Maxis The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v3, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM138

jeremy05
post Aug 24 2012, 12:06 PM

software engineer
1,851 posts

does anyone face router wifi problems?

my route wifi problems at 1st, work well, just recently something wrong. can't search on the wifi list, even after connect, few minutes, disconnect, then the wifi indicate light on router "off"!! restart outer take forever to connect...
jeremy05
post Aug 24 2012, 10:28 PM

software engineer
1,851 posts

you all just slow connection, my router just keep on and off every few minutes, never success connect, see only power light is on and off, all other led is off...
jeremy05
post Aug 24 2012, 10:35 PM

software engineer
1,851 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Aug 24 2012, 10:31 PM)
Maybe you can try using a 3rd party router? I'm using Mikrotik since day one, no router issues but only Maxis connection issues, lol
yes, i can use 3rd party router, but the voip phone will unable to use...
jeremy05
post Aug 28 2012, 10:50 AM

software engineer
1,851 posts

QUOTE(nicky1112001 @ Aug 25 2012, 02:00 AM)
Today I found out that..that Thomson router...cannot use for CCTV recorder?no have port forwarding?
not sure about your cctv type and connection, so far my d-link ip cam is work fine.
jeremy05
post Aug 28 2012, 01:43 PM

software engineer
1,851 posts

QUOTE(Muhammad Syukri @ Aug 28 2012, 12:10 PM)
2nd day of all new installation,all is fine but they gave me the same ol' thomson router.

A quick question,do you turn off your modem & router when not using it or its better to just kept it on all the time?
if possible, keep it on 24/7, because i always on it when go to work, but can't connect after home. need to call maxis reset it, the maxis guy ask me got turn off the router or not, i said 'yes'. he reply me, turn off quite long hours, will face this kind of this problems...but he didn't explain what's going on.

if you afraid the router will burned or hanged, you can buy a cheap laptop coolor, put under the router and modem, my 1 after put, modem and router didn't feel burn and hot, just a bit warm only...
jeremy05
post Aug 28 2012, 04:06 PM

software engineer
1,851 posts

QUOTE(danieltay @ Aug 28 2012, 02:38 PM)
the maxis cs guy bullshit lah, i turn off everyday... turn off more than 48 hours once, oso no such issue

even the thomson engineer visiting my house said nothing wrong to turn it off everyday when i asked him
maybe the maxis guy bullshit me, but this is really happen to me. if i didn't turn off the router, it will never disconnect. since i turn it off, overnight. i can't connect anymore, need to call maxis support.

so far i already open more than 3 days, no disconnect...
jeremy05
post Aug 28 2012, 04:48 PM

software engineer
1,851 posts

QUOTE(nicky1112001 @ Aug 28 2012, 04:19 PM)
U using port forwarding?
my 1 is ip cam, so far i didn't change maxis router setting, even the ipcam setting, can view local and internet(outside). sure no do port forwarding, but i think it using upnp. because i got see ipcam there got upnp is checked.

and i am not using direct connect to maxis router, the dlink ip cam is connect to my tp-link wifi router, then tp-link connect maxis router thru wan port.

This post has been edited by jeremy05: Aug 28 2012, 04:49 PM
jeremy05
post Sep 7 2012, 12:00 AM

software engineer
1,851 posts

my wifi is dead, can't use wifi anymore, something wrong of the router, when try change wifi setting, router hanged...then nothing is save(wifi setting), current use tp-link wifi router instead, work very well!
jeremy05
post Sep 10 2012, 04:06 PM

software engineer
1,851 posts

QUOTE(alexloon @ Sep 10 2012, 02:31 PM)
Both device need fanning, maxis seriously gave a great joke.
TM set definitely hotter than Maxis set(Thomson) but as reported in Maxis Forum - Thomson KO first.
And it reminds me of my previous 2 xbox 360  cry.gif
ya, tm modem hot can burn hand, but thomson just warm, but thomson hang 1st, maybe they come from euro, can't tahan hot weather here? or they didn't design to test the heat?
jeremy05
post Sep 20 2012, 04:58 PM

software engineer
1,851 posts

QUOTE(Stimx @ Sep 20 2012, 02:38 PM)
mad.gif torrent getting 10kbps or less on 10MB Fiber  mad.gif , many seeders...anyone having similar problem... icon_question.gif

