QUOTE(leoboom @ Sep 8 2008, 10:54 AM)
do yo really need the second slot?whats your gc?
Graphic Cooling discussion thread!, come discuss here. nowhere else
Sep 8 2008, 04:12 PM
4,809 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
Dec 5 2008, 07:28 PM
218 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Kuching |
Hi guys, was wondering if someone could offer me some advice for a VGA cooler for my GTX280. Just now after playing dead space for like an hour i tabbed out for a bit and out of curiosity i opened HWmonitor and it said my GC was at 82c. Is that too high? Normally idle its running at around 51c
Dec 5 2008, 08:28 PM
142 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: dengkil. and origin sabah |
QUOTE(pl4tinum @ Dec 5 2008, 07:28 PM) Hi guys, was wondering if someone could offer me some advice for a VGA cooler for my GTX280. Just now after playing dead space for like an hour i tabbed out for a bit and out of curiosity i opened HWmonitor and it said my GC was at 82c. Is that too high? Normally idle its running at around 51c wow pl4tinum sure ur GPU temp very very high lool..82C for your GPU la..i think u have to change your GPU cooler if you want to use ur GPU for long time laa.. try to find 3rd part GPu cooler maaa.. i think la 70++C for the GPU temp is danger already owh by the way my GPU temp at idle is 46C load maybe 60++C la.. just waiting for the zalman full cooper VF900-CU..to change with the stock cooler.. |
Dec 5 2008, 08:57 PM
I search the zalman webbie d
Thats y i post here hoping that someone can give me some recommendations |
Dec 5 2008, 09:36 PM
QUOTE(pl4tinum @ Dec 5 2008, 08:57 PM) I search the zalman webbie d ok what kind of mobo do you have and how many slot available below ur GPU slot???and most importantly the budget that you have for 3rd party gpu cooler??Thats y i post here hoping that someone can give me some recommendations |
Dec 5 2008, 11:11 PM
Im currently using a Gigabyte EP54-UD4R and still got 2 more expansion slots left. Er budget should be nething below rm500 gua. Would prefer if it was an air cooling solution lor. Thanks bro.
Dec 6 2008, 01:09 AM
4,746 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Speed rule |
QUOTE(pl4tinum @ Dec 5 2008, 07:28 PM) Hi guys, was wondering if someone could offer me some advice for a VGA cooler for my GTX280. Just now after playing dead space for like an hour i tabbed out for a bit and out of curiosity i opened HWmonitor and it said my GC was at 82c. Is that too high? Normally idle its running at around 51c It is ok Just set fan speed to 100%,should reduce temp by some margin You could try to reapply stock TIM with a TX2 or something like that,should give 2-3 C temp drop If all of those don't work,could look into improving airflow of case Or you could build a small loop just for gc |
Dec 6 2008, 02:07 AM
QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Dec 6 2008, 01:09 AM) It is ok i think ur GPU blower will make loud noise if u set it to 100% speed fan..Just set fan speed to 100%,should reduce temp by some margin You could try to reapply stock TIM with a TX2 or something like that,should give 2-3 C temp drop If all of those don't work,could look into improving airflow of case Or you could build a small loop just for gc i would not recommend it, it shorten your GPU fan life i have same idea with brother oc4/3 why you not check ur casing airflow..if i not mistaken the stock cooler for the GPU is good already..just apply new thermal paste..and see what happen.. |
Dec 6 2008, 11:54 PM
412 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: kl,malaysia |
i change my old xfx 7900 gs vga stock cooler fan into the artic cooling twin turbo n it nolonger face the issues of hot
can even felt the non-warm air already cheers |
Dec 6 2008, 11:58 PM
QUOTE(loongking @ Dec 6 2008, 11:54 PM) i change my old xfx 7900 gs vga stock cooler fan into the artic cooling twin turbo n it nolonger face the issues of hot good for you la..i have not enough space to put the twin turbo on my GPU..not enough space lol..damm asus put the primary PCIE slot near my pci slot!!!hahaha can even felt the non-warm air already cheers |
Dec 7 2008, 11:27 PM
412 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: kl,malaysia |
initially i wanted a xigmatek battle axe darn it was too huge
so went back to change twin turbo (thanks moderno) cheers |
Dec 8 2008, 11:26 AM
Thermalright HR03 GTX Found this cooler for gtx280 and 260
Dec 8 2008, 03:51 PM
QUOTE(pl4tinum @ Dec 8 2008, 11:26 AM) Thermalright HR03 GTX Found this cooler for gtx280 and 260 your GPU to powerfull laa.. that why have to use watercool hahaha.. |
Dec 8 2008, 04:02 PM
2,095 posts Joined: Nov 2008 From: misery |
obvious answer is obvious.
Jan 10 2009, 03:26 PM
58 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
Hello newbie here, i just got the Artic Cooling Twin Turbo for my 4870, and its using the power from the GC, at 100% fan speed in Catalyst the temp only goes down to 50% in idle, yes its really quiet although in 100%, but i read reviews showing it actually should be cooler. Is it a problem with the power, or should i be using a different software to control the fan speed?
Jan 11 2009, 02:00 AM
1,604 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Seremban |
QUOTE(Honky @ Jan 10 2009, 03:26 PM) Hello newbie here, i just got the Artic Cooling Twin Turbo for my 4870, and its using the power from the GC, at 100% fan speed in Catalyst the temp only goes down to 50% in idle, yes its really quiet although in 100%, but i read reviews showing it actually should be cooler. Is it a problem with the power, or should i be using a different software to control the fan speed? I got 1 and it's idling @ 48 deg. I also read somewhere that you might want to connect the fan's power to your MB rather than your GC. The extra voltage will help increasing the fan's speed and decrease the temp. But be aware, the noise might be audible compared to your setup now. |
Jan 11 2009, 02:18 AM
QUOTE(Honky @ Jan 10 2009, 03:26 PM) Hello newbie here, i just got the Artic Cooling Twin Turbo for my 4870, and its using the power from the GC, at 100% fan speed in Catalyst the temp only goes down to 50% in idle, yes its really quiet although in 100%, but i read reviews showing it actually should be cooler. Is it a problem with the power, or should i be using a different software to control the fan speed? i think you have to consider the ambient temperature on the review that you read and compare to the ambient temperature of your room, that will explain why the review temperature reading is lower than yours.unless you using airconditioned room |
Jan 17 2009, 08:33 AM
1,176 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
i use galaxy 9800gt when idle its 45 when load it 6x near 70 max just now is 68 is it safe?
Jan 17 2009, 03:57 PM
Jan 17 2009, 04:03 PM