Kia Optima K5 Owners/Fans Thread V3, www.myK5club.com
Oct 25 2012, 10:35 AM
1,040 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
The definition of investment is when something helps to earn recurring income. Therefore a car should never be considered as an investment unless it is used as a taxi. I have always treated my car as a rental. That is why I always go for the maximum years for the loan to reduce repayment. Whenever ppl ask me why do I choose a car with no resale value, I just told them that I don't change my car so often and as the article pointed out, why forgo your interest in a car just for the sake of able to sell it at a higher price later
Oct 27 2012, 09:33 PM
QUOTE(MaxYang @ Oct 27 2012, 01:04 PM) Hi mate, This is a concern for me as well. My company only allow to fully claim ron95 petrol.I will get my new K5 on next week (wait for road tax). Would like to share about the all new K5 that comes with NU engine Euro 4 version. (That's why the indicator and wiper control have swapped). I was told by my SA this morning that this NU engine required Ron97 petrol. However, she claimed that it could be set to Ron95 at SC. Appreciate if you guys could provide some info. Apparently, I am kind of worry whether this setting is a good move. And will it affect the car?? Cheers! |
Oct 31 2012, 04:55 PM
Just got my K5 today. Bright silver. Awesome ride, but nearly bang a lorry when driving home
Thanks to my SA Mr Loh (under the name Buydirect in lowyat) from Serdang dealership This post has been edited by funnybone: Oct 31 2012, 04:56 PM |
Nov 2 2012, 08:28 AM
Nov 6 2012, 04:23 PM
I have to admit....the electric steering is definitely a plus point. Easier to handle the car compared to when I test drive the previous version.
Nov 7 2012, 12:53 PM
QUOTE(erictoh84 @ Nov 7 2012, 11:38 AM) from what i can say, different people got different thoughts... haha! All I can say, if you're not planning to change your car within the next 5 yrs, go for it. 5 yrs unlimited warranty. And the service sheet with cost is in the 1st page of this forum to check your budget. anyway K5 is awesome and the only thing that's stopping me now would only be the service & after sales value... poisoning needed here... lol Plus point, everyone will be looking at your car in the street |
Nov 10 2012, 09:26 AM
I'm now officially a believer of Korean technology....if all remains the same for the next 6 mths I will be a cult-follower
Nov 30 2012, 03:25 PM
Just did my first service. Drove the car for a mth. No complaints so far on most of the issues highlighted here.
Driving this car is really smooth and since I'm not into speeding, this car handles well enough for me. Love it and all my apprehension of a korean car totally vanish |
Dec 4 2012, 10:00 AM
Dec 4 2012, 12:48 PM
Dec 5 2012, 11:38 AM
Now that is a frightening scenario. I might be travelling outstation later this month too.
Glad you're safe. |
Dec 6 2012, 12:09 PM
Dec 7 2012, 03:01 PM
QUOTE(nickyrox @ Dec 7 2012, 02:29 PM) To all sifus out there.. I wanna ask, is it a wise choice to buy a car now or after election? Any opinions out there? Would be appreciated.. Will there be any huge difference in terms of pricing? Because thinking of getting k5 this month.. Same thoughts when buying a house. Will the price drop? I think the best is just to ask yourself, do you like the car and is the price within your budget?If yes, just indulge |
Dec 9 2012, 11:36 PM
QUOTE(JuneSeptember @ Dec 9 2012, 08:24 PM) Finally my baby is back, and what a beauty she is: That is really a long list of issues faced. It is really bad luck. Hope all these problems can be settled to your satisfaction. Know how frustrating it can be when you get a new car and it isn't up to expectation.![]() Alright, it's time for me to give you guys a status report on my problems. Sorry, I've been busy, couldn't reply here from time to time. So, after pressuring the KIA people via various channels: 1) Wrote a very detailed email telling the story from A-to-Z, attached videos and pictures to KIA Korea through this system, and also CC-ed to KIA CMD : KIA DDMS System <-- this is so well hidden that it took me two days to find it. 2) Wrote multiple emails and phone calls to KIA CMD Dept. 3) Paid surprise visits to KIA HQ So, finally KIA Korea acknowledged my problems and instructed KIA Selayang SC and CMD Dept to contact me immediately (and bloody hell, these Korean fellas disappeared straight away and left the problems to NAZA KIA to handle), and then i finally secured a meeting with CMD personnel, KIA technical personnel, and KIA Selayang Manager at the end of Sept 2012. so, bla bla bla, i had to take another day off to attend to these people and re-told them the story A-Z, and pointed out all of the problems, and they promised me the following: 1) they'll reimburse my losses pertaining to my windscreen tinting 2) they'll replace all parts that were damaged by their technicians 3) they'll fix all my problems according to KIA factory standards 4) they'll provide me a courtesy car and collect my car from my office, rather than having me go all-the-way to their SC 5) they'll collect my car on the following week 6) they'll give me a status report from time to time, and they'll give me a job report after all things are done Well, the manager and all who attended the meeting was sincere and apologetic though, so I couldn't get angry and raise my voice, it's KIA Korea's quality control problems anyhow, can't really blame them. So, I went back waited for a week, no news, and waited another week, still no news. Waited another week (3rd week) still no news. So I couldn't wait anymore and went straight to their HQ CMD for a surprise visit, and not surprisingly, all those who were taking charge of my case was either 'absent' or 'busy' or 'engage' and they sent out an innocent lady to handle me. Sigh, so i talked nicely again and got her to promise me to address my problems on the following week. And they did. Their excuse for such a long delay was lack of courtesy car, and they must que for the cars. On the following week, no news nor any updates from KIA. So I called and ask, and finally the SC service personnel came to my office with a Forte and collected my car. For the first two weeks, no news. Then on the third week, KIA CMD called and told me they are ordering parts and fixing the car. And