Sports PLAYWORKS WINING ELEVEN 9 TOURNAMENT...sunway

TSsupar_depor
post Jan 31 2006, 11:12 AM, updated 20y ago

121 posts

HI GUYS..

I JUST GOT SMS FROM PLAYWORKS.SUNWAY. PYRAMID...

THEY R GOING TO ORGANISE WE9 TOURNEY..

FORMAT

QUALIFIYNG ROUND. ...ROUND ROBIN..

FIRST ROUND 4TH FEB..SECOND... MAYBE 0N 11 fEB..THEN GO TO FINAL ROUND

FORMAT : ps2

ENTRY FEES RM30...
1ST PRIZE rm500
2ND 300
3RD 200

SO ANYONE INTERESTED CALL
highwind
post Feb 1 2006, 12:35 AM

180 posts

cannot make it.....>.<

can i go 2nd round straight tongue.gif
1st round too early already
Suk
post Feb 1 2006, 07:10 PM

2,330 posts

sure or not ...
i wan go n see only..
blankerroo
post Feb 1 2006, 08:07 PM

57 posts

Here are the full rules for the competition:

Venue: Playworks Entertainment Centre, Sunway Pyramid (at lowest floor in Sunway Pyramid, near the Archery Range)

Rules and regulations:

1. Use Club teams
2. Open for all ages
3. The mode of the tournament is league / round robin
4. RM 30 will be charged upon registration
- If you bring 2 other friends to register, you will get to pay only RM15 for registration fee (but your 2 friends will each have to pay the full RM30)
- If you bring 4 other friends to register, you will get to register for free (but your 4 other friends will each have to pay the full RM30)
5. You are allowed to bring your own controller
6. Match will be played on the following settings:
- 10 min per half (the registration form says 10 min per half, but I think it's an error: I think it should be 10 mins per game. Melampau la if 20 mins per game...)
- Camera: Wide
- 3 substitutions
- Winners of each group will be determined by accumulated points:
WIN = 3 points DRAW = 1 point LOSE = 0 point
7. Each match will be adjudicated by an umpire and decision shall be final
8. For any reason a player withdraws from the tournament at any time, their opponent will be deemed to have won the match and there will be no refund
9. No penalty kicks for draw games

1st Preliminary Round: 4th Feb 2006
2nd Preliminary Round: 11th Feb 2006
3rd Preliminary Round: 18th Feb 2006
4th Preliminary Round: 25th Feb 2006

Top 4 players from each round will proceed to finals on 26th Feb 2006.

Prizes:

1st: RM500 + Trophy
2nd: RM200 + Trophy
3rd: RM100 + Trophy
Consolation prize for all finalists

For further info, please call (10 am to 10 pm) 03-74910805: Mr Helmi Hassan and Mr Azlan Mansor

*Note: Each of the Preliminary Rounds are open to everyone. This means, you can register for any one of those rounds. For example, let's say you register for the 1st round. But you fail to qualify. So, you can still try again by registering for the 2nd round (You will still have to pay another RM30 for every time you register. To save money, invite a lot of your friends to register, like how I explained in the rules above). If you still fail to qualify, you can try again for the 3rd round, and again for the 4th round.

Also, if you feel that you cannot come for the 1st round, you can straight away register for the 2nd round, or 3rd, or 4th. It's up to you.

Come all, let's join this tourney! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by blankerroo: Feb 1 2006, 08:14 PM
blankerroo
post Feb 1 2006, 08:10 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(highwind @ Feb 1 2006, 12:35 AM)
cannot make it.....>.<

can i go 2nd round straight  tongue.gif
1st round too early already
Can... you can register for 2nd, 3rd or 4th round. Totally up to you.

QUOTE(Suk @ Feb 1 2006, 07:10 PM)
sure or not ...
i wan  go n see only..
Very sure maaa. Join la. The more people joining, the cheaper the registration fee. Don't la just go and see, go and play lorrrr... Come laaa....
bug_vengeance
post Feb 3 2006, 02:48 PM

: Juve's Historic Battle :
7,131 posts

i will consider to join this one

will ask few of my frens to join it
cannavaro
post Feb 3 2006, 04:13 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

I called that number twice just now, but I didn't get the chance to talk to the persons in charge. One went out and the other took the day off.

Haih.

blankerroo
post Feb 3 2006, 06:49 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Feb 3 2006, 04:13 PM)
I called that number twice just now, but I didn't get the chance to talk to the persons in charge. One went out and the other took the day off.

Haih.
What is it about the competition that you want to ask about? You can always ask me. I know a bit about it... because I have joined their competition last year.
cannavaro
post Feb 3 2006, 08:20 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

Alright.

I think you won't be able to answer this one:

1. Which version will be used? I know it's Winning Eleven 9 (Jap) but is it a patched version (if so, which patch?), with updated players and all?

The rest:
2. Can I bring my own memory card? (For formations, of course)

3. When will it start? Morning? Noon?

4. Are we allowed to change the formation in the middle of the game?

5. How many tvs+ps2s do they have there for the tournament?

blankerroo
post Feb 3 2006, 08:31 PM

57 posts

Cannavaro, u are correct man, I really cannot accurately answer all your questions, but I'll try to answer them based on my previous experience with their tournaments. Of course, for a more accurate answer, better to contact Playworks staffs themselves.
QUOTE(cannavaro @ Feb 3 2006, 08:20 PM)
Alright.

I think you won't be able to answer this one:

1. Which version will be used? I know it's Winning Eleven 9 (Jap) but is it a patched version (if so, which patch?), with updated players and all?
The rest:
2. Can I bring my own memory card? (For formations, of course)

3. When will it start? Morning? Noon?

4. Are we allowed to change the formation in the middle of the game?

5. How many tvs+ps2s do they have there for the tournament?
1. Normally they'll use Winning Eleven 9 that's patched, with updated kits, names, and all. But specifically which patched version it is, I don't know. You'll have to ask the organisers.

2. Previously, they don't allow contestants to bring their own memory cards. You'll have to set your formations on the spot. They'll allow some time for you to do so though, so don't worry. But maybe the organisers have changed that ruling now. Try asking them.

3. Last year, it started at around 11 to 12. And they'll try to finish it before night, in order to allow underage contestants to go back home before night.

4. Previously, we're not allowed to change formations in the middle of the game. Can change only during halftime. But if you have an injured or red-carded player, you're allowed to do substitution. I don't know if there are changes to this ruling now, though.

5. I know for a fact that they have 4 TV's and 4 PS2's set aside for the tournament.

Hope that helps!
cannavaro
post Feb 3 2006, 08:50 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

Indeed that's helpful.
Thank you.

But I've more questions, heheh.

What were the competitors like, last time? Did you see any good players, as in the ones who easily beat their opponents?

From what I read, in this annual tournament in the UK usually the competition is tight. Can't remember the site though, I found it through pesinsight.com.

I do remember that the league leader had quite a few defeats, and the only thing that separates most of them are the number of wins and draws, not defeats.

blankerroo
post Feb 3 2006, 08:56 PM

57 posts

FYI, most probably they'll not play in league format during the qualifying stage, especially when the number of participants is too many because if they allow league format, it'll be too long before everyone has finally played. Most probably they'll use group league.

And about the level of competition, I must say that it's not that level lah. There were some contestants who were lepas and bounds above the rest (i.e. very terer). Most are average-level gamers (like me wink.gif). There are also not so good players who are only there to play the game, gain experience, and have fun.

But then again, sometimes, even the strong players fall. Best way to know about the level of competition, is to join and experience playing against them. Then you'll know. smile.gif
machabeez
post Feb 4 2006, 12:36 AM

Hi, been following this post and gathered some questions myself...

Ive never seen or heard of any tournaments since i started playing this game. Ive organized a tournament myself amongst my friends last year..around 10 of us (all the big European clubs were used) and i know how intense and fun it can get...which leads me to my first question...

