:Official Dopod 818 Pro/HTC Prophet/XDA Neo Club:, Discuss it here...
nles
Mar 29 2006, 01:04 AM
Hmm nice. Well currently 818 pro still doesn't support A2DP right? Waiting the new rom. Also hoping the new rom can increase the Wifi reception.
This post has been edited by nles: Mar 29 2006, 01:07 AM
nles
Apr 1 2006, 12:13 PM
QUOTE(detophobia @ Apr 1 2006, 10:34 AM) Anybody try to overclock their dopod before??My friend just did it in lowyat..very messy job bout RM80 coz need to download lots of thing but I can tell ya its dammmn worth-it! Very fast that U can enjoy your videos without any lagg at all!But one thing Im not sure for long term use...Anyway I'll update soon..Can't wait to overclock mine also.. mamakap overclocked his dopod before. Check back previous post u can find his comment.
nles
Apr 10 2006, 01:24 PM
The only thing that is stopping me from buying a 818 pro now is the support for AKU2/A2DP. Hope dopod will release a rom update for AKU2 soon.
nles
Oct 19 2006, 08:03 PM
The speaker problem is worrying me. Should i get the phone or not >_<
nles
Oct 22 2006, 01:09 AM
OMG, just bought 818 pro juz now at midvalley from PDAexpert. RM2k the unit only with screen protector.
The salesman is very good, Mr.Chong. 1st time i went there just asking the price then I went in to shop around, later I came out looking at the silicon case, he serve me again. I told him I dun own a phone yet then he asked me to sit down and show me those pda phones.
At 1st he introduce me the 838 because got promotion but dun like the phone. He then bring out 818 pro, RW6828. He asked me whether I used pda phone before or not, I told him nope and he explained those pda function to me. He also told me the pros and cons of those model.
At 1st I just wanna survey and try the phone but my gf kept on convince me to buy it. She knows that I wanted a pda phone for a long time. I asked him about the speaker problem he didn't deny it either, he told me that 5 out of 10 customer face this problem. Well at least his honest not like some salesman just staight away saying customer blast speaker too loud.
The demo unit speaker also spoiled, then he bring out new unit to let me try, takes some time to configure the windows media player. He also bring few silicon cases to let me try on. The reason I brought this unit home also because of his customer service, later when I decided to buy a black unit, he bring out a new black unit and then explain to me their choice of software, see whether what software I want to install on the phone.
My 818 Pro unit the Call/End Call button is in silver unlike other's in black. Is all the newer batch like this? Now it's time for me to read through the whole topic and few other forums. Any forumer here using 4GB card on their 818 pro? Is it okie? I plan to get leather case for it, any recommendation? Advise on software and tweaks to install on the unit? I know got this A2DP and Overclock hack.
This post has been edited by nles: Oct 22 2006, 01:23 AM
nles
Oct 29 2006, 06:29 PM
QUOTE(wanwarlock @ Oct 29 2006, 06:22 PM) wow damn cun ur 818, is that a vista skin? the pictures are ok, but definitely could be better. ram size is small, but u can unlock external rom and delete all the dopod proggies and save some space. Not very good with the camera settings. What proggies to be deleted and around how much space can be save? I remember you need to hard reset it and stop the installation right? Anyone here pro in setting up tcpmp eq?
nles
Oct 30 2006, 08:20 AM
818 is also known as XDA II Mini, is using WM2003 I think.
Around the price range of 818 Pro, I think got O2 Atom and HP RW6828 ba.
Really can feel the slight lag of 818 Pro, maybe cause I install the theme. Trying to Overclock it.
I find the power on/off button to be less tacticle than those camera and comm manager button, is that normal?
nles
Nov 2 2006, 03:49 AM
From ppcsg there's ppl bought after-market 1800Mah battery for 818 pro. Anyone know where can I get those in Malaysia?
nles
Nov 4 2006, 06:46 PM
QUOTE(ResQ @ Nov 3 2006, 04:33 PM) boleh ajar sikit mcm mana nak buat Today Screen you ni? I also learn at wisbar forum. U need wisbar v2 and wisbar advance desktop. Theme can download at wisbar forum, there's also tutorial there QUOTE(JET @ Nov 3 2006, 11:00 PM) Hi wanwarlock, May I know how you unlock the external ROM and delete those unwanted pre-installed software??? This method only uninstall more program to save storage memory in the device to let you save more things in the device. The ram size still remain unchange. QUOTE(shackks @ Nov 4 2006, 08:36 AM) hellooo... anyone here that experience this b4?? anyway to overcome this issue? Maybe is software problem? My 1st time also liddat then I did a hard reset and install those software again.
