Maxis The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v3, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM138

erichhl
post Sep 6 2012, 11:18 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(pisanq @ Sep 6 2012, 10:50 PM)
OR maybe someone nearby you suddenly switch ON their WiFi access point which using same channel as your Thomson, so the interference caused your WiFi signal weaker. Please scan nearby WiFi using scanner (e.g. inSSIDer) and avoid using same channel as others.

tq
yes check surrounding wifi channel 1st.
and u can get those high power usb wifi adapter instead of pci wifi card. because usb wifi adapter u can relocate it to get better signal.
erichhl
post Sep 8 2012, 03:02 PM

112 posts

Hi all, I'm Officially new Maxis FTTH user now.
My installation for maxis ftth done just now about 12.15noon.
My appointment is on 9.30a.m 8/9/12

9.00a.m TM technician already arrived.
9.30a.m Maxis Technician arrived.
9.30a.m Start doing standard installation on single story terrace house.
10.45a.m All cabling done by tm technician and the tm technician configure and test line take about 15minutes.
11.00a.m Maxis technician configure router done together with the tm technician. straight away internet is up.
11.30a.m TM technician leaving because their work done.
12.15a.m Maxis Technician leaving.

So, 11a.m the tm and maxis technician both also sit there and test after the internet is up

Maxis technician have test the speed test, youtube all o.k.
test VOIP phone o.k.
but download test using my netbook result not so good...
maybe the battery almost finish so the wifi not stable.
then i asked the Maxis Technician to turn everything off and on back i wanna c got problem or not.
turn back on everything the thomson router took long time(about1-3minutes) only show the Internet light ... test online speed test all o.k
then I asked the maxis technician to turn off and on again to test....same thomson router took long time only show Internet light. But speed test all is o.k.
Here is the equipment I got from the Maxis and TM technician.
1. Router is same thomson TG784n router(s/w ver: 8.4.3.U),
2. Modem is huawei Echolife HG850a,
3. VOIP phone is Aztech E310-S

here is the result and what i've tested so far after the Maxis technician left and I've change the SSID WPA Key channel. Now I'm still in private IP 10.106.xxx.xxx, only configure google dns in my p.c others auto.

Direct download using IDM from Rapid Premium

torrent download for Linux Mint using utorrent,

direct download from this url http://download.thinkbroadband.com/1GB.zip using firefox default Download manager,

ftp download from dr.web cure-it ftp server ftp://ftp.drweb.com/pub/drweb/cureit/ using IDM,

below is some speed test result,
Local server,
Yes 4G

UMobile

Maxis

TM

Singapore Server,

Till now everything is o.k, need more time to test.... i'm afraid after 1 day then many problem will pop out.

This post has been edited by erichhl: Oct 7 2012, 12:29 AM
erichhl
post Sep 8 2012, 04:54 PM

112 posts

hi, did anybody know how to disable WPS in the Thomson router?
Thanks!

Added on September 8, 2012, 5:00 pmo.k found it... must set in telnet.... rclxub.gif
http://npr.me.uk/telnet.html

This post has been edited by erichhl: Sep 8 2012, 05:00 PM
erichhl
post Sep 10 2012, 01:13 AM

112 posts

My day-2 with maxis ftth, power from yesterday till now only off once because need to relocate the power adapter of the Thomson router, tested direct download and youtube all o.k, but test tonton.com.my got buffering a lot... don't know why.

test download 720p video on youtube site with IDM speed o.k too.

erichhl
post Sep 10 2012, 01:23 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(jacky1678 @ Sep 10 2012, 10:46 AM)
i guess thomson does not have the WPS. correct me if i am wrong. sad.gif
It has WPS but disable by default, if it don't have then what is the round button in front with wifi sign for?
erichhl
post Sep 10 2012, 09:53 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(jacky1678 @ Sep 10 2012, 02:15 PM)
haiz...i walk along from pavillion to lowyat to get the cooling fan as you people previous discuss.

it costs me RM17

1 week warranty.

wondering how long it can last.
haha...i also bought 1 from mr.diy RM14.90...same as yours... made in china and it's made of iron not those rm10 plastic one... I got the plastic 1 too... for my laptop... the rm14.90 fan wind stronger...but a bit noisy...
erichhl
post Sep 12 2012, 05:53 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(amil123 @ Sep 7 2012, 11:03 PM)
number not exist..
maybe need wait 2/3 day....i just got my maxis 10mb today around 3pm
Bro, ur online account can register or not?
I tried from saturday until today wednesday oredi...
But I still got this error message "This number don’t exist for this service type. "
I oredi received the sms from maxis telling me my credit limit set to rm300...

