4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Kia Optima K5 Owners/Fans Thread V3, www.myK5club.com

Orbituary
post Nov 8 2012, 05:59 PM

QUOTE(dchk @ Nov 8 2012, 05:53 PM)
May I know what would be a comfortable salary you need to earn in order to own an Optima K5 after Tax and EPF deduction besides the bare minimum  expenses for a 5 year hire purchase.

Is RM9K sufficient?
depend how much is your down payment and tenure of the loan, lets say min 10% downpayment b4 discount and NCD should be somewhere around 14k, and u opt for 5years tenure (that depend if the loan approve or not, bank with check your other commitment such as other loan and credite card repayment) + 2.5% interest, you monthly installment should be around RM 2.3k/month

RM9k net income should be more then enought to own it dude

Orbituary
post Nov 8 2012, 06:02 PM

QUOTE(limks123 @ Nov 8 2012, 05:49 PM)
Hmm need to test drive first, hehehe optima looks still better than sonata but sonata looks still acceptable la. lolz.
Not using the car to race just at least not totally under powered lo! Plus i don't drive during weekday only on weekend & PH.

Wonder how much will be kia forte 1.6 SX resell value 01/2011 (around 19 000++ km), guess $$ going down the drain again. haiz.
yea, do test drive, but test drive is just a short experience and maybe u wont hv chance to those route that u prefer... better if u can test or sit in your friend K5 in a journey... or perhaps do dropby when there is any k5 gathering and etc... smile.gif

Added on November 8, 2012, 6:03 pm
QUOTE(limks123 @ Nov 8 2012, 06:02 PM)
K5 Interest rate so high 2.5%? for brand new?
I check sonata interest rate only around 1.88% for brand new
yea... about 2.5%... mine was 2.48% from pbb.. depend on your relationship with the bank.. but i dont think u will get anything lower then 2%..

This post has been edited by Orbituary: Nov 8 2012, 06:03 PM
Orbituary
post Nov 12 2012, 10:23 AM

QUOTE(PlayMaker` @ Nov 10 2012, 09:14 AM)
bro, how's your K5? So far so good? Satisfied ah? biggrin.gif
so far so good, no weird sound, wiper are ok, sunroof are ok (those are comment complaints), FC acceptable ..

how about u bro?

Added on November 12, 2012, 10:26 am
QUOTE(erictoh84 @ Nov 12 2012, 09:04 AM)
i think the range for K5 and Forte 2.0 is not so near.. of course engine wise it's similar, but take Peugout for example.. they share the same engine for 308, 508, 3008 and all... does it mean its the same range?

i didn't notice but does the old version comes with all the LCD and GPS?
so far non of the malaysia version K5 come with GPS/LCD screen, regardless new or old model.
... sad

This post has been edited by Orbituary: Nov 12 2012, 10:26 AM
Orbituary
post Nov 12 2012, 03:43 PM

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Nov 12 2012, 03:31 PM)
ya..so sad..only imported version K5 got come with LCD/GPS screen  hmm.gif
no dude, all current K5 is fully import (CBU unit), but without GPS/LCD head unit... and most of the head unit u see in youtube is lefthand drive, there is after market head unit ..but im not sure how it works yet.. and most import, will we have to scarify our Infinity sound system or if we install the head unit by our own...

Orbituary
post Nov 20 2012, 02:28 PM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 20 2012, 01:32 PM)
Has anybody actually activated the Stability Control function on their K5? Ive tried pushing my car hard into corners but somehow cant seem to activate. Would a light come on?
it does light on on me last week on my genting touge session after done auto form on my k5.. there was few corners tat i tried to attempt FIFO (fast in fast out) but fail due to Traction control was activated and the system 'cut' my acceleration dirrectly..and drop by to first gear...

Orbituary
post Nov 20 2012, 03:51 PM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Nov 20 2012, 02:41 PM)
So it does light up? Any buzzer?
as long as i know there wasnt any buzzer or alarm... it just show the control indication light is on and after slow down the car to the safer speed.. the light when off immidiately

This post has been edited by Orbituary: Nov 21 2012, 10:04 AM
Orbituary
post Nov 30 2012, 10:21 AM

QUOTE(ckwong111 @ Nov 30 2012, 12:07 AM)
Got my car on Monday and have been driving it since. Dunno how to compare to Theta II since mine is on Nu engine and I upgraded from Honda City.

