The SSD Thread V3, The Speed You Need
OC4/3
Jan 23 2013, 07:08 PM
QUOTE(silrave @ Jan 23 2013, 01:50 PM) hi i am noob on ssd wanna ask rm 1xx-200 can get any brand ssd? is it ssd really faster than normal hdd? any difference on brand for ssd? i just know read and write speed why some say don buy intel ssd?XD sry noob here Budget RM300 + a bit and you can have Kingston 120GB SSD Nowadays 120GB SSD is the sweetspot
OC4/3
Apr 12 2013, 07:26 PM
QUOTE(shinzhizu @ Apr 11 2013, 10:45 AM) yeah, i quite agree.coz im using msi card..lol.. might plan to upgrading.. any noticeable incremental if the speed up to 5xxmb? The answer is no Most of the difference/merit of SSD is the ability to have FAST random read/write speed + latency That's why boot up or application opening on SSD is much faster when compare to SSD I really doubt you have chance to use 500MB/S write short of copying from SATA 3 SSD to SATA 3 SSD Remember HDD max out roughly 100MB/s or so only
OC4/3
Apr 13 2013, 07:13 PM
QUOTE(ic-klass @ Apr 13 2013, 11:06 AM) Any good deals on ssd at pc fair? Err for hardware,Low Yat pricing during PC Fair period=PC Fair price one PC Fair only good for small goodies like thumbdrive etc For hardware,NO PC Fair= Go there peep at girl better than to spend money That also if you can tahan the crowd
OC4/3
Apr 15 2013, 08:40 PM
QUOTE(ralph_d @ Apr 15 2013, 04:07 PM) thanks so TRIM also require AHCI mode... so sad my P35+ICH9 board no AHCI mode What motherboard?? My Abit IP35 Pro have it Too bad it's dead now
OC4/3
Apr 21 2013, 11:59 AM
QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Apr 20 2013, 06:05 PM) Really thought current pricing now seems cheaper Used to pay Rm800 for 80gb just a year ++ ago. while now u can get a m5s 128gb for rm299?? +1 Q1 Q2 2012 paid RM430 for Intel 320 Series 80GB BTW congrats for elite tag,just got mine too
OC4/3
Apr 21 2013, 07:49 PM
QUOTE(Yagami5159 @ Apr 21 2013, 12:53 PM) Never knew that the price could drop so much in a year.  Well,IT product is like that SSD price drop very fast but lately the price have shoot up again
OC4/3
Apr 22 2013, 12:19 AM
QUOTE(Yagami5159 @ Apr 21 2013, 11:01 PM) All except Plextor, which it drop from RM3xx to RM29x. Still, I'm not quite sure why they're selling that cheap.  Maybe distributor lower margin to penetrate market perhaps?? Can't be reseller selling at very low margin when their margin is low enough
OC4/3
Apr 22 2013, 12:24 PM
QUOTE(KHOdin @ Apr 22 2013, 12:22 PM) so is not worth to get a ssd now ? actually planning to get a intel 335 this week... Market wide no stock for Intel 335 Best deal is Plextor now
OC4/3
Apr 24 2013, 04:19 PM
QUOTE(judesh @ Apr 24 2013, 12:12 PM) Hello Guys....need some advice. Using a 3 yr old Assus EEE PC 1005 with the following specs Atom N280 1.66 + 2GB RAM + Win XP Almost new condition with great battery. Using for MS Office and Outlook email mainly, so sufficient for my needs except Outlook 2003 on company Server seems really slow. Anyway...thinking of breathe some life into it...would replacing with SSD help? Heard not too good with Win XP. Anyway thinking of Plextor M5 Pro 120 since has the brackets and software ....I'm not too technical need easy migration...Or any other choices better for ease of migration. Thanks for the help. For migration,best to just reinstall the OS Err i think time to dump your EEEpc and get something else
OC4/3
Apr 24 2013, 04:26 PM
QUOTE(owikh84 @ Apr 23 2013, 09:35 PM) Is A SATA 3Gb/s Platform Still Worth Upgrading With An SSD?Well said in the article, it's the 4K which matters most for real-world performance. Word 4k and latency is what make the SSD feel faster than HDD(In the case of comparing HDD to SSD),not the peak transfer rate Most newbie will take peak transfer rate as everything while it don't mean a jack in average joe real world(PC with SSD and HDD) unless you have a system that use only SATA 6 SSD on SATA 6 interface than yes there are difference to be felt in term of transferring file only
OC4/3
Apr 24 2013, 04:28 PM
QUOTE(ralph_d @ Apr 24 2013, 08:31 AM) ran as ssd benchmark last night, my ssd bottlenecked by my hardware: P35+ich9 mobo, got sata/300 only, and on ide mode read: 230 write: 200 my ssd is plextor m5s 128gb but still faster than my hdd  wd green 1tb: read:90, write:70 portable hdd: read:28, write:20 Refer to the post above this Peak transfer don't mean a jack in 99% of typical end user scenario This post has been edited by OC4/3: Apr 24 2013, 04:29 PM
OC4/3
Apr 24 2013, 05:33 PM
QUOTE(ralph_d @ Apr 24 2013, 04:58 PM) i see i do not mean that ssd is useless with p35, or "hey no point switching to ssd because only tat much difference", i'm just trying to say it will not perform at it's max transfer speed as advertised, which of course, i know im not on sata3, which it is supposed to be on sata3 but still, booting, alt-tabbing, and all other windows operation is significantly smoother than before, this, no need benchmark s/w also can see one ssd all the way from now on (well, at least the boot drive  ) SSD is addictive Using HDD as boot drive will make you go
OC4/3
Apr 28 2013, 09:14 PM
QUOTE(Yagami5159 @ Apr 27 2013, 04:23 PM) Meh...some do...somewhere...out there... *_* Are you sure you do over 150GB file transfer per day ah In that case install only SSD inside your pc for maximum performance than
OC4/3
May 20 2013, 01:30 PM
QUOTE(1024kbps @ May 19 2013, 11:17 PM) Native driver = AHCI driver made by intel. I think you should install Intel Rapid Storage Technology, the software probably will include AHCI driver from Intel as well. Yes,just install RST
OC4/3
May 20 2013, 01:57 PM
QUOTE(euphoriaa @ May 20 2013, 01:54 PM) So I just need to go to intel's website and download this? https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Des...E+RST)&lang=engwill it overwrite the msachi? or does it just leave msachi there and activate iastor for my ssd? btw, i have 2 internal hd in my notebook (1 Intel SSD, 1 WD 500GB) thanks! Just install it It will sort out itself one
OC4/3
Jun 2 2013, 01:58 PM
QUOTE(alpha001 @ Jun 1 2013, 07:37 PM) where i can check latest price ssd Download pricelist,go garage sales see lah So lazy meh