-= MyForte - Naza Kia Forte Owners Club =- V14, Leaves You Speechless

Ah_Bear
post Aug 10 2012, 01:10 AM

QUOTE(bennedict82 @ Aug 9 2012, 04:47 PM)
What is the problem if we keep discuss FC here? This car is very worth to buy except the FC is a bit high compare to other car such as Vios, City and Elantra. I know it is heavy car but if you can make the FC on par with other cars, I can tell you this car will champion. I have no complain at all just I would like to learn about FC since I am new. Please dont stop anyone to discuss about FC.

Most of the Forte owner not reach, that's why they choose forte. If they are rich, they already go for Altis or Civic ...

We learn about how people keep their FC low and indirectly we promote sales of this car.

Once we have many people buy it, it will become famous and all the resale value will raise including spare part become cheaper.

I beg to differ.. 1st and foremost.. comparing FC with totally different segment B and C car in terms of dimensions and weight, and engine's cubic capacity and horsepower (refinement level too) simply isn't a good idea..

I'm used to be a Vios TRD Sportivo owner for 3 solid years before this current Forte. Vios which is the trademark of good FC is because of its lightweight 1050kg as opposed to Forte's more than 1300kg with wider body dimension, bigger inch with wider tires. But the 1.5 fuel efficient engine power was so weak and that puny little engine is so noisy above 100kmph which I was having some hard time to overtake any car. Forte 2.0 has higher torque and horsepower, better get up and go and thus drinks slightly more fuel. Forte 1.6 not too sure.. In case if you are comparing the Forte 2.0 FC which is higher than Elantra 1.8 FC.. well reason for this is numbers already spoken itself. Speaking of which I've a friend of mine owns an Elantra MD 1.8 for a month or 2. His mixed driving FC is 10.1liter/100km and mine Forte 2.0 is about avg 10.9liter/100km. If your major concern is the FC, you'll be better off with VW Golf 1.4 TSI which similar to vios / city and also could get acceleration of a Camry 2.4 feel.

2ndly, most Forte owner might have bought this car in the 1st place simply because they've done sufficient research for purchasing a car with great safety features and value, being easy on the wallet in mind, influenced by plenty of positive reviews from auto journalists around the world from PC / Ipad, arguably one of the best looking C-segment sedan to-date. I believe most consumers don't want to spend too much money for a basic and decent comfort car for purpose of point A to B daily. Frankly (if I am in the shortlist on C-Segment market again), I wouldn't spend a whopping RM133k for a Corolla Altis 2.0 which has utterly cramp interior and legroom especially the shallow driver's legroom and my left knee is hitting against the side part of "floating" centre console plastic. Seats support for overall body are plain rubbish too for bigger and taller sized people.

To keep FC low ? plan your journey ahead each day to avoid heavy traffic congestion hours as often as possible. We cannot expect a 1.8-2.0 NA engine to sip fuel like 1.5 NA engine while stuck in a prolonged traffic jam. Set the A/C to the temperature you'll feel just nice and comfy enough, hence avoid to burn more fuel unnecessarily to power the A/C system.

Before I bought this car I'm kinda expecting its FC would be like any typical 2.0 NA.. unless if I go for Prius, but I decided to give others a try and not buying another Toyota again..

perhaps I am not 100% happy with my Forte because of my nit-picking problems on those different minor funny noises.. (my previous Vios and Swift isn't a total silent car too).. if I am rich enough, I would buy a decent house first and then a brand new Volkswagen CC.

Added on August 10, 2012, 1:15 am
QUOTE(bkcheah75 @ Aug 9 2012, 11:42 PM)
I rather leave it like this. If u find wrong person it may cause the rattling sound even worse.

My car punya Zzzzzzzzz noise at above 120kmph crusing on coarse road.. at 1st i thought the noise came from the centre of internal dashbord / centre console.. its because it came from the unlubricated front passenger's seat adjustment lever mechanism which vibrates..

I cucuk the mini red straw at WD-40's nozzle and cit cit.. problem solved !!

however and sadly.. still haven't find the solution for the annoying lalat sound from both B-pillar seatbelt height adjustment.. cry.gif

This post has been edited by Ah_Bear: Aug 10 2012, 01:35 AM
Ah_Bear
post Aug 11 2012, 12:55 AM

QUOTE(chuan30378 @ Aug 10 2012, 06:28 PM)
Hi, my 4 speed forte reached 2 years, front driver seat Kumho tyre already "bengkak" , dont know the reason after checked by the foreman during service, any recommend good & economic tyre for repalcement from sifu-sifu here? thx an advance !! icon_question.gif

I've observed quite alot of bread and butter cars out there wrapped with Yokohama C-Drive 2 and Michelin XM2 wheels which appear to be affordable and respectable all-round performance..