Maxis implemented throttling on p2p... but 10kbps is really  vmad.gif

Please share your p2p experience before i bombard them  notworthy.gif ....***not a heavy downloader***
no problems wor, i use bitcomet. easy get 1MBps if got many seed...

Added on September 20, 2012, 5:01 pm
QUOTE(jerryhean @ Sep 20 2012, 02:23 PM)
I see so many people putting fan for the router due to heat problem, have not encounter any heat issue since installation early July. The router is on 24/7, located inside room without ceiling fan on. I have the router standing tilted, only the edge is on the table, less surface area contact, probably can give it a try. Or I am just being lucky with the router.
dunno is heat problems or not, when heavily download by BT, it will auto restart, even i already put a notebook cooler under the router, both maxis router and tm modem. just the maxi srouter auto restart. tm modem no problems at all...

Added on September 20, 2012, 5:03 pm
QUOTE(amil123 @ Sep 20 2012, 04:40 AM)
lol today i was download 10GB movie torrent and also i was uploading it 600kbps
and at the same time play MW3 multiplayer
and you guys know what? after around 2 hour thompson router hang lol!
same with me, download 30GB perday. router will auto restart when BT, few times within hours. but auto connect is take around 1 minutes.

This post has been edited by jeremy05: Sep 20 2012, 05:03 PM
jeremy05
post Sep 20 2012, 05:08 PM

software engineer
1,851 posts

QUOTE(apo_lak_nie @ Sep 20 2012, 05:04 PM)
hi, i will staying at Bukit OUG condo. Currently, planning to install fibre internet either unifi or maxis. I'm tend to favor maxis because of will get a higher bandwidth compared to unifi plus the would be Astro service.

The reasons that deter me right now is the probably of maxis blocking torrent (based on my experience with maxis mobile broadband) and its latency problem and slowness.

Any comments for me to make a decision.
if you dun mind router hanged, auto restart, high latency. then go for it.

so far no blocking torrent. my experience when heavily download, the router will auto restart.

why not choose time fiber 100mbps?
jeremy05
post Sep 20 2012, 05:28 PM

software engineer
1,851 posts

QUOTE(3536837 @ Sep 20 2012, 05:21 PM)
Maxis router comparison

[attachmentid=3059243]

existing maxis home user is using tg784n for 10mbps package and tg799vn for 30mbps package

but starting from today....all user will get tg784n v3 or tg799vn instead of old tg784n
what is the different? more stable? anyone had change to this new router?
jeremy05
post Sep 21 2012, 04:15 PM

software engineer
1,851 posts

QUOTE(naijnaij @ Sep 21 2012, 03:37 PM)
I'm having the same problem too.. since yesterday after back fr work..
Only 1 smartphone is able to connect to wifi out of 1 PC (wired & wifi, 1 laptop.. another smartphone (wifi)
Not sure if got power outage onnot..

Waste my time on the phone with their tech support.. somehow the guy change wifi channel from 11.. and hard reset the goddamn Thompson router... now it is impossible to connect to the wifi liao.. should have known better.. so obvious that there is a problem with the bloody router.. since internet connection is available..
vmad.gif
So pissed off.. and they cant tell me when their Tech Support can come over to change the router.. say need to check this n that..

complete total utter bullcrap from MAxis tech support..
vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
sure is router problems, since i change the wifi channel to auto, it die. never ever can change to another channel, even after hard reset. so i am sure the router is half die liao, need change a new router.

the maxis guy told me never ever change to automatic channel, because automatic channel is not work...

0.0709sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:42 PM