it took them 5 weeks to get the car ready (and that was after I called and pressured them). So after initial inspection, the following were done: 1) Sunroof noise - mitigated but not rectified by SC Completely erradicated 2) Noisy vibrating speaker grill on the dashboard - SC ignored / forgotten Didn't hear anything initially, but i heard something today, still assessing 3) Really loud seat knocking noise - Rectified, tighten up something underneath Completely erradicated 4) Lousy rear view mirror that makes noise - SC said common, didn't plan to fix they replaced it, much better now, but still not good enough 5) Creaking rear suspensions - SC said changed the absorbers, still creaking now They said it's the parking brake shoes that are causing the sound, didn't fix it 6) Free play in lumbar support - SC said common, but willing to replace the entire driver seat that costs RM4k if i'm still not happy after Raya Didn't replace, just tighten it, much much much better now, but still got a bit sound and "feeling" but I don't plan to pursue this matter anymore 7) Loud and lousy windscreen wipers that didn't work in rain - SC totally ignored, hell, i think i'll get myself a pair of silicon wipers Didn't test, still assessing 8) Slight noise in driver side b-pillar (only when driving on really rough roads) This one i plan to ignore if they can't detect it. Didn't test, still assessing 9) KIA Selayang SC scratched my A, B, C, Z pillar plastic trims they replaced all the ABCZ pillar trims, but now i'm worried when the airbag will burst at my head 10) and also left multiple black grease marks on my ceiling, pillars they replaced all the ABCZ pillar trims 11) and also poked and left some marks on my rear leather seat they ordered the rear seat, to be replaced 12) and also left some prying marks on my dashboard soft plastic trim they tried to press it back, still a bit bulging, i don't plan to pursue any further 13) and also pry-ed and damaged the little plastic covers covering the screws at the door handles (inside ones, not outside) they ordered the little covers, to be replaced Over all, the chaps at Selayang SC are very helpful and attentive when you are there. The CMD HQ people are really ignorant and unattentive. I'll write in a recommendation letter to the HQ for the Selayang Boys after they fix everything for me. Say, if all or part of my problems reoccur in the next few days/weeks, do you thing I should go back to KIA or just send them a legal letter/letter of demand? The problems started on the second week of ownership and it took them 10-months to solve a few problems (to be exact, the car was left at the SC for 3-months, and I only kept the car for 6 agonizing months). So, any fellows here facing similar problems? I think I'm experienced enough to guide you here. |
Dec 20 2012, 12:02 PM
My car works fine too. Will further test it out this weekend. Will be driving to Kuantan.
Dec 20 2012, 08:34 PM
I guess its the mentally of every individual..some are pioneers while some are followers. If one day K5 becomes a sought after car, at least we can call ourselves pioneers
Dec 25 2012, 05:39 PM
Fully tested my K5 by driving to Cherating and back.
- Raining cats and dogs and even flooded - Auto Cruise no problem - speed 120 -140km/h - tyre still ok but bumpy and noisy abit - underpowered but still ok |
Dec 26 2012, 12:00 PM
Dec 27 2012, 01:33 PM
Jan 2 2013, 05:01 PM
QUOTE(hotwind @ Jan 2 2013, 04:24 PM) Hi to all K5 forumers. I'm a newbie from Penang who got his ride just a few days ago. Just want to share some of my observations about this fabulous car and appreciate any maintenance advice from all the sifus out there. There are 3 things I don't like about the car. First closing the glove compartment box reminds me of my old Proton, sound so hollow & plastiky. Secondly, the driver's seat belt anchor point is just a little too back for me (no problem for those who sit way back). Thirdly, when I open the boot after driving in the rain, the water runs along the upper edge and drips directly into the boot itself (design fault?). Having said all that, there are lots of things I like about this car starting from the overall sporty body shape (curves in all the right places!). I like all the safety features built into this car (ESP, HAC ect. ect.) I love the Infinity entertainment system, the Xenon lights, the plush leather seats and in the evenings I like to drive with just the sunroof glass between me and the sky! Yea. I concur to the 3 issues you highlighted. I especially hate the water dripping into the boot part. I got another issue actually, not sure if its the car design or the tint. During daytime when the sun is shining brightly, the dashboard is reflected onto my windscreen. Sometimes this can cause my vision to be obstructed while driving. Wonder does anyone face this?I did add a couple of things to the car. On the same day I got the ride, I sent it for tinting. Now all the glass areas are threaded with Chameleon Photochromic film except the sunroof which has the silver black film. Now there is a nice greenish tinge in the windows to complement my white car. This morning I sent my car for paintwork protection. There's still no Sierra glow in Penang so I PPS my car. Did the whole exterior including treatment of the front screen and sunroof. They clean the engine too. After some bargaining I got the whole job done for just under 1K. They said 6 hours but I stayed there all the time to see what they actully do and they finish the job in just over 4 hours. Its shiny and smooth now park under my porch and I was told not to wash the car for 2 days (no problem for a lazy guy like me!). Oh, I did take my K5 to KL for 2-3 days and for those who like to know about fuel consumption, I manage to make the trip from Penang to KL and back in just 1 full tank. I work out the fuel consumption as 14.8 cents per km (90% highway and 10% city driving), no autocruise and no ECO setting, with average speed of 100-120 km/h. I forgot the litres per 100km figure, the 14.8 cents stuck in my head cos its less than half of what I got for my Naza Ria. Anyway I doubt I can get that figure again after my 1000km service which should be due in a few days. That's it for now; thank you guys for reading. Happy New Year! |
| Change to: | 0.0675sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:06 AM |