Kia Optima K5 Owners/Fans Thread V3, www.myK5club.com

cybermaster98
post Jul 1 2014, 02:31 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(flex3x @ Jul 1 2014, 02:14 PM)
Welcome bro..try to avoid peak hour smile.gif
If your vehicle has any specific issues, please send it to JD Auto, Kemuning Utama. They even open on Sundays. Ah Ho is the head mechanic and he's really good.
cybermaster98
post Jul 25 2014, 11:28 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(jootat @ Jul 23 2014, 04:40 PM)
piece of junk review if u ask me ... smile.gif some of it is quite valid esp the NVH ...
Yes it was a junk review. They spoiled it by turning it into a comedy show. Should have had more technical inputs. The K5 isnt the best but they left out many positive aspects of the car.
cybermaster98
post Jul 28 2014, 09:14 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jul 22 2014, 01:28 PM)
I have been considering to buy K5 but still many advised that better don't go for Korean car, due to 2nd hand value and its performance.

Wanna get opinions from car owners who have bought and....
Ive been a K5 owner for the past 27 months. Before this was a loyal Toyota supporter for 9 years. So let me give you a brief run down:

1) After sales service - still poor especially Red Cube PJ. But the Chinese operated SC's offer much much better after sales service and technical know how. Service centres in Puchong, Kota Damansara, Kemuning Utama are quite good.
2) Maintenance cost - spare parts are slightly more expensive compared to Japanese makes.
3) Build quality - so far quite good. No squeeks or rattles except a minor rattling round at the steering shaft when going over bumps.
4) Durability - unsure as its a new model. But because build quality is good, i expect durability to be much better than previous Kia models
5) Power - its slightly underpowered because of the body weight. A 2.4L engine or a 2.0L turbo would be far better. But still more powerful than the Camry, Accord or Teana 2.0L models. Using Total engine oil instead of the rubbish Syntium also gives you a small power boost.
6) Driving - power delivery and the auto transmission isnt as smooth as Japanese makes. So some of the extra hp & torque gets 'lost' before it reaches the wheels. But mid range pickup is still quite good especially with the pedal shifters.
7) Design - top class in my opinion. The car is a looker and gives a rather sleek / commanding impression on the road. The DRL LED lights gives the car that extra aura. Internal legroom is also very generous.
8) Resale value - all D segments cars dont enjoy good resale value compared to B or C segments. But of the lot, the K5 will probably be slightly worse because its Korean. But dont forget that ure also paying less in the beginning.
9) Value for money - an important criteria and at <150K, the K5 is great value. The specs on offer is top class for this price range. Even the Mazda 6 (the K5's closest competitor in terms of specs) doesnt offer as much for the base 2.0L model.
10) Safety - the MOST important criteria. The K5 excels in safety standards. Very good safety specs. The 2013 Optima K5 obtained higher frontal crash ratings by the NHTSA than even the mighty 2014 BMW 528i although both got the overall 5 star rating. In the IIHS test results (as of 2013), the 2013 Optima K5 is among only 25 vehicles worldwide who have received the Top Safety Pick (+) rating which even the Audi A6, BMW 5 Series and Mercedes E Class failed to get. The other Korean car which was rated Top Safety Pic (+) was the 2013 Hyundai Elantra.
11) Warranty claims - so much easier compared to Toyota. Naza not reluctant to replace parts to satisfy customer.

So overall, i have no regrets whatsoever buying a K5. Im not just saying this cuz i already own the car but for 143K, its certainly very good value. Now with the almost 15K discounts, i wouldnt even think twice. RM134K for the facelift model with so many extra's, why are u even asking? Its a no brainer actually! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Jul 28 2014, 09:18 PM
cybermaster98
post Aug 10 2014, 12:41 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Buydirect @ Aug 9 2014, 07:28 PM)
Just to share for those who wish to get the K5 but not willing to pay more than RM100K, I have one unit Pre-Owned Kia Optima K5, Snow Pearl White Year Make 2012, NU Engine at a very interesting price. Anyone interested, please PM me. Thanks
Whats the price? Interest rate? Warranty period?
cybermaster98
post Jan 15 2015, 02:02 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(funnybone @ Jan 9 2015, 08:49 PM)
I'm planning to change the tyres too. How much is the Michelin PS3 each?
Go to Hin Leong, Klang. Their prices are unbeatable. I replaced my Michelin PSS with Goodyear Assy 2 in Nov last year for only RM2,950 (4 tyres, allignment, balancing, valves). The tyres were Jan 2013 tyres. But well worth the price if u ask me. More quiet than PSS for sure but in terms of performance, the PSS is unmatched.

