Public Mutual v4, Public/PB series funds

j.passing.by
post Oct 16 2014, 02:21 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(avms01 @ Oct 15 2014, 02:21 PM)
thank you for your kind reply.
reason for consolidation is to reduce the number of funds currently holding.
fyi, i went into DDI not so much on regular purchasing stragegy but rather as a forced saving approah.
one more fund I hold is PEF. this is good to hold?
thank you again...
Yes, that's the meaning of 'consolidation'. blush.gif

But why? Expenses/inflation growing and finding the savings getting too tough?

So, you're having PEF, along with PDSF, PIDF, PRSF, PISEF, PFSF, PISGIF & PIOF. All local equities, in different sectors/categories as implied in their names... equity fund, dividend select, islamic dividend, regular savings, selected enterprises, focus select, growth & income, and islamic opportunities... none stood out like a sore thumb that required intervention... so it's the same message of the previous post, and I still don't see any reason to consolidate.

If you want to cut down the regular purchases and amount to invest each month, maybe because you already achieved your targeted sum of investment, then stop putting new money into all of them; but continue holding all of them.

Which fund to stop additional investments? Just toss a coin... as said they are very similar (except for PIOF which is small caps and closed). My picks would be about as good as your choice... or the coin's.

(To consolidate means that you switch out from one fund and into another fund, why spend money on switching fees when you don't need to do so?)

nexona88
post Oct 16 2014, 06:52 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

Public Bank’s unit Public Mutual launched two funds, Public Select Mixed Asset Growth Fund (PSMAGF) and Public Select Mixed Asset Conservative Fund (PSMACF) on Thursday.

http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...unds/?style=biz
avms01
post Oct 17 2014, 11:49 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Oct 16 2014, 02:21 PM)
Yes, that's the meaning of 'consolidation'.  blush.gif

But why? Expenses/inflation growing and finding the savings getting too tough?

So, you're having PEF, along with PDSF, PIDF, PRSF, PISEF, PFSF, PISGIF & PIOF. All local equities, in different sectors/categories as implied in their names... equity fund, dividend select, islamic dividend, regular savings, selected enterprises, focus select, growth & income, and islamic opportunities... none stood out like a sore thumb that required intervention... so it's the same message of the previous post, and I still don't see any reason to consolidate.

If you want to cut down the regular purchases and amount to invest each month, maybe because you already achieved your targeted sum of investment, then stop putting new money into all of them; but continue holding all of them.

Which fund to stop additional investments? Just toss a coin... as said they are very similar (except for PIOF which is small caps and closed). My picks would be about as good as your choice... or the coin's.

(To consolidate means that you switch out from one fund and into another fund, why spend money on switching fees when you don't need to do so?)
thanks. good points for consideration.
thanks for sharing thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
yingwey
post Oct 17 2014, 12:13 PM

Hi All Sifu,

Super Noob in Mutual Fund, Have started to invest with cash monthly recently via PM PRSF

After reading over 100+ pages (have not start to read those Public Mutal V1,V2,V3), I conclude each person got its own way of monitoring the fund profit/loss.

After reading thread - I've do up a table for myself to monitor as below, appreciate any sifu here to chip in anything i missed out.

I know some mentioned about

- Distribution (since just started, so i don't have - but would appreciate can highlight where to add this column for my future use)
- ?????

My Table

Also, I've been monitoring PRSF and wanting to top up due to my early loss - but didn't do yet because it keep dropping, so was wondering on this top up thing, how does one justify this? I know basics of Mutual Fund, buy when its low and keep it for few years.

Date NAV
16/10/2014 0.6559
15/10/2014 0.6629
14/10/2014 0.6647
13/10/2014 0.6657
10/10/2014 0.6692

So I was wondering, how huge is the drop to be considered at good time to top up? (I asked this on some UTC, all answered same, just top up when its lower than your initial first NAV purchase then you wouldn't go wrong if your plan to keep for years) icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

ck_100
post Oct 17 2014, 03:52 PM

29 posts

All, Sifu needs some advice, I have been into PBM funds since few years back but don't really pay a serious attention until recently. Now, I would like to pay more attention and understand further. Below are the Funds that I hold at the moments, so wonder if they are good as long term investment?

- PIADF
- PFEPRF
- PEBF
- PIDF (EPF)
- PISEF (EPF)
- PRSF (EPF)

btw, was recommended by agent on the Cash Investment funds as below, so it is recommended? Thx again.

