-= MyForte - Naza Kia Forte Owners Club =- V14, Leaves You Speechless

rainsplit
post Aug 30 2012, 09:53 AM

[quote=levilau,Aug 30 2012, 09:28 AM]

Added on August 29, 2012, 10:05 pmI thought all new cars below 1k km driving it gently also could smell
hangus when get out from the car..

every new cars I drove.. sure has that hangus smell at each wheels.. even
the previous dugong vios got engine burnt smell when it was new..

[/quote]

hope so la, i long time no drive new car rdy, heehee. tongue.gif

[/quote]

Added on August 30, 2012, 10:00 amYeah i noticed it too..especially when going up hill & i press the accelerator hard & also during overtake when the car is loaded..i think its related to the gearbox since its not well ventilated..btw i'm 1.6 owner..wonder if 2.0 owners also xperience this :-\

This post has been edited by rainsplit: Aug 30 2012, 10:00 AM
rainsplit
post Sep 2 2012, 02:45 PM

[quote=Ah_Bear,Sep 1 2012, 02:04 AM]

Added on August 30, 2012, 10:00 amYeah i noticed it too..especially when going up hill & i press the accelerator hard & also during overtake when the car is loaded..i think its related to the gearbox since its not well ventilated..btw i'm 1.6 owner..wonder if 2.0 owners also xperience this :-\

[/quote]Nowadays I drive like mad cow simply hentam brake (120km/h-0 in approx 5 seconds) and accelerate and overtaking mcm giler babi.. no hangus smell also tongue.gif
mileage reaching 10k km..

However, cup holders area touching it could feel worryingly hot also especially when I rest my left knee on the side plastic area while wearing short pants icon_question.gif

[/quote]

rainsplit
post Sep 2 2012, 02:54 PM

Could be fume from outside oso...but i'm definitely going to ask the sc about this..just to have peace of mind hihi..about the hot cup holder i've read somewhere its got sumthing to do about the location of the exhaust piping..but not sure if its going to badly affect that area in the long run :-\
rainsplit
post Sep 20 2012, 02:29 PM

Just done my 10K service..brought up the pull left problem..they did the alignment but not balancing due to faulty machine..however no longer pull left after the alignment..the bill came out 270+ include service ie oil change + alignment.
rainsplit
post Sep 20 2012, 10:34 PM

I've realized that fuel consumption varies with diff road conditions..my daily travelling to work involves heavy traffic/hilly roads & also no less than 10 diff sizes of speed bumps..i will change to manual mode (1.6sx)on certain roads & did notice a slight improvement in the fuel consumption..i must say the best you can get from the car is still in the highways i've managed to record 6.8 l/km car fully loaded at one time went to Ipoh..pls also make sure your tyre pressure is kept as per manual instruction..it will again slightly improve your fuel consumption.
rainsplit
post Sep 21 2012, 12:56 PM

QUOTE(Intel@Atom @ Sep 21 2012, 11:11 AM)
what are you trying to tell?
Thats what happened if you park in front oher people's property??
rainsplit
post Sep 21 2012, 06:41 PM

QUOTE(Intel@Atom @ Sep 21 2012, 02:08 PM)
ya lo, need so extreme mer.
Just asumed that warning was given 1 too many times already hihi..btw i noticed 1 section frm the attachment..on the queries direct to peter shryer..it was refering to add. accessories installed could have resulted in the fire..maybe he/ she was very unlucky.
rainsplit
post Sep 28 2012, 11:31 PM

