Perodua Kenari User Club V2, A Different Point Of View

TSjaesern
post Jul 26 2017, 05:33 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(an88 @ Jul 25 2017, 04:40 PM)
hi sifus, im planning to purchase kenari 1.0 (A) mfg 2006, mileage 90K..
what to expect on the running problem in future?
Can advise so that i can prepare on the running cost..

TQ all!
i'll call this typical problem for Kenari, as far as i encounter:
engine mounting
-genuine mounting will do the job, but expensive
front absorber mounting
-perodua alza is a good replacement
rusty and follow by broken exhaust rear section
-replacement will do
fuel gauge and/or temperature gauge malfunction
-halfcut replacement will do
radiator/aircond fan stop working
-because of aging, need to pay attention to this because there is only one fan, when aircond blow out wind without any coolness and/or temperature shoot up (that's why you need a working temp gauge), you need to do something
aircond not cold
-no solution

for buying second hand car, check for any bad accident repair mark and does the engine overheated. the rest is give and take, if you got other stuff in good condition, it's bonus; if it's not, accept it because it's second hand.
TSjaesern
post Jul 28 2017, 08:37 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(an88 @ Jul 27 2017, 11:53 AM)
So, if let say after almost a year of purchase, some above stated item occurred..
Do you guys suggest to be treated or serviced as perodua service centre? and first of all, will they entertain us?

Because, worried being scam/cheated if serviced outside. sad.gif
perodua sc yes, if you don't have a reliable workshop. went to perodua sc early of may ago to order steering rack bush because 3rd party supplier i'm afraid of not getting the real genuine, they layan too, but price is not cheap.

i prefer to send my car outside because i can't tahan sc attitude and i have a reliable 3rd party workshop to trust.
TSjaesern
post Aug 11 2017, 10:44 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(MastorJr @ Aug 11 2017, 08:52 AM)
WTA, does anybody here is using standard rim with tyres from Myvi or Axia? The tyre spec is 175/65/14.
Can it fit nicely at Kenari or it will hit the fender on bumpy road.
using Myvi stock rim, but on Kenari standard size tire, not Myvi standard size tire; Myvi tire size is too big for Kenari.
TSjaesern
post Aug 14 2017, 11:23 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(MastorJr @ Aug 14 2017, 08:44 AM)
Noted bro...thanks for the info...
Standard tyre size for Kenari should be 165/55/14, right?
Can I go for 165/60/14 ?
yes, standard size for Kenari 14" is 165/55r14.

your reason to go for 165/60r14?
TSjaesern
post Dec 21 2017, 04:18 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(tangtarantulas @ Dec 21 2017, 09:39 AM)
Hi all, new proud owner of a 2006 Ez aerosport orange .
Bought this car as a second car.

I have a few Q for this car..

My engine trembles once I turn off the AC and when I uses the power window, all this during idling.

While slow moving, once my rpm hits 2.1k -2.6k , the engine vibrates too.. but only between this rpm.. any idea?

Btw, anyone swap in a 4cylinder (JB-DET) here b4? Any advantages? Cos some say it's not much diff from the original engine.

Also the last would be 3rd party mounting,
Which brand should I go for?

Thx in advance 😬
engine trembles, i would check alternator charging and battery.

sounds like engine mount to me.

personally i'll use the 1. stock engine, 2. bolt-on turbo it, 3. k3-ve engine, 4. k3-vet engine. any other engine is waste of time.

@kllam is using 3rd party engine mount set, he is driving a manual. i'm using genuine from perodua, i'm driving an auto. please note that daihatsu packing is not genuine.
TSjaesern
post Dec 25 2017, 11:40 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(-maple- @ Dec 24 2017, 10:03 PM)
Wow.. Which engine you recommend for long run.  I'm driving about 80km+ about 110-130km speed everyday.