- PITSEQ
- PSF
- PDSF

j.passing.by
post Oct 17 2014, 04:21 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(yingwey @ Oct 17 2014, 12:13 PM)

Also, I've been monitoring PRSF and wanting to top up due to my early loss - but didn't do yet because it keep dropping, so was wondering on this top up thing, how does one justify this? I know basics of Mutual Fund, buy when its low and keep it for few years.

1) Buy when it is low... keep it for several years.
In other words, we are investing for the future; and if we are optimistic regarding the future (which directly implying growth in the economy), then everyday is low price compare to higher price in the future.

So, anytime is a good time to purchase and invest.

2) 2 main options:

A) Save and invest as you work and earn. Meaning regular purchases every month or so... for several years or as long as you like or according to your plan.

B) You have a big sum of money. Which you can either invest it all at once, or split it several times.

============

On tracking the fund/investment... the column on "sales charge/unit" is redundant.

The "NAV/unit" is also redundant. You don't use it calculate the profit/loss. (Distributions will affect it.)

Total Units x current NAV = Current Value
(1386.99 x 0.6559 = 909.73)

Current Value - Actual Invested Amount = Profit/Loss
(909.73 - 947.87 = -38.14)

Profit/Loss % = (Profit/loss) / Actual Invested Amount = -4.02%

============

How to handle Distribution Units: Pro-rata it among the several purchases.

Distribution Units = ???.??

1386.99 units + 703.79 units = 2090.78 units

1386.99/2090.78 = 66.34%
703.79/2090.78 = 33.66%

1/10/2014 purchase, add ???.?? x 66.34% units.
8/10/2014 purchase, add ???.?? x 33.66% units.

=============

Ways to improve the table:
- I would put the Fund Name in a column, instead of a heading.
- Annualized the profit/loss %.

j.passing.by
post Oct 17 2014, 04:29 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(ck_100 @ Oct 17 2014, 03:52 PM)
All, Sifu needs some advice, I have been into PBM funds since few years back but don't really pay a serious attention until recently. Now, I would like to pay more attention and understand further. Below are the Funds that I hold at the moments, so wonder if they are good as long term investment?

- PIADF
- PFEPRF
- PEBF
- PIDF (EPF)
- PISEF (EPF)
- PRSF (EPF)

btw, was recommended by agent on the Cash Investment funds as below, so it is recommended? Thx again.

- PITSEQ
- PSF
- PDSF
You can checked the fund performance using the Performance chart or using the MorningStar rating website.

http://www.publicmutual.com.my/application...formancenw.aspx

http://my.morningstar.com/ap/main1/default.aspx

You can also search this forum/topic for any past discussions on any specific issues by using the search button on the lower left...

yingwey
post Oct 17 2014, 05:22 PM

thank you j.passing.by for your feedback, shall re-adjust my table.

2 more question which i'm not too sure

1. Distribution Units - since im new investor - i don't need to take this into consideration yet right? Because i dont get it yet

2. Annualized the profit/loss % - not too sure how to work on this formula..

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Oct 17 2014, 04:21 PM)
============

How to handle Distribution Units: Pro-rata it among the several purchases.

Distribution Units = ???.??

1386.99 units + 703.79 units = 2090.78 units

1386.99/2090.78 = 66.34%
703.79/2090.78 = 33.66%

1/10/2014 purchase, add ???.?? x 66.34% units.
8/10/2014 purchase, add ???.?? x 33.66% units.

=============

Ways to improve the table:
- I would put the Fund Name in a column, instead of a heading.
- Annualized the profit/loss %.
j.passing.by
post Oct 17 2014, 06:10 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(yingwey @ Oct 17 2014, 05:22 PM)

1. Distribution Units - since im new investor - i don't need to take this into consideration yet right? Because i dont get it yet

1. Distribution is normally at financial year-end, which is 31st March for PRSF. You will get a statement by mail or you can checked it within PMO (Public Mutual Online)... transactions history... 2 days after the distribution date.

(It can be added directly to the "total units" eg. 1386.99 + xxx.xx units. So, no need extra column...)

2. See below, if you're using Excel:

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Aug 6 2014, 07:21 PM)
Annualized return or CAGR (Compound Annual Growth Rate)

sweat.gif  I've finally changed the formula in the excel file; to use the proper CAGR formula instead of simply dividing the returns by the number of days or years holding the fund.

