Graphic Cooling discussion thread!, come discuss here. nowhere else

J1@l_ l_l l\l
post Jan 22 2010, 06:40 PM

291 posts

Need some advice on GTX295 (dual PCB) waterblock, any1?

I got 4 options here :

1. Danger Den DD-GTX295 Block

2. HEATKILLER® GPU-X² GTX295

3. any one frm the 4 types of dual pcb GTX295 waterblocks frm EK :-

EK-FC295 GTX
EK-FC295 GTX - Acetal
EK-FC295 GTX - Nickel
EK-FC295 GTX - Acetal+Nickel

4. Koolance VID-NX295

Any suggestion would be welcome.

This post has been edited by J1@l_ l_l l\l: Jan 22 2010, 06:44 PM
J1@l_ l_l l\l
post Jan 27 2010, 01:09 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(reiben05 @ Jan 27 2010, 03:46 AM)
get the heatkiller.. it looks the most sexy imo.. drool.gif

second would be the EK one.. acetal + nickel looks good too biggrin.gif but much more expensive
hmm.gif so if aesthetic wise is not a concern, which 1 would U recommend? Hey guess vat, I'm using only the i"asingComel" c for a liquid cooling setup, if aesthetic is part of the concern, I would have already choosen at least Tt casing.

But the above is applies only for my 2ndary rig.

Any comment in terms of performance?

Most of the graphic blocks r kindda ex leh, cost almost the price of a graphic card n some even more ex than the graphic card itself, walaueh, vat kindda market Vr in huh rclxub.gif , imaging MYR700 ++ for a gpu block, again rclxub.gif

Since most of the gpus nowadays genarate higher heat than cpu, does any1 think tht V should put gpu as the 1st priority cooling instead of cpu?

This post has been edited by J1@l_ l_l l\l: Jan 27 2010, 01:37 PM
J1@l_ l_l l\l
post Jan 28 2010, 07:40 AM

291 posts

QUOTE(reiben05 @ Jan 27 2010, 03:41 PM)
dual chip gpu waterblocks are always expensive.. infact, watercooling will look the best if u spend a lot of $$ on it smile.gif
heatkiller always make good waterblocks, so i dont think u need to worry that much in terms of performance

anyway whats an i"asingComel" case o.O?and in what form, tower, midtower?? and what other water cooling setup u building?
Sorry mate, it's my typo error, I was trying to tell U i"comel" casing, U know it don't U?

Btw, is look so important when comes to liquid cooling, since I noticed tht aesthetic is part of priority concerns for many rig tuners eg. UV reactive coolant, LED fan, LED waterblock, n so on n so on, r these really practical?
J1@l_ l_l l\l
post May 6 2010, 05:28 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(EricCYL @ Apr 17 2010, 07:01 PM)
Is there any aftermarket cooler for HD4870 VRM chip? Change my cooler to Accelero Twin Turbo Pro and the VRM chip was very hot when gaming  sweat.gif
How hot is very got? More than 90 degree C?

U might wanna try liquid-cool it, high efficiency yet more quite than the stock cooler.
J1@l_ l_l l\l
post Jun 15 2010, 01:31 AM

291 posts

QUOTE(sammmmm @ Jun 9 2010, 12:01 PM)
my design this air better water, 34 deg only with 5970

Added on June 9, 2010, 2:48 pmnormal in 34 ~ 38  , 30% fan speed
gaming times in 48 ~ 51 , 40% fan speed
How if the aircond is down? What is the temperature when operates without the aircond running?
J1@l_ l_l l\l
post Jun 15 2010, 10:41 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(sammmmm @ Jun 15 2010, 07:37 PM)
i already seach for 5970 watercooler heat at lowyat plazat,
but nobody sell

Added on June 15, 2010, 7:50 pmdownloading 3d vantage
post test result later
U might interested with the g.p.u. waterblocks frm few forumers here? I would say eventhough pricey and risky (leakage), but watercooled g.p.u. is more queite and the best thing is higher efficiency.

U might wanna take a look here and here
J1@l_ l_l l\l
post Jun 15 2010, 11:45 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(cooling_ice269 @ Jun 15 2010, 10:46 PM)
can u guys recommend any vga cooler 4 my palit 9600??

my casing is pretty small.. so heat build up easily..

tq
Sounds very hot, sweating here.... sweat.gif

What temperature U talking abt?
J1@l_ l_l l\l
post Jun 16 2010, 12:31 AM

291 posts

QUOTE(cooling_ice269 @ Jun 16 2010, 12:01 AM)
in noon my gpu can go 2 60..

sometime even when in idle it will go 60..

really worried.. i really sayang my palit huhu
60C in the aircond room? idle or loaded?