QUOTE(1stLaksamana @ Sep 28 2012, 08:32 PM)
as i start writting now, it's about 72 hours since i drove my car from the showroom. it has been a long journey from deciding which car to buy, falling in love with forte and getting my hands on the beauty.
though i did fair amount of reading and asking questions in this forum, i never thought that i would end up buying a car (a huge commitment) from a total stranger online (turns out to be an owner/director of a 3s KIA outlet in KL). since my journey that lead to the purchase started here, i'd like to share my experience with all, so that it maybe useful to potential forte owners and also to let previous owners to revisit their own journey owning a virgin kia forte  laugh.gif
after doing a couple of calls and visits to kia sales branches and authorized dealers in KL, i was still searching for a better deal. one could only know so much when doing own scouting as there are so many outlets out there, so i decided to ask fellow fortezens in this forum if they know any good deals. from the survey that i did, the "seri kembangan" outlet won the majority vote. at the same time, i got an inbox message from Buydirect a.k.a KS Loh with his deal offer. i was pleasantly surprised with his eagerness to serve potential car owners (plus point 1), a far cry from many SA out there who ignore you when you walk into the showroom, arrogant, rude and lazy (asked T brand Dugong car SA for test drive within the week and left my number with him, not only he didn't arrange it, but had the nerve to ask me if i want to buy the car after 3 months has passed!).
when i saw his message, i knew he offered a no nonsese deal, unlike others out there who throw you a bone and then you get a little bit more when you haggle and thats it. Buydirect's deal instantly put all other deals to shame (plus point 2). you can also choose to what freebies you want and turn the ones you don't need into cash rebate, tailored to your own needs (plus point 3, freebies/cash rebate customization). i did a check on him and he turns out to be the owner/director of 3s KIA outlet from seri kembangan, the outlet who many recommended. as fate would have it, one of my friend bought a forte koup (bryan the pilot) from him too because of his good deal.
my nature is always skeptical and i hardly trust anyone (because many sellers, traders, politicans will promise you the sun and the moon before anything and then disappear without a trace after they benefit from you). my girlfriend and i paid a visit to see the outlet with my own eyes, see Buydirect personally and with the intention to test drive both 1.6 and 2.0. went there with the help of google map, had to make two rounds around that area and it brought me to someone's house! turns out the information in google map was wrong (newbies take note) and the direction to the outlet (actually passedby just now but didn't see coz was following google map) was sorted out after i made a call to Buydirect.
first impression when we saw him is that he seems to be quite a decent, polite and soft spoken guy. i printed out his deal offer from online and brought it along with me (just incase). he reaffirmed the deal and i asked if i could do a test drive right there and then. much to my delight, there were ready test drive cars (1.6 & 2.0) available and went for test drive without the need to wait at all (plus point 4). sadly, i couldn't test out the full potential of the car due to the road conditons and location, but there's nothing can be done about that (recommend potential buyers to ask naza kia for test drive and if possible drive around your house/daily commute route so you can feel the difference <forte vs currently owned car> ). i tried with 1.6 first and could really feel the difference when i drove 2.0. the moment i sat down on the leather seats, it was such comfortable feeling compared to 1.6 (though you can ask Buydirect to upgrade your 1.6 to leather seats for a charge) and the power response was better too. i took sharp turns and put the car to test with what available condition, Buydirect was sitting behind and keep asking me to be careful  tongue.gif  i apologize if i scared you. managed to return both cars without a scratch  biggrin.gif
i decided to take 2.0, immediately placed my booking. however, Buydirect told me that the colour of my choice is out of stock nation wide and gave me option to wait or to take available color. available color i can take home a few days after loan approval, my color choice have to wait for the naza factory to produce them which i will have to wait some time (Buydirect didn't give exact date when i can get it from factory). (plus point 5 for being honest. instead of trying to take my booking fee and promise fast car delivery <because nobody can tell you exact date when you can get the car from the factory!>, he chose to tell me the truth of the situation). i wasn't in a rush to get a car, opt for my colour choice and paid the booking fee.
continue later, now break for dinner with my girl. it would be her first time seeing the car because i told her my loan was not approved and actually asked her lets go see second hand car tomorrow lol. i just wanted to surprise her. non of my family or my best friend knew about my new car until it was right infront of them! surprised my family and let my actions to do the talking smile.gif
rainsplit
post Oct 1 2012, 11:21 AM

QUOTE(jerul-sama @ Sep 30 2012, 11:49 PM)
Happened to me on the first day i got my car and driving on highway back from KL..what i did was release the gas pedal and slowly press it again..happened like 3-4 times,but now ok already..dunno how..
Could it be the gas pedal cable stuck..haven't experienced that yet with my forte..but my old car did & i did a quick press & release to unstuck the pedal..also see if the pedal stuck to the carpet.
rainsplit
post Oct 18 2012, 09:06 AM

