Maxis The Official Maxis FTTH Thread | v3, Maxis Home Fibre Internet, from RM138

alvin ong
post Sep 27 2012, 04:43 PM

1,136 posts

new 10mbps user reporting in.
just installed yesterday. 1 maxis guy and 4 tm installer came.
speed test quite satisfying. ping 10ms, download 13mbps upload 12mbps.
Btw, maxis gave me a thompson tg 799n router.
i've noticed there's a dect button and light on that router. is it possible to connect my phone directly to the router instead of plugging it in? thanks.
alvin ong
post Sep 28 2012, 09:18 AM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(duckaton @ Sep 27 2012, 05:38 PM)
woooo! nice 799n
you are the first to report in with the model.
but it is still thomson.

if it performs well, let everone know.
those using 784 can request change router.
just put in microwave, on for 10 secs will do the trick, lol
So far so good. No disconnecting etc etc. and the wifi signal is quite strong.
alvin ong
post Sep 28 2012, 09:50 AM

1,136 posts

Picture of the tg799n

Ps. Sorry for the blurry pics. Taken with my iPad. tongue.gif
alvin ong
post Sep 28 2012, 09:53 AM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(peri peri @ Sep 28 2012, 09:51 AM)
i noticed a usb fan behind
Yeah. It heats up very badly if I don't use a fan.

This post has been edited by alvin ong: Sep 28 2012, 09:54 AM
alvin ong
post Sep 28 2012, 10:18 AM

1,136 posts

My speed test. Quite happy with the speed.
alvin ong
post Sep 30 2012, 01:47 AM

1,136 posts

Anyone having problems with whatsapp? I'm always receiving delayed messages. Every time I open the app I need to wait for 30 seconds for it to connect.
alvin ong
post Sep 30 2012, 07:33 PM

1,136 posts

QUOTE(alexloon @ Sep 30 2012, 11:53 AM)
Just change the router 784 from V2 to V3. Yes, there is V1 to V3 and same design.
Technician told me V1 and V2 have overheated problem and it restart by itself... no officially admitted by Maxis.
V3 no complain on overheat or restarting yet but Power Plug have complaints but not big deal.
Is V3 solved my Wifi signal weak issue? NOPE, he face this problem from Condo/Apartment customer only because it the signal gone weak in ridiculous short distance. So, i've no choice.... re-cabling and move may set nearer to my cctv.

For those who got the Black Version Thomson 799.... You guys are freaking lucky, just found out tht's for 30mb package dude!
The maxis tech guy told me it's a top range router and dun have all this problem we facing. And he did distribute to few 138 package user by no choice. I want him to give "No Choice" but too bad he said got no more unit in hand.
wow! guess i'm one of the lucky ones. tongue.gif
alvin ong
post Oct 8 2012, 08:54 PM

1,136 posts

784v3 vs 799. which is better?

0.0293sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:55 PM