6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

LYN Official Toyota Vios Owners Thread V3, Thread for all LYN's Toyota Vios owners!

vios2002
post Jun 5 2013, 07:01 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jun 5 2013, 06:21 PM)
if SC selling fake item then i'll definitely make it to the news rclxms.gif

i felt the difference mainly because i switched from semi to full, and i think full at 0w40 is a bit thick for a 1.5l engine...

if there's 0 or 5w30, then it will definitely be better smile.gif
if from toyota i dont think they have 0 or 5w30 other brand sure but also some brand offer 5w30 but feel respond like 5w40.

If you want 0w30 Amsoil i have some stock if you looking for racing oil i have too at 10w30.
vios2002
post Jun 5 2013, 07:13 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(jakal sombong @ Jun 5 2013, 06:59 PM)
well i remember there were some raids a few years back on pirated engine oil.
im sure the syndicate is very much still in business today.
and i dont think original quality is at par with cheap pirated products.
usable yes but would it perform the same well no.
this clone oil making is just for show to public but reality is how would you able to tell this is ori or clone? when i look both packaging from every point i check i cant tell the different between both.

in quality you cant comment much but wear & tear will kill your engine after some time if normal day in day out driver...

my friend seen the camshaft full wear off how could this be the owner Merc use Mobile 1 since first day he service his car same question ask how could this possible my friend ask how could you identify this owner just when blank...
vios2002
post Jun 8 2013, 12:50 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(lowyat101 @ Jun 7 2013, 07:28 PM)
Toyata SC quoted me the following price for my NCP42:
- water pump: almost RM600
- intake manifold: almost RM800

May I know if the prices are reasonable? Don't mind to pay a little higher price in the SC, but would like to make sure it's not too much compared to outside price.

I think waterpump abit too costly changing water pump solve 1 issue but ifthe mechanic not well experience it may cause leaking too...

How is ur intake manifold problem... normally this wont damage beaide front accident. ... you can try chop shop this is cheap
vios2002
post Jun 10 2013, 03:07 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(g3cko @ Jun 9 2013, 08:24 PM)
been thinking to change to adjustable suspension
for gab adjustable issit ok? tein is too overpriced mang sweat.gif

any other suggestion for other brand? thanks
there is so many brand if you compare retail price suspension maybe GAB offer better but if you consider Price + warranty + service cost + ride quality for me is overall package.
vios2002
post Jun 12 2013, 05:29 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(frantic912 @ Jun 12 2013, 04:15 PM)
anyone using adjustable here..??
recomended brand..?
i think i would like to try BC racing but have u all familiar with this brand or should i go for Gab SS..??
there is so many brand if you compare retail price suspension maybe GAB offer better but if you consider Price + warranty + service cost + ride quality for me is overall package.
vios2002
post Jun 18 2013, 05:58 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jun 18 2013, 09:51 AM)
you try Good Year NCT5 then you'll know what is grip not good tongue.gif
yes cheap good tire from NCT5 next level up depend budget and requirement.

QUOTE(gorson @ Jun 18 2013, 10:09 AM)
I tried that before when I bought my myvi few years ago, that NCT 5 is not juz no grip, it's hard, damn noisy and sucks big time!!! I change the tyres even b4 they get botak for god sake...
I re-experience my vios and now I think it's not the tyre's fault, it's that the electronic power steering in vios is too sensitive to my liking and any slight movement to the steering reflect quite significant movement to the car... I guess I juz have to get used to it.
yes light steering i like this respond and our hand is less energy waste.

QUOTE(gorson @ Jun 18 2013, 01:01 PM)
The steering too light and cause the effect of body roll to b quite significant also when doing sharp turning, I plan to install anti-roll bar also...
I try my car on highway, even hit until 130km/h, the car still feel planted and stable (must go in straight line la of course...). Enuff for me as I don't like to explore top speed. Power wise is really good, cincai step on pedal, the car exceed 120km/h without me even knowing! thumbup.gif My myvi I step until leg pain, feels like dragging only around 120km/h. Wind noise is acceptable to me... as my baby still can sleep soundly back there. tongue.gif Not sure if it's bcoz G spec got better sound insulation, a lot ppl say vios noisy at high speed... but I'm very satisfied with the NVH of the car.  nod.gif Get this car below 80K can have this kinda space, power, fuel econ and NVH, I think it's kinda good buy! cool2.gif
you can try 19mm anti roll bar, to explore i suggest you can try go Genting highland.

