Public Mutual v4, Public/PB series funds

koinibler
post Apr 5 2013, 05:48 PM

2,050 posts

@MakNok
So, may I know your reason?
or could Pink Spider reason is good enough?
MakNok
post Apr 5 2013, 06:39 PM

5,713 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Apr 5 2013, 05:48 PM)
@MakNok
So, may I know your reason?
or could Pink Spider reason is good enough?
actually i am still trying to figure out my PRSF fund if i have not done any switching?

Can help to calculate ar?
i see my fund until i blur liao
icon_question.gif
lazybump_nonsense
post Apr 5 2013, 07:03 PM

Gotta Catch'em All
1,654 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Apr 5 2013, 03:18 PM)
In my opinion, if the value is low (low like <20K), let build up the capital first through DDI. Then, it will make more sense to have a ratio portfolio and then thinking about switching.

If you already plan to use the money in 2 years time, I think that money not suitable for unit trust/equity. It might suitable for bond funds. Then, when need money in emergency, if value is not right, low loaded unit/bonds fund can be use first.

The logic is, most of the time, bonds fund (Malaysia case) doesn't really fluctuate during economic crisis.
thanks for the advice, notworthy.gif currently i have 2 equity funds(PRSF,PISEF) and 1 bond(PISBF), according to my agent, he wants me to get another fund (PFSF), but I think i will switch to another investment instrument(property), so from your advice i should switch all to bond fund ? rclxub.gif

I switch because I dont really quite understand unit trust, i am doing decision based on my agent sweat.gif
j.passing.by
post Apr 6 2013, 12:26 AM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Apr 5 2013, 02:31 PM)
My agend said the status will change from EPF to CASH investment when you hit 55.
Thank you. That's what I'm hoping to hear. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(MakNok @ Apr 5 2013, 05:04 PM)
Wah...like that i better swicth back to EPF just before i reach 55
tongue.gif
I think you meant to say "... better switch back to EPF investment..."

Yes, should use EPF investment (3% service charge) instead of cash investment (5.5% s.c.), if you're over 50. Allow 3-5 years to even out the 3% per year, then you have loaded units "cleaned" of service charge to play...

I even intend to put extra money back into EPF account 1 to boost up the total... since the withdrawal to invest into UT is on a formula... there would still be a big chunk left over if withdraw all from EPF at age 55.

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Apr 5 2013, 05:43 PM)
So that can continue to enjoy the min guaranteed 2.5% dividend? hmm.gif
I think you have misunderstand my previous post when I said (tongue in cheek) that I already profited 2.5% before getting started.

The 2.5% is from the difference between EPF and cash investment. tongue.gif

j.passing.by
post Apr 6 2013, 01:10 AM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Apr 4 2013, 06:26 PM)
thanks for the reply...

I understand, but which type of fund do you recommend? if you are to choose? since there are so many funds available, but I'd try to avoid those overseas funds in vietnam cambodia china and etc... not for now... local one would suit me more....

I don't mind passively invest say 200 into my portfolio, for future income...
Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos & Myanmar - I don't think there is any Public Mutual funds in these countries; PM investments are usually very conservative, and these countries are risky and have not achieved "investment standard" yet. Even Philippines just got the investment rating last month... only a very small percentage of a fund (if any) would be in Philippines directly.

============

... back to the "Always Pot Black Strategy" in previous post.

This strategy is good if you are able to withdraw a big sum from EPF, say at least 10k. A bond fund is about RM1 per unit; and the minimal units to switch is 1000.

So you are switching at least RM1000 each time; which can be spread over 10 months or more. It is following the DCA (Dollar Cost Averaging) method of investment.

It looks a bit more confusing in the story telling, because I threw in how to lock-in any gains using a Money Market fund; due to the fact that there is zero switching fee switching into a money market fund after 90 days.

Actually, Public Mutual have the same strategy (of using a bond fund, and then switching regularly to an equity fund) in their latest promotion, Regular Investment Instruction Campaign 2013 (from 27/12/2012 to 26/12/2013).

