Gout Management, Diet

alangeorge
post Sep 1 2012, 08:11 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(pauerxi @ Sep 1 2012, 08:06 PM)
Hi..I have discharged from hospital on 17/8. 4 days after that, the gout attack again. When I was admitted, my uric acid was 6++. on 30/8 I go again to the hospital for follow up. I cant walk, the gout attack both feet. On that day the blood test result shown that my uric acid reduced to 3++ which considered normal. I ask the Dr. why the attack happened even the uric acid reduced to normal? Dr said that the there may be uric acid that already crystalized in my joint and the uric acid level is just reduced. The Dr now referring me to the rheumatologist because i ask about possiblity of having rheumatoid athritis. But the Dr mention that through the blood test the rheumatoid is negative. Hoping everything will be fine. Now my target is to reduce weight. ^^
1. gout normally affects a single joint at any one time. if both feet were affected at the same time it might be something else like osteoarthritis or rheumatoid arthritis.
2. maybe you have chronic gout?
TSpauerxi
post Sep 1 2012, 08:11 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(azzamna @ Aug 30 2012, 06:03 PM)
During the raya, i have not watch out my diet... belasah shj kambing & sotong. Then suffer lah... sekarang i minum air betik muda&green tea .  Getah yg ada pada betik muda & the green tea, will elevate the blood pH. Low pH is not good for gout people , we have to neutralize the acid level ..to lessen the pain.

How I did, cut the green papaya(do not peel the skin), into big cubes. Then boiled it with green tea for about 30minutes. Then drink the water.

google green papaya for gout.
So did the papaya and green tea works? What about bekam you mentioned? Not effective anymore?

Added on September 1, 2012, 8:15 pm
QUOTE(alangeorge @ Sep 1 2012, 08:11 PM)
1. gout normally affects a single joint at any one time. if both feet were affected at the same time it might be something else like osteoarthritis or rheumatoid arthritis.
2. maybe you have chronic gout?
Actually the attack start on my left foot. But when i walk, I put a lot of my weight on my right foot. After 3 days, my right foot start to feel pain, while left foot feeling better. But Im not sure whether it is RA or what.
How do we know we have chronic gout? What the different of gout and chronic gout?

This post has been edited by pauerxi: Sep 1 2012, 08:15 PM
tchtax
post Sep 1 2012, 10:24 PM

638 posts

QUOTE(alangeorge @ Sep 1 2012, 08:01 PM)
please, tell me something else more substantial. just googling about gout and asking me to read about what i've already learnt in medical school is not enough. vitamin c is beneficial for gout? where's the logic?
Is everyone in here a doctor or in med school like you ? Or should we indulge ourselves in medical and scientific terms which few of us can understand. On top of that you're inferring that all that information out there which I just referred is not good enough. Well that's fine with me but you don';t have to go around attacking me like I owe you the information that YOU want. C'mon, we're all in here just to share. I'm not a doctor like you or even been in med school, but heck, some people who I know do take the supplements I and others have suggested and works for some of them. Your attitude towards the less informed who wants to share in this website, is nothing less than discouraging.

jingyong
post Sep 1 2012, 10:57 PM

472 posts

1. Gout most commonly attack the big toe.

2. Asymptomatic high uric acid level is not an indication for allopurinol

3. During attack, we usually prescribe NSAID or Colchicine to stop the pain then we review the lifestyle, food etc for optimizing gout..

4. We DO NOT start allopurinol during attack

5. If u're taking allopurinol but an gout attack as well, DO NOT stop the drug during the attack.

6. Why we do not simply start allopurinol is because it has severe side effects such as hypersensitivity, bone marrow suppresion, aplastic anemia etc..

7. Advice for all gout patients:
- Optimize weight
- modify diet
- exercise
- reduce alcohol intake
- maintain fluid intake
- treat your other medical prob such as hypertension, hyperlipidemia

