Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Rewiring Phone Line

ChaosSixth
post Aug 13 2012, 02:29 AM


Nothing special
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 739

Joined: Sep 2009


Hai, i wanted to DIY the telephone line wiring which is the phone line from the pole connect with the housing line..

unfortunately the wire does not have any colours . just copper colour.

So i connect directly the line from pole to my housing line. The problem arise is the "hisssing" sound always being heard in the phone.

When I re-DIY the wiring by "disturbing" the part where the pole and house line connected, the sound gone.. no more "hissing" sound. after a few days, the "hissing" sound come back.

I did the same thing, till no more sound, then after a while the sound came back.

I connect both pole and the housing line by twisting the wire together...

2 copper wire from the pole and 2 copper wire at my house line

so basically i just connect 1 to 1..

till now still have hissing sound and frequent internet dc
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
iSean
post Aug 13 2012, 02:37 AM


The Annoying 2"
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,439

Joined: Jun 2011




Get an ADSL Filter O.o?
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ChaosSixth
post Aug 13 2012, 02:38 AM


Nothing special
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 739

Joined: Sep 2009


QUOTE(iSean @ Aug 13 2012, 02:37 AM)
Get an ADSL Filter O.o?
*
err actually i wanted to ask if there is any other better way to connect the line from the pole to the housing line rather than just twisting the wire together?
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lex
post Aug 13 2012, 03:39 AM


Old Am I?
Group Icon
Group: Staff
Posts: 17,391

Joined: Jan 2005
From: Dagobah


QUOTE(ChaosSixth @ Aug 13 2012, 02:38 AM)
err actually i wanted to ask if there is any other better way to connect the line from the pole to the housing line rather than just twisting the wire together?
If your phone lines comes from telco poles, then obviously you will have internet problems often especially if the distance between the telco exchange and your house is quite far. That hissing sound is usually either the ADSL carrier or faulty telco equipment (at the riser room). Please note, do not share the phone line BEFORE the ADSL filter. hmm.gif

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fireballs
post Aug 13 2012, 03:41 AM


On my way
****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 563

Joined: Mar 2012
call 100. they will change for free
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bayagong
post Aug 13 2012, 08:21 AM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 287

Joined: Jun 2012


do u use splitter to split ADSL and phone line?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kevyeoh
post Aug 13 2012, 08:39 AM


Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,236

Joined: Jan 2003


try soldering it?

QUOTE(ChaosSixth @ Aug 13 2012, 02:38 AM)
err actually i wanted to ask if there is any other better way to connect the line from the pole to the housing line rather than just twisting the wire together?
*
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ktek
post Aug 13 2012, 09:11 AM


摘哪颗星星
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 4,266

Joined: Jul 2006
From: penang


u have similar problem to my house (noisy phone)

what my dad did last time was.. short both wire
call telekom, say no dial tone
few hours later, TM ppl will come and replace outside cable (already 16years) and connect house line.

u can watch how they do it
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ChaosSixth
post Aug 13 2012, 12:05 PM


Nothing special
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 739

Joined: Sep 2009


QUOTE(lex @ Aug 13 2012, 03:39 AM)
If your phone lines comes from telco poles, then obviously you will have internet problems often especially if the distance between the telco exchange and your house is quite far. That hissing sound is usually either the ADSL carrier or faulty telco equipment (at the riser room). Please note, do not share the phone line BEFORE the ADSL filter. hmm.gif
*
there are actually 2 lines here,
1 from the pole
1 in the house wiring

I wanna connect both so that i can use my phone
if u need pic please do tell me smile.gif

QUOTE(fireballs @ Aug 13 2012, 03:41 AM)
call 100. they will change for free
*
called them to ask them repair my "no dial tone" then got this problem. gonna DIY first if problem persist then only called them. Dun like them to enter house. too much stuff and scare they "long hands"

QUOTE(bayagong @ Aug 13 2012, 08:21 AM)
do u use splitter to split ADSL and phone line?
*
yep. used but problem still persists

QUOTE(ktek @ Aug 13 2012, 09:11 AM)
u have similar problem to my house (noisy phone)

what my dad did last time was.. short both wire
call telekom, say no dial tone
few hours later, TM ppl will come and replace outside cable (already 16years) and connect house line.

u can watch how they do it
*
Bro, previously i have this problem, I called them found out that actually its my line coz using some weird stuff to split the wire into 2 lines (2 phones can use in house)..
so they cut off and then reconnect 1 to 1 wire.. previously it was 1 to 2 wire..
but still problem persists.

