Aug 7 2012, 08:57 PM
75 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
Same here. CMFs. Then Star Wars. Now LOTR. I'm a Lego-holic! LOL!
Aug 7 2012, 08:58 PM
Monster Fighters! Please... stay far, far away. In a galaxy far, far away even better! LOL!
Aug 7 2012, 09:00 PM
Aug 7 2012, 09:01 PM
Am I on top in this first page? Kakaka!
Aug 7 2012, 09:04 PM
So, who's getting/gotten the Lego SW Visual Dictionary? I'm getting mine this weekend
Han's not gonna be so lonely now. Let's see what kinda combo my kid can come up with now. LOL! |
Aug 7 2012, 09:18 PM
QUOTE(dilvin @ Aug 7 2012, 09:02 PM) Cross reference top posters from v1 thru 3, then u know who've been lurking. LOL! Kiddin'!Added on August 7, 2012, 9:18 pm QUOTE(orestes @ Aug 7 2012, 09:07 PM) it's easy to know who post in this thread and how many ... How?just click the number of replies outside this thread ... it doesnt mean anything negative .. just showing who's been most active in each threads ... so chill .. ^^ NVM. Figured it out already. This post has been edited by lowyatben: Aug 7 2012, 09:20 PM |
Aug 8 2012, 11:09 AM
Siapa belum dapat lagi? Mari, mari! Jom beli
![]() |
Aug 8 2012, 11:29 AM
QUOTE(dilvin @ Aug 8 2012, 11:16 AM) Display set got discount ka? I think those belong to the tai ko there. He set up the store and "loan" some of his collections for display.QUOTE(dilvin @ Aug 8 2012, 11:16 AM) Kena tax leh! But I guess they're still cheaper than getting all of them here? |
Aug 8 2012, 04:07 PM
Aug 8 2012, 05:10 PM
QUOTE(kenny_pang @ Aug 8 2012, 05:02 PM) Answer from Lego back in 2008. It is outdated and twisted logic to me. http://www.brothers-brick.com/2008/08/01/w...st-lego-prices/ QUOTE Finally, final pricing in the market place is obviously determined by retailers, which is something we cannot and will not influence. Funny the retailers got the blame and the consumers/collectors/AFOLs/scalpers bear the cost of the blame. They conveniently forgot the distributor, who's laughing all the way to the bank. Welcome to Malaysia, the "apa2 pun Boleh jadi kita pun bina dan buka Legoland untuk meraih banyak lagi keuntungan bukan sahaja dari M'sia tetapi juga Singapura dan lain2". |
Aug 8 2012, 05:43 PM
QUOTE(touya_zell @ Aug 8 2012, 05:17 PM) i believed this all round up to economic of scale if large market, then can sell cheap (US) if small market (Mlysia) where many ppl not buy Lego n not into it, then hv to sell higher price just to make profit i might be wrong tho QUOTE(kenny_pang @ Aug 8 2012, 05:17 PM) This business model is not sustainable for Lego, the world is getting smaller. You can see it now that the Legoland is here and is just next to Singapore which has a significantly lower price. QUOTE(kenny_pang @ Aug 8 2012, 05:25 PM) They better pray our income increase faster, or else to sustain profit price will increase and market will decrease and when market decreases price increases ....... Already happened with Sideshow, Hot Toys, Hasbro... Marvel and DC Comics... our food and drinks... Everything keeps on increasing... Even when Ringgit was stronger, things still remain at higher price points with distributors and retailers citing "increasing freight charges" and all that. What goes up (and up) never comes down hor? Can only go higher. Sigh!And I believe Lego prices in S'pore have gone up in the last few months... Gonna match M'sian prices soon?! QUOTE(kenny_pang @ Aug 8 2012, 05:17 PM) They alienating many potential fans and push them to other brands. If they sell here at the US price points. I probably have every SW sets they released, I will still spend just as much but I will be more satisfied. Funny thing is, I moved from Hasbro to Lego... And I'm spending... MORE. Scary leh...!QUOTE(mecharojak @ Aug 8 2012, 05:31 PM) If retailers in Malaysia is jacking up prices of Lego toys by a large profit margin, how come during sales time in department stores only gives out 10% discount at most? QUOTE(dilvin @ Aug 8 2012, 05:35 PM) QUOTE(ilfort @ Aug 8 2012, 05:37 PM) Retailers profit margin is 30% only, those you see LEGO sales back then is because ALJ warehouse got a lot of stocks. QUOTE(kenny_pang @ Aug 8 2012, 05:37 PM) You're right, ALJ is the distributor not retailer and they set the recommended retail price. Want to know another funny thing? Apparently "SALES", i.e. how much discount to offer, is also determined by the real culprit!!! QUOTE(kenny_pang @ Aug 8 2012, 05:37 PM) Can we all boycott and stop buying Lego products for a day? A whole week? A month? Six months?The real culprit knows our weaknesses. That's why there's no mercy. Price increase! Less discount! People will still buy... And continue to complain... And buy some more... |
Aug 8 2012, 05:50 PM
On a somewhat related note, someone once said that even if we were to takeover Hasbro and sell Star Wars ourselves, we (in M'sia) still won't have the sales to compete with Singapore and other countries. Hasbro 3 3/4" in M'sia retails for RM42.90. In S'pore it's RM50 after conversion (but dollar to dollar and when you're earning Singapore dollar, it's definitely cheaper). In Thailand, it's RM75 after conversion.
