5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

The SSD Thread V3, The Speed You Need

1024kbps
post May 3 2013, 06:12 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(Yagami5159 @ May 3 2013, 12:32 PM)
I'm not sure but I too install my rendering software and my IDE software like visual studio. Was trying to find a answer for whether that the constant read will decrease the life span of my SSD...

Edit: Damn it, sorry for double post.
Read wont kill your SSD, only write(but it take a lot of time to wear out your SSD lahh), but normal user shouldn't worry that much, you will probably change the SSD to bigger capacity every a few years,
else ppl buy SSD for what? like buy a new car but worry tires and engine wear kah LOL sweat.gif
QUOTE(Yagami5159 @ May 3 2013, 12:27 PM)
Less than RM50 i suppose, depends on which brand of SSD bracket you're looking for.
That piece of metal also that expensive? i think most SSD includes bracket one, ask the seller before buy one.
I bought 3 different model of SSD before, 3 of them also got bracket inside.
If not, use double-sided tapes stick to your pc, cheapest solution lah sweat.gif

QUOTE(merchant9 @ May 2 2013, 09:29 PM)
OK, I have a Dell XPS laptop which I bought 2 years ago. It is running SATA 2. I have tested it with my friend's Sata 3 SSD and it was backward compatible.

Now, the HDD starts to make a bit of noise and so I want to upgrade it to SSD. I am looking for something 240gb, one which performs fairly well, less chance to break down (reliable brand) or if break down, easy to warranty in Malaysia.

Corsair Force GS 7mm 240GB = RM699
Kingston Hyper X 240GB = RM649
Intel 520 Series 240GB = RM769
Plextor M5S 240GB = RM599
Plextor M5 Pro 240GB = RM849
Sandisk Ultra Plus 256GB = RM599

Which is recommended brand?
Most ppl here recommends Intel, easy and fast RMA tongue.gif
Plextor aint bad too, with their new Marvel SSD controller, the mainstream M5S should be enough unless you aim for extreme IOPS, the rest are SandForce SSDs sweat.gif

This post has been edited by 1024kbps: May 3 2013, 06:23 PM
1024kbps
post May 11 2013, 02:43 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ May 11 2013, 02:06 PM)
Install uTorrent on SSD.
When saving files for download select the path for your WD green drive.

It's that simple. And torrents do not create a temp folder, direct downloads does.

And for the millionth time, stop worrying about reducing SSD lifespan. doh.gif
uTorrent does not have much impact as this program is pretty small, save it on slow thumbdrive/sdcard also can lol rclxms.gif

And yeah, most ppl dont read older previous post, seriously, ppl use SSD because of the low latency and high IOPS, and average SSD lifespan might be longer than consumer desktop HDD. i've RMA many of my Western Digital HDD already.
This is how i use my Plextor 256GB SSD Everyday
user posted image (click reply to view original unscaled image sweat.gif )
If so takut SSD premature death, backup your data frequently doh.gif

This post has been edited by 1024kbps: May 11 2013, 02:46 PM
1024kbps
post May 11 2013, 10:31 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ May 11 2013, 10:01 PM)
SSD is highly recommended for OS boot up, main programs and games.

Your video, picture, songs and movies. Is best to be stored in HDD. If possible, invest in WD Black or Red series. I don't trust so much on GREEN series unless is AV-GP green series.
In fact i stored my programs and musics on my USB thumbdrive lol sweat.gif cause i keep switching between new and old OS.

Green had aggressive head parking problem which led to many earlier batch premature death. Newer batch seems okay already, Black isn't good either. Thanks to lousy WD harddisk, i've RMA 4 of their HDD and now my comp have 9TB of useless storage space doh.gif sweat.gif rclxub.gif

No need Black unless you want longer warranty, Blue or AV-GP series is already good enough.
And there are no reliable HDD brand, scheduled backup/RAID1 your HDD is the rule of thumb to prevent data loss.
1024kbps
post May 12 2013, 12:30 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(pastacarbonara @ May 12 2013, 09:22 AM)
Is WD Green really that unreliable?

I have a 2TB WD Green purchased late last year which I plugged to my DLink NAS. No complains though. Or maybe I'm the sole user and I only power on the NAS during weekend. Plus I presume I'm not that aggressive on the read and write as the drive is shared out over wireless network. You know how the transfer speed is over wireless. tongue.gif
Earlier batch, i bought it right after green drive came out, and both showing abnormal smart status after a year of usage.