This post has been edited by ChaosSixth: Aug 13 2012, 12:08 PM
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dianqing99
post Aug 13 2012, 04:50 PM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 136

Joined: May 2012


QUOTE(ChaosSixth @ Aug 13 2012, 01:05 PM)
there are actually 2 lines here,
1 from the pole
1 in the house wiring

I wanna connect both so that i can use my phone
if u need pic please do tell me smile.gif
called them to ask them repair my "no dial tone" then got this problem. gonna DIY first if problem persist then only called them. Dun like them to enter house. too much stuff and scare they "long hands"
yep. used but problem still persists
Bro, previously i have this problem, I called them found out that actually its my line coz using some weird stuff to split the wire into 2 lines (2 phones can use in house)..
so they cut off and then reconnect 1 to 1 wire.. previously it was 1 to 2 wire..
but still problem persists.
*
PIcture PLS biggrin.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ChaosSixth
post Aug 13 2012, 05:18 PM


Nothing special
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 739

Joined: Sep 2009


QUOTE(dianqing99 @ Aug 13 2012, 04:50 PM)
PIcture PLS  biggrin.gif
*
Attached Image

ADDON: If i take it out and connect it back, no more hissing sound for a day. then after that got back hissing sound.


Added on August 14, 2012, 7:30 pmBUMP

This post has been edited by ChaosSixth: Aug 14 2012, 07:30 PM
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dianqing99
post Aug 15 2012, 03:17 PM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 136

Joined: May 2012


QUOTE(ChaosSixth @ Aug 13 2012, 06:18 PM)
Attached Image

ADDON: If i take it out and connect it back, no more hissing sound for a day. then after that got back hissing sound.


Added on August 14, 2012, 7:30 pmBUMP
*
i don see any problem in the connection rolleyes.gif
May be bad cable ??? Call TM to replaces them icon_idea.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ChaosSixth
post Aug 15 2012, 03:50 PM


Nothing special
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 739

Joined: Sep 2009


QUOTE(dianqing99 @ Aug 15 2012, 03:17 PM)
i don see any problem in the connection  rolleyes.gif
May be bad cable ??? Call TM to replaces them  icon_idea.gif
*
recently i go DIY again, suddenly one of the copper wire break. i guess might be because of that my phone keep on hissing sound.. i reconnect it back and problem does not persist till now yet.. haha.. gonna check out after few days
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
asamad
post Aug 15 2012, 04:17 PM


New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 39

Joined: Nov 2009
From: instagram.com/asamad_ar


instead twist 2 wire, why don't u use :
user posted image

can buy it from any electronic store
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ChaosSixth
post Aug 18 2012, 02:07 AM


Nothing special
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 739

Joined: Sep 2009


QUOTE(asamad @ Aug 15 2012, 04:17 PM)
instead twist 2 wire, why don't u use :
user posted image

can buy it from any electronic store
*
problem persist after 3 days of no problem.. haiz... i dunno what to do.. gonna call telekom tomoro
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
radioactive
post Aug 18 2012, 02:33 AM


Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,855

Joined: Dec 2005
QUOTE(asamad @ Aug 15 2012, 04:17 PM)
instead twist 2 wire, why don't u use :
user posted image

can buy it from any electronic store
*
This will actually case rain water to accumulate inside.

Just strip a further up the wire, use a fine grade sand paper and sand it down to remove any oxidation from both wires.
Pray it works.