Both the PSS and Assy 2 are manufactured in Germany.
cybermaster98
post Jan 15 2015, 02:04 PM

4,440 posts

When is Kia planning to resolve the old problem of the knocking sound from the steering column? Its been there from Day 1 and yet nothing resolved.
cybermaster98
post Jan 15 2015, 10:59 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(funnybone @ Jan 15 2015, 06:46 PM)
I'm looking at Goodyear now too. Aiming either the Assy 2 or Directional 5. Does Assy 2 last long?
Not sure. I just started using in Nov last year. But wear and tear depends mainly on how you drive. What tyre u using now?
cybermaster98
post Jan 16 2015, 01:01 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(RiuK3n @ Jan 16 2015, 12:35 AM)
U definitely did not follow our fb. Somebody already had that replaced n solved
Do u know which SC did this?
cybermaster98
post Jan 18 2015, 09:33 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(funnybone @ Jan 16 2015, 08:52 PM)
Still the original tyre Nexen. Never changed until now.....coming to 3 years
Bro, pls get rid of all 4 Nexen's. They are rubbish tyre with poor wet grip and aquaplaning resistance. Sidewall strength is also poor which increases the risk of sidewall separation at high speeds.

Go for Goodyear Assy 2 or Michelin PS3. No point having top class safety specs if your tyres are bad.
cybermaster98
post Jan 26 2015, 11:06 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Darkcity212 @ Jan 26 2015, 06:07 PM)
hi everyone. is the k5 performance lacking and acceleration not as smooth as honda or toyota? im considering this but im worried about the korean gerabox as everyone claims its performance is lousy and problematic
Who are these ppl who gave u such info? You cant compare the new generation models like the K5 and Forte with previous generation Korean models. So wait a few more years and ull get an answer to your question whether its problematic or not.
cybermaster98
post Mar 23 2015, 01:06 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(car2 @ Mar 17 2015, 11:21 AM)
Hi cybermaster98,
I also looking at goodyear Assy 2 but in the Goodyear web site it do not have tyre size of 225/45/R18. Which tyre size that you purchase for your K5 ?

U can use the closest size which is 235-45-18. Get it from Hin Leong, Klang 03-33439100.
cybermaster98
post Mar 23 2015, 01:09 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(hengng @ Mar 17 2015, 05:30 PM)
I used the original Nexen tyres till 30K mileage, then I changed to Nexen tyres again,  N8000 till now, 72K mileage, no regret....
No regrets based on what? Many ppl drive Proton's for decades and say the same thing. No regret. That's until they're in an accident.

Your tyres are the most important safety feature in your car. You can have the best safety features but if your tyre fails you, then ure screwed. Don't ever compromise safety by choosing a cheap tyre. All it takes is once and your life or the lives of your passengers are out the window.

And speed does NOT kill.
cybermaster98
post Mar 25 2015, 09:54 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(hengng @ Mar 24 2015, 06:08 PM)
You are so funny tongue.gif .  No regret of course based on my driving habbit for these tyres. 

I know you had a very bad experience for the original Nexen tyres which fitted in our Kia K5, but don't blame all of the models tyres under nexen are bad!  icon_rolleyes.gif
Nope. My view on Nexen was bad before that. I already knew it had poor wet grip and longer braking distance. But I continued using it until the incident happened 1 year later. So that incident was a wake up call for me. We don't need to wait for incidents to happen before we take action.
cybermaster98
post Apr 20 2015, 08:59 AM

4,440 posts

Funny why K5 sales are poor despite an attractive price tag and good specs. rclxub.gif
cybermaster98
post Apr 20 2015, 10:01 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Apr 20 2015, 09:53 AM)
might be people assume its underpower?
considering its come with big size
None of the other Japanese D segments are powerful.
cybermaster98
post Jun 1 2015, 12:59 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Mamapapamsia @ May 10 2015, 11:43 AM)
Branding dude. KIA will always fettch a lower price whenever u want to sell ur car. And dont tell me your gonna keep ur car for 10 years or so. Because for the majority of ppl, after 3-5 years already chg car.

And Yea its true KIA give long warranty. Thats not the problem, the problem is how long u gotta leave ur car at the SC. If honda or Toyota, most problems can settle within a day, max oso  few days depends on seriousness of problems.

At KIa u have to leave ur car there for god knows how long. And the service is slow .

U guys should visit Japan & Korea more often to find out more why Japanese cars are better than Korean cars.
Nah...I beg to differ on this. I know of a few Kia service centres in Klang Valley which are operated as well as Toyota. The service centres in Puchong, Kota Damansara, Shah Alam are among those with really good service standards. And no in my 3 years of ownership, ive never experienced a wait for spare parts. Ive had parts changed under warranty and it was never a hassle. Kia's warranty claim process is also better than Toyota. I know Toyota well after 9.5 years of servicing at their service centres in Penang, KL and Ipoh.
cybermaster98
post Aug 3 2015, 08:46 AM

4,440 posts

Yes for the first time Toyota has dropped way down while Kia has come right up to No 5.

Well done Kia. I hope Naza Kia uses this survey as publicity to tell Malaysians that Kia has improved their quality.
cybermaster98
post Dec 1 2015, 09:05 PM

4,440 posts

What's the best trade in price I can get for my April 2012 K5?
cybermaster98
post Dec 29 2015, 08:58 AM

4,440 posts

Well, after 3.5 years of service my K5 has been sold and i've moved on to another brand. I must say that I still got the 'look' whenever I drove the K5 around. Its still among the best looking cars on the road. With its features, interior space & high safety standards, its still very much value for money. thumbup.gif
cybermaster98
post Dec 29 2015, 01:36 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Dec 29 2015, 12:43 PM)
So what are you driving now?
How much did you get for the car?
520i

13 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 >Top

0.0552sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled