> Tips of buying Handphone, and avoid kena CON! Q&A

SUSMugenConcept
post Aug 7 2012, 01:02 AM, updated 12y ago

84 posts

Hi guys,

Can you all help me with tips when buying handphone? Like how to check for ORI set and new / unused set?
Thinking of getting Sony Xperia Sola ORI soon.
Thanks!!! icon_idea.gif
SUSMugenConcept
post Aug 7 2012, 01:10 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(patienceGNR @ Aug 7 2012, 01:06 AM)
Buy from Sony store itself, confirm ori.
What about on checking whether the phone been used before or not?
How to check total call time?
SUSMugenConcept
post Aug 7 2012, 09:02 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Aug 7 2012, 03:27 AM)
if u budget around sola and u wanted a dust proof and water proof then u should get Xperia Go. the only downside is the screen resolution. otherwise its damn good!
May I know Sola vs Go
Which one better??
SUSMugenConcept
post Aug 7 2012, 09:14 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(bai1101 @ Aug 7 2012, 09:07 AM)
almost same skip the durable feature it just 3.5" vs 3.7" screen size.

forget go got nicrosd or not
As I know most of the features are the same but Sola screen is 3.7" compared to Go only 3.5".
Was about to get Sola but the shop girl intro Go...
I was told all these while that comparing imei # is the best way to check the originality as the Sirim sticker can be fake.

SUSMugenConcept
post Aug 7 2012, 09:30 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(bai1101 @ Aug 7 2012, 09:26 AM)
btw seldom shop will simply take Ap and sell as Ori nowadays. Unless u go this unknown HP shop or buy at certain promo boot la... so far i buy phone so many time  the shopper will always give me price of AP and Ori.

And mostly AP give 18month warranty with less Acc
And ori only give 12 month plus extra ACC like car charger

If unseal ori mostly is display Unit.
How come AP 18 mths and ori only 12 mths?
I never buy AP set before any diff other than acc and free gifts?
I saw so many people prefer AP set as cheaper but really any diff??
Pls adv, as always think ORI is better but really??
SUSMugenConcept
post Aug 7 2012, 09:50 AM

84 posts

By the way, my budget is <$1000.00 any other Android handphone within this range that you all recommend?
SUSMugenConcept
post Aug 7 2012, 10:12 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(bai1101 @ Aug 7 2012, 10:12 AM)
with that budget stick with sony still better choice
I also think so.... icon_idea.gif
SUSMugenConcept
post Aug 7 2012, 10:43 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(marumaru @ Aug 7 2012, 10:20 AM)
Sony is quite decent, all my previous 3 phones is sony. all of them still working until now.

Better get ori, no headache to claim warranty. Got a lot of stuffs with the set too.
Usually it's just around rm60 difference between ori n AP.
So bro, what do you think about Xperia Sola??
SUSMugenConcept
post Aug 7 2012, 11:10 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(marumaru @ Aug 7 2012, 10:56 AM)
havent checked it yet, i'm still loving my xperia play. Dont think i wanna change to another phone.

You need to remember one thing, this is a smart phone meaning it uses batteries pretty fast. Dont have keypad, full touch screen meaning no texting while driving and etc.

I still use my old SE phone with keypad as my main phone since it have 3-4 day standby battery time. I use my 2nd phone just for entertainment purpose or for emergency if my main phone is out of battery.

There's really not much choice out there, you can only choose based on your budgets. I dont advise going for 2nd hand, later got headache if your unlucky.
2nd hand is ofcourse not an option for me....
Currently using Samsung Galaxy Mini, plan to change to Sola only since I seldom use my handphone as can use company BB most of the time. brows.gif

Suddenly missing my good old Sony Ericsson P1. Very good phone! I love the scroll button at the side.
Easy to search contacts while driving.
Wonder why no more phone using scroll button now?? blink.gif
SUSMugenConcept
post Aug 7 2012, 11:43 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(bai1101 @ Aug 7 2012, 11:19 AM)
touch screen are current trend.. candy bar only for entry level phone currently.

BTW the typing with one finger on smart phone might happen in Window8 phone very soon
This is cool.... drool.gif

SUSMugenConcept
post Aug 7 2012, 03:08 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Aug 7 2012, 12:05 PM)
because they need something to attract more buyer. but AP 18months doesnt cover all. for example, sgs3 and note dont have warranty generally on all AP phone. but some still give up to 6months warranty. this especially happen with samsung and iphone AP set because they said the failure rate was rather high and costly to repair. however i so far havent come across any sony or htc etc that doesnt come with warranty.
besides, despite giving 18months warranty, u should read their t&c. screen are normally warranted for 6months while the device itself 18months.

also, AP and Ori is exactly the same product produced by Sony. the difference is where is was produced and who provide the warranty.
as someone mentioned, AP was warranted by local AP dealer. some is good some is almost non-existent. also, some crook seller recond a phone then slab their own sticker and warranty card to sell as "new AP set". this is a double edged sword for them whereby if ur phone is okay then they earn extra alot! else they had to honor ur warranty at their own cost. When ur device fail, u have to visit their limited branch to settle your phone.
Original on the other hand have service center throughout malaysia. their service is more professional and precise. however, should your phone ran out of original warranty, there is virtually no different between original and ap as ap set are serviceable at sony service center as well.

conclusion: if u feeling unlucky with ur new device, get original. if you feeling lucky, u can try with AP. for AP, try to stick to well known company such as Comsat.

if u insist on sola, i would recommend get original coz the difference is so minimal... less than rm100 lol
Yo, thx bro!
Other forums also people recommend to take ORI set as diff $100 only.

SUSMugenConcept
post Aug 7 2012, 11:22 PM

84 posts

So which Sola color is nice?
White?
Black?
Red?
SUSMugenConcept
post Aug 8 2012, 12:15 AM

84 posts