Hi, did anybody changed the console armrest to the 2 tier type?Is it DIY or need to send to shop one? Mine is 1.6sx btw. Does 2.0 comes with 2 tier type?
rainsplit
post Oct 18 2012, 09:14 PM

QUOTE(mzaamohd45 @ Oct 18 2012, 10:51 AM)
Bro, you need to buy the 2 tier console. Price rm170. go to 1st page -> Miscellaneous ->KIA FORTE ACCS & MODS. I still cannot find forte accessories price RM10-15. All starts from RM50 & above  tongue.gif
Thanksbro saw it already, wonder can get bargain or no. Of coz la mau untung a bit, but at least get free gift ok what biggrin.gif
rainsplit
post Nov 7 2012, 01:49 PM

QUOTE(Paper_Panda @ Nov 7 2012, 12:56 PM)
Hi all, I am deciding to get a new car and have been driving my family's car for years now.

So when I started, only one brand came to my mind which is Honda. Either the new City or the new Civic. Coz I have been driving my sis City and it was a good car.  smile.gif

For the new City, I like the new look but the interior was so plain and simple. Not much features...

As for the new Civic, I still prefer the previous sporty look, the current one is such a pain in the eyes.

So I decided to see what alternatives there are in the market. My criteria for choosing a new car are
- FC: Good FC (I usually get 12-15 KM/L for the City)
- GPS: Comes with GPS
- Looks: Not a pain to the eyes  biggrin.gif
- Price Range: Less than RM 100K
- Maintenance and Service: Low maintenance cost and have service centers within the city.
- Speed: Good acceleration and decent speed.
- Safety: At least 2 airbags for the passenger and driver, ABS, Stability Control, Alarm system.

Well, this boils down to Forte, City, Vios and the new Nissan Almera.

On a nice beautiful Sunday morning, I decided to go test drive the Forte, City, Civic, Vios, Altis and the new Nissan Almera.
You might ask why I test drive the Civic and Altis, I wanted to see how it fairs against the Forte since they are in the same segment.

Nissan Almera
So I went to test the Almera first since it was nearer to my place. At first glance the Almera was just a stone throw away from being listed as a pain to the eyes on my list.
Either way I decided to give it a try since the highest spec was just only 79K.
The salesman let me drive it around the taman-taman only during the test drive and was over within 10 minutes...  sad.gif
Didn't get a chance to fully test the car since the low fuel indicator kept blinking as if it will drop to zero anytime.

The interior of the Almera looks cheap and the buttons and knobs feels like cheap plastics.
The driver seat feels a bit small for me and my leg keep hitting the armrest at the driver's side door.
But the pickup for the Almera was good probably due to its light weight.
So at RM 80K the Almera was a good deal at that time but the looks of the Almera was still a turn off for me with or without a body kit.
The Almera meet the GPS, price, maintenance and service, speed and safety criteria on my list. The FC should be okay as mentioned by PaulTan on his blog.

Kia Forte
The next stop I went to was the Kia showroom, when I reach there I was greeted by a not so friendly salesman who obviously woke up on the wrong side of the bed.
But still I have a look at the Forte and it was 2nd love at first sight since my first love was standing next beside me, she might get jealous.  tongue.gif

The forte looks sporty with the bodykit and there were lots of features offered by Kia for the forte. GPS, paddle shifter, reverse camera, keyless entry and etc.
I ask the salesman whether they had a 2.0SX for testing, unfortunately there was only the 1.6SX. Had to wait awhile while the salesman ask his partner to prepare the car.
After a couple of minutes the car was ready and me, my GF, together with the grumpy salesman got on the car.
It felt like I was in the cockpit of a Gundam when I got in, there were so many buttons and controls inside.
The salesman took his time to walkthrough on the features inside while I adjust the seat, mirrors and the sterling wheel.

Same as the Almera, the low fuel indicator was blinking. This time the salesman let me drive freely around the city and I was kinda worry the fuel will drop to zero anytime...  sad.gif
While I was driving he kept on explaining the features on the Forte. What I notice was there was a slight delay of 1-2 seconds after stepping on the accelerator and the car actually moving.
Well not a biggie as after it started moving, it was a smooth drive all the way.
The sterling wheel feels a bit heavy compared to the Honda City and its more harder to turn.