My PC is in non-air-conditioned living room and when loaded it goes more than 70C with the fan running at 75% fan speed (if I'm not mistaken, it should be 75%), tht was with stock HSF, and at the mentioned fan speed, it's kindda noisy too.
J1@l_ l_l l\l
post Jun 16 2010, 06:23 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(cooling_ice269 @ Jun 16 2010, 12:44 AM)
idle lah..

im non-aircond.. kipas2 ma..

urs can go how high when loaded???

mine noisy too...
Mine is the GTX295

It was able to reach temparature of more than 70C to 80C with the stock HSF running at 70% to 80% of full speed, can't remember the exact figure, but it's somewhere at the given figure.

I've changed to liquid cooled, not more than 50C when loaded (no overclock) in non-aircond living room.
J1@l_ l_l l\l
post Jun 16 2010, 10:31 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Jun 16 2010, 09:13 PM)
Changed from CM 90CFM to Scythe SlipStream 110CFM x 8

Temp improved by 7-8C, now i7 920 @ 4.56Ghz 1.4v   thumbup.gif
37dBa for each of the mentioned fan, 1 of my fans is this, it's almost beyond the noise level I can take, n U got 8 of dis, I salute U.

This post has been edited by J1@l_ l_l l\l: Jun 16 2010, 10:34 PM
J1@l_ l_l l\l
post Jun 17 2010, 02:26 PM

291 posts

I'm also noob ma. But if U nvr start, U'll nvr learn. I gained sum little experience by start using it instead of juz theorytically understand how does it work.

How much ah? There r forumers here selling water cooling component for PC. Neh, the sifu above Ur last post is 1 of them lo.

But my graphic card waterblock is bought frm other guy due to I was looking for other maker n he was willing to bring it in 4 me.

I initially wanted to liquid cool the g.p.u. oni not the processor, but my 1st watercooling stuff is a kit tht comes with a c.p.u. waterblock, so counted in the c.p.u. as well.

Where 2 find money ah? thts a gd question, I can't come out with the correct answer. Papa mama or daddy mummy perhaps, or maybe pocket $$$$$$???
J1@l_ l_l l\l
post Jun 19 2010, 09:27 AM

291 posts

Looks kindda cool too. The suggested temp., 66C, was passive cooled shocking.gif , if it is, active cooled will definately get a better result huh.

Even the RAM sinks are given in a sales package.

I think acive cooled it with a high-flow 120mm or 140mm fan would be greate, but with this kindda orientation, would it be an obstruction for motherboard accessibility.

This post has been edited by J1@l_ l_l l\l: Jun 19 2010, 09:40 AM
J1@l_ l_l l\l
post Jun 19 2010, 01:05 PM

291 posts

Mr. Ong, U keep on poisoning the forumers here, I'm sure 1 day I'll kena wan.

J1@l_ l_l l\l
post Jul 17 2010, 04:32 PM

291 posts

Full covered graphic waterblocks r good and in most cases more efficient than HSF n probably better than stand-alone GPU blocks tht work in conjunction with the VRM heat sinks when Ur talking about overall cooling performance.

But consider at graphic board manufacturers are competing agains each others thus keep on coming up with higher performance boards which resulting in consumers constantly upgrading their graphic board(s). Full covered waterblocks cannot be transfered to another graphic card unless the physical design is identical.

Like mobo waterblocks, Ur talking bout spending nearly 1/2 the price of the graphic card or mobo only on the cooling solution alone, but having the difficulty of selling it off since majority are using HSF instead of watercooling on graphic card.

Thts y, non full covered gpu blocks like the Swiftech Komodo would be a better option if Ur constantly upgrading the graphic card since it's transferable frm one board to another in most cases, thus more cost effective.
J1@l_ l_l l\l
post Jul 17 2010, 05:20 PM

291 posts

No no no, being fed by parents with pocket $ is the best, ha ha ha.

J1@l_ l_l l\l
post Jul 21 2010, 01:41 AM

291 posts

Sorry bro, but I really didn't know Ur, but how would study hard could get U all those $ to buy Ur stuffs huh? Mind share with us some "kungfus" here so tht V can get more n better cooling gears frm Ur advice notworthy.gif

Opps, out topic plak doh.gif my bad.

Lets get back to the topic shall V?

Attached image(s)

0.0358sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:12 AM