Kia Optima K5 Owners/Fans Thread V3, www.myK5club.com
K5WHITE
Aug 25 2012, 05:56 PM

QUOTE(DJSoo @ Aug 25 2012, 04:57 PM) John : 3M or any brand is up to u , security tint have to .. and heat rejection tint depend u want or not .. test drive the stock car on hot sun see u can accept the stock heat reject level or not .. if ok .. no need tint .. if u still feel hot , then only add on . true. the car comes with all windows are uv cut glass (except for sunroof coz i cant find the uv cut mark). I find the car with acceptable heat level after parking under hot sun, and a short burst of air cond can bring the car back to good condition. Hence, i didnt do any heavy high end heat rejection tint on the car. What i did was a cheap solar tint rm800-rm200(voucher) all windows to get the darkened effect. As for security tint, it all depends on u. Do u keep expensive stuffs in the car? Ur house and office parking safety? Whats ur security requirement? For me, better save the RM 2000 ~ 3000 for something better. or, u can drive ur car for few days first, and see how thing goes. just my opinion This post has been edited by K5WHITE: Aug 25 2012, 05:58 PM
K5WHITE
Aug 26 2012, 06:42 PM

QUOTE(ericfinn @ Aug 26 2012, 06:57 AM) Guys...anyone else? I already get confirmation from MOBIS that its plug and play. No need wiring and they give more offer deal (5 sets - USD240 each, 10 sets - USD230 each) incl shipping charge. 1) myself 2) kenrain 3) white k5 4) haikal Lee (fb) 5) 6) 7) 8) 9) 10) For us market k5 they don't need to rewire coz memang for them. Ours, need to rewire. Eric, how our payment to u process u expecting?
K5WHITE
Aug 28 2012, 09:47 AM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 28 2012, 09:16 AM) Well in my opinion, you dont need any quoting for the interior. Nobody actually leaves water on the dashboard anyway and the interior of the car is dark coloured so upkeep is minimal. Havent heard of any dark interiors fading before. I had a light coloured car interior for the past 9 years and it was still in good condition when i sold it. U just need to be a bit careful not to leave any marks anywhere. Overall i think its too expensive. Ure better off with the Sierra Glow with the same 5 years warranty for only RM700. I too had some reservations about paying so little when other similar products are RM2K+. But after 4 months of usage i can say that im quite satisfied with Sierra Glow. Cleaning is minimal and very easy to wipe off. Many of us here who have used SG are quite satisfied as well. I dont know if it will last 5 years but even if it lasts 2 yrs its still well worth the very low price. i had Sierra Glow back early march this year, so abt close to 6 mths already. My car is white, and stains are very noticeable on the paint. Last Sunday, took my family to tanjung sepat, and it was raining on and off, hence heavy mud stains on the car. I came back, use water to hose the sand away, and then cloth to wipe. Dont need strong arms or big effort to wipe those stains away. No shampoo used, and the car back shiny This post has been edited by K5WHITE: Aug 28 2012, 09:48 AM
K5WHITE
Aug 28 2012, 12:18 PM

QUOTE(Stock^K5 @ Aug 28 2012, 11:22 AM) Where is this place again? Could anyone provide me with the contact number? Thanks! google Sierra Glow. Ard Subang area
K5WHITE
Aug 28 2012, 01:01 PM

QUOTE(joonnyx @ Aug 28 2012, 12:29 PM) I am not sure if this only happens to me but noticed that the interior is prone to light white powder like stains especially on the soft touch materials on the dashboard as well as the upper portion of the door panels (soft touch part). I am not sure if its because of contacts from our hands or what not. A simple wipe of the interior will clean these 'dust' but am not sure where it originates from Anyone of you all noticed this anomaly? dead skin or hand lotion. I got it too, at area where ur arm always rest Added on August 28, 2012, 1:04 pmQUOTE(02mini @ Aug 28 2012, 12:46 PM) anyone stil remember there is one forummer provide customed made floor mat for K5.. i cant find it back.. what is the name or does he has a fb pg? nick : shorty This post has been edited by K5WHITE: Aug 28 2012, 01:04 PM
K5WHITE
Aug 29 2012, 03:05 PM

