LYN Suzuki Swift Owner Club V2, Where handling speaks for everything

quackpack
post Aug 14 2012, 01:16 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(rhoyo @ Aug 14 2012, 07:15 AM)
good morning guys smile.gif .. wanna ask u guys . if i left my swift at office for 2 weeks without starting and my car is still not yet 1st service . will it bring effect to my car . or 1 week after that must start the car or else . cause im going back home to sabah . damn worried a lot cause i don't have friends to start my car sigh ..
Either your battery will run out of juice and when you crack you might hear spark sound(tak tak sound), stop cranking and change battery to avoid damaging your starter. Jump start is just a temporary solution, battery which are fully drain wont have the full charging capacity like before and your battery will die off easily.

If battery ok and car can start, your engine may still die off due to low pressure at fuel injector, so just keep your foot at accelarator when cranking to supply fuel to your engine.
quackpack
post Aug 14 2012, 02:33 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(gr8fr8 @ Aug 14 2012, 02:32 PM)
The 'engine indicator' is always ON now and I read mostly said that it is because of faulty exhaust sensor. I just want to change both coil and sensor cos dont want to cos anymore damage to my baby.
When you say coil you meant ignition coil? Is your engine juddering?
quackpack
post Aug 14 2012, 03:01 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(gr8fr8 @ Aug 14 2012, 02:39 PM)
Ah yes, that's it. Ignition coil. Yes, a bit too much sometimes. Sometimes it would judder at stops, and have to turn off the a/con to stop it. :-/ I heard that it is common part that would be faulty after a few years, but after it is being replaced, it won't cause any juddering anymore.
Have pmed you but I will also list down here so that everyone can refer if have any issue with engine juderring and not jump straight to replacing ignition coil.

- Change spark plug
- Check whether ignition cable are loose ( our engine has 2 ignition coil and 2 ignition cable ), due to long usage sometimes engine juddering will cause the cable to be abit loose.
- CLEAN Throttle Body
- Check ignition coil tube whether is there any leak or holes, just tape it with high temp tape and problem solved

If you are too free and forever alone, you can actually remove the spring coil from the ignition coil to clean off the rust to reduce resistance. Just remove the long rubber tube CAREFULLY as the spring inside may break, take spring out and clean the rust and dirt off.

Note : Sometimes the spring will be so rusted or dirty(especially cars with high mileage) it may look like it will break apart so do it at your own descreation! Our ignition coil normally fail is due to high resistance from the coil that cause the ignition internals to burnt up, if you wan you can invest in gold spring that will reduce resistance and make your ignition coil last longer.
quackpack
post Aug 14 2012, 03:11 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(gr8fr8 @ Aug 14 2012, 03:07 PM)
That's very helpful. It seems like you know more about these issues. How about the exhaust sensor? Will it cause any long term damage if it is not replaced?

For the coil, I will have to take a look at it first and see what kind of damage it has.
Exhasut sensor is a wear and tear item so its normal for it to be spoilt after long usage. But check with a mechanic who have ECU fault reader for confirmation.

Things you can try but its not 100% workable, put grounding cables onto the exhaust sensor.

Engine check light on will put the car in limb mode and engine will run at rich fuel mixture, so downside is bad fuel consumption.

This post has been edited by quackpack: Aug 14 2012, 03:12 PM
quackpack
post Aug 17 2012, 02:13 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(en_meja @ Aug 17 2012, 10:56 AM)
Hi all,

Swift 1.5
Color: Grey Silver

does anyone here using Ohlins suspension?
another thing is i'm curious wether the shock absorber can fit into swift 1.5, cuz it stated there that the suspension is for SSS.

cheers,
Ohlins brows.gif go big or go home brows.gif

Yes absorber that fits SSS will fit SS
quackpack
post Aug 17 2012, 09:57 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(ZaiZai1989 @ Aug 17 2012, 09:30 PM)
hi all swift owners.. i am new here.. considering to buy a new car.. i am going grad soon.. so will be a freshgrad in engineering field..

cars that i took into my consideration is myvi1.5se, persona and swift GX..

i have tested myvi and persona before.. but i would like to buy non-local as much as possible...

my budget is only about 65k... cannot afford to buy GLX..

can u guys give me some opinion on swift gx?

