cybermaster98
post Aug 14 2012, 01:23 PM

4,440 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2469121/+80

Added on August 14, 2012, 1:26 pm
QUOTE(fourteh @ Aug 14 2012, 01:15 PM)
If their factory engineers had taken steps to counter this noise problem, then less headache & work for SC. I think it is the foam material they use inside the dashboard. For my case, normal time, dashboard silent but after park in the sun more than 30 mins, Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra in full swing. Sometimes so embarrased when fetch guests.

Same with pull to left issue..... if outside workshop can do it, what the hell are they doing in Gurun? Tidur ka???????????????

If they can kautim these few problems before the cars leave the factory, customers will be happy & keep Kia brand name. Now ppl hear got these type of problems also "kia" (scared in hokkien). Sorry to say, as much as I love Kia brand, I will not buy another one in the future if it is assembled by factory full of incompetent engineers!
Even the Vios dugong version had alot of problems with the dashboard. I think many Jap car users now are going for cheaper dashboards. Harder and more plasticky which in time will start to creek. The Forte dash is different from the Optima rite?

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Aug 14 2012, 01:26 PM
cybermaster98
post Aug 14 2012, 01:28 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(Davidho @ Aug 13 2012, 11:46 PM)
Come on , if really want to know ur actual balance of fuel inside the tank when the DTE blinking , immediate and quickly go to pump station refuel until full tank and see how much fuel u need to make it full then minus with forte spec full tank of 52 liters , then u should know roughly how much balance of fuel remaining in ur tank once DTE blinking .
The 52L is only a reference. The actual capacity is always more than that. Same like Optima K5. Specs mention 70L tank but can tekan until 82L.
cybermaster98
post Aug 14 2012, 01:44 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(craxors @ Aug 14 2012, 01:35 PM)
70L to 82L..thats big bro... shocking.gif

i only mange to fuel up until rm103...estimate for 54~55L...ron95. that is after the needle way down below E. my leg shaking already...scare if not enough fuel until pump station. cry.gif
Optima fuel tank is slightly different to Forte i think. Its got a long nozzle or neck while the fuel sensor is located in the tank itself. But generally in most tanks, you can fill about 2-3L more than your specified capacity. The Vios for instance has only a 42L tank but you can fill up to 45L sometimes on really 'dry' days.
cybermaster98
post Aug 15 2012, 09:48 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(rompers @ Aug 15 2012, 04:29 AM)
Hi Folks, am not a Forte owner...yet wink.gif but hopefully I'll be one by early next year.

I've taken the time to read-up on this forum (almost 40% of the entire thread collection), and I have to say that I'm very impressed with the enthusiasm which you folks show.

Regarding my mission to own a Forte, am kinda worried (probably much like the rest of the potential buyers out there) about the following reported issues with the Forte:

1) Quality of interior finishing (i.e.-dashboard+pillar rattle/noise frm trunk/etc.)
2) Service Competence & Professionalism of the NAZA Service Centres

As such, I hope to be able to hear more opinions from the Fortezens here in relation to the above points.

I thank you all in advance for any feedbacks/inputs.

P/S - I've heard a lot about Edwin 'Motorman'. I hope to be meeting him soon smile.gif
Well im a new Optima K5 owner and for those of you who know me, ull know that i used to bash Korean cars alot since i was a Jap owner before this. But after test driving the Forte and Optima and then doing alot of research online, i realised that the Korean makes now are far superior compared to their earlier counterparts. Optima and Forte are far from perfect for sure but at least they are much improved. And after almost 4 months of owning the K5, i must say im impressed with the level of service so far. Based on my experience with 2 service centres, i can say that Naza is serious about their brand image and are taking steps to overcome the negative perception.

I complained about a squeeky rear suspension. Very minor and could have been resolved by some lubrication to the bushings i think. But Naza Kia HQ, instructed the SC to replace both rear shock absorbers and bushings FOC under warranty. I also commented that the front power window was a bit 'rough' going up. And behold, they changed the entire motor assembly. Again FOC. One of my front fog lamp covers melted a bit and they replaced it with 2 new set of fog lamps again FOC although this isnt covered by warranty.

This would never have happened with Toyota. I would have had to send my car in a few times and complain like crazy before they replaced anything under warranty. I believe what Naza Kia is trying to do is to eradicate the negative perception about Korean quality. They dont wanna waste time 'repairing or checking. Instead they just replace and this gives the customer alot of confidence.

We have a 5 year unlimited mileage manufacturer warranty and if this level of service can continue, then i have no fears. But Naza Kia HQ needs to know about your problems and issues. Raising it only with the respective SC's may not get you a good response. Send emails to them but i found that posting your problem on the Kia Malaysia Facebook page is quite effective. Ive had a few issues resolved very fast after being posted on FB. Naza has a dedicated staff constantly monitoring the FB page so trust me when i say they will take action sooner or later.

Kia in Malaysia is still facing a problem as many of the front liners (salesmen) are not very competent. Many of their mechanics are also not very experienced. But i think they are slowly being weeded out. I know of 2 salesmen from 2 different branches who were asked to leave after complaints on Facebook.

