shootkk
post Sep 5 2012, 05:40 PM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

Hi to all the sifus in this thread.

I have a problem and I do not know if it's common or if it's just me.

I have subscribed to Astro B.yond HD channels many months ago. I noticed that there is a problem with ALL my HD channels. My SD channels are just fine.

The problem with my HD channels is that sometimes the screen blacks out. No display plus no sound. The period for the black outs are random but usually they lasts for about 1 to 3 seconds. Then the display and sound comes back.

I noticed that the problem is especially bad with Channel 309 (Celestial HD) where it can happen about 5 to 6 times when watching a movie. It happens to all HD channels but I seem to notice that Discovery HD channels (channels in the 500 to 600 range) seem to be least affected and BTW I do not have the Sports channels.

This problem has been there from Day 1 ever since I subscribed. My parents say that they too have this problem but since I do not live with them, I cannot verify that it's the same problem.

My decoder is connected to my LED TV via a HDMI cable. I have tried swapping HDMI ports but the issue remains.

Any one has any suggestion on how to fix this?

Thanks in advance!
shootkk
post Sep 6 2012, 09:29 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Sep 6 2012, 01:30 AM)
Are you using your own cable or Assteruk's provided cable?
Try using a different cable (preferably also shorter cable) and see if the problem persists. If yes then try a different HDMI port on the TV and/or a different TV. If still got the problem then confirm decoder defective.But if the problem goes away on different HDMI port on the TV or on different TV, then the TV has damaged
Thank you for your suggestion! I will try to use a different HDMI cable and yes, I'm using Assteruk's cable. biggrin.gif

I would hazard a guess that my TV's HDMI ports are ok. I have 4 HDMI ports on my TV. 3 of them are connected. 1 to the Assteruk's decoder, 1 to my Bluray player and 1 to a digital media player. No other ports have displayed any problems and I have tried switching the HDMI ports for Assteruk and the issue is still there. I have also used the last HDMI port to connect to my laptop for gaming sessions and still no issues.

Anyway, I will try using another HDMI cable tonight. Luckily I have one spare one lying about. If that does not solve the issue, Assteruk's customer service is going to get a call from me. tongue.gif

0.0448sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:43 AM