Back to Lego, S'pore sales offer 20% discount. One shop even has 15% off all year round. M'sia? TRU gives vouchers. But for a set that cost more than RM250, like Jabba's Palace is RM800+, still only RM40 voucher. Other retail stores 10% discount. But if you compare Jabba's Palace, in S'pore, it's only RM600+. Here it's over RM800. Does 10% (that is, if it's given at all) matter? |
Aug 8 2012, 06:01 PM
QUOTE(Alucrix @ Aug 8 2012, 05:54 PM) Heh, TRU vouchers only give you a 5% 'discount'. It's not really a discount because you only get to claim the amount 'saved' on your next purchase. Jusco/Parkson and Brickboy would be your best bet, since the savings are immediate. Or buy from online sources? Save even more. But either get slightly/badly damaged boxes or flattened boxes or no box at all. If you're an AFOL, which is better? Online (cheaper) or retail (more expensive)? If you're a reseller? If you're a newbie? If you're a kid? Added on August 8, 2012, 6:03 pmOKay, we have dilvin's answers already. As a... newbie? But also as a parent. QUOTE(dilvin @ Aug 8 2012, 06:01 PM) online is the cheapest form. Alucrix has BL many things before. I see ebay prices..fuiyo This post has been edited by lowyatben: Aug 8 2012, 06:04 PMI also slow down buying from local dept store di..unless got super discounts or need a fix that day or cant resist the plea from my boy while in TRU |
Aug 8 2012, 06:12 PM
QUOTE(vey99 @ Aug 8 2012, 06:08 PM) AEON/Jusco Jabba's Palace is still at least RM100 more expensive than our friends in S'pore. Best sales 15% off Lego Gain jusco points with returns of 0.4% total savings 15.4% Parkson: Best sales 10% off lego RM150 gives RM10 voucher ~6.5% total savings 16.5% use maybank2card amex, 5% rebate on weekend, 5x treatpoint if below rm1000 purchase, consider it a 7.5% savings so all in combo saving for lego max for me is 24% And those who order online, even more savings. |
Aug 9 2012, 12:47 AM
QUOTE(kenny_pang @ Aug 8 2012, 10:26 PM) ALJ or TRU increase the price of S7 when they see S6 become popular, so the notion that more volume mean cheaper price does not apply to them, prices for S7 did not increase in major countries, exchange rate was stable too if not better. Go figure. Apparently, price will increase again for S8! |
Aug 10 2012, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(daisuke @ Aug 10 2012, 01:52 PM) went klcc ytd and they open a new box, my haul for the day!!!! and S7 COMPLETE! » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « So you're the one! Good one, bro |
Nov 29 2012, 10:30 AM
Completed my wave 2 (and entire series). No need to pump petrol. Can buy as many packs as you like. But I just got one set for myself and another for my kid.
Nov 29 2012, 11:04 AM
QUOTE(kenny_pang @ Nov 29 2012, 10:41 AM) Ben, didn't think you will into cars as well ! Bought the case too ? My kid got me into it. "Daddy, I want yellow car, I want black car!" I am getting an extra case for my old Shell Ferraris , I think it will look good. I've not gotten the case yet. No hurry. Don't think people wanna scalp the case? Minifigs are also still available due to the strict rule. |
Nov 29 2012, 10:51 PM
QUOTE(orestes @ Nov 29 2012, 03:55 PM) awesomee!! cant wait to get them!! btw, for the shell lego ferari ... can anybody tell the amount of pieces for each cars / minifigs? thankss ^^ QUOTE(gory82 @ Nov 29 2012, 09:22 PM) brother orestes... If you have a copy of TheStar today (29.11.2012), there is an article about the lego Ferrari and also the total number of pieces of each car... just read it on the plane just now.. QUOTE(orestes @ Nov 29 2012, 10:37 PM) thanks gory... wah, nice to see you here too .. Here ya go.will check my office library tmrw for that newspaper .. http://thestar.com.my/lifestyle/story.asp?...&sec=lifeliving Model brick count: 250 GT Berlinetta - 24 458 Italia - 32 Ferrari 150° Italia - 33 Scuderia Ferrari Truck - 40 Minifigures - 46 F40 - 47 FXX - 52 |
| Change to: | 0.0437sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:06 AM |