1) 4tvs? Is tat enough to accomodate so many ppl? I had 2 tvs in my tourney and it took us 12 hours to finish the tourney with round robin, semi finals and the final...all 10 minute games. Since im lazy to do the math i think logically it would need a little more tvs since everyone is allowed to replay in the 2nd 3rd and 4th round...

2) During games, i have a friend who has the tendency to pause just when im about to make a spectacular Lampard shot, with the excuse of changing his injured roy keane...is there a rule...to pause ONLY when the ball is out of play...do i get to bash the opponent if he does it? I know alot of trigger happy people...i hate them all..

3) arent the organizers here in this forum at all? it can help solve all the FAQs... or do they have a website/blog/forum?

4) Mun Wai playing?

cheers

blankerroo
post Feb 4 2006, 01:14 AM

57 posts

1. 4 TVs might not be enough if there are a lot of participants, but based on my experience last year, not that many people are joining. So, if that's still the case this time, then 4 TVs should be enough. After all, if there're too many people joining, maybe they'll break everyone into small groups and thus will limit the amount of time spent playing.

2. There is a rule to disallow pausing the game like that. You would get a warning if the person did that. But sometimes they forget to enforce that rule. If during play you feel your opponent had an unfair advantage by doing that, you can always complain, coz there will be a referee watching over your game.

3. I guess the organisers aren't Interent-savvy. Hehe. They don't have any website, nor are they active in any forums / blogs. Promotion for their tournaments are normally via word of mouth and via SMS sent to participants of previous tournaments (they keep your handphone number so that later if they want to host other tournaments, they will be able to contact you). Best way to ask them is by phone or by visiting their shop. Refer to the post I gave above.

4. Mun Wai playing? I don't know. Normally he would be playing. See how it goes tomorrow. I'm planning to visit the tournament tomorrow but not yet sure whether to register tomorrow or register for the following weeks' qualifying rounds.
highwind
post Feb 4 2006, 01:19 AM

180 posts

Im interested in this tourney....but i only played this game for 2 weeks........gonna get thrashing there..........hope i dun meet too good player.

Yea, about the pausing........although i'm a noob player, but i always like fairplay. I hope the rules is strict. Orelse i will take the side rules, just like what our friend here just said.........BASH him up biggrin.gif

I hope all the rules and regulations is stated clearly... thumbup.gif

May the best player wins

Good Luck Guys !!!

blankerroo
post Feb 4 2006, 01:23 AM

57 posts

I also like fair play. Don't worry, come to the tournament early, and if I'm not mistaken, they will announce all the rules there. And make sure to complain la if you feel your opponent is acting unfairly.

But don't complain if you lose due to your opponent being terer sangat. wink.gif

Thanks for joining highwind. I hope more players will join. I like having the opportunity to experience playing against people whom I don't know their skills. Promotes diversity. smile.gif
blankerroo
post Feb 4 2006, 01:13 PM

57 posts

Latest Announcement: Unfortunately, due to the small number of participants joining 4th Feb's preliminary round, this round has been postponed to next weekend, 11th Feb. This means, participants who have registered for 4th Feb will be playing on 11th Feb.

And because of this also, the number of people qualifying for the finals on 26th Feb will be increased accordingly from 4 people per preliminary round to another amount yet undisclosed. Call Playworks for more details.

This post has been edited by blankerroo: Feb 4 2006, 01:14 PM
highwind
post Feb 4 2006, 02:43 PM

180 posts

Im a FIFA player actually, u can see i post quite a number in the LYN League ^^

But anyway, it's more challenging to play in something which im not good in, i just wanna meet up with more friends.

Got few question here, hope someone can help :

1. Any idea how to get to sunway pyramid through public transport?
Im from Cyberjaya, guide me there at least from (SUBANG JAYA - KTM) if u all dunno how to get there from Cyberjaya.

