The SSD Thread V3, The Speed You Need

wildwestgoh
post Sep 3 2012, 12:49 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Sep 3 2012, 10:03 AM)
I turn download off will also lag (I'm on 4mbps Streamyx).

Also:

Which region you connected to? It can be also the server is packed thus lag, play at Asia during day time and America at night time is smoother, it's the non-peak hour.
Just to let you know SSD won't improve your gaming experience, and only those who seeking for faster "loading" in games will find SSD for gaming worth while, Diablo 3 does not has many "loading" screen, it loads while you play so SSD won't improve your experience. Games like Crysis may have faster loading between chapters and save games.

So, SSD won't improve your gaming experience (overall).
wildwestgoh
post Sep 3 2012, 04:08 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Sep 3 2012, 03:25 PM)
In Viewnet's 2011 August price list, the Intel 510 250GB was priced at RM1839.
In Viewnet's 2012 August price list, the Intel 520 240GB is priced at RM829.

I wouldn't worry about it.
Good!! Next year can buy at half-price whistling.gif
Aim for 240GB+ at RM400-- brows.gif
wildwestgoh
post Sep 4 2012, 04:28 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(aerobowl @ Sep 4 2012, 03:57 PM)
if health below 100% what does it mean? any bad sector formed?

will any data lost if health is not 100%?
It's normal if it's below 100%, when it's below 70% that's where you should be worried.
wildwestgoh
post Sep 5 2012, 04:31 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(availyboy @ Sep 5 2012, 02:37 PM)
Planning to get one 100~GB hard disk.
I think better go for marvel controller much better.
Anyone have suggestion? ^^
Marvell or Intel's Sandforce is fine, they're both reliable, as for now. wink.gif
wildwestgoh
post Sep 6 2012, 10:33 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Sep 6 2012, 10:16 AM)
Wow! Should go 256 m4 or raid 0 120gb 330? Mmm....
Go straight a larger capacity if you does not care about bandwidth.
RAID0 if you needs the performance that it delivers (twice the bandwidth of one), others such as access time remain the same, Windows might boot up just 1~2 seconds faster. wink.gif
wildwestgoh
post Sep 6 2012, 11:15 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Sep 6 2012, 10:49 AM)
What difference does bandwidth make? (if I need to ask this ques, I prolly don't need it! Hahaha !)
Bandwidth "hunger" applications such as video encoding and huge graphics rendering require high storage speed will benefit from RAID0, cause it'll double the bandwidth.
Take an example normal Intel 330 is 480MB/s (could be higher), double it will reach more than 900MB/s for sequential read/write speed.
Or maybe a high I/O server will benefit from the increased I/O as RAID0 increases that as well.
In the end, it's all about bandwidth for RAID0, access time still pretty much unchanged, cause it's so darn fast already. brows.gif (less than 1ms)

This post has been edited by wildwestgoh: Sep 6 2012, 11:16 AM
wildwestgoh
post Sep 7 2012, 07:32 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(our_team89 @ Sep 7 2012, 01:53 AM)
guys,will ssd speed decrease too much if we use lot of space in our ssd?like using 40gb of total 60gb storage space?
Theoretically, no.
In practice, if your TRIM is activated then you probably won't feel the "slowness", so flip to the first page and have a look on what/how about TRIM. nod.gif
Best practice is always less than 50% of the total capacity, so the SSD has space and time for the TRIM to work efficiently (IMO, correct me on this).
Always buy bigger capacity wink.gif , it's getting cheaper~~ icon_rolleyes.gif
wildwestgoh
post Sep 14 2012, 07:46 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(daryl.k @ Sep 14 2012, 06:31 PM)

my questions:
1) What is the 4GB "Primary Partition" & 25GB Recovery Partition?
2) Can i delete the Recovery Partition & free up expensive 25GB?
3) is it normal to have 30+ GB of losses?

1) I'm not sure what's inside the primary partition but I guess that's needed for your Asus recovery purpose.
2) If you feels that you won't need the recovery partition then you can do a manual re-installation of your Windows, there you can cut loose that 2 factory generated partition that usually come with the recovery disk auto installation. Manual installation involve only Windows setup disk and not the factory recovery disk.
3) 512,000,000,000 bytes advertised, divide by 1024 (3 times) and you get around 476GB. Still can't understand this? Remember the HDD space lost theory? It's the very same thing.

Note: Manual installation also require you to DIY all the drivers and Asus bloat-ware that usually come with the recovery disk. Drivers are easy to find nowadays, as long as you have Internet. wink.gif

This post has been edited by wildwestgoh: Sep 14 2012, 07:51 PM
wildwestgoh
post Sep 17 2012, 09:01 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(kona|kona @ Sep 17 2012, 06:30 AM)
ssd no moving part so no heat ?
Chips will produce heat, in a way, just like your pendrive, but the heat is not as constant and high as normal HDD.
wildwestgoh
post Oct 7 2012, 07:23 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(trisx @ Oct 6 2012, 06:32 PM)
Joining in with my new Samsung 830 128Gb biggrin.gif