But aggressive head parking was actually not related to failure of the green hdd. my fault sweat.gif
Buy many of them still died anyway whistling.gif

QUOTE(mohdazuan @ May 12 2013, 12:07 PM)
i use SSD as a main drive and several daily tasks stored in the ssd

while big data such as games, movies, and software installer are stored in the HDD and located inside the HDD BAY. configured with hot plug, i simply disconnect the drive and turned it off while system is running when not using the drive  rclxms.gif

Aint no body got time for tat, i got 6 HDDs sweat.gif
Okay seriously, no really needed for hotplug lah, what if suddenly hand slipped and dropped your HDD? or accidentally killed the chip on the PCB because of electrostatic discharge? it's even worst lol sweat.gif

This post has been edited by 1024kbps: May 12 2013, 12:37 PM
1024kbps
post May 13 2013, 06:04 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

There are something called Solid State Cache too, \
http://www.corsair.com/ssd/accelerator-ser...che-drives.html
http://www.sandisk.sg/products/ssd/sata/readycache/

Works on any mobo but require third party software, not really a new tech stuff as SSC exist on market for quite some times already.
1024kbps
post May 14 2013, 11:44 AM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(Yagami5159 @ May 14 2013, 08:15 AM)
I for one go for bigger capacity SSD rather than Raid 0, it's not that plextor M5s is bad (I'm using one). It' just that if there's anyting happen to one of your raided 0 SSD...then it's goodbye data.  nod.gif

Edit:
When does hardcore gamers have to do with raid 0? I thought those for benchmark fanatics
Plus one more thing, SSD require trim, unlike HDD, if mobo does not support trim on RAID0, you gonna suffer poor write performance later.
Plus 2, SSD does not imcrease FPS, but reduce loading time only.
1024kbps
post May 17 2013, 12:45 AM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ May 16 2013, 11:30 PM)
840 using TLC NAND, dont think its worth it

Better get MLC NAND SSDs
Plus one, unless you got a lot of cash/adventurous , dont bother with performance SSD if you are just normal user, you cant tell the difference between high end SSD and mainstream one, unless comparing them with benchmark software,
even if you could, they are probably just a few second faster.

Be smart, tweak the msconfig and windows services to disable unused programs to reduce boot time.
1024kbps
post May 19 2013, 10:39 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(euphoriaa @ May 19 2013, 09:55 PM)
my new Intel 335 series SSD 240GB benchmark

[attachmentid=3446931]

any comments? seems to be lower than those tested by this web site: http://thessdreview.com/our-reviews/intel-...ce-and-value/3/
Try to use native Driver from Intel or AMD, depends on your mobo.
Msachi = default AHCI driver from microsoft, its stable but it isn't optimized as much as Intel/AMD AHCI driver.
1024kbps
post May 19 2013, 11:17 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(euphoriaa @ May 19 2013, 10:48 PM)
may I know what do u mean by native driver from Intel?  hmm.gif  hmm.gif

can u point any download page for me to download the driver? One more question, should I install Intel Rapid Storage Technology?

thanks alot!
Native driver = AHCI driver made by intel. I think you should install Intel Rapid Storage Technology, the software probably will include AHCI driver from Intel as well.
1024kbps
post May 20 2013, 09:52 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

For booting speed countdown, use bootimer http://www.planetsoft.org/
There are one more similar utility with more fancy GUI but i lazy to search lol sweat.gif

Dont start countdown after pressing the power button, some computer are extremely slow because too many stuff enabled, like how many SATA controller enabled(high end board comes usually with extra 2 SATA Controller.), how many optical/HDD drives/usb on your comp, ect

And if your booting start to slow down, optimize your boottime by disable useless auto-startup apps and services, instead of upgrading to faster SSD doh.gif
1024kbps
post May 22 2013, 12:59 AM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ May 21 2013, 09:50 PM)
sweeeetttttt

this SSD is on my wishlist atm drool.gif

but damn its pricey, RM430 for 128GB sweat.gif
I can buy it locally but its too freaking expensive here, honestly i would rather buy 2 cheap 128GB SSD then raid the hell out if it, but sadly im using AMD mobo rclxub.gif doh.gif sweat.gif
But then, its also too much for me as i only utilized 14% of my 256GB SSD lol, and the rest 50% still remain unpartitioned doh.gif
1024kbps
post May 22 2013, 11:38 AM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ May 22 2013, 10:40 AM)
My SSD left 1**mb/60GB. Thinking of upgrading the capacity sad.gif
Go a head if you got a lot of spare cash, if not, move those useless stuffs to harddisk,
Install your programs on harddisk too, but leave those essential one on SSD,
and clean up your disk, Windows always left a few Gigs of trash on our system disk.
http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/44317/shoul...-to-save-space/