Time to move to fibre, copper is old technology. smile.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ChaosSixth
post Aug 18 2012, 02:37 AM


Nothing special
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 739

Joined: Sep 2009


QUOTE(radioactive @ Aug 18 2012, 02:33 AM)
This will actually case rain water to accumulate inside.

Just strip a further up the wire, use a fine grade sand paper and sand it down to remove any oxidation from both wires.
Pray it works.

Time to move to fibre, copper is old technology.  smile.gif
*
dunno jor.. copper is my phone line.. got ar fibre for phone line? @.@? wil telekom change for me?
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
radioactive
post Aug 18 2012, 02:57 AM


Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,855

Joined: Dec 2005
QUOTE(ChaosSixth @ Aug 18 2012, 02:37 AM)
dunno jor.. copper is my phone line.. got ar fibre for phone line? @.@? wil telekom change for me?
*
Take unifi. No more DC, no more lag, and no more lightning strikes.
I must have gone through at least 5 adsl modems during my time with Streamyx. smile.gif

Use some 500 grit sand paper and sand those copper shiny red. twist them tight and hope for the best.
Check your terminations too, ie: that white socket box thing, if possible. Strip and re do the wiring. Use metal brush and clean the telephone jack as they can get oxidized and cause problems.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ChaosSixth
post Aug 18 2012, 02:59 AM


Nothing special
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 739

Joined: Sep 2009


QUOTE(radioactive @ Aug 18 2012, 02:57 AM)
Take unifi. No more DC, no more lag, and no more lightning strikes.
I must have gone through at least 5 adsl modems during my time with Streamyx.  smile.gif

Use some 500 grit sand paper and sand those copper shiny red. twist them tight and hope for the best.
Check your terminations too, ie: that white socket box thing, if possible. Strip and re do the wiring. Use metal brush and clean the telephone jack as they can get oxidized and cause problems.
*
white socket box means the one that we can connect rj11 with the telephone?

my place no unifi.. hmm... tomoro i grab some sand paper clean it twist them tight

This post has been edited by ChaosSixth: Aug 18 2012, 03:00 AM
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
radioactive
post Aug 18 2012, 03:06 AM


Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,855

Joined: Dec 2005
RJ11 box<<this

Just clean and rewire everything possible. Make sure they have a good contact, not just some metal oxides in between.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ChaosSixth
post Aug 18 2012, 03:09 AM


Nothing special
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 739

Joined: Sep 2009


QUOTE(radioactive @ Aug 18 2012, 03:06 AM)
RJ11 box<<this

Just clean and rewire everything possible. Make sure they have a good contact, not just some metal oxides in between.
*
hmm might be that problem.. will reconsidered doing it too tomoro hehe maybe theres actually no problem on my connection as the picture shown. mayb its the box that causes the problem hmm


Added on August 20, 2012, 10:24 amADD ON : clean up the rj11 box with sand papers seems like 3 days internet is okay.. hmm

This post has been edited by ChaosSixth: Aug 20 2012, 10:24 AM
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
snowberry
post Feb 13 2013, 06:45 PM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 249

Joined: Feb 2010
hi bro,

i actually have the same problem as u,

recently starting january my internet disconnect 5-10 times 1 day.

theres some small small noisy sound when i connect phone line to phone.

btw im not using any house phone, phone line just for streamyx.

but u see this when i chk the line theres only 4 parts in the RJ11 thing right? only 2 of them are connected. can i know wats the other 2 if anyone noes? (only orange and white is connected)

i tink i need go get sand paper too, the copper wire thank linked from the pole outside my house to inside my house looks so black.