How much average mileage (KM/tank or KM/L) for k3-vet you get?  Any things to take care beside temperature?
i'm still using stock engine, current mileage 220kkm+, redline whenever i'm behind the wheels, nearly 12 years old, never overhaul until today. so i would say, stock has less worries if everything is maintained accordingly.

k3vet coolant temperature issue won't be solved unless you're using the originally radiator from yrv.
TSjaesern
post Dec 28 2017, 07:56 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(-maple- @ Dec 27 2017, 10:27 PM)
i see.. mine about 14 years already.  Need to topup 2L engine oil for every 1k sad.gif 
Not sure if it's still worth to go if change to 1.3cc engine like K3ve/K3vet.
if you want it for normal usage with peace of mind, get a reliable mechanic to get the engine overhaul.

if you have time to waste, it's not your primary car, you don't mind the car lose it weight balance and you're hungry for power, k3ve or with turbo is the answer.

for me, both will be more or less the same amount of money.
TSjaesern
post Dec 29 2017, 09:37 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(-maple- @ Dec 29 2017, 06:47 PM)
You mean "both" :
1. overhaul vs change engine?
or
2. k3ve vs k3vet?
overhaul vs change engine.
TSjaesern
post Jan 10 2018, 11:45 PM

257 posts

pm me for contact and location, a few of us always gather on Saturday night.
TSjaesern
post Aug 11 2018, 11:16 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(ahsam1212 @ Aug 9 2018, 11:06 PM)
Got bearing o gear noise on manual kenari. Not sure it's bearing humming o gear meshing noise. Taking it the gearbox requires taking out the engine right? Looks life a lot of work for this repair.  What kind of damage am I looking at? I'm surprised to get this problem really as normally manual gearbox will be very reliable.
Didn't use wrong oil, n I hope to get it rectify. Any fallible mechanic for such troubleshooting in klang valley? Pj?
send to your mechanic to get it rectify, guessing it blindly here don't really helps. experienced mechanic should be able to get it right.

yea call it unfortunately, taking gearbox out from kenari is easier with the engine out all together, i think it's harder just to take out gearbox but engine still in car...

if it's gearbox problem, just get the whole gearbox change is cheaper and easier than get it repaired, unless you're looking forward to brand new condition and don't mind the costing.
TSjaesern
post Aug 11 2018, 02:33 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(ahsam1212 @ Aug 11 2018, 12:26 PM)
Already got mechanic to check. Said gearbox problem. Recommended to change recon unit. Oh well...
Taking gearbox out is too much trouble for small engine bay...Recon gearbox cost about 500 o so. Will cost more if I'm repairing my own gearbox as we don't know the condition inside.
recon? i've doubt...
TSjaesern
post Sep 6 2018, 04:47 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(lwk523 @ Sep 5 2018, 02:37 PM)
Hi bro,

I just want get to a used kenari and got offer Kenari 2008 aero, Auto, white colour @ RM15.5. Is this price still acceptable ? need advice

Thank you
price by second hand dealer?
TSjaesern
post Oct 17 2018, 12:23 AM

257 posts

sorry for the slow reply, does the problem solve?

check ignition coil & socket and fuel pressure

if it's auto, i'll suggest you to take genuine Perodua mounting set, i know the price is a pain, rm700+.

if it's manual, either genuine Perodua mounting set or after market brand, Schmaco, should be priced rm300+-.

shock absorber, choose either comfort or handling, unfortunately we're not driving Bentley, there won't be perfect comfort and handling. icon_rolleyes.gif

1. sounds like wiring or connector on switch or window motor short circuited.
2. check starter; cheapskate not permanent solution which might kill the starter faster, hold your key on 'start' position until the engine starts to crank.
3. your question?!
4. ionizer, 4x 10mm bolt to take out whole assembly, unplug the socket and reinstall back.
5. same for all Kenari/Kelisa, no solution unless you're planning to retrofit an aftermarket a/c system, i won't recommend, better just live with it. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSjaesern
post Oct 20 2018, 11:16 AM