The forte was spacious enough for me and the armrest at the side of the driver's door was not blocking my leg.  smile.gif
Can't comment much on the car as I was driving within the city at the speed of 60-80 KM/h only but overall it felt good and comfortable.
The salesman quote me @ RM 84,800 for the 1.6SX and giving me the body kit, emblem and car mat.
The Forte manage to meet my GPS, looks, price, maintenance and service, speed and safety criteria on my list.
So compared with the Almera, Forte would be a better bargain.
Well time to say bye bye to the Forte as I move on to my next destination, Honda showroom.

Honda City and Civic
Honda was and still is my favorite brand because of the experience I had with it. So after lunch, I head over to the Honda showroom and was greeted by the salesman. Well not a grumpy one this time.  tongue.gif
Long story cut short, I had a look at the new City and ask about the price and features then went for a test drive.

Honda was generous with their petrol and the City I test drive had a full tank of petrol unlike the Forte and Almera  vmad.gif 
This time I was able to test drive the City on the expressway and manage to go up to 120 KM/h  smile.gif
Compared to the previous 4th Gen City my sis drove, this new City felt under-powered and the acceleration was a bit slower.
It was spacious inside the City but then the armrest is still the one thing that keeps blocking my leg.
The sound insulation was not good and driving above 100KM/h I could hear the wind outside.
The hand brake feels tight and more force were needed to pull it up compared to the previous City.
Heading back to the Honda showroom, I requested the salesman whether I could test drive the new Civic.

Although the new Civic looks a step backward compared to the previous Civic, still I decided to give it a go to compare it against the Forte.
Getting on to the Civic 2.0 Navi, the interior design was quite futuristic and gave me the same feel as the Forte.
The Forte and Civic had almost the same features only with a different price tag.
On the test drive I went on the same route as I did for the City and WOW it was a complete different feel compare to the City.
The sound insulation was good, the speed and acceleration was great and on top of it the handling is superb.

Overall, the new City was a disappointment and priced at RM90K. The new Civic on the other hand was a good drive but priced at RM 115K for the lowest spec and RM 136K for the highest spec.

Toyota Vios and Altis
Seeing that there are lots of Toyota users on the road, I thought to myself that Toyota can't be half bad as Honda since there are so many Toyotas and Toyota has been in Malaysia for quite a long time.

So I went to the Toyota Showroom which is located the furthest away from my home. The service center for Toyota is just behind the Toyota showroom and
if I need to service my car in the future I would had to travel quite a distance to the service center.

While at Toyota, I was greeted by a friendly salesgirl whom is so kind to go in detail on the specs of both the Vios and Altis.
Firstly I tried the Vios since it was within my price range and would probably go for it if the ride was good.
First impression on the Vios was good looking exterior but interior was plain and simple like the City.
Feature wise, it was worse than the Honda City and it was not as spacious as the City.

Next I had a look at the Altis, it was the same as with the Vios. Not much features and not spacious enough. The looks was OK though.
So I test drive the Vios first and Toyota is as stingy as Nissan and Kia for giving minimum fuel for test driving.
I wanted to test the Vios on the main road and expressway but the salesgirl said I could only drive within the taman as she forgotten to bring the license plate...
It was a very short drive and it ended within 5 minutes. It was the same thing with Altis too...

For Toyotas, the speed and acceleration was OK but the features offered was minimal.
And for such a price tag on these cars it was a major turn off.

To sum it up, I would still go for the Forte even though Honda was my favourite brand.
Was going to go for the Forte 1.6SX until a friend of my father told him that Forte breakdown a lot and no resale value.

There goes my dream of owning a Forte...  sad.gif

Anyway just my 2 cents on Forte, City, Civic, Vios, Altis and Almera for those who are planning to own a car.
rainsplit
post Nov 7 2012, 02:03 PM

Talk about sales advisors, i guess honda's are the most friendly IMHO O:) Luckily my advisor isa friendly guy although a bit kedukut on test drive petrol.That's one of the reason i chose Forte, the main reason is thepackage that comes with the car. I mean where can you get that kind of extras with that pricing. However i think u should testdrive preve as well since its also quite new in the market biggrin.gif

0.0323sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:50 PM