8. Avoid high purine content food such as red meat, liver, kidney, asparagus, meat extracts (eg Bovril) etc..

alangeorge
post Sep 2 2012, 11:13 AM

205 posts

QUOTE(tchtax @ Sep 1 2012, 10:24 PM)
Is everyone in here a doctor or in med school like you ? Or should we indulge ourselves in medical and scientific terms which few of us can understand. On top of that you're inferring that all that information out there which I just referred  is not good enough. Well that's fine with me but you don';t have to go around attacking me like I owe you the information that YOU want. C'mon, we're all in here just to share. I'm not a doctor like you  or even been in med school, but heck, some people who I know do take the supplements I and others have suggested and works for some of them. Your attitude towards the less informed who wants to share in this website, is nothing less than discouraging.
good. if you are not qualified then please do not offer advice to others, especially wrong advice. supplements do have a role, but in certain conditions e.g., malnutrition, post op. but from you, its the first time i've heard anybody advising the patient who is really having a medical condition unproven remedies, i.e., vitamin c.

i'm here to help those who are not medically trained to know what is wrong and what is right.

so, to others who want to offer any medical advice, please offer something legitimate and from a reputable source.

Added on September 2, 2012, 11:14 am
QUOTE(jingyong @ Sep 1 2012, 10:57 PM)

3. During attack, we usually prescribe NSAID or Colchicine to stop the pain then we review the lifestyle, food etc for optimizing gout..

5. If u're taking allopurinol but an gout attack as well, DO NOT stop the drug during the attack.

6. Why we do not simply start allopurinol is because it has severe side effects such as hypersensitivity, bone marrow suppresion, aplastic anemia etc..

- Optimize weight
- modify diet
- exercise
- reduce alcohol intake
- maintain fluid intake

8. Avoid high purine content food such as red meat, liver, kidney, asparagus, meat extracts (eg Bovril) etc..
totally agree with all the above.

This post has been edited by alangeorge: Sep 2 2012, 02:20 PM
TinyPumpkin
post Sep 12 2012, 03:19 PM

1,233 posts

QUOTE(tchtax @ Sep 1 2012, 10:24 PM)
Is everyone in here a doctor or in med school like you ? Or should we indulge ourselves in medical and scientific terms which few of us can understand. On top of that you're inferring that all that information out there which I just referred  is not good enough. Well that's fine with me but you don';t have to go around attacking me like I owe you the information that YOU want. C'mon, we're all in here just to share. I'm not a doctor like you  or even been in med school, but heck, some people who I know do take the supplements I and others have suggested and works for some of them. Your attitude towards the less informed who wants to share in this website, is nothing less than discouraging.
You could be right about vitamin c you know; it does not treat gout but small doses could be beneficial to gout sufferers:-

http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/gout/DS00...native-medicine
Wolves
post Sep 12 2012, 05:03 PM

887 posts

QUOTE(jingyong @ Sep 1 2012, 10:57 PM)

- Optimize weight
- modify diet
- exercise
- reduce alcohol intake
- maintain fluid intake

point 1: not really.. it attacks the most "used" joint and the "weakest" joint.. usually the big toe but it can be any other places like the heel or the knee depending on their lifestyle, occupation and hobby. it can be one sided or both as well..

point 2: Uric acid level is a good indicator but not to confirm diagnosis. Asymptomatic means got the "illness" or disease but you dunt have any symptoms.. just to clarify for those who dunno what it means... it just means high uric acid doesnt mean you will have gout.. low uric acid doesnt mean you dont have gout.. some ppl with normal uric acid level will have gout.. it all depends on individual and the "symptoms" you are feeling.. but uric acid level is a good way to "check"..

point 3: NSAIDs are a common group of pain killers we took just in case ppl dunno what it is.. as a rule of thumb.. the stronger the pain killing.. the more gastric you gonna have.. but in this type of "bone" pain we do use very "strong" type. colchicine is the main drug to reduce the uric acid fast..

point 4: very good.. and very super duper important. a lot of people dunno this. changes in uric acid concentration during attack may make it worse and make the attack longer..

Point 5: nothing to say there...

Point 6: yes.. true.. but really... in practice its just too slow and when attack cannot be used bla bla bla and easy to get allergic reaction such as rash and swollen lips bla bla bla... and... the most importantly.. not every pharmacy keep this.. and in practice.. as in what is really being used.. we just use colchicine.. colchicine can both reduce uric acid and abort attack in short time (1-3 days usually will do).. and it can also be used as prevention.. and can be used longer and safer than allopurinol and every pharmacy has them and... if the "patient" hand itchy go eat seafood and stuff.. they can just double the dose to "prevent" it from coming.. walla~ yippie~ and so.. we dont use allopurinol... of coz how to adjust.. that one need to talk more on that.. but yeah.. we dunt really use allopurinol for a lot of reason..