FC, handling, stability at high speed and reliability?

thanks a lot guys~~
If you plan to mod your ride, gx is definitely a better choice, save those money to put what you want instead of wasting on accessories that you will remove when modding.

FC - I would say average, nothing to shout about where RM65(RON95) can typically last 360-400km in city drive

Handling & Stability - How aggressive you drive is how you will rate it, stock form will give you until a certain confidence level, at the end of the day when you really just wan to do touge, you wont be looking at stock option at all. Just changing to street performance tyres will give you different handling characteristic, not to mention springs and coil-overs.

Reliability - So far Swift has it's ups and down, it really comes down to your luck. Realistically, you may drive up to 150k km and face no problems(provided you did proper servicing). If bad luck, you may face issues which are quite well documented for Swift so solving it will not be an issue just spare parts may be much more expensive than Toyota.

Lastly, if you are modding for performance, please start with brakes first smile.gif

quackpack
post Aug 21 2012, 07:12 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(xDjWanNabex @ Aug 21 2012, 04:24 PM)
Guys, does the swift not have a mileage meter?

My meter cluster only has 1 mileage meter and that too can be reset. So if i reset it, theres no way to know what my total mileage is?

Thats kinda screwed up for maintenance purpose etc right? :S
Swift mileage meter stalk by just pressing it, it can change to 3 different readings,

1) Total Mileage
2) Trip A
3) Trip B

Trip A and Trip B can be reset by holding down the stalk for few seconds,
quackpack
post Aug 25 2012, 10:42 PM

327 posts

Actually don't need to waste money on throttle body cleaner.

Just buy a cheapo oil catch tank, throw away the given pipe and go buy a right size gas pipe enough to connect from crank case pipe to oil catch tank + a size 12 stopper to cover the connection from crank case to throttle body.

Already 1 year+ and throttle body has no grim like last time.
quackpack
post Sep 3 2012, 01:15 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(judojuddy @ Sep 3 2012, 12:52 PM)
seriously i dunno stiff ring is for what..i installed it bcoz ppl say can solve the steering rack problem..i install it and twice i claim new steering rack and now problem again..definitely not worth it..
Stiff ring is just to reduce free-play of the steering rack hence giving better feedback from steering response, it has no means to solve steering rack problem.
quackpack
post Sep 3 2012, 05:28 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(judojuddy @ Sep 3 2012, 02:24 PM)
stiff ring

stiff ring 2

yupe,it will not solve it..the thing is from my experience:

my steering rack problem ady..corner or straight on uneven road got kluk kluk sound, and sometimes can feel the on the steering as well..go sc, confirm steering rack..claim warranty..then rosak again..and i go claim again..this time while waiting for parts i go install stiff ring..but cant feel any different..no reducement on kluk kluk sound or steering feeling..

then parts arrived, change steering rack..reinstall back stiff ring..but now my steering rack problem again..kluk kluk sound come up when on uneven road..

on article it says "And due to the screw not properly fitted, our car’s sub-frame starts to move(free-play) whenever our wheels go through uneven roads." so stiff ring was suppose to hold the subframe tight as it is fitted to center the nut and the hole thus reduce the free-play of the subframe whenever u go thru uneven road..

so in my case, i cant really say its worth it to spend on stiff ring as my steering rack is now rattling again..

but to be fair, i did change my suspension..so maybe the problem was cause by my suspension..but then again i see many change their suspension and did not have any problem with their steering rack..maybe its just my bad luck  sad.gif
Which SC did you go get it check?

My car did got kluk sound but its not from my steering rack, end up found its just metal to metal contact of front ARB with lower arm.
quackpack
post Sep 13 2012, 12:28 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(samwongjyhhorng @ Sep 13 2012, 07:51 AM)
Does anybody facing tis problem?my wife swift always wants mati engine during pick up.Sometimes is wil chok when accelerate to pick up.my wife swift is stock except change iridium plug and drop in filter.ady clean tb,stil same.weird is if i rev to 5 to 6k rpm few times,then tis problem wil solve but onli 1 to 2 day,afteq tat come bec again
How old is your car? How many km done? if more than 100k then check your ignition coil.

If ignition coil problem I got spare set for sale cheaper than SC biggrin.gif
quackpack
post Dec 16 2012, 05:38 PM

327 posts

Hi All,

I am letting go my 15' original Enkei RPF1 PCD 100 with PS3 195/55 for RM1.6k swap with your original suzuki rim and tyres.

