Graphic Cooling discussion thread!, come discuss here. nowhere else

E-J@1
post Dec 21 2006, 04:28 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(coolmast3r @ Dec 21 2006, 01:06 PM)
whoa.. nice.. but scary mod that is..

hmm.. hmm.gif just wondering if evercool vc-hrc will do for my card? sweat.gif
still haven't got interested in any vga cooler ar? TR, Zalman.... hmm.gif
E-J@1
post Dec 28 2006, 11:05 AM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(s[H]sIkuA @ Dec 28 2006, 10:14 AM)
wow rm170 ah, those hr03 can get at 200 but it perform better biggrin.gif as usual , u get for what u pay tongue.gif

I am still thinking whether or not to get this Hr03 cause still undecided to get 7600,7900 or x1950 pro , might be causing some incompatibility as hr03 not support all model sweat.gif
that's the problem with Thermalright HR cooler, the compatible issue, why won't they make it universal cooler rclxub.gif doh.gif
E-J@1
post Dec 28 2006, 04:06 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Dec 28 2006, 03:51 PM)
Thermalright heatsink design make it hard to make it universal mounting.
i think Zalman cooler is more harder to make it universal mounting as for the fins are on top of the copper base... the HR don't have fins on em, onli the heatpipe goin out, making it easier for universal mounting cooler shakehead.gif

aiyooo what's the matter with thermalright, making so great cooler yet have mounting issue doh.gif just got a feeling that the HR will be universal, cause IIRC there's a FAQ bout the mounting issue, TR said they are making an adapter to able it mount on any vga rclxms.gif hopefully what they said is true biggrin.gif
E-J@1
post Jan 3 2007, 03:34 AM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Dec 31 2006, 01:19 AM)
well if u want performance hsfs nothin beats a made to fit or "bespoke" cooler.... thats what hr is doing except that thwey try to fit as many cooler as possible...the mounting come into play because of the manufacturers... they dun want to use one universal mounting holes system for god knows why....
yeah la, stupid manufacturer, why don't just do it like mobos, all mounting hole are the same doh.gif

QUOTE(enter @ Jan 3 2007, 02:26 AM)
just finish mod my 6600 gt using p3 cooler...

now idel at 42c and full load at 59c..

compare using stok fan idel at 55c and full load at 80c.. haha..
care to show us some pics of it rclxms.gif
E-J@1
post Jan 3 2007, 11:35 AM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

nice mod thumbup.gif good for ppl who has no extra budget rclxms.gif
onli the pci slot cover are holding the heatsink u mount on ur graphic card eh? blink.gif
E-J@1
post Jan 3 2007, 12:02 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(enter @ Jan 3 2007, 12:00 PM)
Yup.. and skru at side.. x berat sangat...  laugh.gif
skru at side? eehhh!!! how? u mean u screwed it on the vga's mounting hole? it is possible, ngam ngam ka? sweat.gif
E-J@1
post Jan 3 2007, 12:12 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(enter @ Jan 3 2007, 12:08 PM)
laugh.gif i tebuk la HSH tu... so.. ngam2 la lubang dia..  thumbup.gif
wah u tebuk the hsf tu!!! man, i wish i have the tools to tebuk it, anyway, how many hole u made? 1@2@4 sweat.gif
E-J@1
post Jan 3 2007, 05:54 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(BladeRider88 @ Jan 3 2007, 12:45 PM)
Excuse me,wat is ur review abt Thermaltake Giant 3 VGA Cooler?
Is it good enough 2 cool down ATI 9600XT?
Anyway,is there any software that can monitor my GPU's temperature?
Thanks 4 d help.
use Riva Tuner
E-J@1
post Jan 4 2007, 11:22 AM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(s[H]sIkuA @ Jan 4 2007, 01:21 AM)
wow DIY hole , if me, I dont dare to tebuk biggrin.gif graphic cards are not cheap tongue.gif
tebuk on the hsf la, nobody willing to tebuk on pcb, gilar ka pa notworthy.gif
E-J@1
post Jan 8 2007, 11:08 AM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(tachlio @ Jan 5 2007, 02:37 PM)
rclxms.gif how u make sure u wont kena any PCB there?

might  post ur picture after mod ?

rclxm9.gif
aiiiyooo doh.gif 1st u measure the holes on ur vga, then make the hole on ur hsf to be drill, then it won't hit the PCB... damn is it that hard to imagine notworthy.gif
E-J@1
post Jan 15 2007, 07:32 AM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Jan 14 2007, 03:00 AM)
that's why i said not everyone could afford extra 10 or 20 ringgit ....

anyway any ATI card owner that kind enough to share their tricks in cooling voltage regulator of ATI X1600/X1800/X1900 cards....

i been having dual 12cm CM UV fan blow toward the entire card to cool of the        voltage regulator ..
what??? u using HR on that vga card rite? still hot ka?
E-J@1
post Jan 16 2007, 02:50 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(casperito @ Jan 16 2007, 01:11 PM)
and how about TR V-1 Ultra?? is HR-03 is better than this??
HR!!! is way better than V-1 Ultra, plus the design perfect for those using CrossFire @ SLI, but one cons that most ppl hate it but love to get it, it's compatible issue cry.gif
E-J@1
post Jan 20 2007, 11:31 AM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

nice looking vga cooler by CM, but like sHawTY said,more like Arctic Cooling sad.gif

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 20 2007, 08:46 AM)
Looks more like Arctic Cooling Accelero X1 & X2 for me...
Released yet?