257 posts

sounds like driver side door actuator (or door gun in layman term), or it might be just wiring issue or worst case alarm module.

anyone can fix the problem, as long as they're willing to find out the issue, and how they gonna fix it. sc might tell you can't be repaired, or since kenari is old car, they might just say can't help; go to accs shop, they'll say can't repair need to change everything.

window issue answered on previous post.

i'm driving auto as well, used once 3rd party mounting set, gone in around one year time; after that only use genuine set for mounting.

safest of all, go Perodua sc and buy, be ready no ready stock and cutting throat price, get it install in sc or bring out to get someone to install;

take some risk, get from reputable and trustable spare part shop, judge the parts yourself. don't ever get daihatsu parts, that's not perodua genuine.

on shock absorber, Sachs absorber full set + Schmaco's Alza shocks top mounting.
TSjaesern
post Nov 20 2018, 10:41 PM

257 posts

i only run on genuine mounting, i break aftermarket one too easily.

changing piston ring means it's full overhaul; top overhaul doesn't touch on engine block.

btw, why need to change piston ring?
TSjaesern
post Jun 15 2019, 12:48 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Jun 15 2019, 12:04 PM)
Hi, I have just replaced Kenari with Silicone Wipers.

When I put at the highest speed. Same speed as medium speed.
The wiper like wipe very hard and slow, not that kind of smooth.
Like force to wipe.

What can I do?
Another car Alza no problem on highest speed.

as i can understand, silicone wipers have higher resistance on wiping compare to rubber.

also, last batch Kenari in the market is already 12 years old, ageing on wiper motor is need to take in consideration.

i'm using silicone wipers + glass coating, wiper only on intermittent most of the time, rarely on first speed.
TSjaesern
post Jun 16 2019, 01:16 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Jun 15 2019, 03:04 PM)
Oh thanks. Same goes to Kelisa and Kancil as well?

Only the big car Alza no problem on high speed.
Medium speed for Kenari still OK. Heavy Rain need to monitor.
Hope medium speed can wipe clear.

Does your Kenari Wiper make sounds during the end on the right. After reach to end then got sound.

oldest alza in market is 2009, oldest kelisa is 2001, kancil is 1994.

check your wiper operation by looking from outside of the car, wiper blade might hit the windscreen molding and made the sound. unless you're the lucky one, in my experience other than silicone blade, hardly any other part of wiper made sound.

QUOTE(eikozai @ Jun 16 2019, 01:58 AM)
Thanks for ur enlightenment, dude. I changed clutch and mounting engine 6 months ago, then the gearbox only start leaking. Smtm i suspected the mechanics done smth hanky banky to earn more.

Sold the ride 3 weeks back coz dont want to risk putting too much $$ repairing the old rides.
which part of gearbox is leaking?
TSjaesern
post Jun 17 2019, 01:03 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(eikozai @ Jun 16 2019, 02:24 PM)
Seal aged. Quoted by 3 mechanics repair price between RM1300-2000.

Not worth the risk repairing so i jus sold off the car. After repair donno what other parts gonna be repair again, non stop costs bombing repairs 😂
let say, all engine oil seal + all gearbox oil seal + labour to drop engine + labour to change all oil seal = rm1.3k~2k? good money wey!

although you've sold the kenari, i would suggest you to avoid these 3 mechanics in the future!

cheers! icon_rolleyes.gif
TSjaesern
post Jun 26 2019, 12:10 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Jun 25 2019, 09:41 PM)
Hi. Can anyone let me what's the size of light bulb for the following below?
1. Headlights both sides
2. Small tiny headlight
3. Interior light
4. Number plate lights
H4
H3 (for peanut, not sure about aerodown and rs)
festoon 31mm
w5w (t10 if it's led)
TSjaesern
post Jun 26 2019, 09:01 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Jun 26 2019, 04:29 PM)
Thanks for the info.

How about 3rd-brake light?

w16w (t15 if it's led)

12 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 >Top