normally i pay as guest, no paypal acc
K5WHITE
Aug 30 2012, 01:52 PM

QUOTE(zihao1214 @ Aug 30 2012, 01:25 PM) Complete Knocked Down, assembly here in malaysia, lower tax CBU, complete built Unit, complete unit import, current K5 is CBU.
K5WHITE
Sep 4 2012, 09:39 AM

QUOTE(BLU***0 @ Sep 3 2012, 05:18 PM) Hi All, I changed the aftermarket drop in air filter, the car is much more lighter and more POWERFUL!!!! K&N ? How much? Where? If i remember correctly, u complaint about VW car. Why? What happened?
K5WHITE
Sep 4 2012, 05:10 PM

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Sep 4 2012, 03:37 PM) 801km only? How far did he push the car before he had to fill? another guy posted said he got 905km for RM121 worth of petrol ("click" when pump) KL-JB-TAIPING doing ave 100~115km/hr This post has been edited by K5WHITE: Sep 4 2012, 05:19 PM
K5WHITE
Sep 10 2012, 10:50 AM

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Sep 10 2012, 10:37 AM) Very good offer for the KIA K5 from our Singaporean neighbors, but still don't seem to be able to generate much interest with the people there. http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showtopic=2682178&st=0Such a huge disparity compared to us here. it is for test drive or display units... but really, i cudnt agree more abt their car pricing. Some koreans, or even japs are priced really close to contis.
K5WHITE
Sep 10 2012, 01:48 PM

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Sep 10 2012, 11:04 AM) It's for new cars, not test drive or display units. If you read the thread more, they can just give u straight 20k discount off the car if you don't want to take their offer. But a lot of people not enthusiastic because of the low Open Market Value the car commands (it's kind of similar to resale value). one of the guy in page 4 at the thread mentioned he called up and got informed that it is limited to test/display units. Nevertheless, still overpriced
K5WHITE
Sep 10 2012, 04:33 PM

QUOTE(chrischong @ Sep 10 2012, 03:53 PM) Mind to share you all Fuel Consumption,Thinking to survey this car more.. thank you^^ RM0.19/km city driving on RON95 Added on September 10, 2012, 4:34 pmQUOTE(woengx2 @ Sep 10 2012, 01:22 PM) But, heard that Kia is bringing in the Touch Screen GPS cost around RM3K ? It is say to mean if you installed it yourself outside then warranty void but if you installed it at Kia then you still got the warranty ?  heard from where? when? This post has been edited by K5WHITE: Sep 10 2012, 04:34 PM
K5WHITE
Sep 14 2012, 10:56 AM

QUOTE(shah mad @ Sep 14 2012, 10:47 AM) Is it true? The Ron 97 won't efect anything to the engine? When I start using k5 I had never put the Ron 97 yet. The mileage 9500 ++ already. Thought want to put the Ron 97 for the next trip outstation to clean out the engine...So do you think we should't use Ron 97 at all or pump it in 6 month or 1 year - one time? i think cm98 means that the price of ron97 at rm3/ltr is expensive, not worth the daily use. but i think occasionally use ron97 for cleaning or some even recommend pump 2/3 tank ron 95, then 1/3 ron97 for each full tank pump is advisable. Ron 97 has higher combustion rate, hence cleaner burning. Long term, less carbon formation at burning chamber. How bad is ron95, cant tell.
K5WHITE
Sep 14 2012, 11:23 AM

QUOTE(vanan78 @ Sep 14 2012, 11:16 AM) Agree with you that no much difference in power between both fuel. I am using RON97 for the purpose of cleaning the engine only. On long highway journey, you will get better mileage with RON97. better mileage, but not better FC as in RM/km, as RON95 heavily sub by gahmen
K5WHITE
Sep 14 2012, 01:20 PM

