Astro B.yond Episode V (Version 10.0), HD, PVR, IPTV and VOD

ronnie
post Aug 13 2012, 07:50 AM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(chuppachop @ Aug 12 2012, 08:57 PM)
F.y.I.

fashiontv HD and fashionHD On Demand starts 15 Aug on mio TV. Rated Mature 18.
That's the show with Lingerie Fashion Walk, right ?
drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
ronnie
post Aug 14 2012, 11:59 PM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(Xtm_Flounder @ Aug 14 2012, 09:30 PM)
Hello everyone. I just got b.yond box from astro today (non-HD non-PVR subscription). it is the only replacement for our kaputed old decoder. I noticed there is USB port at the back of the b.yond decoder.

Are there other purpose or abilities other than PVR recording?
eg. USB Bluetooth dongle, wireless usb hub, Image viewing, play Mp3 or MP4 on Usb stick.
Put a USB fan to cool the B.yond decoder to extend its life
ronnie
post Aug 17 2012, 10:49 AM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

Register for Astro E-billing and stand a chance to win the New iPad
ronnie
post Aug 17 2012, 05:43 PM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ Aug 17 2012, 04:06 PM)
har?
Chipsmore : Now you see it, now you don't
ronnie
post Sep 2 2012, 11:53 PM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(limchee @ Sep 2 2012, 11:26 PM)
no news… still normal SD KBS
Suppose to "switch" on 3-Sep-2012
ronnie
post Sep 3 2012, 12:05 AM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

Won't a new KBS HD channel be introduced ?
ronnie
post Sep 3 2012, 11:57 PM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(Neptern @ Sep 3 2012, 11:41 PM)
I want real KBS world HD as well.Why the heck downscale it...zzz
At least now KBSWorld looks watchable... rather than the washed out look previously.. worst SD channel
ronnie
post Sep 5 2012, 11:40 AM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(jamesleetech @ Sep 5 2012, 01:30 AM)
No problemo, glad to help.

I will never pay for the printed copy when subscribers were given free printed hard copies in the early years of As*teruk since 1996 ! Why should we pay now for the printed copy when they also got revenue from advertisers to the magazine.
I still get my AstroView free copies in my mailbox... FOC
ronnie
post Sep 5 2012, 02:05 PM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Sep 5 2012, 01:12 PM)
The astroview monthly magazine is still mailed to Astro subscribers FOC. But of course, this only applies to old subscribers who sent to reply to Astro before they changed it to a paid subscription. If you have been an Astro subscriber since... late 2005 or 2006 BUT did not complete the form they sent to you by year end, you will not get astroview magazine. Basically it was like an early bird special. If you want to continue to get the magazine for free every month, then you have to complete the form and mail it back to Astro. After the offer period, you still can get the astroview magazine but you'll have to pay for it.
That's absolutely RIGHT !!!!
ronnie
post Sep 6 2012, 12:40 PM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Sep 6 2012, 09:15 AM)
Malaysia has the biggest problem on the issue of subtitles simply bcos of silly goverment education policy.
What's the "silly goverment education policy" about ?
ronnie
post Sep 17 2012, 10:35 AM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(judesh @ Sep 17 2012, 08:59 AM)
Sorry if this has been asked before but how can we check which hd channels are linked to which package.
I am thinking to upgrade to hd. Am currently on basic package learning and variety.
Here's the list of HD channels on Astro B.yond : http://www.astro.com.my/byond/articles/art_7929.html
or Full Channel List @ http://www.astro.com.my/portal/channels-3
ronnie
post Sep 18 2012, 11:14 PM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(ethangoh @ Sep 18 2012, 10:29 PM)
hello.... need to ask bout beyond...

This morning i got call from astro saying that my old decorder is not under waranty anymore. So this caller suggest to me to upgrade to beyond without any installation fees and so on. Just need to add additional RM20 for the monthly payment.

My question is if i decided to upgrade to beyond, can i watch all the programs from normal tv? or do i need to buy new HD tv just to watch from beyond?

Please clarify. Thanks in advance.
A normal CRT TV will still work with Astro B.yond decoders
ronnie
post Sep 19 2012, 10:44 PM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(jackdon @ Sep 19 2012, 09:05 PM)

First posting here. I am a Astro Beyond subscriber with the first Generation Beyond PVR with no internal HDD (am using an External WD). My monthly subscription is about RM155/=.

Just receive a call from CS offering me an additional PVR and replace my existing unit with the new PVR @ RM50/= extra per month (total 2 new PVR). Installation charges is RM100/=.

I had taken up the offer as my wife has taken over the existing Astro with the usual AOD chinese show and the Korean series one after another.

Is it worth it ? Also I understand that the new PVR with Twin decoder needs to have additional cable installed is that true?

jackdon.
Yes. the newer B.yond PVR has dual tuner (i.e. 2 cables come in from the B.yond Dish).
RM50 is quite cheap...
ronnie
post Sep 20 2012, 01:15 AM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(jackdon @ Sep 20 2012, 12:23 AM)
WOW if I have 2 decoder then I need 4 cables coming into the house  shocking.gif

jackdon
That I'm not too sure... the other sifu can assist ?
ronnie
post Sep 22 2012, 01:55 AM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Sep 22 2012, 01:50 AM)
I know that we can't simply take out a Smartcard from an Astro Beyond decoder to use it on another Astro Beyond decoder. But what if I take out the whole Astro Beyond decoder with the Smartcard and bring it with me to another house that also has an active Astro subscription ? Will I be able to watch it ? I'm going to my grandmom's next weekend and I intend to do so as i'm subscribed to Superpack 3 while my grandmom's Astro only has the family favorites package.

By the way, The Astro dish installed at my grandmom's is the new bigger beyond dish. So, will it work ?
Yes... the decoder+Smart Card can be "transported"
ronnie
post Sep 22 2012, 11:04 AM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(azmiie69 @ Sep 22 2012, 09:47 AM)
It seems ASTRO opening all its channel again.  Maybe due to its listing.
Time to record them on my PVR... until when ?
ronnie
post Sep 22 2012, 10:42 PM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ Sep 22 2012, 09:51 PM)
record also no use, the recorded shows will be auto deleted once they lock back the channels
Not true.... try it and you will know why we record them.
ronnie
post Sep 22 2012, 11:12 PM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(PhakFuhZai @ Sep 22 2012, 11:10 PM)
i dun have PVR le

thesedays in certain channels got show certain codes with few characters and numbers, the same code as in those olympics and EURO channels back then

wonder what are the purposes of those thing
Those codes don't bother me... i guess it's Astro security codes.
ronnie
post Sep 23 2012, 02:00 AM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Sep 23 2012, 12:22 AM)
I bought Avengers on astrobest. First time buying a movie. The HD quality is not bad but RM10 for a movie, pricey I must say.
It's cheaper than a movie ticket and you can have your friends over to watch together
ronnie
post Sep 23 2012, 11:29 PM

Not enough stars
21,309 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ Sep 23 2012, 10:36 PM)
terminate astro must gove back smart card? when i called for terminating, they dont say a word for returning the smart card when i asked bout it. suddently got bill said rm50 for not returning the card. WTH?
Yes you must return the SMART CARD when terminating your Astro. Either mail-in or return to Astro Centers

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1270sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:47 AM