Acer Dual Core Pricing, Will it affect the Centrino Machines
TSckwhy
Feb 5 2006, 03:58 AM, updated 20y ago
Hi, I notice Acer have come out with Dual Core processors....selling at RM 3600 plus.
When will the Centrino's still be available?
Usually how long do they phase out the old technology?
I need to know, so I know how long to wait and see.
Lipyueng
Feb 5 2006, 04:15 AM
Where you saw this product??? Can tell me with PM??? Post the link also... Thanks...!!!
TSckwhy
Feb 5 2006, 09:09 AM
Saw it in Low Yat plaza laa.....just reached the shops on Fri. For now...only Acer have this. Other brands will follow suit very soon. Perhaps next week.
KidsCode
Feb 5 2006, 09:11 AM
-----NoLimits!-----
the price for the acer 8200 dual centrino core is about RM 7999, quite same as 1 of the Acer Ferrari
the price for other models will sure drop abit, but not to much
This post has been edited by KidsCode: Feb 5 2006, 09:24 AM
Feb 5 2006, 09:47 AM
acer aspire 5612NWLCi @ RRP RM3688 acer aspire 5612WLCi @ RRP RM3988 acer aspire 8204WLMi @ RRP RM7988 those are the Dual Core lappies for now.  cheers.
dinodog_Jr
Feb 5 2006, 01:06 PM
Acer Aspire is thick laptop?!
will it goin to haf 14.1" inch LCD Laptop?
TSckwhy
Feb 5 2006, 01:40 PM
Yeah.....all 15.4 inch. I think eventually 14.1 inch will come. But i think its Acers strategy....not to come out with 14.1 inch first, as this will affect the sales of its Centrino range which mostly in 14.1 inch.
Perhaps another 1 or 2 months......they will phase out Celeron, which is selling at RM 2199 like hot cakes now. Then Centrino will be the lower ends and Dual Core will come out with 14.1 inch, which will capture the mid end and high end market.
Just my opinion, any comments?
jonnyg
Feb 5 2006, 02:37 PM
QUOTE(8431 @ Feb 5 2006, 09:47 AM) acer aspire 5612NWLCi @ RRP RM3688 acer aspire 5612WLCi @ RRP RM3988 acer aspire 8204WLMi @ RRP RM7988 So which shop is the best place to buy one of these? What are the exact specs? I can't find those product numbers on the net. I want to pick up a Duo Core notebook in the next couple days before I leave the country, so looks like it'll be Acer for me. Any other brands coming out before then? I looked at the dell 9400, but the 17" is just too big for me. This post has been edited by jonnyg: Feb 5 2006, 02:38 PM
KidsCode
Feb 5 2006, 02:42 PM
-----NoLimits!-----
go fo the Acer 8200 series, is all pack with the lastest stuff, this laptop can last for sometime to go...
take 17" if you think you need the screen space like those mac then use on photoshop, if not then Acer 8204 is good enough...
*if we are talking money its not the issue*
jonnyg
Feb 5 2006, 03:45 PM
Thanks for your advice, but money is indeed an issue. I want to spend no more than 5000, and I don't want anything bigger than 15.4 inches.
jonnyg
Feb 5 2006, 04:00 PM
After re-checking that JPG posted, the 5672wlmi looks pretty decent. Is the price an MSRP, or is non-negotiable?
Who is the best Acer dealer in Low Yat?
dinodog_Jr
Feb 5 2006, 05:20 PM
how does the duol Core running like? I read bout One time only one processor running..issit true?
Btw, Acer Laptop LCD brightness/color value is Closer to LCD ?!
Can't wait to see 14.1 model too..
15.4 is kinda big to bring in n out..
btw, the RM3688 dun haf Built-in BT.. a little drawback.
williamngwl
Feb 5 2006, 06:47 PM
QUOTE(8431 @ Feb 5 2006, 09:47 AM) acer aspire 5612NWLCi @ RRP RM3688 acer aspire 5612WLCi @ RRP RM3988 acer aspire 8204WLMi @ RRP RM7988 those are the Dual Core lappies for now.  cheers. wah!!!which shop u r working!!!!!hehe!!!!u put in the acer dealer pricelist wor!!!luckly u hide the cost!!!!!
c2v4l
Feb 5 2006, 08:03 PM

the price sure drop..i went to singapore to buy 5672..initially 1694 is priced at 2698 but when 5672 is out..it is reduce to 2488...btw, 5672 price is 2698 but i managed to get it at 2435(w/o bag and mouse and after getting 100SGD cash check as they ran out of promotional item)
TSckwhy
Feb 6 2006, 01:40 PM
So.......how much longer do we need to wait here....for the Acer Dual Core 14.1 widescreen? I can't wait to get one. 15.4 inch is just hurting my back...even with a Rucksack Revolution.
williamngwl
Feb 7 2006, 01:46 AM
QUOTE(ckwhy @ Feb 6 2006, 01:40 PM) So.......how much longer do we need to wait here....for the Acer Dual Core 14.1 widescreen? I can't wait to get one. 15.4 inch is just hurting my back...even with a Rucksack Revolution. almost the same weight la!!!!
TSckwhy
Feb 7 2006, 08:19 PM
QUOTE(williamngwl @ Feb 7 2006, 01:46 AM) almost the same weight la!!!! Haha....you are right. about 600 gram different.
kons
Feb 7 2006, 08:42 PM
Конс
I just bought a Acer 5612.
U guys wanna see some benchies running sisoft? centrino duo 1.66 running on par with AMD X2 4000... on both cpu arithmatic and also multimedia benchmark. but that's just synthetic benchmark.
vickyrao
Feb 7 2006, 08:50 PM
where to get this???i was about to spend rm5k on acer normal centrino single core...n i saw this one...
pls tell me where to get it??
kons
Feb 7 2006, 08:53 PM
Конс