This RII campaign allows a minimal of 200 units to switch. But it must be cash investment. The service charge in this promotion is 5% instead of 5.5%

felixmask
post Apr 6 2013, 10:45 AM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(MakNok @ Apr 5 2013, 06:39 PM)
actually i am still trying to figure out my PRSF fund if i have not done any switching?

Can help to calculate ar?
i see my fund until i blur liao
icon_question.gif
Morning MakNok,

I see your details, you keen switching everything to fund that going to declare Distribution.
I believe you started doing such switching started 2012 MAY.
Not sure you consider the NAV before Distribution, NAV after Distribution and switching fee.
You are Mutual Gold Member, enjoying switching entitlment.
Can you specific your question, i still blur blur what you want to ask.

This post has been edited by felixmask: Apr 6 2013, 10:50 AM
MakNok
post Apr 6 2013, 12:43 PM

5,713 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Apr 6 2013, 10:45 AM)
Morning MakNok,

I see your details, you keen switching everything to fund that going to declare Distribution.
     I believe you started doing such switching started 2012 MAY.
     Not sure you consider the NAV before Distribution,  NAV after Distribution and switching fee.
     You are Mutual Gold Member, enjoying switching entitlment.
     Can you specific your question, i still blur blur what you want to ask.
hi felix,
you see,
i divide my total monies and spilt equally to PRSF & PAGF
My AIM at that time was to cash in "Income TAX rebate" from above equity.

Year 2012, both equity declared 4.5cents/unit
but it seem PRSF gives better "Income Tax Rebate" percentage as compared to PAGF.

My MAIN question now is if i have not switch that PRSF on 15/05/2012.
What will be the nett worth of that PRSF portion using my repurchase price on 28/03/2013 which is 0.6746?

rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by MakNok: Apr 6 2013, 12:43 PM
j.passing.by
post Apr 6 2013, 08:35 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(MakNok @ Apr 6 2013, 12:43 PM)
hi felix,
you see,

but it seem PRSF gives better "Income Tax Rebate" percentage as compared to PAGF.

What will be the nett worth of that PRSF portion using my repurchase price on 28/03/2013 which is 0.6746?

rclxub.gif
Ignore the NAV price since there were distributions... use the total amounts given on 15/05/12 & 28/03/13.... RM162,755.63
& RM177,594.51... so an increase of 9.12%.

Now see the performance chart in Public Mutual website and insert the same dates on PRSF... 8.96%.

So after all the ting ting tong tong, not much difference... smile.gif

Cheers.

PS. Interestingly, Public Mutual treated the reinvested distribution units as more than 90 days when switched, and don't incur the 0.75% switching charge.

edit: correction...

This post has been edited by j.passing.by: Apr 6 2013, 08:46 PM
tehoice
post Apr 7 2013, 01:06 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Apr 4 2013, 06:50 PM)
You plan for 10-15 yrs, so time is on your side. Just pick one or two malaysia funds to invest monthly.

I mean award winninh malaysian funds..
yes, I'm planning to invest for long term, of up to say 15 years, so meaning, I have to consistently make payments or invest every month throughout the whole period??

pick one or two award winning malaysian funds... but I really got no idea how to go about it, I know I can google, but if you don't mind, if you can drop me a pm on the selections? I will then try to assess from there... really thank you very much smile.gif
tehoice
post Apr 7 2013, 01:07 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Apr 5 2013, 11:56 AM)
@tehoice

for fund selection, you can use j.passing.by summarize. Quite useful for me too. here ; http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2466037/+760#

search previous post will help you a lot.
Just remember, its used as a reference only, you need to decide yourself which one that you're comfortable with
ok, thanks for the link, I will try to read it up during weekend.... do some homework first...
wwl86
post Apr 7 2013, 11:45 AM

371 posts

Weekly Market Wrap & Regional Market Review:

Attached File  Market_Wrap_032913__MG_.pdf ( 529.11k ) Number of downloads: 5

xuzen
post Apr 7 2013, 12:03 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Apr 7 2013, 01:06 AM)
yes, I'm planning to invest for long term, of up to say 15 years, so meaning, I have to consistently make payments or invest every month throughout the whole period??

pick one or two award winning malaysian funds... but I really got no idea how to go about it, I know I can google, but if you don't mind, if you can drop me a pm on the selections? I will then try to assess from there... really thank you very much  smile.gif
For Pub-Mut,being the jaguh kampung that they are, only their local funds are worth looking at.