2. Is the grand final still on 26th ? I cant make it then coz i got important things to do back in penang......i guess im gonna miss the big show sad.gif
highwind
post Feb 4 2006, 03:14 PM

180 posts

Btw, is Mun Wai the previous champion of WE in Malaysia ?
blankerroo
post Feb 4 2006, 04:00 PM

57 posts

highwind:

1. To get to Sunway Pyramid from KTM Subang, you can either take a bus or taxi. Which bus specifically to take, I think it's best you ask people at the station there. They would know. I don't know coz it's been some time since I last took a bus to go somewhere.

2. The grand final is most probably on 26th. Tough luck...

3. Mun Wai is ESWC 2004 Malaysia champion. But 2005 there's no ESWC for Malaysia, so I don't think you can say that Mun Wai is champion of Malaysia anymore... Plus, in recent tournaments other than the ones Mun Wai hosts at his shop, he isn't the champion.
cannavaro
post Feb 4 2006, 06:42 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

Ah, so it's postponed. I went there around 3pm just now and I thought the tournament's over.

QUOTE(blankerroo @ Feb 4 2006, 04:00 PM)
Plus, in recent tournaments other than the ones Mun Wai hosts at his shop, he isn't the champion.
Hmm. Sounds interesting. Where is his shop?
Is this just a coincidence, or did he edit the stats of his favorite team to his advantage or something?

Btw, I haven't heard of any other WE/PES tournament besides this one and the one that was hosted at Limkokwing last year.

blankerroo
post Feb 4 2006, 07:42 PM

57 posts

I don't think he edits his favourite team's stats, coz he's not proficient in using his PC. He uses it just for basic stuffs like emailing, browsing forums, and such. He doesn't even have Winning Eleven installed on his PC.

E-sports World Cup (ESWC) 2004, the tournament where Mun Wai won and became Malaysia's representative at the ESWC finals in France, was the first tournament that really brought together the Malaysian community of WE/PES. Before that, Mun Wai did host a number of tournaments at his shop, but it was mainly for people who are living near his shop. It's not heavily promoted.

But after ESWC 2004, with Mun Wai's name becoming more popular and with people knowing there is a community of WE/PES players engaging in tournaments with prize money, new tournaments began to crop up. Among them are the Playworks tournaments in Sunway Pyramid, a Winning Eleven tournament held near the end of last year at Plaza Alam Sentral, Shah Alam, and Limkokwing's 6-Nations and Piala e-sukan tournaments.

Of course, Mun Wai's tournaments continued to be held on a regular basis. But unfortunately due to lack of support from the community (I don't know: maybe becoz they're bored seeing Mun Wai win his own tourneys over & over again, or becoz of people becoming busier every day), his tournaments are slowly becoming less popular. Even the most recent tournament that he planned to organise had to be cancelled due to lack of participants.

Well, that's basically a brief history about the WE/PES tournament environment in Malaysia. Anyone care to update more about it, please do.
cannavaro
post Feb 4 2006, 09:35 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

You sure know a lot, thanks again.

More questions regarding the Playworks tournament.

1. What form (or arrows) will be used?
I've got a feeling that it's either green or red. It'd be nice if they set it to random.

2. When you score a goal, will the umpire allow you to view the replays?
blankerroo
post Feb 4 2006, 09:50 PM

57 posts

1. The player form is set to Random.

2. Normally players don't want to watch the replays coz it'll just waste time. But I guess if you want to watch, it's ok. So far the umpires didn't say anything if players let the replays be viewed.
highwind
post Feb 5 2006, 01:30 AM

180 posts

Thanks for everything man......btw who's the Winning Eleven top player in msia now.......can list some of the top players, at least i get to know them....
blankerroo
post Feb 5 2006, 02:03 AM

57 posts

I only know 2: Effy and Mun Wai. The others, I don't really know.
highwind
post Feb 11 2006, 03:59 PM

180 posts

How's today's competition..........any updates?

Who won?

How many participants?
blankerroo
post Feb 11 2006, 05:22 PM

57 posts

I think 28 people joined. 10 people qualified, and we all broke up into 3 groups of 6 people, and 2 groups of 5 people. We played league matches for each group (but only 1 match every 2 opponents: not home & away like in real life leagues), and the top 2 people from each group qualified.