User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
snowberry
post Feb 23 2013, 06:17 PM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 249

Joined: Feb 2010
QUOTE(ChaosSixth @ Aug 18 2012, 03:09 AM)
hmm might be that problem.. will reconsidered doing it too tomoro hehe maybe theres actually no problem on my connection as the picture shown. mayb its the box that causes the problem hmm


Added on August 20, 2012, 10:24 amADD ON : clean up the rj11 box with sand papers seems like 3 days internet is okay.. hmm
*
hey bro, is ur problem ok edi?

what did u do, i really need help, im planning to change the whole wiring from the pole edi.

and RJbox if all these still cant solve.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
cm04
post Feb 23 2013, 08:59 PM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 93

Joined: May 2012
From: Kuching, Sarawak, MY.


solder, then wrap it with splicing tape.not the ordinary PVC tape.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
snowberry
post Feb 25 2013, 07:33 PM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 249

Joined: Feb 2010
QUOTE(cm04 @ Feb 23 2013, 08:59 PM)
solder, then wrap it with splicing tape.not the ordinary PVC tape.
*
the copper wire is actually black color, i sand it back to copper color, and twisted them together, but i still get disconnection up to 5-10 times per day.

do u think its time to change the whole cable? its been 20+ years in my house.

if i dun wrap it with splicing tape just leave it like tat, will it affect?

im afraid after i change the whole cable, still have disconnection then i die rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by snowberry: Feb 25 2013, 07:34 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
cm04
post Feb 25 2013, 08:51 PM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 93

Joined: May 2012
From: Kuching, Sarawak, MY.


have u asked TM technician to check it for you? there's lots of possibilities for your problem. might be your internal wiring, might be TM's line, might be bad contact between the lines.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ChaosSixth
post Feb 26 2013, 02:41 AM


Nothing special
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 739

Joined: Sep 2009


just called TM . check ur telephone see got any disturbance background sound. hehe.
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Xploit Machine
post Feb 26 2013, 12:01 PM


Wise Old Man
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 6,578

Joined: Nov 2008
From: West Malaysia



» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «


anything just call telekom people to do, the telephone poles are not end-user servicable in any manner and you can be sued for disturbing telekom poles, the only section you can D.I.Y is only inside ure home ..

I've just done replacing new jelly-filled cable from pole to home, at free of charge smile.gif and done internal self-wiring smile.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
cjoenic
post Feb 26 2013, 10:06 PM


4 Star Joker
****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 648

Joined: Oct 2009
From: Land of Borneo
before diy wiring, got hising? or cracking noise?
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ChaosSixth
post Jul 9 2013, 10:20 AM


Nothing special
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 739

Joined: Sep 2009


QUOTE(Xploit Machine @ Feb 26 2013, 12:01 PM)
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «


anything just call telekom people to do, the telephone poles are not end-user servicable in any manner and you can be sued for disturbing telekom poles, the only section you can D.I.Y is only inside ure home ..

I've just done replacing new jelly-filled cable from pole to home, at free of charge smile.gif and done internal self-wiring smile.gif
*
QUOTE(cjoenic @ Feb 26 2013, 10:06 PM)
before diy wiring, got hising? or cracking noise?
*
I called them, got the hissing sound, then they said "ok , we'll be back" then i waited, till yawn.gif already..
i guess tm technician is just so lazy to change the whole wiring from pole to home..hurm
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Xploit Machine
post Jul 9 2013, 11:33 AM


Wise Old Man
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 6,578

Joined: Nov 2008
From: West Malaysia



QUOTE(ChaosSixth @ Jul 9 2013, 10:20 AM)
I called them, got the hissing sound, then they said "ok , we'll be back" then i waited, till yawn.gif already..
i guess tm technician is just so lazy to change the whole wiring from pole to home..hurm
*
they should outsource the job actually .. later if i elaborate more, ppl will say im lacist biggrin.gif tongue.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ChaosSixth
post Jul 9 2013, 05:55 PM


Nothing special
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 739

Joined: Sep 2009


QUOTE(Xploit Machine @ Jul 9 2013, 11:33 AM)
they should outsource the job actually .. later if i elaborate more, ppl will say im lacist  biggrin.gif  tongue.gif
*
well i got what u trying to say. haha..

some of them did the job quite good. but some are not. i guess mostly it depends on ppl. hehe
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0826sec    1.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th April 2014 - 10:00 PM