QUOTE(edison1437 @ Sep 14 2012, 11:59 AM) And how would RON 95 be dirty? RON numbers does not indicate the quality of the fuel. RON just indicates the 'anti-knock' qualities of the fuel. The quality is the same. It burns with the same calorific values giving the engine the same amount of power. And how do you expect to clean your fuel tank by pumping RON 97? Cars have fuel filter for that reason and as long as you are not removing your fuel tank, you will not be able to remove any large sediments that is filtered by the pump before reaching the fuel filter. but having the "knocking" ie un-intended combustion before the actual power stroke in the 4 stroke engine, wont it caused power loss? and formation of exhaust fumes before the exhaust valve is open is also giving the 'dirty' outcome? Added on September 14, 2012, 1:42 pm 1. inhale, 2. compress 3. ignite and expand 4.exhuast if lower RON, higher chance of combustion at stroke 2, causing power loss and formation of exhuast whilst exhuast valve still close This post has been edited by K5WHITE: Sep 14 2012, 01:46 PM
K5WHITE
Sep 21 2012, 09:10 AM

QUOTE(zihao1214 @ Sep 20 2012, 11:17 PM) one question, if checking the sunroof during collection of the car and found the problem what can we do? refuse to collect? will they change? not necessary to NOT take the car unless it is really serious. Coz first of all, the car has been registered under ur name, and the car is confirmed urs, unless something really bad happened, then u can strongly request for car change which i doubt this sound problem can allow u. wat u can do is, request the sales to note down in ur service manual, and have it solved at ur 1000km first service. This will allow u more time to find if there are any more tweaks or problems u want them to address. If u really cant wait, then have the appointment set asap with them to rectify it. Not a major issue. I used to have squeaking sound at the rear absorber, but after a while, it is no more, although i done nothing. Maybe it need time for the rubber mounting or watever to really sit in. But not all the case are this way. Added on September 21, 2012, 9:10 amQUOTE(komandermaut @ Sep 21 2012, 12:10 AM) for my case, i dont need uneven road to test. simple straight road also can hear the sound consistently. my mileage is close to 900km already. dont know whether i can wait for close to 2000km for my first service or not, too annoying first service at 1,000km This post has been edited by K5WHITE: Sep 21 2012, 09:10 AM
K5WHITE
Sep 21 2012, 04:18 PM

QUOTE(shah mad @ Sep 21 2012, 11:08 AM) Is it? Our K5 don't have alarm right? So from where the siren will sound? got alarm already, just that many cars nowadays dont have that panic button on the remote. To force trigger ur car alarm, simply lock ur wife inside, u with the remote walk away from the car(15~20ft). wait for a while(1/2min??), then ur wife open the door manually from inside. Actually, there is a motion sensor inside the car, so ur wife moving inside oso will trigger it. But, since u already post the 3rd party alarm at rm1600, i assume u already installed another alarm. Maybe u can try at other K5. p/s : the actual distance and waiting time i cant remember dy, but confirm got alarm. A few tried b4 This post has been edited by K5WHITE: Sep 21 2012, 04:19 PM
K5WHITE
Sep 25 2012, 09:25 AM

hopefully KiaMotors or Naza hear u and take the appropriate action fast. Btw, which SC u went?
K5WHITE
Sep 25 2012, 06:58 PM

QUOTE(mfosman @ Sep 25 2012, 06:25 PM) lighter, better fuel consumption. Performance wise abt the same
K5WHITE
Sep 28 2012, 03:28 PM

QUOTE(zmcqdv @ Sep 28 2012, 02:11 PM) Thinking to get aftermarket rims - 18". What's the size for the stock? RIM - 18" x 7.5JJ, +45mm Offset, weight ~12kg ea TYRE - 225-45-18 NEXEN CP643a