For those interested, here's the formula:

=(POWER(K3/H3,1/(F3/365))-1)*100

K3 is the current value of the fund.
H3 is the initial value of the fund. Some would called it the purchased value or invested value.
F3 is the different between the Purchased date and the Current date.

The whole formula is multiply by 100. You can delete this *100 if you displayed the cell in %.

Please note that my file looks similar to the what is seen in the Account Enquiry page in PMO, except that I have some extra fields like Purchased Date.

-------------------
j.passing.by
post Oct 17 2014, 06:32 PM

1,639 posts

For those interested, the columns in my spreadsheet as follows:

Fund Name / Acct # / Purchased Date / Days Held / Amount Invested / Units / NAV price / Current Amount / Gains(Lost) / Gains(Lost) % / Annualised % / MGQP.

==================

Those funds I switched out, I put into another tab. The columns as follows:

Fund Name / Acct # / Purchased Date / Switched Date / Days Held / Amount Invested / Units / NAV price / Current Amount / Gains(Lost) / Gains(Lost) % / Annualised % / Switched To Fund.

==================

... with summations at the bottom of relevant columns.

(In the past 2-3 years, already switched and rolled more than half mil... but total gains doh.gif )

SUSPink Spider
post Oct 17 2014, 06:34 PM

Formerly known as Prince_Hamsap
16,872 posts

QUOTE(yingwey @ Oct 17 2014, 05:22 PM)

U may also take a look at mine:

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Atta...post&id=3363202
j.passing.by
post Oct 17 2014, 07:09 PM

1,639 posts

If anyone of you are wondering why I advocate regular purchases and also mentioned about ignoring the market, but yet posted about market situations from time to time... it's not a contradiction.

1. I'm keeping tabs on the market because I have too much free time. It's sort of a hobby.

2. I don't act solely on the market trend on whether to buy or sell. It is mainly on internal portfolio situation ie. the desired equity/bond ratio, and foreign/local equities ratio.

3. I made a drastic revamp last Dec. Pull everything into money-market funds... and slowly add back the equity funds according to a regular monthly plan. (Don't worry... I have free switches. tongue.gif )

4. When the market dips, I sometimes moved forward the monthly purchases by a week or so. It is still following a set regular purchase plan. (No point chasing the dips everyday, and making additional investments almost everyday...)

So hope those new to the forum understand what's going on... it's not say one thing, do another thing.

Cheers.

PS. You choose and invest into UT because you don't need to monitor the market too closely. Always remember the reason why you selected to invest with mutual funds.

edited: edit on the 'free' switches sentence...

This post has been edited by j.passing.by: Oct 17 2014, 07:30 PM
ck_100
post Oct 20 2014, 03:20 PM

29 posts

Hi All, wonder if the PITSEQ (Public Ittikal Sequel Fund) is a good fund to invest (with cash only)? it is trending down recently.

btw, how to check this fund performance/rating via the MorningStart website? As the search of PITSEQ return on result. blink.gif

This post has been edited by ck_100: Oct 20 2014, 04:03 PM
ck_100
post Oct 20 2014, 03:58 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Oct 17 2014, 04:29 PM)
You can checked the fund performance using the Performance chart or using the MorningStar rating website.

http://www.publicmutual.com.my/application...formancenw.aspx

http://my.morningstar.com/ap/main1/default.aspx

You can also search this forum/topic for any past discussions on any specific issues by using the search button on the lower left...
Thx you Sir for the info. biggrin.gif
xuzen
post Oct 20 2014, 09:12 PM

4,436 posts

Wow! JPB,

Your strategy ala point 1,2 & 3 is like a mirror image to mine. Gives you a bro-hug!

I too have done strategy number 3 i.e, put everything back into money-market fund and restart the DCA/VCA cycle again. This way, my capital is protected. However, I only do this for my cash portion as I am very defensive with regards to my cash investment.

Contrast this with my KWSP-MIS and PRS portfolio where my timeline is twenty years or more; I'll stay with DCA all the way... since I can't touch those assets until I retire anyway. I am more willing to take risk.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Oct 20 2014, 09:14 PM
salty.lover3
post Oct 21 2014, 02:33 PM

25 posts

Guys i have a question. I'm 19 years old and im still studying am i eligible to public mutual ? the compound investing thing ?
avms01
post Oct 21 2014, 03:23 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(j.passing.by @ Oct 17 2014, 06:10 PM)
1. Distribution is normally at financial year-end, which is 31st March for PRSF. You will get a statement by mail or you can checked it within PMO (Public Mutual Online)... transactions history... 2 days after the distribution date.