They took 10 people to qualify for finals because last weekend's matches were cancelled and all the participants were carried forward to play today.

I and Effy qualified. Mun Wai didn't join. Don't know why. But there are 2 more weekends of qualifying matches, so probably he'll join later.

So guys, come and join. See you guys in the finals! smile.gif
camron
post Feb 11 2006, 11:16 PM

ä¸èƒ½è¯´çš„秘密
1,346 posts

GLad to hear that kind of news...
i would like to take part Winning ELeven Soccer games long time ago but i always missed chances to take part...cz i didnt get any news...but whenever i got that news when it was over...hah

well..i think this time i wont miss this kind of chances... hehe
thank you everything about this news...
thank you every much
highwind
post Feb 12 2006, 01:36 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(blankerroo @ Feb 11 2006, 06:22 PM)
I think 28 people joined. 10 people qualified, and we all broke up into 3 groups of 6 people, and 2 groups of 5 people. We played league matches for each group (but only 1 match every 2 opponents: not home & away like in real life leagues), and the top 2 people from each group qualified.

They took 10 people to qualify for finals because last weekend's matches were cancelled and all the participants were carried forward to play today.

I and Effy qualified. Mun Wai didn't join. Don't know why. But there are 2 more weekends of qualifying matches, so probably he'll join later.

How come so many ppl qualified ?

I tot there were only 4 ppl in the grand final?
blankerroo
post Feb 12 2006, 01:49 PM

57 posts

No, the plan was, to take 4 people from EACH qualifying round. So, initially it should have been 4 x 4 = 16 people in the finals. But the 1st weekend of qualifying (4th Feb), only 3 people registered, so they cancelled that weekend's games and brought all the people registered on that date to 11th Feb.

By doing so, it would only be fair to increase the number of people qualifiying for the finals for 11th Feb to 8 people. But since there were a lot of players on 11th Feb (28 people), they had to divide them up into 5 groups, and the only way they could quickly get finalists from 11th Feb (they want to finish the games ASAP) is by taking the top 2 people from each group, and that is why 10 people qualified from 11th Feb.

Another reason is because they are afraid that the 18th and 25th Feb qualifying rounds would be cancelled due to a low turn-up of players, just like what had happened on 4th Feb. At least by taking 10 qualifiers from 11th Feb's round, they would still be able to continue playing the finals on 26th Feb using only those 10 qualifiers, if the rounds on 18th and 25th are cancelled.

But don't worry, make sure you guys just turn up in full force on 18th and 25th, and I'm sure they will never cancel the games. They will take a minimum of 4 players per qualifying round, but if too many registered, who knows, there might be a possibility they'll increase that amount further.

And by the way, the finals on 26th Feb will be played similarly like the qualifying rounds: divide everyone into groups, take the top 2 from each group to play in knockout rounds until the final match.
patrickyeo21
post Feb 12 2006, 01:55 PM

Believe in yourself ~
1,335 posts

if can use keyboard, i will join .. hehe
blankerroo
post Feb 12 2006, 01:58 PM

57 posts

Keyboard??? Dude, you're missing a lot of the nuances of the game la if you use keyboard... I suggest you practice playing the game using a gamepad, particularly a PS2 gamepad. Not only will it make you a better player, it will also allow you to participate in a lot of Winning Eleven competitions!

By the way, the tournament is a PS2 tournament, so you definitely cannot use a keyboard. Sorry.
Ken
post Feb 12 2006, 06:42 PM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

i use to play with keyboard 1...so can i bring it there? tongue.gif
blankerroo
post Feb 12 2006, 06:52 PM

57 posts

What for? The tournament is being held using PS2, not PC, so for sure you can't use your keyboard even if you were to bring it.
Ecthelion_Pallanén
post Feb 13 2006, 02:16 AM

i have some question bout this tournament...