Point 7: its what i called doctor's or newly profesional's thinking.. it is true and stuff.. but its easy said than done.. optimizing weight.. its gonna take time.. its the advice anybody including the patient himself can tell himself.. but its not easily done.. so point 6 is important.. we manage first.. then we slowly reduce the cause.. as a side note.. i always explain gout is a rich man disease.. usually the food that cause them is rich man's food.. so asking a rich man to change his diet to poor man diet.. not easy smile.gif so refer back to point 6.. anyway.. i gonna add on something else.. let me finish with this point.. weight.. modify diet.. and the rest you mention.. try lar to do but manage the attack first.. then only talk abt the rest..

point 8: easy said than done.. or we do what the gov hospital do.. just give them a list and says "pakcik.. balik rumah baca ok?" and pakcik will say "ok.. saya akan baca".. doc walk out the door.. *throw into tong sampah*.. =.= general rules.. seafood.. red meat.. red means when you go supermarket.. when you see the meat.. its very red.. the more red.. the more you should avoid.. lamb is a good example.. very red.. those full of blood type.. are bad.. kacang.. or beans.. peanuts is included.. they are bad.. so avoid these 3 major one.. you are half way there.. i always think this advice is a lot practicle to the community than "avoid high purine food bla bla bla"..

points to add.. celery is good.. how i explain what is celery? neh.. the vege your kids bring to school in primary school.. the one he potong and then celup in water colour and print on paper make a pattern.. most ppl including "orang kampung" will go.. ooo.. that one.. yes.. that one.. if still dunno.. goggle it.. celery is good for gout sufferers.. vitamin c.. alkaline bla bla bla.. no proof yet.. still debating.. so ignore them.. celery is good.. fish oil.. those good fish oil ok?.. not those useless type.. the type of food i say in point 8.. reduce them.. i dint say cannot eat... i say reduce them.. coz i dun believe anybody will listen to "do not eat them".. then refer point 6 for "management" later.. with this two main points.. you life longer happier life than just life longer life.. but what also cannot eat =.=" lemme see.. did i miss out anything?

oh.. disclaimer.. well.. i am more of a practical person and not the "follow the law" type like most doc will do or say.. heck my "advice" is usually not the "best" but i found them to be a lot more practical and easier to follow and i believe in "enjoying" life.. so there.. oh.. i also believe in preventing more than cure.. so there.. oh wait.. there is new stuff in the market too.. krill oil and mussel which i dunt believe.. to me they are just "expensive money making stuff".. to me lah.. oh ya.. TS... you can start glucosamine plus chondroitin supplementation.. just in case its not gout.. i mean just in case its RA or what.. i see no harm in starting coz lately i seen younger and younger ppl with it.. like i said.. depends on your occupation.. lifestyle and what you do.. it can be RA.. the only harm is your wallet will empty faster but isnt that better than having leg pain for longer duration.. with possibly more damage? think abt it.. over and out..
mareno77
post Sep 12 2012, 05:23 PM

260 posts

TS.. let me share you my experience.

This year, after about 2 years of almost no chronic gout attack, I got worst gout attack. Since February this year until just before ramadhan, I was walking "tempang" due to chronic gout. There are times when it attack both legs too. I have tried so many other alternative medicine. and I was on colchicine for so long. But my Uric acid level maintained around 600+.

At first I did not take allupurinol as I had bad experience few years ago, where the pain got worst and never go away for 3 months. However, this time, after nothing else work, I succumb to the specialist suggestion to start allupurinol even when under an attack. But this time allupurinol (300 mg) is coupled with colchicine and prednisolone. The specialist insist to try this since other method or medication have not work in reducing my uric acid level.

Damn.. as I feared, the swelling got worst and I was pissed with everything all the time. Pity my family, having to endure that period. I check back with the specialist, who then add arcoxia (90mg), a painkiller, to the cocktail of medicine. However, I try to avoid the arcoxia when ever possible, due to the bad side effect on the kidney.

After a couple of months, my uric acid is now below 500 and once was at 308. Pain is very much less severe, my bunion is receeding and I can exercise again although no running/jogging yet. I am continuing allupurinol (300mg) daily and colchicine and prednosolone when ever almost got an attack, and arcoxia only when the pain is too much.