XM2 for quieter and cushy ride, great durability, higher mileage lifespan.. not easily get bengkak..
C-Drive 2 is for those who's looking for all rounder tire.. some ppl complain the ride
feels hard and noisier than XM2..

Continental MC5 recently also very popular.. comfort base tire but it is made in malaysia.. so hurmmm.. dono lah tongue.gif

really see what's your expectation after you spend the money.. u sendiri pilih lah rolleyes.gif

Ah_Bear
post Aug 11 2012, 01:20 AM

Alamak.. ter-hit submit post when I havent' finish typing.. lol

This post has been edited by Ah_Bear: Aug 11 2012, 01:27 AM
Ah_Bear
post Aug 11 2012, 01:24 AM

QUOTE(jeschong @ Aug 10 2012, 10:52 AM)
u mean only spray the WD40 on the 'sliding track' there (sorry i duno wats the name of this part)
the lever's mechanism at bottom of the seat which adjusts front and back..

and guess what.. I'm addicted with WD-40 today and I even spray into the hole of both B pillar seatbelt..
result is.. NO more lalat sound oredi !! happy happy !!

I guess my car came out from Factory assembly all with hard steel joinery which creates sound..
when I was arrived in showroom to collect my car 3 months back.. it seems the internal glass all around was fogged up with dirt moisture and that salesgirl quickly wiped it clean before she get scolded by me blush.gif I believe my car was placed in appropriate environment for 1-2 months and that could be the reason all of the metal parts in the interior including the driver seat even the armrest got squeaking noise.. what the hell..

I think mine particular car is the biggest lemon car among all fortezens here.. alot of small small problems..
until to-date, all the problems are resolved and wherever I'm drive it I got the feel of satisfaction already..

Oh another 1 very very minor issue.. my driver's door when closing.. it sounds abit like Saga FLX door closing sound..
got a bit audible "crakk" sound and it doesn't heard to be solid door closing compare with other 3 doors.. could SC able to rectify this for me too.. ? yawn.gif

This post has been edited by Ah_Bear: Aug 11 2012, 01:26 AM
Ah_Bear
post Aug 11 2012, 02:44 PM

QUOTE(pianrasa @ Aug 11 2012, 06:06 AM)
This is indeed a great share!  thumbup.gif gonna find myself that magical WD-40..bye2 pesky lalats.. haha..  bro Ah_Bear, how did u exactly spray that WD-40 on those B pillar seatbelts? how did u get to the metal? thankx...

the straw to insert deep inside pointing upwards from the hole of the belt at B-Pillar.. do it in the left and right hole to equal the lubrication of internal metal parts.. rolleyes.gif

this method I did came across from one of the forummer if I'm not mistaken at V12 sharing
the method of "pest control" in the Forte.. LOL
Ah_Bear
post Aug 11 2012, 02:53 PM

QUOTE(chuan30378 @ Aug 11 2012, 01:52 PM)
Thx for ur recommendation, but these 2 tyre quite pricey for me, RM 400++- RM 600++ per pc? any commend of the Koza tyre from indonesia or V7 silverstone tyre, any user for far & comment pls?? thx

FYI, I used the Atlantis V7 Silverstone which came with the car for 2 months and found out that it is very lousy grip on road..
doesn't reliably bites on road and feels very slippery.. no confidence on brisk braking.. ride feels hard and railway train sound but reasonably quiet nonetheless..

I suggest you should try Continental MC5.. quoted at RM390/pc for 17" at Kee Hin.. although its made in M'sia.. i'm sure its ability and overall quality to be a lot better than Silverstone Atlantis V7.. one of the Fortezen back in V13 mentioned MC5 is a good tire and met all of his expectation..

This post has been edited by Ah_Bear: Aug 11 2012, 02:54 PM
Ah_Bear
post Aug 11 2012, 10:32 PM

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Aug 11 2012, 10:21 PM)
Dam, I just heard helicopter sound earlier from the engine or stg when i coming back from work. Hopefully its gone by tomorrow and forever. ZZZ!

klak klak klak sound after engine startup ? i think its normal for timing chain engine..
my vios last time also got tat sound..