erichhl
post Sep 13 2012, 10:58 PM

112 posts

Finally, I'm able to register My Maxis Online Account already. rclxms.gif

The VOIP Number must put country code.... all the while i tried unsuccessful because I only put area code in front... rclxub.gif

Almost 1 week, already exceed 100GB limit..... sweat.gif sweat.gif
erichhl
post Sep 13 2012, 11:17 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(mhswong @ Sep 13 2012, 11:04 PM)
anyone having no connection with maxis fibre now?
My 1 o.k, private IP....
you in public or private IP?
erichhl
post Sep 13 2012, 11:28 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(mhswong @ Sep 13 2012, 11:19 PM)
public IP....first time happening to me
I think public ip still have stability issue...
that's why I don't want to change to public ip yet.

erichhl
post Sep 14 2012, 03:20 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(amil123 @ Sep 14 2012, 01:17 PM)
maxis home fiber got limit ar???
i thought its unlimited
now still unlimited lah.... rclxms.gif
but don't know when they'll start th FUP . hmm.gif
Once FUP start then it'll limit to 100gb per month loh... sweat.gif

By the way your Maxis Online Account done already?
remember to change the billing method to email instead of post oh....

Added on September 14, 2012, 3:48 pm
QUOTE(skylinelover @ Sep 14 2012, 11:24 AM)
haha then i wonder how fast i will keringkan the 100gb limit with TIME 100mbps ohmy.gif  ohmy.gif
hahaha....if i got the 100mbps line... hmm.gif
I can finish 100gb within 1-2days lah...
cause a lot HD and Blueray movie can D/L oredi...
Plus download all the US, Jap, Kor, HK TV series, Jap Anime without considering it's good or not.. rclxms.gif
Just keep d/l until HDD full...hahaha
And also so many porn video can downlaod from the net...
problem is my Hdd no enuf space for it...hahaha... sweat.gif
why 2TB Hdd still expensive ah... last time i bought 2TB IBM Only RM220...now Rm300++ cry.gif

Last time with 1MB streamyx all video have to find rmvb format to download...
now.. Avi, MKV, TS,etc.... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by erichhl: Sep 14 2012, 03:48 PM
erichhl
post Sep 20 2012, 02:41 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(jacky1678 @ Sep 20 2012, 02:27 PM)
basically is not say got issue with the heat.

just to be precaution and protect the hardware from being overheated.

besides that, if it really overheated or spoiled then is a nightmare for the days without "internet" use lo.

this is just my opinion and thinking of to get a cooling fan. smile.gif
yup!! same reason why i put the usb fan beside the modem and router. biggrin.gif
I did on the router and modem without the fan for few days 24/7 no hang or slow problem.
some ppls have overheat problem i believe is the ventilation of the place where they put modem and router.
and i notice that tm modem is more hot compare to the thomson router without fan.

P.S: last time on streamyx, i put usb fan nearby the modem and router too.... because 24/7 non-stop torrenting brows.gif without fan the router is really really hot....

Added on September 20, 2012, 2:47 pm
QUOTE(Stimx @ Sep 20 2012, 02:38 PM)
mad.gif torrent getting 10kbps or less on 10MB Fiber  mad.gif , many seeders...anyone having similar problem... icon_question.gif

Maxis implemented throttling on p2p... but 10kbps is really  vmad.gif

Please share your p2p experience before i bombard them  notworthy.gif ....***not a heavy downloader***
what bittorrent software u use? maybe u need to tweak the setting.
in my case last time 1mb streamyx, i set all the downlaod upload in utorrent use 90% of 1mb...
limit the connected seeder to 15 ...
so after i get maxis 10mb i forgot to change the setting and the result is same as the 1mb streamyx(max80-90kb)...
then after i reset all to default... now can get 1Mb full if it's many seeders...

This post has been edited by erichhl: Sep 20 2012, 02:47 PM
erichhl
post Sep 28 2012, 10:23 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Sep 28 2012, 10:04 AM)
me 2, just called up CS yeaterday nite, requesting replacement of router, once they call me back for appoitment, i will insist on this new model, see approve or not. Why still stick with old version router which giving u a lot issue on wireless connectivity?

