Shell Recruitment Day (SRD), What's all about ... and Shell Lounge

anwarmatlani
post Aug 22 2013, 10:24 PM

636 posts

any tips for person going for interview for financial analyst position this saturday?
anwarmatlani
post Aug 23 2013, 03:40 PM

636 posts

QUOTE(ggbggb @ Aug 22 2013, 12:57 PM)
Hi guys, just want to share my experience with Shell. From application to SRD, to offer.

Timeline:

- Application
- Online tests (7 days to complete upon application)
- F2F interview (2 months after online tests)
- SRD email (2 months after F2F interview)
- SRD feedback (1 day after SRD)
- Offer (5 weeks after SRD)

The whole application process is long. My advice is to work simultaneously while going through it all. To be honest, when they emailed me my SRD
dates, I almost forgot about the whole thing. I did not chase or follow-up much.

I shall go straight to the last stage (SRD). I'll let you experience the tests and F2F interview yourself.

Although other people may have different strategies for the SRD, I will share with you mine.

1) I thought Shell, as an energy company, is serious on innovation and sustainability. Try to research and build your answers on these two themes.
2) Have a stand during group exercise, interviews and case studies. And be confident with your stand. Do something like: "I think we should go with this and why." Sometimes they will throw in different scenarios based on your answer, like: what if something changes, or something big happens, will your stand change?
3) In some activities, you are very hard pressed for time and you have a thick stack of information to digest. I organised my thoughts using SWOT analysis (strength, weakness, opportunities, threats). It gave me a clearer picture of my stand/decisions, at least I could see my plan's weaknesses and I will know where the interviewers will target (and that's where you should mount your defense).
4) There are no right or wrong answers. As I have said, you need to keep a stand and be confident with it. Don't give conflicting ideas. Their questions are targeted on your previous answers.
Good luck.
what position are u interviewing for? is it the same process with financial analyst position? i mean the interview during SRD.
anwarmatlani
post Aug 23 2013, 06:20 PM

636 posts

QUOTE(ggbggb @ Aug 23 2013, 05:49 PM)
A few months back. All the best to you!
SRD is quite different from a fixed role. I didn't know the position I will be placed in until they gave me the offer letter. But in case you have a burning interest in a specific role, raise it with your interviewer during SRD and show them why they will want you there.

All interviews are pretty similar. How can you add value to the company? Do you know what the role needs? Be prepared to come out with past experiences on leadership, teamwork and challenges you have faced.

If I were to be interviewed for Financial Analyst position, I will expect Shell to ask me fundamental questions:
1) are you comfortable with reading financial statements?
2) what was the revenue for 2012?
... but then again what do I know about finance? Im just an engineer haha.
Is SRD like an open walk in interview? i think i might get it wrong because i was invited for an interview tomorrow for the financial analyst position. so i assume the process is different?
anwarmatlani
post Aug 24 2013, 12:53 PM

636 posts

just got back from SRD. got only 1 interview with the hiring manager. kantoi on the financial term (usually call it by another name while working). but the interviewer is nice and friendly. instead of trying to force u to answer, the will explained things that u didn't know. but i got confuse when the recruiter said that they will contact me within 1-2 weeks if i were shortlisted. what does it means? do i have to go to another interview? anyone can explained this to me
anwarmatlani
post Aug 28 2013, 01:48 AM

636 posts

QUOTE(JackHall1988 @ Aug 28 2013, 01:42 AM)
Good advice!... I had a phone call last week telling me i was going to get an answer this week for sure regarding progression to the SRD (job offered elsewhere). With this in mind I am going to start preparing incase they decide in my favour (if they don't then only a little effort that has been lost and not the end of the world lol!). I have read about stake holders and their importance and criteria shell use with regards to decision making. The enquiries I have (if you are able to spare some time to clarify and share your knowledge) is with regards to the "self-reflection" interview and final interview. First of all what is the general drift of these? self reflecting what and how does the final interview differ from the phone interview (i.e. technical i.e. fluid mechanics / personal i.e. best achievement or what?) lol.

I am assuming the online task is replying to emails and that the case study and group task it what all the other treads are about (Akudi island and social investment respectfully) - heard not just prep can be done on these just try best on the day but the other two I highlighted earlier I believe there may be some useful prep which can be done.

Much appreciated if I can get a response - enjoy your evening.

Jack H.
are you going for SRD or already went? your phone call with them is about the result of SRD last saturday is it?
anwarmatlani
post Aug 28 2013, 02:57 AM

636 posts

how long does it takes from SRD to employment? the recruiter said 1-2 weeks but i'm sceptical. anyone care to share?
anwarmatlani
post Aug 31 2013, 11:58 PM

636 posts

I checked my application status on shell website and it said 'shortlisted'. What does that mean?
anwarmatlani
post Sep 5 2013, 02:58 PM

636 posts

anyone got any news from shell? it's close to 2 weeks now.
anwarmatlani
post Sep 5 2013, 08:28 PM

636 posts

QUOTE(engrfeez @ Sep 5 2013, 08:04 PM)
I heard some people wait for more than a month. It is true?
Really? But i asked the interviewer, he said that those who got it will start on Oct. Guess by this month we'll know.
anwarmatlani
post Sep 9 2013, 11:51 AM

636 posts

anyone heard any news from shell? it's been 2 weeks now.
anwarmatlani
post Sep 30 2013, 08:01 PM

636 posts

anyone notice we can't check our application status anymore? can't friggin' login. anyone have this problem too?

0.0499sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:57 AM