Bear with the pain for now. Or if cannot bear the pain, get the Dr. to prescribe arcoxia. It will get worse before it gets better. Allupurinol will do that. It will quickly reduce our uric acid level in the body. Too bad that the body doesn't like drastic change to the uric aicd level. Spike or sudden drop will cause an attack. That's why allupurinol is not adviced to be started during an attack.

Anyhow, I will reduce/stop the allupurinol eventually as I am monitoring my uric acid level and trying to find out the best diet to maintain a gout free life.

Oh another thing, it helps me to drink soda water (half a teaspoon baking soda mix with a cup of water). It seems to allow the medicine to work better (can google baking soda and gout).

you can read more low yat forumers experience with gout here Gout experience. Good luck, I feel you man...

Wolves
post Sep 12 2012, 07:09 PM

887 posts

QUOTE(mareno77 @ Sep 12 2012, 05:23 PM)
TS.. let me share you my experience.

This year, after about 2 years of almost no chronic gout attack, I got worst gout attack.  Since February this year until just before ramadhan, I was walking "tempang" due to chronic gout.  There are times when it attack both legs too.  I have tried so many other alternative medicine. and I was on colchicine for so long.  But my Uric acid level maintained around 600+. 

At first I did not take allupurinol as I had bad experience few years ago, where the pain got worst and never go away for 3 months.  However, this time, after nothing else work, I succumb to the specialist suggestion to start allupurinol even when under an attack.  But this time allupurinol (300 mg) is coupled with colchicine and prednisolone.  The specialist insist to try this since other method or medication have not work in reducing my uric acid level.

Damn.. as I feared, the swelling got worst and I was pissed with everything all the time.  Pity my family, having to endure that period.  I check back with the specialist, who then add arcoxia (90mg), a painkiller, to the cocktail of medicine.  However, I try to avoid the arcoxia when ever possible, due to the bad side effect on the kidney.

After a couple of months, my uric acid is now below 500 and once was at 308.  Pain is very much less severe, my bunion is receeding and I can exercise again although no running/jogging yet. I am continuing allupurinol (300mg) daily and colchicine and prednosolone when ever almost got an attack, and arcoxia only when the pain is too much.

Bear with the pain for now.  Or if cannot bear the pain, get the Dr. to prescribe arcoxia.  It will get worse before it gets better.  Allupurinol will do that.  It will quickly reduce our uric acid level in the body.  Too bad that the body doesn't like drastic change to the uric aicd level.  Spike or sudden drop will cause an attack.  That's why allupurinol is not adviced to be started during an attack.

Anyhow, I will reduce/stop the allupurinol eventually as I am monitoring my uric acid level and trying to find out the best diet to maintain a gout free life. 

Oh another thing, it helps me to drink soda water (half a teaspoon baking soda mix with a cup of water). It seems to allow the medicine to work better (can google baking soda and gout).

you can read more low yat forumers experience with gout here Gout experience.  Good luck, I feel you man...
hi mereno77.. do you mind trying my method? smile.gif just give me one week and see if it works.. i assume you do regular blood test to test your uric acid level.. well.. i rarely appear and since i did.. and still here.. i might as well ask you to do a few things for me.. that is if you are willing to try..

first.. tolchicine 0.6mg... theorically same as your colchicine 0.5mg.. but the extra 0.1mg might make a difference.. can you do me a favour and take one tablet 3 times a day continuously for one week.. with food of coz.. if you are not doing so i mean.. second.. get this thing called Ural.. drink 2 packets in the morning.. 2 packets in the afternoon.. and 2 packets at night.. after the tolchicine if you want.. doesnt matter.. as long as you did.. that is for day 1.. after the first 6 packet.. can you go one packet each time.. 3 times a day.. for one week also.. then add on one biji of young coconut.. just one a day will do.. the young coconut is optional.. but since you say you persistently so "high" uric acid even with allopurinol.. and presumely colchicine is also permenant.. why not give it a try.. oh.. if you dont mind lar.. and frankly speaking i am already hitting extreme here.. lol.. and its just an experiment.. if you feel funny.. quit anytime.. dunt play play.. if you can get someone to monitor even better.. i would definitely be interested if i have such a patient and i will gladly see him twice a day just to see how he is.. but unfortunately i cant.. lol.. of coz.. dunt sue me if anything goes wrong doh.gif *hides*.. oh.. for my testing.. you might have to stop your allopurinol doh.gif... erm.. why not we wait for other docs to approve this method before we start.. i am just suggesting.. any doc around who thinks he can try this method? tongue.gif wuahahahha.. but i am interested to know the result..
mareno77
post Sep 12 2012, 09:31 PM