Added on September 28, 2012, 10:09 amguys, yesterday nite CS teach me to change my wireless channel, from 8 to 11, then DC, then change to 6, DC again.

So, what channel are u all having now? I noticed some says must be on 9 and some says on 11.
i put channel 10, after detected no one surrounding my house using channel 10.
from 1st day installed till today, so far so good... never had wifi issue.
what i've change in wifi options is channel, ssid and wpa password.
erichhl
post Oct 4 2012, 09:32 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(duckaton @ Oct 4 2012, 12:29 AM)
I saw your username in the maxis forum.
you should know better.

some guy asked for a higher level username/password for his thomson router.
maxis helper said that is for them to configure hotspots, settings and not for enduser.
that, my friend, is a backdoor.
UNIFI d-link router has this also...
tm unifi router also has higher level user login instead of the normal tmadmin login.
u called it backdoor, but isp said it's for their technical team to do support.
So to all unifi or maxis fiber user...change your router to custom router,
if u really cannot stand for that and need better privacy,
or maybe change to P1 lah...
but i'm not sure P1 has this "backdoor" thing or not loh....
erichhl
post Oct 4 2012, 11:59 AM

112 posts

yup, last month my installation time. The Maxis technician told us last few month very busy b'coz of the rm118 promo. Now less installtion need to be done liao....i think those rm118 users is clear....
erichhl
post Oct 4 2012, 05:23 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(duckaton @ Oct 4 2012, 03:17 PM)
difference is maxis can "remotely" go in the backdoor.

I believe tm can do so.
If u have the D-link router provide by UNIFI,
try get the higher level login (not the tmadmin) and go in to maintainance,
under section TR-069.
I think it's for tm remotely access to the router.
for "trouble shooting" or "remote management".
erichhl
post Oct 4 2012, 10:39 PM

112 posts

later maxis will come out new package include IPTV...
all rm118 user if want IPTV upgrade ur package.....
since rm118 that time they did not promise IPTV in the package.
erichhl
post Oct 5 2012, 12:57 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(viknela @ Oct 5 2012, 12:42 PM)
haha iam also the 118 subscriber suscribed on 25th may 2012 still no installation yet.... mine soo many problem first no port then i complain they found out got port cuz ppl terminate account dy just tm never update system.. then tm ffk 2 times in 4th and 10th October.... then suddenly TM got problem in cyberia cyberjaya bcuz they doing some trunking for new cables due to overwhelming demand for unifi( so many students so one house got up to 2-3 unifi) so cant install until they finish their trunking finally got an appointment on the 25th of October.... haihhhh....
look at the bright side...u may get the TG799 router which less problem than the TG784 router that previous users have.
erichhl
post Oct 11 2012, 03:24 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(alexloon @ Oct 11 2012, 10:18 AM)
I'm from Private IP for a month and switched to Public IP for 4 days, connected 24/7.
1. Gila download movie and songs from torrent and FTP. Download speed with good SEED - 1Mb.
2. Only Xbox360 online gaming and playing 2 hours for every day, recently only 1 night having issue with the High Ping, not disconnect but slow.

Yes, the fact is some people having problem which is true. So it depends your area, try ask around.
hi bro, u switch to public ip for how long already?
is the public ip still have DC problem, very hard to get connected and slow connection issue? sweat.gif
I need to switch to public ip too cause of ftp server and remote desktop + some applications need to use public ip.
But i read from the beginning till now most ppls in public ip still have the DC problem woh... shakehead.gif
so I'm worry....now in private ip the line is solid stable and fast.... thumbup.gif
worry later backside itch go change to public ip and the DC problem and slow speed problem appear... then i really "pengsan" liao.... rclxub.gif
erichhl
post Oct 11 2012, 04:05 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(alexloon @ Oct 11 2012, 03:57 PM)
Haha... I've the exactly same concern like you before switching and I have put on hold cause the the technician told me not to switch yet and have to wait till end of Sept. I switch to Public few days ago, solid stable 24/7. I will know if is disconnected, my CCTV report will show.

To make it clear regarding Public IP, its perform like Private IP before. What Maxis told me its solved was true. And I actually took 50/50 risk to switch and its work perfectly... phew.

Unless..... Maxis screw it up again. Then we need to complaint again lor. what to do.
thanks bro. notworthy.gif
but only few days u switched to public....
then maybe i wait for your further testing report loh... icon_question.gif
if next month you don't have anything to complaint about public then I'll switch to public too. brows.gif

0.0226sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:53 AM