So keep making constructive critisms but dont just post negatives. Also post positive experiences to be fair to Naza Kia as that will give them more motivation to improve.

Cheers!

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Aug 15 2012, 09:53 AM
cybermaster98
post Aug 15 2012, 12:04 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(gigohlo @ Aug 15 2012, 10:46 AM)
Actually, it is based on the mood of the SC and how we ask is also important. I've never had any problems with Glenmarie SC when asking them to help me check and rectify stuffs (because I ask nicely). In fact, I managed to get the SC to attempt to rectify my pull left issue two times (somehow they just couldn't fully rectify it), and look look for minor buzzing and creaking sounds in my car (they still can't find it btw) two times also.

The recent "problem" I came across is when I asked the SC to help me rotate the front and back tyres during my 10k service. Unfortunate for me, I went over to do my 10k service in the afternoon of the first day of puasa. All the mechanics were half dead and the first reason they gave me was "Sabtu biasanya for servicing sahaja". Then I was fine with it. So I told them "Tak banyak kereta nampaknya. Kalau habis service and tak ada kereta, tolong rotate la" which he kindly obliged. Then when he went to inspect my car, he saw I changed rims and he came to me and said "maaf bang, you sudah tukar rim. Baik you bawak luar rotate", hinting to me it is no more under warranty  sweat.gif
Rotation and allignment are NOT under warranty but they can still do it for you depending on a case by case basis. But what im refering to are not mood based. Its technical and whether its covered under warranty or not or if Kia will still support otherwise. So far ive had no issues. Not sure how the future will be.

Added on August 15, 2012, 12:05 pm
QUOTE(chanyo @ Aug 15 2012, 11:06 AM)
Thanks for the post. Very informative and useful for all Fortezen. One Q. Where did you go for SC? I intend to go to Chan Sow Lin for my 1st service.
So far i did mine outstation. But there's a good Kia SC at Taman Megah which my family members have gone to in the past. Run by a Chinese guy and his mother. Quite efficient and reliable.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Aug 15 2012, 12:05 PM
cybermaster98
post Aug 15 2012, 12:37 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(noobie123 @ Aug 14 2012, 06:38 PM)
I realize if you wanna achieve below 10L/100km at instant,  ur RPM shall be around 2000. I was thinking if keep on like this sooner the car don't know will become underpowered or not....
For my K5 during highway driving its quite economical. I get instant FC readings of 9.1L/100km at 110kmph and 10.20L/100km at 160kmph. City driving not so economical for sure since the K5 is quite heavy and the torque not sufficient.

Whats your instant FC readings during highway cruising?
cybermaster98
post Aug 15 2012, 04:13 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(SoulReaver @ Aug 15 2012, 03:00 PM)
I did/doing soundproof in EA Autoworks, basically most of my mods all from EA Autoworks... Its calculated by sections... For example, Door have 3 packages, RM500, RM800, RM1200 for 2 doors... its flexible and modular, lets say u wanna do RM500 first, u can do, and next time u return to do RM800, just top up RM300....  blush.gif
Whats the difference between the various packages?
cybermaster98
post Aug 16 2012, 07:53 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(izputra @ Aug 15 2012, 05:08 PM)
I believe K5 2.4L will give better FC due to better power to weight ratio right? Unfortunately, no 2.4L K5 introduced in Malaysia at this point to prove it.

Your K5 is still new..i believe the FC figure will be better (lower figure) for K5 after it clocked say over 10k km in mileage..8.xL/100km perhaps. By the way, my Forte 2.0SX get instant FC average reading of 6.3L/100km at 110km/h by autocruising on the level road.
Actually im mistaken with the figures. This time i tested using the autocruise on level road and i got readings of around 5.5L/100km for 110kmph. My K5 is 3 months old.
cybermaster98
post Sep 5 2012, 03:56 PM

4,440 posts

I was told that the fuel consumption of the Forte 2.0L is quite bad. Not sure if this is true or not. But can someone provide me actual FC figures of 100% highway and 100% city driving?

And please dont use currency or money to state fuel consumption. L/100Km or actual mileage per full tank of X litres would be acceptable.

Forte fuel tank size is 52L right?
cybermaster98
post Sep 5 2012, 03:58 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(dtdw @ Sep 5 2012, 02:23 PM)
since we're on topic of wax and coating.

how 'hard' is it to maintain a white car?

got a friend of mine with a white camry, everytime it rains, turns brown or yellowish, and he has to send car wash every week.

new car somore
White is most difficult to maintain. Requires daily washing and since u wash too often the paint wont last and it will still turn yellowish over the years. You have to do a coating e.g Sierra Glow.
cybermaster98
post Sep 5 2012, 05:28 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(dvinez @ Sep 5 2012, 05:24 PM)
nice lo..

me worse lol, i dont have first choice..all looks great for me, each have its own appeal.
due to the same reason i got titanium silver as well, but whenever white/silver forte lalu, i am thinking again whether i made the right choice  laugh.gif
In about 4-5 years time, ull know the answer.
cybermaster98
post Sep 24 2012, 04:18 AM

4,440 posts

Any good promo for Kia Forte 1.6SX or 2.0 in Klang Valley?

0.0459sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:32 AM