns at the centreback position, I'd like it to be Martin Kelly.
Duke Red
post Aug 22 2012, 11:53 AM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Cloud0890 @ Aug 22 2012, 11:45 AM)
Unfortunately Dawson lacks pace to play a high defensive line of AVB where he is now down to 5th in the pecking order. If we were to continue defending high like in the WBA game, Dawson I feel is not the one for us.

He can't be any slower than Carra or Coates though.

QUOTE(Cloud0890 @ Aug 22 2012, 11:45 AM)
What do you guys think about Scott Sinclair? 1 year left on his contract, wants to leave, knows BR's system, only 22, seems City is gonna snap him up for 5m which seems like a good price considering he is British. Or do you think Adam Johnson is the better choice despite his selfishness and lack of work rate required for high pressure closing down opponents?
He's got a good strike record for a winger a well and at 5'10", could be used to attack far post crosses from the opposing flank. Also, John Barnes who was my favourite player at the time I started supporting Liverpool, rates him and has tried convincing him to play for Jamaica. Digger was simply sublime in his prime and scored an amazing goal against Brazil so his recommendation means something to me. I reckon that given the price tag, Sinclair would be a better choice than Johnson. I watched one Swansea game where he was in immaculate form. Can't remember which game though.
Duke Red
post Aug 22 2012, 02:22 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Aug 22 2012, 12:10 PM)
second that. martin kelly. your CB position have to be your strongest, followed by the fullbacks. can we use flanagan in LB and revert GJ back to RB? you also mentioned Dawson. i think he is used to be called a poor man's John Terry. is he still any good?
I don't really see the merit in swapping fullbacks. I feel that in a day on age where teams adopt more central skewed attacking formations e.g. 4-3-3, a team's width is provided by its attacking fullbacks. However when your right back has no left foot as is stuck out on the left, it feels unnatural for him to go wide and whip a cross in with his weaker leg. The only time I think it' beneficial for a right footed fullback to play on the left for example is when he's up against a winger/forward who drifts infield e.g. if we were playing against Downing who when on the right flank, tends to drift infield. If the opposition team plays a natural right footer on the right flank for example, then you're best off having a left footed, leftback mark him rather than a right footed one. This is why teams have their wingers swap wings during games, to catch the marking fullback on his weaker foot.

To answer your question therefore, I'd only play Flanaghan on the left if he were marking a left footed player. Since we have no width on the left with Downing on the right and no other left footed wingers in the team, I'd much prefer Enrique or Robinson there or we'd never get any crosses in from the left.

Dawson was never really "good". I reckon he's a decent squad player especially given our lack of viable options with Carra getting old and Coates struggling with the pace of the Premiership. He reminds me of a Gerard Pique who has the turning circle of a truck.
Duke Red
post Aug 22 2012, 02:36 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(dv8syun @ Aug 22 2012, 02:28 PM)
we had the best defence last season....yet we lost.

like ive said before, last season line up + lucas wouldve done it. We r trying to rebuild every season n all the learning of previous season has gone to waste.
Well not winning isn't really losing. However my point is that we should build from the back. The defence to me is like our foundation since the intention is to start playing from the back. This is in contrast of course to the old Brazilian philosophy of scoring more goals than your opponent does.
Duke Red
post Aug 22 2012, 02:46 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Aug 22 2012, 02:34 PM)
good point. the reason i would move GJ back to his more familiar RB position is i think he is almost useless going forward in the LB position. correct me if i'm wrong. enrique is still injured correct? hmmm. because we wont be playing carra in the LB position, i think we might see the same back 4 that finished the WBA game
Precisely which reinforces my point of having right-footed fullbacks playing on the left. The only notable exception I know is Philip Lahm who is actually equally as good with either foot.

In today's game, Carra would be totally innefective on the left. The only reason he was decent for us in that position is because Houllier liked to play a flat back four, as we had wide players like Berger, Ziege, Kewell, Riise (who played on the left wing sporadically), Barmby and Smicer. The current squad has no width which is why we need fullbacks with a little more pace, stamina and guile in attack.

Added on August 22, 2012, 2:51 pm
QUOTE(dv8syun @ Aug 22 2012, 02:42 PM)
last season was promising build up for me. I was utterly hurt by King Kenny sacking coz i believed that he had something coming. The low conversion rate n no. of woodwork hits rlly dissapointing but i believed the fix wasnt so far away. Rebuilding will take more time n work.

I agree. I thought we were on the right track but it was the bottom line in the end that did Kenny in. If the first game against WBA was anything to go by, we're still struggling to score. Hope Rodgers sorts it out for his own sake. I doubt the owners will be any more forgiving with him than they were with Kenny.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Aug 22 2012, 02:51 PM
Duke Red
post Aug 22 2012, 03:08 PM

6,112 posts

If it were up to me (and it obviously isn't), I'd like to see Suarez and Borini flanking Carroll against City. If we are persisting with Suarez - Borini - Downing, I'd like to see Borini switch places with Suarez. The latter is better at creating opportunities and given his struggles in front of goal, maybe we'd be better off having Borini lead the line.
Duke Red
post Aug 22 2012, 03:35 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(dillonyong @ Aug 22 2012, 03:13 PM)
4-3-3 against City is suicidal. I cant see how your formation can work. We leave a big gap for Yaya Toure and Samir Nasri to walk right over us.
4-3-3 going forward with Gerrard supporting the front 3, with Lucas and Allen protecting the back four. Also, it means we defend high up the pitch using our fowards. Formations should not be taken at face value anyhow. A 4-3-3 attacking formation can easily morph into a 4-5-1 when being pegged back. I just think that sitting back and inviting City forward is fatal.
Duke Red
post Aug 22 2012, 03:48 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Aug 22 2012, 03:40 PM)
I agree.

Obviously City are favourites against us. So rather than sitting back and inviting city to attack (which they can, and will), Its a better idea to go for it (cautiously of course) with the 4-3-3 (diamond-ish) formation and as Duke said... revert to 4-5-1 when City are attacking.
I saw a proposed formation earlier which listed 5 actual midfielders in Henderson, Shelvey, Gerrard, Allen and Lucas. The problem with this is not only are they all better players in the centre of the park, we also do not have to pace to counterattack. Having forwards like Borini and Suarez track back to midfield at least means we'll have the pace to hit them on the counter, beating the offside trap. There is little point in chocking the midfield when we have no outlets when gaining possession of the ball. Suarez and Borini or both adept at making runs in behind defences.
Duke Red
post Aug 22 2012, 04:08 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Mikeshashimi @ Aug 22 2012, 03:53 PM)
No point having those names in midfield all at once if we plan on countering... those names are on the field if we are parking the bus.

I'd like to see Suarez-Carroll-Borini start. If both of them can supply Carroll with good balls, I'm sure we can start scoring. I dont think we're particularly bad at the back, but we all know how woeful we are up front.
That's the same forwardline I'd go for. Carroll may not be a prolific goalscorer but he sure can be a nuisance. Also with him leading the line, it means Suarez will have more space and he wouldn't have to resort to taking rushed half chances. He could do with more time to place his shots.
Duke Red
post Aug 23 2012, 07:01 PM

6,112 posts

Boys, kick-off is at 2:45 am yes?

0.0200sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled