HP Pavillion DV6-6XXX series Owners Lounge V6, >9000 owners. Like a boss.

kenhirai83
post Aug 8 2013, 10:53 PM

85 posts

Hi all,

What is the latest AMD version for DV6-6001tx ?

kenhirai83
post Aug 9 2013, 04:49 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Aug 9 2013, 09:38 AM)
Hello everyone, need your expertise on this issue cry.gif

recently i dled and installed ati driver 13.6 beta 2 from leshcatlabs.net, then the brightness can't be adjusted (same as previous),

last time after i switch to intel card, change the brightness, then change back to ati, everything works fine, and brightness can be controlled even using ati at that time

now, after i installed 13.6 beta 2, the method before can't be used anymore, and i have to switch card to adjust the brightness everytime i start up my pc. Then i used the brightness resolver, i changed to value like F840, F900, F940, all these just brought up BSOD, then i have to boot into safe mode to set it back to FFFF just to enter back my main window (even after i reinstalled the driver, the screen flickers whenever enter the main window, sigh).

Can anyone helps me on the brightness and flickering issue? thank you.
Same issue with i download the official ati driver 13.4.
After install the driver, the monitor become dim and cannot adjust the brightness for the monitor.
But if you extend to extended monitor, everything look fine.

Now roll back to official HP ati driver. Looking for for better alternative.
P/S: before that was using dna 11 version .
kenhirai83
post Aug 9 2013, 06:46 PM

85 posts

Currently updated to Leshcat’s Catalyst 13.1 WHQL UnifL V2.1.
Workable without the laptop monitor brightness become dim.

Acid, you upgraded to Window 8.
Does manage to found all the driver for the laptop ?
kenhirai83
post Aug 9 2013, 10:02 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Aug 9 2013, 07:06 PM)
so meaning that leshcat's catalyst 13.1 works fine for the brightness and everything else?
mind to guide me on how to do a rollback and reinstall for my ati driver? thank you!  notworthy.gif
Yup... everything running normally.
You can refer to leshcat installation manual guide.
Link
kenhirai83
post Aug 12 2013, 05:11 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Aug 11 2013, 09:12 AM)
looks like that brightness resolver alre did a toll on my brightness setting. After 13.1 made my pc totally frozen during watching a movie on it. i reverted back to 12.11 (which i used before all these problems happened), the brightness adjustment only work everytime after i did the switching between intel and ati graphic card, this method no longer can fix my problem permanently...sigh, should not have use that brightness resolver in the first place....cry.gif
You case look more serious. I only encounter image lagging issue when open certain mkv file with Media Player Classic (K-Lite Codepack).
But if using VLC player to see, dont have this kind of issue.

But one question, does upgrade to latest driver. Will bring better resolution or image quality ?

kenhirai83
post Apr 28 2014, 06:23 PM

85 posts

The USB mouse you also got this kind of problem ? I always though is my mouse problem.

Hmm, anyone have this kind of weird experience ?
kenhirai83
post Jun 11 2014, 11:58 PM

85 posts

Just realize that my warranty end last month 24-May.
Didn't send for last minute check. So far so good.
Just recently play diablo3 abit lag. this laptop serve me well !
kenhirai83
post Jun 12 2014, 12:05 AM

85 posts

What is the latest graphic driver all using ?
kenhirai83
post Aug 14 2014, 05:54 PM

85 posts

Acid_RuleZz, you laptop still running on Window 8 ?
last time heard you said driver got some problem in window 8 right ?

And which version of GC driver you using currently ?
kenhirai83
post Sep 22 2014, 02:20 PM

85 posts

OMG.. just 3 month expired the warranty. Now my laptop caused me problem.

send to service center, diagnosed Thermal module and hard disk got problem. ( i send in for thermal module problem only ).