Also have new set(x2) ignition coil letting go cheap.

Edit :

Tyre thread left >50%

Selling due to becoming pasar pagi car

Labor on buyer

This post has been edited by quackpack: Dec 16 2012, 06:22 PM
quackpack
post Jan 16 2013, 08:28 PM

327 posts

Any swift owner still with stock rims thinking of upgrading,I am letting go my 15 inch rims

15' F1 Silver Original Enkei RPF 1
Offset 35, Width 7
4 holes PCD 100
Weight 4.47kg per rim
Tyre : Michelin PS3 195/55/15 , Thread >50%
Project MU Super Lock Nut 7 (16 piece + 1 adapter)
RM1600 + Stock rims + Stock tyre + Labour on buyer (nego)

PM me to nego smile.gif
quackpack
post Jan 29 2013, 09:13 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(SSSyee88 @ Jan 28 2013, 04:56 PM)

Group: New Member
[Post count information]

I just changed my Swift Ignition coils...due to RPM unstable and always fluctuated.
2 pcs + 1 ignition cable ...Cost me RM 1093.
Does anyone of you change the ignition coils before...? What is the cost per pcs??
Result after changed: So far RPM Stable and no other issue.

All the parts are original!!

Sorry...i accidentally open a new thread ..
Why did you change the ignition cable?

For our swift, the Ignition cable will rarely have any problem unless you bent it roughly when removal.

Our ignition coil spoil is because of the spring within the tube gets rusted(after high usage) causing high resistance and high resistance will eventually claim the whole electronic box on top. That is why there are company that create gold spring to reduce resistance as well as making the spring last longer and keeping your ignition system safer.

Changing ignition cable alone to aftermarket rarely increase performance as the ignition coil itself has it's own limitation.

Btw, I am selling a pair of ignition coil much cheaper than what you bought tongue.gif
quackpack
post Jan 29 2013, 09:35 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(csk3984 @ Jan 29 2013, 09:24 PM)
Hi bro

If ignition cable and ignition coil spoil (rosak) will cause what problem to out car?
The most prominent issue is when stopping at traffic light(Step brake on 'D') your car will not be able to maintain rev and die off.

If your car just judder but didnt die off, it could just be the plastic tubing is loosen and electrical charges are escaping so your spark plug could maintain proper spark. Have seen one case where the owner just wrap the insertion point of the plastic tube to the ignition box with those black tape and viola the car doesnt judder anymore.

It is very very hard for the ignition cable to spoil as its just a piece of conductor that gets electrical charges from your ignition coil. Our car has 2 ignition coil and 2 ignition cable, where the the ignition coil will fire down straight through a spring and also fire to the ignition cable(without spring).

Those who are adventurous and armed with torque screw, just remove your airbox, unscrew the engine cover, remove the screw securing the ignition coil(box looking), remove the plastic tube and you can see your spring inside the tube, DO NOT do it if your mileage is already high like above 50k cuz your spring might not be in good condition and might break off when taken out. I have seen spring at 40k that was rusted so badly in the middle it looks like it will snap anytime.

This post has been edited by quackpack: Jan 29 2013, 09:36 PM
quackpack
post Feb 19 2013, 02:00 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(csk3984 @ Feb 18 2013, 05:45 PM)
My car, 4 month old... battery already going to be "rosak"soon. Today on my way to KL. Suddenly very difficult to start. Then drive to Service Center Aiman Jalan 222.

I though they will change it for me on the spot, since their service center positioning as 3S, sales, service and spare parts.

So their answer is, i have to wait for them to submit the report and get the claim.

SUZUKI SERVICE center it's piss me off...... even PERODUA do better than them....
You use phone charger that plug into the ciggy socket? I know it will continue to drain your battery even when your car is turned off.
quackpack
post Feb 26 2013, 01:54 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(Bliz @ Feb 26 2013, 12:32 PM)
How much is a pair of rear absorbers ( Ori Suzuki ) for 08 Swift 1.5? Any help is appreciated.
Contact Vanli

http://www.vanli.com.my/vanli/contact.php

or SenHui

http://www.senhuiauto.com/contact_us_link.html

0.0427sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:18 AM