1.how do i register 4this tournament???is it b4 the tournament takes place or when the day of the tournament should i register???

plzz answer asap... coz i know i'm good playing this game...hehehe thumbup.gif
blankerroo
post Feb 13 2006, 06:06 AM

57 posts

Both also can. But better to register before the tournament date, just in case the tournament slots are already full...
highwind
post Feb 13 2006, 11:47 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(blankerroo @ Feb 13 2006, 07:06 AM)
Both also can. But better to register before the tournament date, just in case the tournament slots are already full...
How to register...?

Go Sunway and register ?
blankerroo
post Feb 13 2006, 11:57 AM

57 posts

Yes, go to Sunway Pyramid to register. For more information, call the telephone number that I gave. Maybe you can negotiate with them to register online and you transfer money to them online, I don't know. Ask them.

But to make everything simple, just go there to register.
siLDes
post Feb 13 2006, 09:58 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(highwind @ Feb 13 2006, 11:47 AM)
How to register...?
Go Sunway and register ?
ohmy.gif .... Watch Out Fellows ... FIFA 2005 4th fellow in going to play WINING ELEVEN at Sunway ... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by siLDes: Feb 13 2006, 09:58 PM
blankerroo
post Feb 13 2006, 10:53 PM

57 posts

highwind is a very terer Fifa player eh? Let's see how he performs playing Winning Eleven. After all, they are 2 different games... Good luck man!

FYI, I'm going to play Fifa 2006 in WCG 2006, coz that's the only fair game category (IMO) in WCG. I previously played NFS underground and NFS Undeground 2 in WCG 2004 & 2005 respectively, but I lost both of them! Definitely not gonna play that anymore...
highwind
post Feb 14 2006, 12:36 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(siLDes @ Feb 13 2006, 10:58 PM)
ohmy.gif .... Watch Out Fellows ... FIFA 2005 4th fellow in going to play WINING ELEVEN at Sunway ...  sweat.gif
Haha......surprise to see me there is it ?

if you want you can come and play.......we might meet there ^^

Im going on the 25th mostly.......after all the best player qualified biggrin.gif
MightyReds
post Feb 14 2006, 12:51 AM

FeaR.527.BH
777 posts

QUOTE(highwind @ Feb 14 2006, 12:36 AM)

Im going on the 25th mostly.......after all the best player qualified  biggrin.gif
haha...no wonder these days u dun wan fifa already...go and play WE huh tongue.gif ...too bad i can only always play WE on my own...so i reli donno how good i am... sweat.gif
cannavaro
post Feb 14 2006, 01:13 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(blankerroo @ Feb 11 2006, 05:22 PM)

Congrats.

I don't get you on this part:
"only 1 match every 2 opponents"

Btw, mind sharing your results?
How many W/L/D?
Just wanna get a rough idea on the level of competitors on that day.
blankerroo
post Feb 14 2006, 01:25 AM

57 posts

1 match every 2 opponents: coz somebody asked the organiser - will we be playing home & away matches in the group matches (just like Champions League), or will there only be 1 match against every opponent in the group (just like groups in World Cup)? And the organiser said it's like the World Cup.

6 people in my group, 1 person did not come, so we all are considered to have won our matches against him. Against the other 4 people in the group, I won 2 (3-0 and 4-3), draw 1 (1-1), lost 1 (2-4). Lost to Effy, the guy that I mentioned was very terer. smile.gif The others, they're terer too.

The thing about Winning Eleven is, even though you're terer, it's a fair game, so not always you can win. That's what I like about it.

This post has been edited by blankerroo: Feb 14 2006, 01:26 AM
siLDes
post Feb 14 2006, 03:18 AM

176 posts

QUOTE(highwind @ Feb 14 2006, 12:36 AM)
Im going on the 25th mostly.......after all the best player qualified  biggrin.gif
Maybe can come and support u..
Don't to play WE ... loyal to FIFA ..tongue.gif
highwind
post Feb 14 2006, 05:28 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(blankerroo @ Feb 14 2006, 02:25 AM)
1 match every 2 opponents: coz somebody asked the organiser - will we be playing home & away matches in the group matches (just like Champions League), or will there only be 1 match against every opponent in the group (just like groups in World Cup)? And the organiser said it's like the World Cup.

