The SSD Thread V3, The Speed You Need

boonykun
post Aug 17 2012, 10:45 AM

690 posts

using Fujitsu SSD here~ 240GB smile.gif

No point using Crucial / Corsair cos i don't like C starting names~ F sounds much better biggrin.gif, despite that two brands is much better then current using smile.gif

This post has been edited by boonykun: Aug 17 2012, 10:45 AM
post Aug 17 2012, 11:50 AM

129 posts

HI need some clarification
When i enable AHCI mode, after that there a option to enable Hot plugging. Should i enable it??
kuekwee
post Aug 17 2012, 12:05 PM

Trading for a living
877 posts

kuekwee | Crucial M4 | 128Gb
kuekwee | Ocz Vertez 2, Ocz Agility 3 | 240Gb, 60Gb

This post has been edited by kuekwee: Aug 17 2012, 12:05 PM
lucidlts
post Aug 17 2012, 12:59 PM

brain powder
2,906 posts

QUOTE(0300078 @ Aug 17 2012, 09:15 AM)
Going to buy a SSD this coming Saturday. Any recommended shop or brand? I dont want to get a SSD that has lots of problem.
Intel 330 120gb from jayacom, last week went there they offer 325.
Intel 330 60gb from viewnet best price i can get is 200 tongue.gif
If you can wait for another few weeks, maybe it will drop again.
xEDynamics
post Aug 17 2012, 01:09 PM

544 posts

xEDynamics | Crucial M4 | 128GB x 2 | RAID-0
jchue73
post Aug 17 2012, 01:50 PM

2,496 posts

QUOTE(tot31 @ Aug 17 2012, 03:47 AM)
ok, i bit the bullet and bought an Intel 330 60GB today and I really disappoint with the performance.

I am running.a hackintosh ML 10.8 and my boot time only improved just a little bit from 24secs (WD 1TB Black Edition) to 17secs. I'm using PCIe Sata III as my mobo is an old X58 system. I've seen a video a guy.with the same system as mine managed to boot at 6secs only but he is using an Intel 520.

So I guess I've bought a wrong ssd....a bit pricey lesson to learn.... sad.gif
Did you check what motherboard (and hence if he's using onboard controller) the guy in the video with the Intel 520 SSD was using? Was it on a fresh OS install?

What brand is your SATA III card? Did you reinstall your OS or just copied your old OS from your 1TB to your SSD? I think you should run your SSD off your X58 board even if it's only SATA II.

QUOTE(tot31 @ Aug 17 2012, 09:07 AM)
Anyway here's my AJA bench tests for Intel 330 60GB, Western Digital Black Edition 1TB and 2TB RAID0.

Now I'm thinking of getting another one and make RAID0 of them both..... hmm.gif
Your benchmarks look quite decent and as you can see, the bootup times don't mean a thing.

QUOTE(chowdm @ Aug 17 2012, 10:10 AM)
Intel is slightly more expensive...bcoz it came with 5 yrs warranty...thats it...
5 year warranty applies to the more expensive 520 series. The 330 series is still 3 year warranty.

Price wise, both the Intel 330 120 GB and Crucial M4 128 GB SSDs are about the same.
harryfoo
post Aug 17 2012, 01:58 PM

2,296 posts

I guess I better go with M4.
Reventon
post Aug 17 2012, 02:13 PM

2,921 posts

Hi , I recently installed a new M4 128GB on my MacBook , taking the WD HDD to optibay slot, anything to set or just plug and play ?already did a clean install of OSX on SSD.
beetch
post Aug 17 2012, 02:39 PM

429 posts

dude, how come its so hard to find samsung 830 here in malaysia?
huzzLEE_82
post Aug 17 2012, 04:24 PM

MHaF
1,301 posts

ermmm not Corsair user here..
mine Force GT 120GB....can put my name TS

tot31
post Aug 17 2012, 04:45 PM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Aug 17 2012, 01:50 PM)
Did you check what motherboard (and hence if he's using onboard controller) the guy in the video with the Intel 520 SSD was using? Was it on a fresh OS install?

What brand is your SATA III card? Did you reinstall your OS or just copied your old OS from your 1TB to your SSD? I think you should run your SSD off your X58 board even if it's only SATA II.
Your benchmarks look quite decent and as you can see, the bootup times don't mean a thing.
5 year warranty applies to the more expensive 520 series. The 330 series is still 3 year warranty.

Price wise, both the Intel 330 120 GB and Crucial M4 128 GB SSDs are about the same.
The guy in the video is using the same brand of motherboard as mine (see my signature) and he is using the ICH10R onboard SATA II port only. Yeah I cloned my existing OSX from my HDD to SSD. Yeah I know that the benchmark showed that the result is quite decent. I should have bought Intel 520...

Anyway here is the video I mentioned

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ympTJROhlH8...player_embedded
zhen^wei
post Aug 18 2012, 12:57 AM

4,057 posts

wat is the good software to migrate 2.5" hdd data into ssd ? thinking to change laptop hdd to ssd.
TSrc2x
post Aug 18 2012, 01:04 AM

Ask me about my vore fettish
1,838 posts

Acronis true image should get the job done.
lucidlts
post Aug 18 2012, 01:37 AM

brain powder
2,906 posts

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Aug 18 2012, 12:57 AM)
wat is the good software to migrate 2.5" hdd data into ssd ? thinking to change laptop hdd to ssd.
if you're using intel 330, the intel data migration tool (by acronis) will do the trick.
ukimaro
post Aug 18 2012, 09:51 AM

636 posts

hi guys i just installed m4 128gb yesterday and i have optimize it accordingly from the optimization link from the 1st page,

now i would like to whether what anti-virus should i install on my ssd ?

previously i used avast. sorry for noob question coz im new to ssd.
distributor
post Aug 18 2012, 10:06 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(ukimaro @ Aug 18 2012, 09:51 AM)
hi guys i just installed m4 128gb yesterday and i have optimize it accordingly from the optimization link from the 1st page,

now i would like to whether what anti-virus should i install on my ssd ?

previously i used avast. sorry for noob question coz im new to ssd.
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows...rity-essentials
dlwl
post Aug 18 2012, 11:06 AM

4,789 posts

QUOTE(lucidlts @ Aug 17 2012, 12:59 PM)
Wow, nice price biggrin.gif
Hopefully it drops somemore thumbup.gif
skycrawler
post Aug 18 2012, 03:01 PM

New World ^^
2,227 posts

QUOTE(lucidlts @ Aug 17 2012, 12:59 PM)
For Hardware , Sri Computer is the best thumbup.gif
ukimaro
post Aug 18 2012, 05:30 PM

636 posts

hi guys may i know how to remove the system reserve partition ?
unequalteck
post Aug 18 2012, 07:24 PM

Custom member title
2,690 posts

QUOTE(ukimaro @ Aug 18 2012, 05:30 PM)
hi guys may i know how to remove the system reserve partition ?
i don think u can remove that

126 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0180sec    1.08    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:24 PM