Here's my few observation:

1. NVH is very good
2. The engine (to me) is super quiet during engine startup and idling
3. The Infinity sound system is fantastic
4. The easy access and memory seat really help a tall guy like me
5. BT pairing for IOS and Android are easy, except it doesn't seem to auto connect when I re-enter the car
6. Am lucky did not encounter weird sound from sun roof, or from the internal cabin
7. The tyre is very noisy on wet road but better on a dry road
8. It is not a performance car so do not expect "pull back" feeling from dead stop pick-up
9. Very stable and reaches 160km/hr easily when cruising on highways
10. BT streaming, using the right type of USB to play MP3, will need some manual reading and trial-n-error

I am doing mostly driving with 50/50 highway/city and my 1st full tank seems to be on target to get about 700km if the meter reading on my car is correct. The past couple of days, due to closing of SMART tunnel, has not help with the FC as I was caught in some pretty bad traffic. Maintaining variable speed of not more than 110km/hr 90% most of the time, so I am quite happy with the FC.
Congratz bro.. enjoy your ride.. smile.gif

Orbituary
post Nov 30 2012, 06:26 PM

QUOTE(ckwong111 @ Nov 30 2012, 05:48 PM)
Thank you for all the congrats smile.gif

Yes, the car is great! Like CM98 says, if the car comes with a larger size monitor with front & reverse cam, then parking is will be much easier. A couple of times, the front bumper nearly touch the front kerb when I park at public roads. For side parking, if you want to park perfectly, then for me, need to re-park a few times to get the angle right lor...

As for turning angle, cannot compare with City as City has a shorter and narrower body so the turning ratio is better (I feel). Am adjusting my driving style and learning the "behavior" of the new car, so I think I will be able to handle the K5 better with passing time.

I detected something today, as I was caught in a bumper-to-bumper traffic, my aircon, which is set to [Auto], starting spewing out hot air. The setting is with re-circulation mode and I have to on/off or lower the aircon settings to get cold air flowing again.

And also, after I engage the foot brake (but not extremely hard/push all the way back), the car still lurch to the front.

Any bros here encountered this problem before?

Not a major problem for me, but still would like to find out what is the problem lor...

Another 600km to 1,000 service, so better book my service appt earlier and report these couple of issues to the SC  sad.gif
Bro,
i ahd being gave up on the aircon auto mode, im using manual all the time ..
about the car are still moving (about 2-3inches) after apply to foot brake, my SA told me this during im collecting my car, he just want me to take note of this so i wont park/stop my car too close with the object infront..

Orbituary
post Dec 6 2012, 04:24 PM

QUOTE(FlyWheel @ Dec 6 2012, 03:49 PM)
bro, glad to hear that you are safe in such an incident. But, how do you know the Stability Control has activated ?
you will see the ESP lights on when it kick in...

Orbituary
post Dec 10 2012, 03:55 PM

QUOTE(K5WHITE @ Dec 10 2012, 03:46 PM)
im driving white, and had it sierra glowed since march 2012. And yeah, white is hard to maintain. SG makes cleaning easier, but it doesnt help in keeping the car clean. After rain, u will notice the water drip mark expecially behind boot, door handles, mudguards.

But once cleaned, it looks awesome

ur call
actually silver color have the same issue on the water mark or the tear, happen to my car especially on the door handle..SG obviously can help.. but u still need to maintain it.. especially during monsoon raining season, i can see the tear mark obviously if i didnt wash my car for more then 2 weeks..but it is damn easy to wash your car after SG.. u dont even need much energy to wash it..
Orbituary
post Dec 12 2012, 04:30 PM

QUOTE(FlyWheel @ Dec 12 2012, 04:16 PM)
Bro, could you please help and PM me the link as my fb account has banned long time ago due to inactivity.... ?  icon_question.gif
bro, join us in facebook myk5club , just create another fb account and you wouldnt loose anything...
there is few party selling the touch up pen which is meant for K5 original paint colour and also a lot of discussion about the car, new technology for the car and add on item for improving the car comfort level, performance and the look...

cheers
Orbituary
post Dec 21 2012, 03:09 PM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Dec 21 2012, 01:37 PM)
U can't judge a brand or model based on 1 lemon car la. What about the other few hundred owners who are driving the K5 without much issues since Day 1? Can u find me a single car model out there which did not have a problem? Even the most expensive cars will have some problems. Did you hear about the 10 units of the brand new Ferrari 458 Italia which caught fire at various locations wordwide in 2010 and resulted in a total recall? Hows that problem compared to 1 lemon K5? Does this mean that Ferrari's are crap cars too?
https://fbcdn-sphotos-e-a.akamaihd.net/hpho...455291681_n.jpg

http://www.noticiasautomotivas.com.br/imag...ixo-620x354.jpg

this is another well recognized brand... and have u ever though/believed this will happen to new VW?
Orbituary
post Dec 24 2012, 12:41 PM

QUOTE(Hizami_83 @ Dec 24 2012, 10:45 AM)
Hi K5 owners, can someone advice me what is the rated 0-100km/h performance for K5? What is the declared top speed as well?
to be honest, if you are looking for a performance car, K5 wasnt wat u want, better get a c segment 2.0 such civic, lancer, mazda3 or etc.. Dsegment is more of comfort and space luxury

This post has been edited by Orbituary: Dec 24 2012, 12:57 PM
Orbituary
post Dec 24 2012, 01:23 PM

QUOTE(PlayMaker` @ Dec 24 2012, 12:59 PM)
Cant understand why some people like to choose performance car rather than those cars (not just saying K5 but other cars as well) that provide much comfort on the car when now we have all the AES here and there and also the bad traffic in KL, unless they use highway most of the time then they can perform the power of their performance car.

