4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Kia Optima K5 Owners/Fans Thread V3, www.myK5club.com

K5WHITE
post Aug 14 2012, 10:19 AM

92 posts

shud we put the list of workshop/mod that has been done by owners here? Also list of SA that has provided all round good service to owners here. And list of problems and recommended person to look for at particular SC.

I know tedious work, just my suggestion. Coz i tot, some interested person might want to have a easy-to-find-list when deciding to buy k5 or not.
K5WHITE
post Aug 14 2012, 02:19 PM

92 posts

had my car pull-to-left attended to just now. They did alignment for me for free, even though i clocked ~7000km. For now, steering is straight, will wait n see

Told them had this issue long time ago, no time to come bla bla...haha
K5WHITE
post Aug 15 2012, 03:27 PM

92 posts

just placed order for rear bumper LED reflector from jayong. Plan to DIY install it since going to be plenty of holidays coming.

http://www.jayongmall.net/product.php?id_product=3016
K5WHITE
post Aug 15 2012, 03:59 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(gary_ckwai @ Aug 15 2012, 03:48 PM)
think there is a group buy in K5 FB for this
i tot there is only places recommended to install it locally. If im not mistaken, RM450. never came across group buy in FB. Well, i oso occasionally log into FB and i browse through K5 page. Maybe i overlooked. How much cheaper if group buy?
K5WHITE
post Aug 15 2012, 04:11 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(bUGG @ Aug 15 2012, 04:04 PM)
I have already received mine. from the instruction manual, it looks like we need to remove the bumper to install it. DAMM!!!

Now waiting for the full strip tail light. When receive all, I will send for installation. Or you want to do it for me?  laugh.gif
how much u paid for full strip tail light? got website?

from this website, LED bumper doesnt looked hard.
http://www.optimaforums.com/forum/22-optim...g-detailed.html

thats where i learnt to do mod on door mood light oso.
K5WHITE
post Aug 15 2012, 04:31 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(bUGG @ Aug 15 2012, 04:20 PM)
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Kspeed-KIA-Optima-...3567790&vxp=mtr

I bought 1 set 4 pieces. I heard KIA Malaysia is selling each side (the outer one) for almost 1K. I intend to keep or sell the outer one just incase someone needs it.

I saw the guide from Optima forums. But I am not up to that level yet. You can ask me to replace bulb, not a problem,  but to remove bumper...  rclxub.gif

Added on August 15, 2012, 4:23 pm

I  bought the full set including the outer light. But I only intend to change the inner one only and keep the outer one for backup since KIA MALAYSIA is selling each side (the outer one) for almost 1K

What warranty do they cover for tail lights?  hmm.gif
well, u gonna have to re-wire the fog lamp(current) to normal nightlamp plus brake light if u intend to put the one u purchased(full strip taillight). And of course the rear foglamp at the steering toggle.

Good Luck !!

p/s: bro bUGG damn rich lar !! hahaaha

just wanna add here. I have seen a website selling only the inner part of the tail light, but i cant find it back. Someone from V1 posted the seller website, and i went in and found it that time. Now dunno where lioaw.

Added on August 15, 2012, 4:36 pmthat optima forum from US oso got a good write up on how to swap OEM suspension spring with lowered spring. 2~4 hrs job w/o any special tools oso. Seems very easy too..hahaha

This post has been edited by K5WHITE: Aug 15 2012, 04:36 PM
K5WHITE
post Aug 15 2012, 04:42 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(bUGG @ Aug 15 2012, 04:36 PM)
You are right, have to re-wire. Because I have seen someone already did it (one of the owner here), thats why I dare to buy.

Yes, someone actually ordered from Jayong Mall just the inner part for about 350USD. That one have to speacial order, email to Jayong Mall.
it wasnt a special order. It was put up at the website off the shelf. But no point saying it since i cant find it tongue.gif

This post has been edited by K5WHITE: Aug 15 2012, 04:42 PM
K5WHITE
post Aug 15 2012, 06:26 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(sidhu13 @ Aug 15 2012, 06:19 PM)
That's the reason why I never got that bro. The complete tail light is nice. Shouldn't do too much..
no la..the LED bumper not so Ah Beng lar..no lar... hmm.gif
K5WHITE
post Aug 15 2012, 06:39 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(sidhu13 @ Aug 15 2012, 05:19 PM)
I am also interested in the full tail lights trip. But I don't see the point in buying the full set of light. Currently trying to work out from a contact to purchase both the left and right inner tail light only.. Hope to get a good deal. Then I ll get someone to fix it for me..

Added on August 15, 2012, 5:31 pmJuz need to rewire to make the inner portion the continuous light/brake light. And also it can act as the fog lamp when u switch the fog lamp switch...
got ready, dont forget us here ehh.... thumbup.gif

Added on August 15, 2012, 6:40 pm
QUOTE(bUGG @ Aug 15 2012, 06:28 PM)
haha... looks like you also having doubts?  tongue.gif
but i just clicked on paypal few hours ago cry.gif

This post has been edited by K5WHITE: Aug 15 2012, 06:40 PM
K5WHITE
post Aug 16 2012, 09:21 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(sidhu13 @ Aug 15 2012, 06:42 PM)
I am getting both the inner lights from a friend for us 300..
Juz need etoni to fix it. Want a professional job done.. Any of you ll interested?
USD300 for 2 pcs of inner LED T/L, is this the best deal?
K5WHITE
post Aug 17 2012, 09:31 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(sutunjambul @ Aug 17 2012, 09:23 AM)
No..its 18"..its lighter compared to stock rim..around 9kg..i use the original nexen tire..so far so good..felt lighter on acceleration

Added on August 17, 2012, 9:26 am

The retail price RM1980..i trade in my original rims RM600(take it or keep it)  cry.gif ..so it becomes 1380..but plus the screws2 thing and alignment balancing it became RM1680
u did it at ah kit's place? shah alam?