(It can be added directly to the "total units" eg. 1386.99 + xxx.xx units. So, no need extra column...)

2. See below, if you're using Excel:
On the F3 = purchased value, is this before or after service charges?
Thank you.
j.passing.by
post Oct 21 2014, 07:41 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(avms01 @ Oct 21 2014, 03:23 PM)
On the F3 = purchased value, is this before or after service charges?
Thank you.
It depends on which is more important to you, the growth of the fund or the investment. It is without service charge for the former, and with service charge for the latter.

I do something a bit more complex (and since I'm using a excel spreadsheet)... I put the service charge into the formula as a reminder.

=1000 - 52.13
(1000 is the invested value. 52.13 is the service charge.)

As mentioned in a previous post, I have 2 tabs. The 1st tab is the main page of all the funds I'm having. The 2nd tab is a history of all the funds I realised, either redeemed or switched out.

Hence in the main tab, it is without the service charge, and I'm monitoring and comparing the growth of all the funds, and also the same fund which I purchased at different dates.

When I switched out (or redeemed) any funds, I moved it to the 2nd tab. And in this 2nd tab, the actual gain of the investment is more important, so I add back the service charge by tweaking the formula:

=1000 - 52.13 + 52.13

==============

The above method can also be used when there's no switching to another fund, or redemption of a fund.

For example, there is a long list of entries of the same fund due to regular monthly purchases or DDI. The entries can be trimmed and consolidate into one entry, by treating it as if it is switched and realised, but to the same fund.

Do this at the appropriate time like calendar year-end or financial year-end.

(Note: the consolidated entry back into the 1st main tab, will then be the invested value with service charge.)

Example: 7 purchases of the same fund at different times, and going to consolidate the top 5 entries (and realised their gains), at year end.

Main tab:
1/1/2014 ....... blah, blah, blah, blah...
1/2/2014 ....... blah, blah, blah, blah...
1/3/2014 ....... blah, blah, blah, blah...
1/4/2014 ....... blah, blah, blah, blah...
1/5/2014 ....... blah, blah, blah, blah...
1/8/2014 ....... blah, blah, blah, blah...
1/10/2014 ....... blah, blah, blah, blah...

1) Move the top 5 entries to the 2nd tab.
2) Sum up their current values as on 31/12/2014.
3) Add new 31/12/2014 entry into the main tab with the total Current Values (as on 31/12/2014) as the purchased/invested value.

Main tab will look like below:
1/8/2014 ....... blah, blah, blah, blah...
1/10/2014 ....... blah, blah, blah, blah...
31/12/2014 ....... blah, blah, blah, blah...

Eventually, after years of investing and switching or consolidation of the entries, the main tab will reflect the 'real' invested value (which is plus all the service charges and any switching fees incurred.) smile.gif

This post has been edited by j.passing.by: Oct 21 2014, 07:46 PM
j.passing.by
post Oct 21 2014, 08:10 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Oct 20 2014, 09:12 PM)

Wow! JPB,

Your strategy ala point 1,2 & 3 is like a mirror image to mine. Gives you a bro-hug!

I too have done strategy number 3 i.e, put everything back into money-market fund and restart the DCA/VCA cycle again. This way, my capital is protected. However, I only do this for my cash portion as I am very defensive with regards to my cash investment.

Contrast this with my KWSP-MIS and PRS portfolio where my timeline is twenty years or more; I'll stay with DCA all the way... since I can't touch those assets until I retire anyway. I am more willing to take risk.

Xuzen
smile.gif looking after the short term as well as the long term... but there is a cost to it (the pulling in the funds and restarting and maybe switching directions too) when the timing is not right, ... but that is not important when there's no new money flowing in and having some fun rolling the old money to consume time; and do some 'experiment' on new ideas and test the nerves and threshold of pain. biggrin.gif

basSist
post Oct 21 2014, 10:41 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

hi all, just want to check with u all,, does public mutual offer fund that invests into precious metals (gold&silver)?

149 Pages « < 131 132 133 134 135 > » Top

0.0441sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:00 AM