Add me to user list  thumbup.gif
Am I seeing thing or is the Samsung 830 slower than Crucial M4 in the 4K Read (Random??)? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by wildwestgoh: Oct 7 2012, 07:24 AM
wildwestgoh
post Oct 29 2012, 05:31 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(INGfusion @ Oct 29 2012, 05:24 PM)
Raid 0 for gaming n os good ah ?
Are you building a question to an answer?
I think you need to do some reading by google "RAID 0".
wildwestgoh
post Nov 8 2012, 07:23 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ Nov 7 2012, 11:33 PM)
Which one to be trust?  sad.gif

[attachmentid=3144288]
HD Tune is for HDD not programmed for SSD, for SSD to have bad sectors is normal, means that 1 sector is considered as worn out and replaced by spare sector.
SSD does carry more sectors than normal HDD would, normal HDD only carries around 1024 spare sectors so for HDD to have bad sectors could means physical damage, also means it's faulty.
wildwestgoh
post Nov 9 2012, 08:06 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(zhiyuan @ Nov 9 2012, 01:40 AM)
so your recommandation? intel ? 520 330 ?
Intel 520 for the warranty, 330 for value. Pick your choice. wink.gif
wildwestgoh
post Nov 14 2012, 04:29 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(Yuuyatails @ Nov 14 2012, 03:13 PM)
Has anyone heard of upcoming Intel DC S3700 SSD?

From what I heard it features the original controller designed by Intel.

Here's the 200 GB version review:

Good performance, for enterprise anyway, but for consumer stand point, the price tag come first. sweat.gif USD4xx for only 200GB of space doh.gif almost feels like back to few years back where the SSD just started to bloom.
wildwestgoh
post Nov 20 2012, 08:47 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Nov 19 2012, 05:49 PM)
If I just get clone my HDD and replace it with a SSD on my laptop, will it increase the overall speed? Or do I need to tweak the BIOS setup? TQ
If you initially already has AHCI enabled then you won't need to do anything on the BIOS, just make sure the TRIM is enabled in the Windows Registry, lookup first page for more info on the TRIM.
wildwestgoh
post Nov 24 2012, 07:12 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(how5day @ Nov 24 2012, 01:48 AM)
nono this is my mobo(motherboard)

refer to this video and see which mobo load fastest..

Win8 Boot Comparison
What's the spec for the Gigabyte and Asus I wonder?
And what's that PCI-E card and he used on both Gigabyte and Asus board?
Are they skipping the hardware check to acquire faster boot time?
wildwestgoh
post Dec 3 2012, 10:32 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(infernape772 @ Dec 3 2012, 10:07 AM)
But i read articles saying if set as boot drive all your documents eg: pictures musics downloads will go in there i do alot of download so my ssd will run out very fast can i change the directory of those documents or there is some settings to make the ssd a boot drive only?
Your Internet Explorer temporary files, Google Chrome cache, Firefox cache, programs' settings, etc. will also ate up those space, you can however change the My Document's directory to another drive (partition/volume) by follow steps below: (Note: Windows 7/8 only)
1. Library > Documents, right-click > Properties.
2. Left-click "Include a folder", choose the folder you want, click "Include folder".
3. Click on the included folder to highlight (select), click "Set save location".
4. Click on other folders, click "Remove" to remove them all.
Use above steps for your Picture and Video as well so the default folder will be on other drive than your C drive.

For Internet Explorer (7 and above)
1. Tools > Internet option.
2. At Browsing History (I.E. 7 might be slightly different), click "Settings".
3. Click "Move Folder", select the folder that you want to reside, click "OK".
4. Re-login (log off and login again) to activate this setting. (System will copy all the temporary files over to the new location)

For other browser, I'm can't find such options to move the cache, unless you use the Portable version of the browser.

Hope these help you reduce the usage of the C drive. wink.gif
wildwestgoh
post Dec 4 2012, 04:13 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(KHOdin @ Dec 4 2012, 04:10 PM)
why ? i though vertex 4 have better performance ? hmm.gif
Intel's Sandforce is much reliable, less firmware issue which is the SSD worst enemy.
wildwestgoh
post Dec 5 2012, 01:17 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(Morning_Star @ Dec 5 2012, 12:58 PM)
I know that but I am buying sata 2 for the sake of installing on a 2006 notebook with only sata 1. sad.gif

If buy sata 3 to use for sata 1, is overkill.

What say you all?
Should be no problem, as long as it's SATA port.
But I'm not too sure if that'll help much cause your laptop overall performance is quite the bottleneck. sweat.gif

wildwestgoh
post Dec 11 2012, 02:06 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(terryfu @ Dec 11 2012, 02:00 PM)
Hi all. I'm starting to upgrade my computer (still using a Core 2 Duo tongue.gif with Windows Vista) and am thinking of a Solid State Drive to kick it off first. Am looking to get the Intel SSD 330 Series.

Just want to ask if my current rig will be able to support it (not necessarily optimize it yet).

I'm using the following components :
MSI P35 Neo2-FIR Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Duo E6750
2 GB Ram
Windows Vista Ultimate

I just want to make sure that its compatible so I can boot it up with an OS before upgrading the rest of my parts.

Any inputs from the SSD sifus here are much appreciated.
No issue there I guess, some people here even upgrade on their Pentium 4 system (feels great eh?)
Anyway just make sure to look at the first page for guide on optimizing the performance of the SSD. wink.gif

0.0518sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:46 AM