Investing in “Up and Coming” areas or mature area?, Which areas do you prefer?
TSKOHTT
Aug 7 2012, 08:08 PM, updated 14y ago
In general, “Up and Coming” areas- Price is lower but potential is good in next few years. Investment risk is however higher. Examples: 1) Semenyih 2) Sg Buloh; and 3) Rawang etc “Mature” areas – Price is expensive but for potential for further price increase is generally lower than “Up and Coming” area in term of percentage. Investment risk is lower. Examples: 1) PJ 2) Subang 3) Bandar Puchong Jaya 4) Setia Alam 5) Kota Kemuning etc Also hope the LYNs can also share some “up and coming” areas and projects. TQ
TSKOHTT
Aug 7 2012, 08:24 PM
“Upcoming” areas means the place is currently under-develop (no yet "Wong" now) but it has good potential in next few years because: · The authority or the developer has plan to built the infrastructures such as highway to improve accessibilities, shopping centre, schools, office etc in future; and · Since the mature areas already fully develop and becoming too expensive, it is a matter of time that the resident start to move toward these “upcoming” areas which is more affortable.
The risk is higher since whatever developer or the authority plan to built in future may not materialised due to various reasons.
TSKOHTT
Aug 8 2012, 09:23 AM
My observations in general (This is example only):
Investing in upcoming areas: RM400K to RM800K (100% increase in capital with low entry prices). Provide that whatever the authorities/ developers planned are materialised (highway, school, international school, hospital, shopping centres etc)
Investing in mature areas: RM800K to RM1.1 million (38% increase in capital and high entry prices)
Just my 2 cents.
This post has been edited by KOHTT: Aug 8 2012, 09:25 AM
TSKOHTT
Aug 8 2012, 12:10 PM
QUOTE(1282009 @ Aug 8 2012, 11:33 AM) Cyberjaya?  Cyberjaya – as for now, nothing much to do during the night time, right? IMHO, this is upcoming area- SP Setia are there. This post has been edited by KOHTT: Aug 8 2012, 02:18 PM
TSKOHTT
Aug 8 2012, 07:22 PM
Personally, for own stay, I prefer to buy a house close to where I work. That’s means it will be in the mature area. Possible a 2/3 room high rise apartment since the land property in these areas is beyond my budget. Simple reason that I hate the traffic jam to and from my working place if I stay far.
For investment wise, I will consider to invest in the landed property in one of upcoming township. There are more factors to consider when investing in upcoming areas compare to the mature areas.
TSKOHTT
Aug 9 2012, 12:06 AM
QUOTE(jucl @ Aug 8 2012, 09:35 PM) Even upcoming areas also very expensive. Holding power must be strong as it will take a while to appreciate. Furthermore rental yield nowadays is very low... In "general" the upcoming area is cheaper than mature area...but agree with you there are some upcoming areas that sell at high prices such as Sierra 16 at southern part of Puchong. Added on August 9, 2012, 12:11 amQUOTE(AMINT @ Aug 8 2012, 09:25 PM) Upcoming: Setia Alam, Kota Kemuning (Rimbayu, Alam Impian etc), Semenyih, Kajang, Puchong, Bukit Jalil, Cyberjaya. For me, Setia Alam is consider mature....but that does not means that property prices in this area will not going up further. Puchong...also mature if you are talking about bandar wawasan, bandar puteri areas....Just my 2 cents. This post has been edited by KOHTT: Aug 9 2012, 12:11 AM
TSKOHTT
Aug 9 2012, 11:58 PM
http://www.iproperty.com.my/news/market_trends.aspx?nid=5117Top Ten areas based on the number of search in iproperty: 1) Bangsar 62,895 2.21% 2) Puchong 56,247 1.98% 3) Cheras 45234 1.59% 4) Petaling Jaya 37,980 1.33% 5) Shah Alam 27,216 0.96% 6) Mont Kiara 24,744 0.87% 7) Subang Jaya 24,633 0.86% 8) Klang 21,525 0.75% 9)A Kepong 20,164 0.71% 10) Ampang 19,458 0.68% Most are mature areas.. This post has been edited by KOHTT: Aug 9 2012, 11:59 PM
TSKOHTT
Aug 10 2012, 01:52 PM
QUOTE(AMINT @ Aug 10 2012, 09:25 AM) Haha. No hard data bro. Just from chats with other taikors I know. They are more interested in other places rather than Semenyih. It depends on individuals I guess. Lots of the upcoming areas are like that...most ppl think it is crazy to buy now...saying things like not convenience lah, too far lah, ulu lah etc. Look at the iproperty search survey, you can't find seminyih in their top listing. when amenities such as highways, shopping centres etc already in place in next 5 to 10 years times, prices shoot up a lot already. At the means times, we need to take some risks to trust our beloved developers and authorites.
TSKOHTT
Aug 31 2012, 10:12 PM
QUOTE(AMINT @ Aug 31 2012, 12:55 PM) U want rental play go for matured places. If u want capital appreciation, I think u should get into those areas that just got several developers started to vested in. but the curve of developments has to be on the verge of incremental.my opinion, this is currently puchong, cyberjaya, kajang, etc. if this curve is still far away, u will need a long long time to wait. +1. Some of these partially develop upcoming areas such as Cyberjaya are not much cheaper compare to mature area. We need to have holding power for the less develop place like semenyih. This post has been edited by KOHTT: Aug 31 2012, 10:14 PM