Added on August 11, 2012, 10:35 pm
QUOTE(chuan30378 @ Aug 11 2012, 03:31 PM)
Thx for ur comment & suggestion again ah Bear, so will give up to replace the V7 silverstone, so is it good to replace 1 pair of the difference brand of tyre instead of just take the spare tyre for replacement the "bengkak" 1  & buy new tyre for the another? (another front tyre still remain 50-60% bunga)

If you don't wish to spend money on all 4 tire.. get 2 pcs new one for both front.. the 50-60% bunga remains at the rear..

its important to have good set of front tires especially its a front wheel drive car..

This post has been edited by Ah_Bear: Aug 11 2012, 10:35 PM
Ah_Bear
post Aug 11 2012, 10:49 PM

QUOTE(keagan @ Aug 11 2012, 09:46 PM)
Just wondering, those with the 6 speeder, what's ur FC for the 2.0?

I have the 4 speed..and my FC is really madness ... penang driving conditions with a heavy foot as well..i'm only clocking 310-320KM per full tank with Shell and Caltax...BUT... the last tank i reluctantly pumped in Esso (heard its underpowered) but surprise surprise..i clocked a 370km this tank..so i'm going for a round 2...gotta admit the engine is not as eager but its still more than driveable hence i think i'm gonna stick to Esso if its giving good FC from now on...

I'm regular user for BHP on 2.0 6 Speed..
to me by far BHP with my car FC is 5-10% better than Shell and Petronas.. low to mid rpm range acceleration with BHP seems like much more refined and quieter than Petronas.. other than that Petronas gives perky /
peppy acceleration.. while BHP gives seamless torque in strong and smooth characteristic..

I always boycott for Shell RON95 for its super bad FC and torqueless power.. the revs doesn't come along with power and acceleration.. ended up 330+km for RM90..

Have you tested the 6 speed one ? any car which has more than 5AT conventional autobox I'll always feel its more "engaging" to drive.. i think the 6 speed in Forte makes the engine more eager to build up speed compare with the 1.6 4AT I've tested back in 2009..

Ah_Bear
post Aug 12 2012, 06:44 PM

QUOTE(ferrari38 @ Aug 12 2012, 06:39 PM)
Hi, is any 2.0 owner facing minor vibration during idling?
I mean after warm up n shifted at N.
Sometime it was really annoying me n affecting the comfort level, I suspected mouting problem but the SC said it was normal n common on all 2.0 car.
Thus wana double check here in order to go back n argue with the SC.

mine is quiet and vibration-free when idling even when cold start-up..
some vibration while holding steering wheel can be felt when tapping on the accelerator lightly at 1st gear (1,150rpm) from standstill.. elsewhere no vibration.. this doesn't bothers me because the fact is I am not driving a Lexus tongue.gif

Ah_Bear
post Aug 12 2012, 11:05 PM

QUOTE(bennedict82 @ Aug 12 2012, 11:00 PM)

When fuel meter/indicator drop to 'E', how many litres still left? How far still I can go?

The fuel alarm light only will be on when drop to E?

one question.. do you own a Forte now actually ?
it has info of KM to empty tank (Distance to Empty) on the dash.

Ah_Bear
post Aug 12 2012, 11:31 PM

QUOTE(lung85 @ Aug 12 2012, 11:26 PM)
is the info accurate o not?

don't know.. I am only use engine temperature info..
and I will refuel when the fuel gauge needle ticks at 1/4 tank..

Ah_Bear
post Aug 12 2012, 11:39 PM

QUOTE(bennedict82 @ Aug 12 2012, 11:34 PM)
I dont trust DTE. That's why I am asking this question.

maybe you should give it a trust.. ? for once ? hehehehe rolleyes.gif

Ah_Bear
post Aug 13 2012, 02:08 AM

QUOTE(noobie123 @ Aug 13 2012, 01:38 AM)
The DTE when reach E it wont show anymore. I have tested when start blinking i still can drive from Kuchai Lama back to Pandan Indah. Should be around 15km with no traffic jam. IMO 20KM should be fine. test at ur own risk... tongue.gif

Thanks for sharing tongue.gif you're staying in Pandan Indah ?
I am the kiasi type anywhere near 1/4 petrol left.. i will quickly look for petrol jor.. sweat.gif

