Maxis The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v3, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM138

andrekua2
post Dec 4 2012, 07:22 PM

13,461 posts

QUOTE(pisanq @ Nov 29 2012, 08:51 AM)
Wow...

Hey, do you know whats the status of those who signed up before it was ended? No more discount? I signed up and now awaiting installation which was confirmed on 13th Dec. If so wanna cancel and apply Unifi OKU.
andrekua2
post Dec 12 2012, 10:43 PM

13,461 posts

Mine will install tomorrow. A bit disappointed because they read wrongly and instead of my request for 30mbps, they registered for 10mbps. Oh well, was thinking of getting the max since I will be getting 50% off from OKU discount but might as well just use it and see if its necessary to change at all. Its not that I need 30mbps, but at least wont worry about breaking the 100GB quota.
andrekua2
post Dec 13 2012, 01:59 PM

13,461 posts

Just gotten my FTTH installed. I get the 784n v3 since it was for 10mbps instead of my requested 30mbps.

I dont need any username or password for the 784n. Weird...

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Dec 13 2012, 01:59 PM
andrekua2
post Dec 13 2012, 02:38 PM

13,461 posts

Must request public ip for torrenting right?

**Found that using XunLei can overcome this limitation.

Added on December 13, 2012, 6:43 pmSo fed up with the router. I think this is definitely in the running for the worst ever gui for router.

Any opinion of custom router that would do individual bandwidth limiting like Asus N66U? Too expensive for me. Anything from TP Link?

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Dec 13 2012, 06:44 PM
andrekua2
post Dec 14 2012, 08:28 AM

13,461 posts

QUOTE(feizaiII @ Dec 13 2012, 10:47 PM)
Get a replacement,techniV3. Feel this unit so light and a bit chapalang modem. Lol
Anyways, Hope this will better...
I googled and found that the V3 is actually a ADSL modem + router. I also got the V3 and very disappointed with the lack of option.

Added on December 14, 2012, 8:33 am
QUOTE(Kain_Sicilian @ Dec 14 2012, 12:04 AM)
At that same point of time, I tried streaming fullHD youtube clips and I recieved full speed at 10mb. That's hardly fair then. Why should streaming be prioritized over downloading?
I think bandwidth is pricy nowadays. Dont expect too much when using free services. However, since I have used Unifi before, I must say Maxis must be limiting downloads from Hotfile, or any other file sharing site. It cant even reach 100kB/s. Now compare that to my Maxis Mobile, it can reach around 120-150kB/s for the same file. Smells fishy... I really felt that Im lucky to have them registered me for 10mbps now instead of my requested 30mbps. Really limited.

Downloads from other major sites like Google Drive is good, but also hit a max at 500kB/s. Not complaining. It can definitely reach the maximum speed but only for torrent like my friend comment. Im happy as long as it can torrent fine.

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Dec 14 2012, 08:33 AM
andrekua2
post Dec 14 2012, 11:34 PM

13,461 posts

QUOTE(feizaiII @ Dec 14 2012, 10:19 PM)
Technicolor v3 even worst.. How come it will go sleep mode by itself? All light off except the power light and wifi down. Wtf..
I just installed FTTH and given Technicolor router, and honestly speaking I'm pretty surprised by the performance of the router. It's actually quite decent but lacking advance settings to configure blocked sites, QoS etc. However it was managing itself quite good. Even the WiFi signal is pretty good. It is definitely good enough for sharing internet connection but not so sure when heaving file sharing is involved. I was on heavy torrent on my PC via lan, app store updating on iPad via Wi-Fi and play store updating via WiFi. I'm still gaming online while all of these is ongoing. The only complaint is high ping and private ip.
andrekua2
post Dec 15 2012, 01:36 AM

13,461 posts

QUOTE(feizaiII @ Dec 15 2012, 12:02 AM)
Yours wont light off?
Check the wireless setting. I think there is a power saving/reducing mode. Maybe yours is ticked? Mine isnt.
andrekua2
post Dec 22 2012, 10:02 AM

13,461 posts

QUOTE(calvin_yit @ Dec 21 2012, 11:15 PM)
Quick question. I had been using the FTTH for 4 months now. THe line shared by me and my brother. (me ethernet and him wireless). But sometimes i notice under devices connected to wlan, other than my bro's laptop there are a few "unknown" devices. Apa tu? Its normally labelled as Unknown-70-a3-95-ac-3g-45 etc...
Apa lagi... all your Android phones...