Being quote for RM715.30 for replace Hard Disc and Termal fans.
But their 750GB hard disc so expensive, part price before discount RM 624.75.
Was been given 30% discount, but still need RM440 for a 750GB hard disc.

kenhirai83
post Sep 22 2014, 03:10 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Sep 22 2014, 02:49 PM)
Thermal module? What happen when this thing broke?
The fan beside the laptop lor. It stop working and keep making click click click sound.
no hot wind blow out. very bad luck as why not spoil during warranty period.

kenhirai83
post Sep 22 2014, 03:39 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Sep 22 2014, 03:21 PM)
Oh, i thought it's some chip on the mainboard. sweat.gif 
Tough luck man, you can try reassemble the fan yourself though and you definitely can change the HDD yourself. It's only cost RM200+ on 1TB HDD.
Now wait and see how much they will re-quote me only replace the fans. Will change the HDD myself.

kenhirai83
post Oct 7 2014, 05:24 PM

85 posts

Send in for inspection if warranty still valid.

My Fan just MIA and spend RM300 for repair it.
But still can buy 1 more year warranty(expired) for the laptop, after they diagnosed the machine.
kenhirai83
post Jun 10 2015, 03:14 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(LordReaper @ Apr 28 2015, 06:16 PM)
My 3 years old hp dv6 gpu fan has spoiled i think because whenever i startup the laptop a message of the cooling system has stop functioning(in system screen).

May I know what is the price of replacing the fan/cooling system for hp dv6(model dv6-6 series) and also reapply of thermal paste ?

If I were to seek for such services, it is recommended to do at hp service center or any computer repair shop will do ?

Thank for any information
I had send back to HP to replace the fan/cooling system last year (September). Cost me about total RM400.

Beside that, if want to replay the optical drive to Hard drive Candy. Does any model or size also can fit into it ?
Coz last time seem like read about not perfectly match the size.

This post has been edited by kenhirai83: Jun 10 2015, 03:15 PM
kenhirai83
post Jun 11 2015, 10:38 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(christina1 @ Jun 11 2015, 08:12 AM)
How will know that ur cooling fan is giving problem?
My case very obvious. The fan stop blowing air out.
Laptop auto shut down after using awhile due to overheat.
kenhirai83
post Aug 9 2015, 12:55 AM

85 posts

Just upgraded to Window 10.
Every things look fine but

1. No sound on headphone.
2. Got one unknow device in Device Manager. (Device ACPI\HPQ0004). Google it said is HP ProtectSmart Hard Drive Protection.

So far these are the 2 issue encounter currently. Will try to resolve it.
kenhirai83
post Aug 9 2015, 12:56 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(Hezegroth @ Aug 8 2015, 01:15 AM)
finally fix the black screen issue,

i forgot to install the intel driver only amd.

yeah overall everything is ok in windows performance.

still not playing some games or any other major task.
You using official AMD driver ?
the intel driver is official HP driver ? or from intel ?

This post has been edited by kenhirai83: Aug 9 2015, 12:57 AM
kenhirai83
post Aug 10 2015, 12:53 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Aug 9 2015, 01:39 AM)
1. Headphone working fine for me. Are you using default Win10 driver or Win8 driver?

2. Yeah that is HP ProtectSmart, i ignored it since i'm using SSDs.
If i'm not mistaken he used Leshcat 15.7 driver.
Headphone got Window 10 or Window 8 driver ?
My both sound driver show High Definition Audio Device.

kenhirai83
post Feb 25 2016, 04:34 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(elco-ph @ Dec 7 2015, 05:29 PM)
Hi everyone. Been a long while since my last post (December 20, 2011). I use my DV6-6168TX almost every day and it has been a reliable workhorse.

A few days ago, I decided to upgrade to an SSD.

Instead of reinstalling Windows, I used a disk cloning tool to copy my old hard drive to the SSD.

Now my DV6 is very very fast!

Here are some photos:

elco-ph, which model of candy driver you using ? also plan to upgrade to SSD.

Never though this model of laptop thread still can very active. Now running window 10.
replace HDD with SDD should be very perfect.
kenhirai83
post Oct 2 2017, 12:11 PM

85 posts

Anyone using 3rd party battery ? My unit battery finally RIP.
Original selling 2xx. expensive.

0.0483sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 05:26 PM