Astro B.yond Episode V (Version 10.0), HD, PVR, IPTV and VOD

greyshadow
post Oct 24 2012, 05:13 PM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

their HD channels are all supposedly broadcast in either 720p or 1080i as advertised, right?

just last night after watching my downloaded 720p Walking Dead S03E01, then switch to Astro, just in time to catch the same episode on Starworld HD

As my memory is still very fresh from just watching the downloaded version, i noticed that the Astro version is darker, dimmer, grainier and not as clear as the downloaded 720p version I've just watch

Is Astro actually broadcast in lower res than advertised? hmm.gif

Added on October 24, 2012, 5:19 pm
QUOTE(dxjb @ Oct 22 2012, 11:28 PM)
Anyone here or anyone knows who can speed up my Astro application process? damn slow man..

They offered me that RM50 flat rate 2nd Byond more than a month ago..and I accepted and Ive been trying to get updates on the status..been calling them every three days for the past week yet their response is still no installer..

Who can speed up the process?
I guess it pretty much depends on the installer in your area
mine installed 3 times, all responded within 1 week tongue.gif
subscribe Superpack on Tuesday, Friday came install liao
then took the free upgrade to PVR on Monday, Thursday came
then took the 2nd decoder @ RM50 on Friday eve, Monday morning want to came install liao sweat.gif
all by different installer, and when I check with them on their schedules, they are uber packed, so many orders until hardly got time for a meal
all ever since Astro introduced the superpack packages

This post has been edited by greyshadow: Oct 24 2012, 05:19 PM
greyshadow
post Oct 25 2012, 07:59 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(GKWong @ Oct 24 2012, 05:58 PM)
Can you check what's the signal strength from your STB? I noticed that when the signal strength is low, some HD channel quality will be grainier. After I re-adjust the satelite dish myself and installed in-line amplifier, the grainy picture is no more. Previously my signal strength is just around 42db. Now I around 70db.
can't remember the exact figure, but prior to have my decoder upgraded to PVR, signal strength was full bar
change to PVR, it drop to around 90%
then when i got my 2nd decoder, it dropped again to around 75%
the installer claim it's normal since now I got 4 cables going from a single dish
anyone can verify if it's true? hmm.gif

but signal quality is always 100% hmm.gif
greyshadow
post Oct 30 2012, 10:24 AM

1,844 posts

i wonder why the fook astro don't want to air the english sub in most of their programs doh.gif
when they purchased those programs, native english sub is already bundled together, but they choose to air the non-native crappy translated BM sub pula doh.gif

greyshadow
post Oct 31 2012, 09:54 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 31 2012, 07:45 AM)
Do you mean we can select different package for the separate decoder @ RM50 (MultiRoom) ? I thought we must follow the primary decoder's package
multiroom followed the primary decoder package
doesn't matter how much you're paying for your primary package, every single multiroom decoder is fixed at monthly RM50, following whatever programs your primary package has

so it's more worth it if the primary package has more programs

greyshadow
post Nov 5 2012, 05:21 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(Griever5177 @ Nov 5 2012, 04:02 PM)
Hi. I'm new user for Astro Beyond.
Currently all my HD channels has this "copy protection failed".

Is there any solution on how to solve this?
just need to call Astro CS to fix
greyshadow
post Nov 19 2012, 04:24 PM

1,844 posts

recently my HBO HD quality is really like sh1t!
bloody grainy
whereas KBSW HD and S1 HD are bloody sharp & crisp doh.gif
greyshadow
post Feb 28 2013, 03:21 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Feb 26 2013, 11:49 PM)
Astro IPTV is coming to landed houses soon.... anyone got more details on the package?
just got a call from TMnet yesterday, told me my area's line (copper, no fiber yet) has been upgraded to IPTV ready, asking me if I wanted to upgrade me screamyx package to the new 8MB package or not, but contract for 1 year with no promotion/discount whatsoever... hmm.gif
and i thought Assteruk IPTV is running on TIME fiber only hmm.gif

something fishy there, sounds like TM are afraid to lose more customer once IPTV is launched for my area for the landed properties biggrin.gif

anyway... hopefully the package is attractive enough as I currently are paying more than RM300+ for Assteruk Superpack3+multiroom+1mb screamyx
greyshadow
post Mar 1 2013, 09:03 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(willkso @ Feb 28 2013, 09:22 PM)
Nope.. That's just 8mbps screamyx and not IPTV capable. Those IPTV like unifi or the rest have a dedicated 8mbps for the IPTV function on top of your subscribed package.
crap~ why the heck that telesales lady told me the line there its upgraded to IPTV ready? hmm.gif

greyshadow
post Mar 19 2013, 11:13 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(thoseeyes @ Mar 19 2013, 10:52 AM)
need some help...

my uncle is staying in condo with normal astro decoder.

I got an extra beyond decoder, can I give the beyond decoder to him and just install to his condo to enable him to watch beyond HD channels?

or need some settings or need to change the card?

won't work
1) now the smartcard is tied to the decoder, means the smartcard won't work on other decoder
2) HD channel need extra RM20 monthly, it doesn't come free with the byond decoder

best bet is to contact assteruk CS to tell them want upgrade to HD
usually they'll replace the old decoder with the new one FOC with 12 month contract

greyshadow
post Mar 19 2013, 11:48 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(thoseeyes @ Mar 19 2013, 11:25 AM)
meaning when astruk ppl come in upgrade old decoder by changing to beyond decoder, so they will provide new smart also. And this card is tied to the beyond decoder. Am i right?

usually they'll reuse back the card, the technician will call the Service center and update them on the new ID and such
greyshadow
post Apr 4 2013, 10:56 AM

1,844 posts

has anyone tried their VOD services?
just notice there's a Catch-up VOD, which is already included in my superpack

but dunno how fast the internet line speed need to be... hmm.gif
greyshadow
post Apr 10 2013, 05:03 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Apr 10 2013, 08:13 AM)
If shorter cable did not help, try change to better quality cable. Better still, when buying that shorter cable, get the better quality one. Normally better quality one is more expensive, cable is stiffer due to better shielding and thicker wires, gold plated connector etc. I connect mine thru HDMI switches and muxes and using quality cables eliminated the flickering.
not this again... tongue.gif

only applies to analog signals, not applicable for digital signals

If getting a short HDMI cable (less than 3M), any brand and the cheapest one will do, no need to pay extra for those super expensive branded HDMI cable. Just make sure the version is latest one. wink.gif

greyshadow
post Apr 15 2013, 08:28 AM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Apr 15 2013, 07:56 AM)
Why is it super expensive? I just paid rm30 for it. Compare to the one supplied by Astro, it is much better quality.
brand, packaging & build material

0.0488sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:16 PM