QUOTE(neo0915 @ Jun 18 2013, 02:44 PM)
Any1 has installed bodykit in Eneos car center ?

Any comment about that ?

They are offering RM1.2k for ABS bodykit (TRD)...
Is it a good deal ?

Any1 know where can i find original/ABS bodykit (TRD) in KL/Selangor area ?
In the market there is no Ori bodykit beside install in toyota.
vios2002
post Jun 20 2013, 09:32 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jun 18 2013, 06:00 PM)
bro, yours 19mm? i'm thinking of changing... 16mm... not syok doh.gif
I dint install abr but in considering for 19mm. Mine this time suspension stiff setup but lucky chassis still able to provide some flex.

Later plan for some test drive...
vios2002
post Jun 20 2013, 08:41 PM

167 posts

for new vios member you can try to find some good bargain from Mudah site.....most not ori but still can use

This post has been edited by vios2002: Jun 20 2013, 09:01 PM
vios2002
post Jun 20 2013, 09:03 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jun 20 2013, 09:47 AM)
can share what suspension you using? drool.gif
bro i think my suspension not your liking...from T***n
vios2002
post Jun 21 2013, 05:06 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jun 20 2013, 09:14 PM)
i heard its similar to stock... you changed just the spring or absorber or both? brows.gif
mine setup is different front is T***N spring and absorber and rear is absorber with stock spring.
vios2002
post Jun 24 2013, 06:34 PM

167 posts

last week was a fun test drive in my friend car.... feel and respond was so direct i think i only able to use 35% of this engine power due to limitation in housing area.

now really got poison from this car....
vios2002
post Jun 25 2013, 04:30 PM

167 posts

this weekend will be another testing hope able to tame this Godzilla ....
vios2002
post Jun 25 2013, 04:52 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(art6969 @ Jun 25 2013, 04:44 PM)
you aim J spec ka?
im driving a manual vios nothing much just some suspension mod but this testing since last week i was trying out my friend GTR R35 with 600hp plus maybe alot light mod and also reduce weight... this beast very different compare i drove friends EVO and STI.... tongue.gif tongue.gif
vios2002
post Jul 4 2013, 08:06 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(Ulysses @ Jul 4 2013, 06:19 PM)
So 65% tint is illegal?  =_="  sunlight so hot..even 50% feels like no tint at all
bro mine 65% plus also like nothing, make sure your tint is able to reflex heat fastest then other brand.

vios2002
post Jul 9 2013, 12:05 PM

167 posts

just now i had wheel spin during cornering on the outer wheels...but in control manner i was doing 80 plus in wet rainning...
vios2002
post Jul 10 2013, 01:17 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(KyeLunC @ Jul 9 2013, 08:14 PM)
Guys, have been driving my vios for a year now. Any problems you all encountered so far? Mine's clocking 25k and my car has:
-knocking sound when I shift R to D and then accelerate (not heavy foot, just normal only)
-squeaking sound coming from front passenger seat very often.
-side mirrors retracting speed not align
-aircond sometimes got very bad toxic smell
-front passenger air duct got hizzling sound
-sometimes my gearbox will automatically shift to gear 3 when I was in gear 4 and refuses to switch it back to 4. (I tried to let go my accelerator and press again also useless, have to manually shift it to 3 then to D)
-engine's got some rattling noise and the soundproof is very bad..

And yeah.. So far that's the problems I've encountered with my car. 30% City 70% Highway driving with 420~460km per tank. Should I ask Toyota's SC to check all those for me? Will they charge?
this normally happen is when your gearbox fluid need to replace to new fluid. after replace you will experience a smooth shifting. i change my GF vios every 30k mileage.
vios2002
post Jul 18 2013, 04:57 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(neo0915 @ Jul 17 2013, 12:18 PM)
Hi kenji1903,

Need some of ur opinion...