260 posts

Uish.. why should I experiment this? What's the expected outcome? Or are you playing with me Wolves... brows.gif
Since my uric acid level is now under control most of the time since on allupurinol, I don't have to take colchicine, prednosolone nor arcoxia all the time... only when I feel an attack is coming. Anyway, any takers to your experiment??
Wolves
post Sep 12 2012, 09:47 PM

887 posts

lol.. not mess with you.. but from my impression it seems like your uric acid still high and so on.. well.. colchicine reduces the attack and inflamation bla bla bla but doesnt mess with the production and excretion of uric acid.. in other words.. you wont feel the "gout" attack.. so now the challenge is lower down your uric acid level.. ural is a urine alkalinzer and the new "indication" is to wash out the uric acid.. it works like the soda you are talking abt.. so washing it into your urine.. well.. it might be a lot easier than drinking soda.. and one packet is like 1.50 plus minus a few cents.. no harm done.. young coconut has a bit of diuretic effects.. meaning it makes you goes to the toilet pee.. plus its natural electrolyte.. tambah garam dan air masuk badan.. it cleanses your blood and hydrates the body properly.. and its natural "immune" booster.. so theorically if you drink them... not excessively.. l like one a day.. your blood uric acid should be diluted down.. and then wash out and with the help of ural or any urine alkalinzer.. and even if fails.. colchicine is there as backup.. if you scare.. continue prednisolone or steroid but they are known to cause water retention bla bla bla so might counter effect.. allopurinol stops the production of uric acid by ... well.. something ppl can understand.. A turn to B.. B turn to C.. then C disolves in urine and flush out.. allopurinol stops B turn to C (uric acid in this case).. so B is accumulated in your body.. whats the point? how long can you tahan B in your body? might as well we changes the equation and forces it out into the urine and quickly flushes out of the body? tongue.gif that was my thought.. what you think?
happicows
post Sep 15 2012, 03:21 PM

Hi, u may try out Alpha Lipid Lifeline
There are many benefits by taking colostrum and if you google for colostrum, u will definitely amazed with the products. My father who is a diabetic patient has successfully off from insulin to oral medicine and it is on low dose diabetic medicine now. Dr. Is so surprised with the result too.

Anyway, no harm trying ya. If u are interested, u may PM me. Thx.
manfye
post Mar 21 2013, 12:55 AM

68 posts

hope that im not late for the party, i had created an android apps which enable gout patients to easily search for the database of food contain purines, u can easily download it @ https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...nevsFoods&hl=en

Medicine vs foods =D, hope that it helps gout sufferer here
nickkor888
post Mar 22 2024, 04:53 PM

15 posts

Hi All,

I am lost in a way that i couldn't figure it out. I am a gout sufferer for many years. Tried a lot of stuff but this past year was bad. Multiple flare up and uric acid level at 8.5 level.

But these past week my uric acid level went down to 6.3. Thid past week i make two changes to my daily routine.

STOP Coffee &

Took my high blood pressure med Telmisartan from 11 pm at night to 11 am morning.

So what could it be ???

Thank you
SupermanLick
post Mar 22 2024, 11:01 PM

👊PUNCH SOHAI🗣️
1,456 posts

QUOTE(nickkor888 @ Mar 22 2024, 04:53 PM)
Hi All,

I am lost in a way that i couldn't figure it out. I am a gout sufferer for many years. Tried a lot of stuff but this past year was bad. Multiple flare up and uric acid level at 8.5 level.

But these past week my uric acid level went down to 6.3. Thid past week i make two changes to my daily routine.

STOP Coffee &

Took my high blood pressure med Telmisartan from 11 pm at night to 11 am morning.

So what could it be ???

Thank you
Drink more goat milk

MAGAMan-X
post Apr 25 2024, 12:16 AM

764 posts

QUOTE(nickkor888 @ Mar 22 2024, 04:53 PM)
Hi All,

STOP Coffee &

So what could it be ???

Thank you
Questions:
1) How often do you eat, including snacks?

2) What do you eat, including snacks?

3) Similar to the above, what do you drink?

4) Where do you eat/drink?

5) You are taking HBP meds, so I'm inclined to think you have diabetes/prediabetes, correct?

0.0255sec    0.91    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:32 AM