been long time searching for this type of usb cable; short in length, coiled-type, and can transfer data, perfect as my ori powerbank cable replacement..
lumia 920
This post has been edited by thesun: Oct 17 2013, 07:17 AM
..๑۩ Camera-Phone Shots Gallery [V11] ۩๑.., no need use spoiler for images already
Oct 17 2013, 07:16 AM
1,810 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
![]() been long time searching for this type of usb cable; short in length, coiled-type, and can transfer data, perfect as my ori powerbank cable replacement.. lumia 920 This post has been edited by thesun: Oct 17 2013, 07:17 AM |
Oct 18 2013, 01:14 PM
QUOTE(realjazzcoke @ Oct 18 2013, 12:05 PM) It is convenient and handy, but if u say the cable was able to transfer data, then the charging time might be longer compared to those pure power output cable (without data), thus longer time while charging, coz such cable limits the charging output. correct. using data cable able to give me 26% charge per hour..if use pineng cable, sometimes up to 37% charge per hour.. but it is not consistent, sometimes the same as data cable only.. (powerbank is full power) i dun like using pineng cable, because it is two piece unit at the micro usb side, thus makes it longer.. it already bent a little bit because i put in my bag while charging the phone.. i scared it will damage my usb charging port only if i keep using in long term.. |
Oct 18 2013, 04:44 PM
edit.. i put a small piece of aluminum foil on the pineng usb port.. so it shorts out two middle pin, and plug in the usb cable..
charges way faster now.. |
Oct 18 2013, 06:26 PM
QUOTE(realjazzcoke @ Oct 18 2013, 06:02 PM) care to show the method in photo bro? i always read article but still guessing how it should be done (im not so good in electronics), hopefully this can be done in a simple way. ok, will post picture once i get back. Now still play table tennis.I too have a coiled type data cable, which is handy while charging on the go, but the charging speed was a pain... Thanks in advance |
Oct 19 2013, 12:13 AM
![]() 1. Check pins at powerbank port. Goal is to short the two inner pins. 2. Cut aluminum foil, fold it in two or three fold, so that not too thin or too thick. 3. Check the size, make sure doesnt touch two outer pins, check the width, no need too wide, ngam ngam touch two inner pins ok already. 4. Fold the end of foil so it become a hook. 5. Place and adjust the foil so it ngam ngam sit at the middle on the powerbank usb port. Use the hook to secure foil in place. Make sure dont let it touch outer pins, use plastic or sharp object to help u. 6. Quickly and carefully insert usb cable, dont connect to phone yet, see if ur powerbank turn on or not.. If not yet connect phone and powerbank already on, means the connection got problem, re do everything again. if all ok, then can cucuk mini usb to phone, see the powerbank on automatically or not. If yes, then ok liao! oh yes, keep extra aluminum foil in the powerbank bag or case. Just in case u cabut the usb and the foil loose or damaged dy. U can always fold new one any time anywhere. update: my phone usually get charged in 2.5hours using the usb wall charger, (with data and wifi always on cos im lazy to turn on/off) using this hack, i tested just now, (wifi and data on) started charging at 28% battery remaining, finish 100% after 2hours (powerbank auto turn off like usual so no issue with powerbank after this hack).. so, 70% in two hours = 35% per hour.. i did use the phone while charging, view instagram, post this hack, surf fb and 30 minute chat, so the phoe is not completely idle during charging at roughly 35% per hour while using the phone is fast enough for me.. i can get faster if i on flight mode lol.. This post has been edited by thesun: Oct 19 2013, 02:20 AM |
Oct 20 2013, 01:28 PM
QUOTE(realjazzcoke @ Oct 20 2013, 10:15 AM) Thanks for your comprehensive documentation with photo the reason behind shorting both inner pins is to trick the phone so that it sense the charging device is not a laptop or computer,I was unable to provide any results for now as: 1) i tried on N8/808, it wont charge at all with this mod. 2) android phones & power bank are able to charge under this mod. guess there is no luck on getting this mod to charge on Symbian^3 for now... I will comeback with my finding once i have evaluated the charging progress with the mod on other devices if connected to a computer, the phone will only draw small current so it will not fry the computer motherboard. so, only use shorted pins hack if u connect to powerbank or (1A or 2A) capable charger dont use it at computer, if not ur motherboard will fried cos the current limit already removed. |
Oct 22 2013, 01:01 AM
Nov 2 2013, 11:06 PM