This post has been edited by 1024kbps: May 22 2013, 11:39 AM
1024kbps
post May 22 2013, 12:05 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ May 22 2013, 11:40 AM)
I only installed CS6, Lightroom 4.2 & 5 and anti-virus. Not sure is it the cache hold up most of the storage hmm.gif
May be you should try this http://www.folder-size.com/
There are a few alternative folder analyzer but i have yet to try any of them.
1024kbps
post May 26 2013, 03:29 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ May 26 2013, 10:58 AM)
Guys, wanna ask that will it affect the SSD lifespan by having Antivirus Scanning? Maybe like once a week.
Before you worry bout this, turn of the Windows system restore, it record almost every action(delete/modify ect) you do and stored in your SSD, it probably does more DAMAGES than antivirus scanning sweat.gif
And second, Windows 7 by default (iirc) does useless weekly benchmarking(WinSAT) on your machine including your SSD, you should try to find a way to disable it as well.

This post has been edited by 1024kbps: May 26 2013, 03:30 PM
1024kbps
post May 27 2013, 10:02 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(azilazwa @ May 27 2013, 09:43 PM)
Sadly, there is no label on my sata cable. That is why it is confusing me. In the mobo guide book, it only state which port on the mobo is sata2 or sata3. Luckily i test it with a new cable. Btw, 7.4 is quite good rite? Is there any other way i can increase the rating to the max, without setting it with raid (because i dont know how to to do it lol)?
7.4 is quite good already, my Plextor SSD also scored 7.4.
You need at least 2 SSD to do RAID 0, but your motherboard is AMD i suggest you just forget bout it, there will be no TRIM on RAID 0 SSD because AMD chipset does not support it, get an Intel z77 or better motherboard instead.
But if you got the cash you can ignore my advice sweat.gif
1024kbps
post Jun 13 2013, 10:02 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Jun 13 2013, 08:16 PM)
actually i'm having intel 520 120gb

is there any better that this?
Hardly can feel any difference, you can only tell them apart by comparing them with benchmark software sweat.gif
I moved from Kingston 96GB SSD > Hyper X > and now the Plextor M5P, but only one conclusion, they are all faster than my old RAID0 HDD for sure sweat.gif
1024kbps
post Jun 17 2013, 11:41 AM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Jun 17 2013, 11:18 AM)
i saw from a website saying plextor pro is better than intel 520 is it really true for people using plextor?

http://ssdboss.com/ssds/Plextor-PX-M5P-vs-Intel-520
520 is old ssd already, Plextor m5p is newer and using newer Marvel SSD controller.
1024kbps
post Jun 17 2013, 12:10 PM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Jun 17 2013, 11:55 AM)
LOL...didnt update myself towards TECH stuff...btw.. the plextor is actually what company & how reliable is it?
They made CD/DVD drive, probably one of the best CD/DVD rom/writer maker.
And the most important one, their SSD performane/price ratio is very good compare to other SSD maker, i bought the M5P 256GB at 289 SGD, the other brands were above 300 SGD and mostly 3 years warranty only iirc.
1024kbps
post Jun 25 2013, 01:25 AM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(VincentHooi @ Jun 24 2013, 10:30 PM)
Plextor m5p xtreme 128gb raid0

im very happy for the results  rclxms.gif
Nice result rclxms.gif
Still waiting RAID0 TRIM update for AMD Chipset, too broke to switch to Intel side sweat.gif
Btw something on my system can pwn your RAID0 SSD !

This post has been edited by 1024kbps: Jun 25 2013, 01:31 AM
1024kbps
post Jun 25 2013, 11:49 AM

李素裳
6,012 posts

QUOTE(kuekwee @ Jun 25 2013, 03:40 AM)
mSata vs SSD sata 2 speed much different?
mSATA is smaller form-factor of normal SATA port, you are comparing apple and orange sweat.gif

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0562sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:38 PM