The Official LEGO Enthusiast Club V4

kenhew
post Aug 23 2012, 06:51 AM

QUOTE(Howard Tan @ Aug 22 2012, 10:02 PM)
@panjaang16: Glad to see another modular collector. I bought Town Hall and Petshop as a set from an online seller but both are stuck in Malaysian customs since 27/07. No news as of yet... My CC is stuck in Australian customs because seller failed to disclose amount... But yeah, better to get them now and live poorer than regret not getting them when they go +300 dollars.

@Gizzi69: I got it from a guy in Australia. He needed money for his Phd so he decided to let go all of his sets. He had a lot of sets for sale but I went late. I got it for about AUD$150 (shipping was ~20 dollars i think) which I thought was an absolute steal biggrin.gif
I can't find CC less than USD1000 now, and that's used. MISB is about USD2500. Did you get it from ebay?
kenhew
post Aug 24 2012, 12:52 PM

QUOTE(Yiha9944 @ Aug 23 2012, 04:20 PM)
Guys,

After watch the below video on the new Technic set 9398, i found the this owner mentioned the original motor tag along is not powerful enough for a crawler.

And this another video show tht this set has been turn to XL motor. May i know any sifu here got any idea how to mod it? Is it just get a XL motor and replace with he original motor then everything settle or need to get other part together with the motor?

Hi, I have this set, the motor that came with this set is actually a new "M"- motor, it's more powerful but smaller than XL motor. After building it, if you ask me whether you can mod it with XL motor, I would say it's very, very difficult simply because, this model is TIGHT! Every part is constructed very precisely, and I believe LEGO has to make a new motor just so that they can make this model! Plus, there's a new servo motor that serves to steer all four wheels at the same time (yes it has actual 4-wheel steering!)

I honestly think this is one of the best technic set LEGO has ever released. The gearing system is mind blowing. Two gearing for each wheel, and 8 gearings for each motor, so total number of gears to move this beast is 32! Also the suspension system is brilliantly done. I would say this model is more like an engineering product than a toy.

This is a highly recommended set. You will have fun playing it as well as building it. Seeing how other technic set is priced almost as high, i think it's justified to get this set just on the fun playing factor alone. Plus you get all the power functions stuff!

Added on August 24, 2012, 2:24 pm
QUOTE(vey99 @ Aug 23 2012, 10:51 AM)
i spent the whole nite picking bricks at BL to expand my apple tree house to a villa.
structure alone (bricks plates tiles) also hit rm220 liao excl. shipping sad.gif

BL parts very expensive... seem like i am better off buy 2 more same set, and combine them.
BL is only good if you mass order a lot of the same parts, if you're trying to source for all the different bricks to build a set, then buying the set itself is definitely cheaper (unless it's discontinued sets like cafe corner, then you're better off sourcing for the parts than buying the set cos the price is ridiculous). Or look for another set which has most of the parts you need. From my experience, buying sets has better value becos you can always sell the parts you don't need. If the set comes with minifigs then sometimes selling the minifigs itself can already cover half your cost. For example 6868 Hulk's Helicarrier Breakout is bout 250+ but the hulk itself is selling for 90+. Of course, that's if you're not into minifigs. wink.gif

This post has been edited by kenhew: Aug 24 2012, 02:24 PM
kenhew
post Aug 24 2012, 09:31 PM

Is it me or does it seem the modulars are getting shorter by each subsequent released models haha. From GG->FB->GE->PS

Added on August 24, 2012, 9:42 pmBy the way, which in your opinion is the best among these 4? In terms of building(technique and surprise element), value (no. of bricks/parts, including interior furnishings which can't be seen outside) and playability(like pet shop can split into two standalone buildings which I think it's cool)? Hope you don't mind sharing your thoughts wink.gif

This post has been edited by kenhew: Aug 24 2012, 09:42 PM

0.0403sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:39 AM