Ah_Bear
post Aug 13 2012, 03:00 PM

QUOTE(noobie123 @ Aug 13 2012, 08:05 AM)
Nola sending a fren home. It's my first full tank so wanna know how far it can go so am drive to the max .... tongue.gif 380KM only kinda sad maybe i go Genting kua. But heard after first service and 10k the FC will getting better.?. rclxms.gif

I baru service for 10km today.. will observe the FC from now onwards and let u know the outcome soon rolleyes.gif

Added on August 13, 2012, 3:02 pm
QUOTE(zlyc @ Aug 13 2012, 12:29 PM)
Nice info.
Tried once when "---" is displayed. Drive for another 40km++ distance with no jam and refill around 48.XX litres. So i assume when "---" starts to blink, you would have about 7 litres petrol left in your car. This is also same to my myvi where 7 litres left when empty indicator is show.

so be on the safe side, dont drive beyond 50km although a little more KM can be achieved.

Terror lah you ppl.. low fuel warning lights on i will terus panic giler liao..

Added on August 13, 2012, 3:04 pm
QUOTE(theringbearer74 @ Aug 13 2012, 01:28 PM)
Does anybody here know what 'Naza Auto Solution' can help about our Forte?
Can they solve the air-cond problem and pull left issue?

today i did wheel alignment and balancing FOC at SC on 2nd car service 10k km..
they only could do it on weekdays.. so today is the only chance i can go and rectify that stupiak
minor pull left..

Added on August 13, 2012, 3:07 pm
QUOTE(zlyc @ Aug 13 2012, 02:18 PM)
true, Intentionally to find out how far it can go thus can plan much more better ahead, especially I am the lazy type and always fill in the most if possible except long journey. smile.gif

My reasoning doing so :-

1. Late night not a good choice to pump petrol, skip to next morning if possible. Logically lesser chance expose to criminal (too sad, this is where we stay. I am very cautious and alert on personal safety)

2. Sometimes it is reluctant to go for certain brand petrol station if choices are there.Skip it since you know you can make it for the next stop.

sweat.gif

I am second to all above.. I am a loyal fan of BHP sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Ah_Bear: Aug 13 2012, 03:07 PM
Ah_Bear
post Aug 13 2012, 04:10 PM

QUOTE(zouk88 @ Aug 13 2012, 01:02 PM)
i change my ori 6cd to oem hu..brought from kenny Rm1450...so far satisfy with it..u can ask soulreaver as he change to pioneer which i think better than the oem....but u need to buy additional sterling control..

My Vios Dugong last time used Pioneer HU AVH-P4100DVD together with seperate
remote signal device which operates from original steering control..
it has 2 major drawbacks.. the respond is very slow to transmit signal and gets frustrated when
you wanna lower down the volume quickly by steering volume button..

the 2nd one is.. it pair and saves memory for each button from your HU remote to the infrared transmitter device..
hence the steering wheel "up and down" button could only change mp3 folders and radio station preset channel.. or change mp3 files/tracks and manual tune radio frequency..

this is because my previous HU from remote control the up and down button is for changing mp3 folder and radio preset station.. left and right button is changing song track and manual tune radio station..

so I've decided to choose changing mp3 folder and radio preset station when I press up and down on steering wheel button.. hmm..

This post has been edited by Ah_Bear: Aug 13 2012, 04:15 PM
Ah_Bear
post Aug 13 2012, 08:38 PM

QUOTE(noobie123 @ Aug 13 2012, 07:00 PM)
Really need ur feedback on after 10k service. My car FC now seems like better on 2nd tank. The first can reach 380km only now this tank seems like can reach 450km.

Last time I'm using BHp also not bad. But problem is the station is quite limited ESP ppl like me doing sales and lazy pump petrol.everytime also picit till almost wanna spill out. But now I'm using esso. Not bad or a bit better compare to BHp and station also a lot. Choose what station also I definitely won't choose SHELL. Completely banned it...

I pumped Esso for once when I was using my bro's car (Ford Focus 2.0 Duratec) because it was the nearest station available and alarmingly low fuel.. (Range to Empty only 7km). A day after terus kena sound by him coz evident feel of torqueless 3k rpm power.. same goes to my Vios last time.. maybe Esso mileage is abit better compare to BHP..

and one more "problem" with my Forte.. the new car smell fades off 98% at only 800km on odometer.. fastest which I wouldn't expect in every new car I've driven.. haihhhh..