My 2 cents.
even though 80% highway doesnt mean or granted the driver to driver fast all time, have to always remember, your love one are always wait you back home..im travel 80% on highway without worrying AES (mex highway not yet sign any), but i felt guilty all the time when i drive fast.. first ofcos im guilty in law, secondly, i felt guilty to my belove who waiting me at home, and last but not lease, i feel guilty to drive that way to my K5.. hehehe

Orbituary
post Dec 24 2012, 03:06 PM

QUOTE(Hizami_83 @ Dec 24 2012, 01:46 PM)
I look at it (speeding) in different perspective. I want to serve d government by giving money & enjoy while doing it. Hence..speeding it is. I'll be glad to pay all d summons i got & enjoy the "Need for speed" that I'm born with. Both parties are happy... me & government.
i have a humble suggestion for ya since your worry is on the speed performance more then safety and summons.. why dont ya get BMW M5, Lexus 300, Merc AMG SLS/CLS or A5/A6 Sline? all mentioned cars are under D segment category and definitely can help you to reach your objective easily..

do share with us the driving experience after you bought one of those..
peace! thumbup.gif
Orbituary
post Dec 27 2012, 04:44 PM

QUOTE(arnsmanutd @ Dec 27 2012, 04:10 PM)
Guys, Ive been following this thread for quite sometime. I loved this K5 ever since it was launched but had to pause it for a while since I f few things need to be sorted out before I could bite this monster.

All the inputs/comments makes me to get it even without test drive this fella. Thanks to you all. Ive been checking here n there about accord and camry's review but its not as happening as K5. Thank God my fiancé also crazy about K5..otherwise I would need to knock her head to agree with me.

I will place a booking in a month or two...but havent decided which SA to  approach to. I need to push my persona to get this...and will need to find a good buyer before I could book K5.

Great job guys...esp CM98/DJSoo and the rest for a good info abt the car. Cant wait to get this fella and join you all for a ride.
bro, i just saw someone wanna let go his 4 months old Silver colour K5 with 120k, its a good deal actually, no idea why that owner wan to let go.. u can check with him in http://www.facebook.com/#!/groups/myk5club/

Orbituary
post Dec 31 2012, 03:12 PM

Happy New Year to all LYN forumer ...Wish you have a great year ahead biggrin.gif
Huaaaattt arrr

Orbituary
post Jan 7 2013, 04:07 PM

QUOTE(jeanspearly @ Jan 7 2013, 03:49 PM)
Dear k5 owners who own the light graphite / platinum graphite, can u guys show me the photo of your precious car ? JB showroom only got white car for display, i like the graphite color and i couldn't decide which color to go (light or platinum). Very few platinum / light graphite k5 in JB also sad.gif
hi,
u can join myk5club fan page group, inside have the mentioned colour that your are looking for..but if im not mistaken LG is non longer have new stock..
be warn- most LG/PG are hardcore .. u will understand wat im trying to say here once u saw their beauty K5.. Good luck smile.gif
Orbituary
post Jan 7 2013, 04:11 PM

QUOTE(FlyWheel @ Jan 7 2013, 03:56 PM)
Ok, found it from googling below several links :

http://www.monkeysee.com/play/9472-should-...omatic-shut-off

http://www.epa.gov/donttopoff/

I think there are plenty more articles out there to be searched if you want to.

IMHO, we have plenty of petrol station here as we can easily locate when we need to pump petrol. Moreover the lighter the car the more fuel efficiency we could have, why not just stop at the first click ?  tongue.gif
Yea, i agreed, why need to pump so much till almost overflow.. unless u know the petrol price gonna raise up very badly..thats also can enjoy 1 tank.. so, wats the point...

but maybe some will say bcos of the petrol brand that they prefer or force to use selected brand like me due to using company petrol.. i am lucky bcos 1 full tank ngam ngam enuff for me to travel for 5 days.. most importantly.. organised your time properly.. Cheers!

Orbituary
post Jan 7 2013, 05:57 PM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jan 7 2013, 05:35 PM)
I always pump max cuz i drive alot (1800km per month) so i wanna reduce the number of times i stop to fill up.
bro, 1.8k permonth consider ok la..mine almost 4k per month.. did my first service on 1st week of oct..and today my mileage is about to reach 10500km liao.. lucky i got company petrol card.. so, i still drive with heavy foot + PB... hehe

This post has been edited by Orbituary: Jan 8 2013, 10:34 AM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0614sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:19 PM