Added on August 17, 2012, 9:32 am
QUOTE(bUGG @ Aug 17 2012, 01:32 AM)
Done my full strip 2 Way LED Tail Light.

this one ur home minister approve ar? she wanna sit in ur car ar? hahaha

NICE !!

This post has been edited by K5WHITE: Aug 17 2012, 09:32 AM
K5WHITE
post Aug 17 2012, 09:35 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 17 2012, 09:29 AM)
So is the inner lights on during normal driving or does it only light up when u brake? Or both?
i think he meant tail light on as per nite drive ie when toggle switch one or 2 notch. But currently the brake light function still not working, have to do wiring.
K5WHITE
post Aug 17 2012, 10:32 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(bUGG @ Aug 17 2012, 09:53 AM)
Both. normal night driving and brake. Exactly the same function as the outer lights.

Added on August 17, 2012, 9:56 am

Yes, this one she recommend. She said looks nicer. But LED reflector at bumper is NO NO, too ah beng. So, who wants to buy from me the LED reflector... brand new. smile.gif
but when brake it will not be extra bright rite? not until u re-wire...

u can always put kill switch for the bumper LED. When wife not ard, u turn it ON. When wife wanna naik kereta, turn it OFF...hahaha
K5WHITE
post Aug 22 2012, 09:04 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(IlovesCar @ Aug 22 2012, 12:20 AM)
Dear all K5 owner,

Can somebody share any problem they faced with the K5 so far..? Like engine, electronic parts, suspension and some others things? Appreciated for all sharing bcoz i'm planning to get 1 Bright Silver soon.. tongue.gif
just came back from holidays !! thumbup.gif

msot of owners here faced minor issues like fold side mirror, squeaking sound, cd player load button stucked, reverse camera, steering pull to the left, and few more. Not all cars have same issues, some none at all. But most importantly, Naza Kia is more than willing to solve the issues under warranty and with great effort.
K5WHITE
post Aug 22 2012, 10:27 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 22 2012, 10:21 AM)
For me i faced some jumpy steering issue but i guess thats just the way the car is. Not really a problem or defect. But to try and solve this 'issue', Naza Kia offered to replace both my rear shock absorbers FOC. But no difference cuz like i said before, its not really a defect. But my current problem is the stale smell for about 5 secs from the aircon when u switch it on during a cold start. But Naza Kia have now ordered a replacement aircon filter just to see if it solves the problem. Ive also faced the vibrating wiper issue for some time. Naza has now odered a replacement wiper arm & new blades for me although wipers are not covered under warranty. Naza Kia also replaced both my front fog lamps FOC when the plastic cover became bent on 1 side. Again not really their fault but they still replaced out of goodwill. No issues since then.

So far Naza Kia have been very good with the after sales service and warranty claims. But they need to reduce the lead time of replacement parts which is too long now.

I just did my 10,000km 2nd service last week and it cost me about RM280 inclusive fully syn oil, filter, allignment, balancing and wash.
i think the standard cabin air filter is normal white? coz i saw k5 cabin air filter with carbon element at ebay ~usd 12. Maybe that can solve ur stale smell.

i have tried the "set air circulation" as per bUGG tips at 1st page. But during driving, the cabin circulation will still change. Anyone knows why? CO2 content in cabin?
K5WHITE
post Aug 22 2012, 11:40 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(funnybone @ Aug 22 2012, 11:36 AM)
Thanks. This assessment is useful to me. thumbup.gif
take note that the servicing is 10k km interval.

This post has been edited by K5WHITE: Aug 22 2012, 11:40 AM
K5WHITE
post Aug 23 2012, 10:04 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(sutunjambul @ Aug 18 2012, 07:59 AM)
Count me in too!

LED Tail Light (inner light - 1 pair) USD280
01) sidhu13
02) Sutunjambul (Pearl White WWK 534)
03)
04)
05)
06)
07)
08)
09)
10)
any progress in this group purchase?
K5WHITE
post Aug 23 2012, 12:50 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 23 2012, 12:46 PM)
Did u know that Volkswagen (VW) has bought over Audi, Porsche, Bentley, Lamborghini, Bugatti and Ducati? Amazing!  rclxms.gif
and Skoda
K5WHITE
post Aug 23 2012, 03:28 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(JuneSeptember @ Aug 23 2012, 02:26 PM)
Comrades, I've got a few problems with my car, which the SC said are common among K5s, do you have such problems?

1) the lumbar support mechanism has free play, meaning when I accelerate and decelerate, i can feel and hear a "cluck" sound from the seat, SC said it's common. My lumbar support is just lightly adjusted, around 10-20% from the off position.
2) the rear view mirror has poor quality plastics, it makes cracking noise when you squeeze it lightly or when the interior is cooling down from the hot sun. SC said it is common.
3) and off course there're the funny noises from all over the cabin

SC told me it's normal, just accept it. I disagree loh, this is not Proton, so I hope they don't treat their customers the Proton way. Btw, i'm not being overly fussy, ironically, the Rondo that they loaned me for two weeks didn't have all these annoying noises.

I'm planning to escalate my complaints and ensure that these problems are rectified.
i have none of all 3 noise problems u face. Occasionally, i hear cracks or knocking sounds, but mainly due to keys, specs, etc that are vibrating while driving.

maybe u shud get to other SC and see what they can do first.
K5WHITE
post Aug 24 2012, 02:57 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(ericfinn @ Aug 23 2012, 09:49 PM)
Guys...anyone interested to get this full led inner tail light?..i am looking for minimum 10 participants for a group purchase. Price is USD240 only....
im interested. how many ppl u got already?

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0638sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:59 PM