What about the gigantic Cooler Master heatsink?
Also not released yet a bro?
hehehe, u gonna bulk on it brows.gif

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Jan 20 2007, 10:39 AM)
that looks promisisng...right now im trying to mod my hr-05 into my x1650pro..pictures up later....
c'mon, c'mon, pics, pics , pics drool.gif
E-J@1
post Jan 24 2007, 02:24 AM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Jan 24 2007, 12:15 AM)
guys, i want to ask some opinion on this. i am getting HIS x1950PRO with IceQ3.

http://www.hisdigital.com/html/product_ov.php?id=278

i hear that IceQ3 perform quite ok but i want to know how it rank if compare to TR, Zerotherm or Zalman. do i need to purchase a third party heatsink if i going to OC it kau kau smile.gif if yes, which heatsink fit x1950pro. my zalman vf900cu confirm cant fit according to its website smile.gif

any advise greatly appreciate smile.gif
TR will fit but have some issue, & its not too serious, is just that u have to place a non- electrical conductive washer

VGA Compatibility List ::Link::
Issue ::Link::

although TR stated that it will not fit on X1950Pro, but they show the remedy for it, is confusing rclxub.gif

anyway, irangan, better for u to wait a while for the TH HR-03 Plus to come out, i bet this time it will be a universal cooler laugh.gif & who knows, maybe they add extra pipe or can mount 120mm fan (dunno can fit it) laugh.gif
E-J@1
post Jan 24 2007, 09:05 AM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Jan 24 2007, 08:54 AM)
i see.... hopefully my IceQ3 will work as fine as it said smile.gif

*i think that problem can easily solved by putting small piece of plastic in between the mounting and PCB board
at 1st they state that X1950Pro can't fit, then the real issue was that it made contact with the PCB, why don't u personally ask TR bout this blink.gif
E-J@1
post Jan 24 2007, 11:42 AM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Jan 24 2007, 11:24 AM)
Basically if u are having silent in concept the IceQ 3 won't do any good ...

the heat sink is good at disspation of heat directly from the case ....

which mean the temperature drop fast once u are off from intensive application ..

however due to the nature of the cooler design .. it just can't handle high stress at low noise... the cooler would spin up really fast and the noise is annoying ... unless ur pc speaker volume is really high to cover the noise..

i have it on my HIS X1900XT and replaced with the TR ..

however even with TR the voltage regulator is an issue as both cooler don't cool off that area much .... therefore i ended up with two 12Cm fan blow toward the ENTIRE card to cover everything.

result .. a bit of noise and cramp case...

choose wise... choose between noise and heat tolerance level...
what using TR, still hot ka?
E-J@1
post Jan 24 2007, 04:35 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jan 24 2007, 02:00 PM)
You don't know how hot are those ATI X18XX & X19XX series... laugh.gif
It's freakin' hot... shakehead.gif
QUOTE(lolhalol @ Jan 24 2007, 02:16 PM)
its not freakin hot, its gila gila hot... if u look at the stock hsf, its dam good aledi, just that its very very hot so need to run very fast. best ways is just wc
damn, i was just goin to get a cooler for it, then what cooler that is silently good enough, don't tell those WC kits, prefer to use air cooling...
E-J@1
post Jan 24 2007, 06:58 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Jan 24 2007, 06:07 PM)
haha actually dont need to use noctua also ok one.
a Si-120 would also be ideal. not that heavy and its performance is not bad
heh blink.gif can u provide a pics for that? been searching for it for a long time cry.gif
E-J@1
post Feb 24 2007, 10:23 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(techPowerUp!)
At this year's CES, Arctic Cooling unveiled their completely passive Accelero S Series. The coolers use heatpipes to transfer heat from the GPU to a large radiator-like surface that covers the whole video card.

Initially there will be two versions: The Accelero S1 and the Accelero S2.

The Accelero S1 is the high performance version featuring four heatpipes and supports:

Radeon X1800, X1900, X1950
GeForce 6800, 7800, 7900 and 7950 Series. 8800 cards are not supported at this time.

If you are looking for additional cooling performance or have very little airflow in your case you can install an additional Turbo Module that uses an active fan to improve cooling.

The Accelero S2 supports all low end and midrange cards ranging from Radeon 9xxx to X1650 and GeForce 4 to GeForce 7600. Compared to the S2 it has a smaller surface area and only two heatpipes, at a lower price. The Turbo Module can be installed here as well.
Link

Seems like there are two ver. + can mount fan on it, but what fan size??? blink.gif by looking at their dimension, i hoping it can fit 120mm fan on it thumbup.gif damn, it covers the whole vga area brows.gif drool.gif

Radeon X1950XTX and CF cooled passively [Link]

the cooler so big, even can see the vga doin CF rclxub.gif wonder what's the minimum case size for this cooler to fit

This post has been edited by E-J@1: Feb 24 2007, 10:30 PM
E-J@1
post Feb 24 2007, 10:32 PM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Feb 24 2007, 10:30 PM)
really looks nice... i am so interested!
do a bulk on it la brows.gif the cooler only available starting June, & somemore AC gonna make S3 soon [Link]

1.8726sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:12 PM