PISEF, PIDF, PFSF

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Apr 7 2013, 02:52 PM
j.passing.by
post Apr 7 2013, 08:10 PM

1,639 posts

Something to be aware of, especially if you're a newbie and thinking to take a big leap into Unit Trusts because you think it is safer than buying shares in the share market; and because you're thinking that you're missing out the bull rally and missing out on the profits that could be made.

"Mom and pop: The world’s worst investors."
Commentary: They buy high, sell low, and the ending is predictable.
http://www.marketwatch.com/story/mom-and-p...tors-2013-04-04

Can be summarised in 4 sentences:
Buy low, sell high = major profit.
Buy high, sell higher = minor profit.

Buy low, sell lower = minor lost.
Buy high, sell low = major lost.

Better to take small steps, and invest conservatively using DCA (Dollar Cost Average) method.

Cheers... happy investing.

This post has been edited by j.passing.by: Apr 7 2013, 08:13 PM
felixmask
post Apr 7 2013, 10:12 PM

6,356 posts

hi felix,
you see,

rclxub.gif
HI MakNok,

I dunno how to calculate for you - maybe you can refer j.passing.by feedback.

koinibler
post Apr 7 2013, 11:12 PM

2,050 posts

rclxub.gif
As I only see 2 transaction of PRSF on 15/05/2013; so its worth on 1st April 2013

(only for portion of PRSF that switch out on 15/05/2013)

This post has been edited by koinibler: Apr 7 2013, 11:16 PM
MakNok
post Apr 8 2013, 06:39 AM

5,713 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Apr 7 2013, 11:12 PM)
As I only see 2 transaction of PRSF on 15/05/2013; so its worth on 1st April 2013

(only for portion of PRSF that switch out on 15/05/2013)
MakNok
post Apr 8 2013, 06:39 AM

5,713 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Apr 6 2013, 08:35 PM)
Ignore the NAV price since there were distributions... use the total amounts given on 15/05/12 & 28/03/13.... RM162,755.63
& RM177,594.51... so an increase of 9.12%.

Now see the performance chart in Public Mutual website and insert the same dates on PRSF... 8.96%.

So after all the ting ting tong tong, not much difference...  smile.gif

Cheers.

PS. Interestingly, Public Mutual treated the reinvested distribution units as more than 90 days when switched, and don't incur the 0.75% switching charge.

edit: correction...
MakNok
post Apr 8 2013, 06:40 AM

5,713 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Apr 7 2013, 10:12 PM)
HI MakNok,

I dunno how to calculate for you - maybe you can refer  j.passing.by feedback.
much appreciated
cheahcw2003
post Apr 8 2013, 11:13 AM

5,379 posts

the updated price today on 5/4/2013.
All the Public Far East series, the price has been drop around 2%, except for the Public Far East Property and Resorts funds, against the trend up by 2%.
Anyone knows why?
wongmunkeong
post Apr 8 2013, 11:41 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Apr 8 2013, 11:13 AM)
the updated price today on 5/4/2013.
All the Public Far East series, the price has been drop around 2%, except for the Public Far East Property and Resorts funds, against the trend up by 2%.
Anyone knows why?
PFEPRF = hard properties & REITs
This asset class has been running on fire for the past several years non-stop (2009 onwards) thumbup.gif

149 Pages « < 48 49 50 51 52 > » Top

0.0200sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:09 PM