This post has been edited by Ah_Bear: Aug 13 2012, 08:39 PM
Ah_Bear
post Aug 14 2012, 10:12 PM

QUOTE(noobie123 @ Aug 14 2012, 01:08 AM)
Yeah my gf don't like that smell too. Need to get rid of it soonest. Going for my first service this coming thu any idea which SC better for fixing the famous left pull issue? I heard CSL branch is good am I right? So far I only facing this left pull issue the rating noise don't have yet or maybe I'm not noise sensitive...

my wheels alignment done yesterday at SC Setapak.. my car now running on total center oredi..
let go my steering wheel for more than 30 seconds still going so dem straight.. weeeee ~ ~ ~

Ah_Bear
post Aug 15 2012, 09:43 PM

QUOTE(noobie123 @ Aug 15 2012, 08:30 AM)
Oh good to hear hear that. How long it takes to fix it and I believe shud Be free right?

My car alignment work is FOC at 9,500km 2nd service.. by right I should pay..
They never charge me anything on alignment because my car chassis & owner info was
not registered yet into the main HQ server when performing 900km 1st service at CSL SC.. 900km was after 1 and a
half month of my car delivery..
CSL SC service advisor mak cik said my car cannot request any warranty claim parts and repair
coz my car isn't registered in yet.. so this matter was brought forward to 2nd service at Setapak SC..

outside tyre shops (take note the plural word) never successfully fix my pull left issue.. now finally its super
straight and center tongue.gif

apparently during 2nd service, I managed to "sun bin" complain abit about my driver's door closing sound doesn't seemed like proper solid thud compare with other 3 doors.. got crekkk sound from outside when closing..
the abang service advisor in Setapak SC, without any hesitation he quickly type and submit a warranty claim report from his PC to replace a new door latch mechanism after he opens and closes my driver door for few times and of course I was standing beside him ensure that he could give me an answer of what have gone wrong with the door.. that latch thingy, according to him costs RM380 for each door..
it may seem caused by internal parts rubbing against each other when door closes which create the sound of ancient Proton Saga door closing alike.. the new parts warranty claim expected to be approved by Naza Kia HQ after Raya and need to revisit that SC for replacement..

aiks.. lari topic already.. sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif rolleyes.gif
Ah_Bear
post Aug 16 2012, 10:50 PM

QUOTE(avengers88 @ Aug 16 2012, 10:17 PM)
Totally 5 star bro. At first I thought my lock/unlock button faulty. Hahahha.

I thought my door unlock system faulty also at 1st.. LOL
I always used to press button unlock doors for passengers to get down before
the car comes to a complete stop lets say 25kmph..
I need to reach to the slowdown speed of 10kmph only the doors unlock..

It unlocks and locks again in just a millisecond at 25kmph above.. as if my car got haunted by "smth" blink.gif

My dad's Vellfire will sound a long beep when pressing the unlock button once while driving.. 2nd time pressing
it will unlock all doors.. hmm.gif

Ah_Bear
post Aug 16 2012, 11:01 PM

QUOTE(noobie123 @ Aug 16 2012, 07:50 PM)
Haha. This is quite standard. Normal car alarm have this kinda function. Whenever ur rpm reach 2000(or lower not sure) it will lock door.

Added on August 16, 2012, 7:52 pmBeen to CSL did my first service. After service very obvious instant l/100km is easier to achieve below 10. I believe my car FC has improve but my pull left issue still there. I told the girl the car alignment got problem keep moving to left. Am I say the right thing?

Heh.. is that the lady called Zainab ? I've mentioned few times since V13 that CSL SC never take note of customers complain seriously. The tagline "family-like care" claimed doesn't work in that SC to solve the annoying issues promptly which shouldn't be happen on new cars after delivery.. They didn't bothered to help me to fix alignment FOC (my salesgirl told me alignment warranty for new car is below 1k km mileage) coz she said "oh.. kereta Encik punye info belum registered masuk kat dlm HQ punya server.. Encik kena dtg lain kali utk buat repair alignment"

Bye bye CSL SC.. although this is the nearest SC available to place I'm staying.. I rather spend 20-30mins time driving to Setapak SC for higher confidence level and satisfied feel after service job done..

0.0379sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:09 AM