Yesterday on my way back home, doing some cornering at slightly high speed and found out that my vios is not very stable during cornering.

Need to ur expertise on the setup of Anti Roll Bar or any bar that provide better handling or cornering.

Any pros and cons if i choose to install ARB ?
Which bar should install first since i am newbie about the bars stuff ?
What is the different between 16mm or 19mm or etc ?

Thanks in advance.  notworthy.gif

FYI, im driving J spec, only added TRD Sportivo bodykit, ori steel rim (14", planning to change to 15" soon).
No extra modification on handling.
Bro few question need to know, what is the budget range for this improve handling you plan to have?

How far you dare to push?

if limited budget and comfort for just install rear ARB 19mm other bar waste of money as effect is very little or else upgrade entire suspension.

maybe we can arrange fun drive to genting lets our suspension do the talking
vios2002
post Jul 18 2013, 06:34 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(neo0915 @ Jul 18 2013, 05:39 PM)
Ya... saw quite some posts in vioszeroseven mentioning installed rear ARB + front upper struct bar (instead of lower)...

So u suggest to install rear ARB + front lower arm la ? No need to cater upper part ?
Actually my budget is quite tight, jz try to improve the handling and minimize the installed bar too.

From what i read so far, I noticed that rear ARB is a must, others bar is optional.
If i only installed rear ARB without installing any front upper/lower struct bar, will it causes any unbalancing ?

P/S, i have my vios tested when it still new...  biggrin.gif
People sit inside my car goyang to left and right due to the car body lean a lot...  rclxub.gif
Ok my advise since limitation on budget so save some money for service car since a new car.... that will be a cost...

if you wan to experience how invert mono tube suspension let me know we can arrange a fun drive tongue.gif tongue.gif
vios2002
post Jul 19 2013, 05:17 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jul 19 2013, 10:09 AM)
Vios have a hollow 23mm front ARB, the UR one is solid, i read that its difficult to install...

different purpose... ARB are more for car "twisting" during cornering, can adjust the understeer/oversteer depending one the thickness of the front and rear ARB combo
other bars are more to chassis enhancement, making the chassis more solid

ohh... then you might need to check with the local shops around your area...
if its significantly cheaper in KL, can order then just give your local workshop installation fees
wah bro really? hollow 23mm ARB on stock car?

now i maybe going to change my shock setup since the have solid ARB rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

QUOTE(neo0915 @ Jul 19 2013, 11:10 AM)
Million thanks for your kindly offer...  thumbup.gif
U r so kind...  notworthy.gif

Wish to have a fun drive to test your car but i am quite busy with my work recently (tis few month).
Work OT and out-station... no life man...  cry.gif

Anyway, jz wondering a wider tire will improve the handling (cause more grip)?
Cause planning to change to 15" when my stock tire botak (currently 14" only).
Thanks for the suggestion.

I guess when i have enough budget, i will go for 19mm ARB 1st.
Then try front upper instead of lower.  biggrin.gif
yes go 19mm, tire depend how much you plan to invest me i just cheap cheap tire... so can some some slip angle i wan...
vios2002
post Jul 22 2013, 06:41 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(lung85 @ Jul 21 2013, 10:24 PM)
i just folo the pressure at the side front door there, if no mistake front 220 back 240
front you can go between 220 ~ 240+ now i going at 245 last time i used to pump 275 but rear normally i go 180 ~200 depend on tire feedback.

QUOTE(lung85 @ Jul 21 2013, 11:23 PM)
my J manual vios, whn driving frm 3rd gear to 4th gear accelerating, rpm less than 2,5k but got loud sound like i install big exhaust sound, after change gear sometimes gt a while sometime don, it happen not only 3rd gear, sometime 4th to 5th also this one.

car 12000k, less than 8month
normal lah... feel like engine going to break but no issue ... been continue to push push ... and more push...

QUOTE(iLegend @ Jul 22 2013, 05:50 PM)
Just put on stiff ring on my Vios (2009). First thing I noticed, the car and steering is more solid instead of the "lose" feeling and noticeably quieter on uneven road.
yes go for weekend drive feel more fun

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0255sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:51 PM