It seems like only Apple devices will show their names whereas Android devices will only show their mac address.
andrekua2
post Jan 1 2013, 05:40 AM

13,461 posts

QUOTE(hongchai888 @ Dec 29 2012, 08:24 PM)
Did anyone know why got delay when watching live football online? My neighbour who watch with Astro always 2 minutes ahead of me....
Need time to stream?

Lastime when I watched F1 (Sometimes showing on NTV7), I find that Astro lag about 90seconds compared to NTV7. Even Byond HD channel lag by few seconds compared to SD. Now seem to be much okay liao.
andrekua2
post Jan 13 2013, 12:31 AM

13,461 posts

Aiyo... so much bandwidth must share lar... why so greedy.

Just now trying to restart the router but who knows it stucked there. I thought router so fast condemn. Google the manual and did the hard reset and enter the setting again. Now working again.
andrekua2
post Jan 13 2013, 06:03 PM

13,461 posts

QUOTE(IntensiveBytes @ Jan 13 2013, 01:20 AM)
if u mean for the guys who set their upload to lowest then.. if lets say i set mine to 1 and then i got the fast download speed of public IP like 2MB/s then id download it super fast then seed like no tomorrow tongue.gif
I don't know if I'm right, but speed through fibre is not dictated by how much your upload was. I always set mine to 800kB/s and I still get 1.1MB/s. Tried lowering it to 500kB/s also same. Fibre is so fast that we are capped by our account cap limit and not upload speed.

Public IP only designate an IP for you instead of sharing one with everyone else. Even when I was using private IP, I achieve 1.1MB/s as well with Xunlei
andrekua2
post Jan 18 2013, 09:56 AM

13,461 posts

Why not try those uTorrent 2.x?

I tried 3.x and dont like it at all. They seem to throttle you when you are not sharing as much, from my past experience when using Streamyx.
andrekua2
post Feb 8 2013, 03:20 AM

13,461 posts

Definitely not true. Downloading Top Gear few days ago with top speed 1.1MB/s and finished it in no time.
andrekua2
post Feb 8 2013, 03:23 AM

13,461 posts

QUOTE(duckaton @ Feb 8 2013, 12:54 AM)
I knew this would happen with maxis.

they started shaping the traffic from several direct download sites early on.
Now throttling of p2p bandwidth.

Quota and traffic shaping/throttling is 2 diff thing altogether.

in maxis forum you can see them denying shaping/throttling earlier on.
most blame the thomson routers.
now they say they do it.

Go around town,
see the huge banners
adverts on utube/radio/tv and practically every media.
they spend millions to advertise.
if only they put the money to better use.
Yes, they do throttle downloads from Hotfile for example. Unifi also max at 2xx kB/s but Maxis really depends. Sometimes also 2xx but sometimes 80-120kB/s only.
andrekua2
post Feb 15 2013, 01:53 PM

13,461 posts

Hmm... Just tried PirateBay and it was impossible to get magnet link anymore even after I upgraded to Utorrent3.

Further blocking huh...

Problem fixed after power cycle both router and btu modem.

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Feb 15 2013, 02:03 PM
andrekua2
post Mar 9 2013, 09:37 AM

13,461 posts

Been without my Fibre for 9 days.

If there is a complain about Maxis, its their billing department and registration department.

Mine was OKU package but apparently was not discounted and I received no bills at all. Cut my line after 2.5months. Paid half of the bill as directed by Maxis Centre but still without internet after 5 working days.

Also made a mistake registering my iValue as new instead of extending the plan. Got charge RM100 but they rectify that quite fast.
andrekua2
post Mar 12 2013, 08:54 PM

13,461 posts

Downloading two torrents at 1.1Mb/s combined.

Maxis finally activated my line back after my constant nagging for their answer for my OKU account discount. Damn... hate Maxis... for their deliberate attempt to rip off customers. Even my almost expired iValue contract which I extend got registered as new and being penalised RM100. Really headache with Maxis cause always overcharge.

0.0290sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:16 PM