nles
Jun 14 2007, 06:20 PM
My 818 pro cacat for almost few weeks edy. No time to reformat it also. The screen alignment mis align like crazy. I can't tap any nuts on the screen. Even I use the align screen settings I still can't set my alignment right, it's like I'm not tapping on the screen. Can't even call/sms ppl, so sad. Before this my screen misalign maybe 2-3 days once, now few times a day. Never install any extra app dunno why become liddat.
nles
Jun 15 2007, 01:45 AM
QUOTE(Jeve @ Jun 14 2007, 09:56 PM) Hardware problem. Screen digitizer aka touchscreen malfunction. Bring it back for repair if under warranty. Otherwise find someone to repair for you for much lower cost, http://www.lelong.com.my/store/gtoracer1 for example. I personally avoid Dopod service center, they will attemp to overcharge you no matter what problem you have. If you have the $$$ go ahead and let them fix it. For me I repair it myself by ordering parts from eBay, you may do that if you are adventurous. Is still under warranty. But will they said the misalign is cause by software installed?
nles
Jun 15 2007, 03:14 AM
QUOTE(Suicidal Guy @ Jun 15 2007, 02:48 AM) hard reset before sending in...no chance for them to blame your softwares...hehe Then I guess I better send to them before I go flash WM6 lolx. How long does it usually take? Service center at LYP right?
nles
Jun 17 2007, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(shackks @ Jun 15 2007, 08:49 AM) they won' say that. If they try that with you, shoot them kaw kaw and ask them how izzit that the software you installed that cause all this and ask them to identify the appz thatz cause the problem with valid evidence. Be tough but gentle and you'll win the case. Btw, to relate a similar issue I've experience. I do experience screen misalignment when I was using WM5 too. It happens after 2-3 days after I soft reset my PDA or my memoryy has dropped to 19mb or so... I sent to SiS Spore and they response that I'll have to absorbed the cost of rectify this problem as I could not produce my proof of purchase to support my claim for warranty. They repair my speaker FOC tho... Best of all, itz a Super lenglui (those with A1 body and no "Berlin Wall" make-up). But then, I kinda realised that after I installed WM6, I do not experience this issue anymore. Maybe you'll wan to try it. cheers Got no time to format it yet, gonna do it maybe next month. My one is getting worst. Normally when u tap on the screen the backlight will lighten right? I tap everywhere around my screen the backlight also won't lighten up. I wonder it misalign until where already.
nles
Jun 18 2007, 03:37 AM
QUOTE(Jeve @ Jun 17 2007, 10:24 PM) Besides no backlight, any response while you tap on the screen? If there is response then sorry, your LCD is gone too.. backlight dead precisely. Otherwise is better, touchscreen dead hence not registering your tap. Dun think so is gone, it's just misalign badly until it's like I din tap on the screen. After a while or soft reset then I can align screen again. But after a while the screen misalign again lolx.
nles
Sep 22 2007, 04:54 AM
Anyone can send me the PDAV_Temp ROM? Rapidshare seems to delete all those link, wanna try flashing to WM6.
Edit: Found a working link edy, now trying to flash it.
This post has been edited by nles: Sep 22 2007, 04:58 AM
nles
Sep 23 2007, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(kurt @ Sep 23 2007, 07:00 PM) Oh, thanks...but how can I modify my registries? I need to connect it to my labtop then run?  I used resco explorer which come with a registry editor, but there's should be other way to edit the registry. Currently running on 4.0.0.5b Cross, so far so good.
nles
Sep 26 2007, 09:49 AM
QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Sep 25 2007, 08:55 PM) Can dopod 818 pro support 2gb sd card a not? Should be not a problem. I'm even using a 4GB Apacer SD Card.
nles
Sep 26 2007, 04:40 PM
QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Sep 26 2007, 03:50 PM) I check through this thread, 50%-50%. You seriously using 4GB? Got any problem? Yes I'm using 4gb SD card, so far dun have any problem, been using it for almost a year but last time b4 I buy I saw there's a few brand have compatible problem. SO better buy those that you can check before u buy. Just put in the sd card and see whether ur phone can detect it with 4GB space or not.
nles
Sep 27 2007, 06:29 AM
probably more powerful than xda II mini ba.