6 people in my group, 1 person did not come, so we all are considered to have won our matches against him. Against the other 4 people in the group, I won 2 (3-0 and 4-3), draw 1 (1-1), lost 1 (2-4). Lost to Effy, the guy that I mentioned was very terer. smile.gif The others, they're terer too.

The thing about Winning Eleven is, even though you're terer, it's a fair game, so not always you can win. That's what I like about it.
Cool.........like that my probability of getting thrash is not very high thumbup.gif

Can i ask, there's more people who attacks through wings or center?

This post has been edited by highwind: Feb 14 2006, 05:31 PM
highwind
post Feb 14 2006, 05:30 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(siLDes @ Feb 14 2006, 04:18 AM)
Maybe can come and support u..
Don't to play WE ... loyal to FIFA ..tongue.gif
Haha........how you want one game to satisfy me in 365 days.

Of course i need more games ^^

Dont worry, im still gonna be in WCG2006 for FIFA WORLD CUP 2006, you still gonna see me there. I still havent bring my gamepad to a debut tournament you know ^^
cannavaro
post Feb 14 2006, 05:59 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

I believe attacking from the wings is a very popular tactic.
Heck, that's what I'm gonna do.
blankerroo
post Feb 14 2006, 08:14 PM

57 posts

Highwind, FYI, for WCG 2006, I'm also gonna play FIFA 2006. Hmmm... wait a minute... I cannot apply for cuti la during my 1st year of work! Oh well... so it seems I cannot join WCG la, coz the prelims are on Friday normally. Hmmm...

Cannavaro: I also attack from the wings. Or at least my strategy is to let the wings have the ball most of the time.
MightyReds
post Feb 15 2006, 12:10 AM

FeaR.527.BH
777 posts

I seldom score from wings though...mostly attack from wings but will pull it back to centre lor...still cant figure out how to master the positioning of those headers sad.gif
jiggly_head
post Feb 15 2006, 12:13 AM

192 posts

is this competition still available for entry?
highwind
post Feb 15 2006, 02:41 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(MightyReds @ Feb 15 2006, 01:10 AM)
I seldom score from wings though...mostly attack from wings but will pull it back to centre lor...still cant figure out how to master the positioning of those headers  sad.gif
So im not the only one tongue.gif
blankerroo
post Feb 15 2006, 06:44 AM

57 posts

QUOTE(jiggly_head @ Feb 15 2006, 12:13 AM)
is this competition still available for entry?
Yes, it is still available for entry. Go to Playworks Sunway Pyramid to register.
dirge3
post Feb 15 2006, 12:22 PM

28 posts

hi... was ther for de qualifiers too... also qualified *yahoo!*
blankerroo... which group were u in for de tournament? wat's ur name, if u don mind telling? gd luck, haf fun everyone!

highwind
post Feb 15 2006, 12:47 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(dirge3 @ Feb 15 2006, 01:22 PM)
hi... was ther for de qualifiers too... also qualified *yahoo!*
blankerroo... which group were u in for de tournament? wat's ur name, if u don mind telling? gd luck, haf fun everyone!
Congrats dirge3 ^^

Yea, if you all dun mind..........i hope to know your gaming id there.
So that i can call you all there and have a chat or what......im trying to make more WE friends now
blankerroo
post Feb 15 2006, 01:07 PM

57 posts

dirge3, my name is Nikman, and I was in Effy's group.
dirge3
post Feb 15 2006, 02:45 PM

28 posts

dirge3 == chuah. was in group E. hmm... effy's group... is tat group D? remember there's one group quite tight... a few 2-2.5 points.
highwind: might drop by on weekends, if nt hope 2 c u in da next rd! all de best! wink.gif

dirge3
post Feb 15 2006, 02:47 PM

28 posts

blush.gif i mean 2-2.5 wins biggrin.gif doh.gif
highwind
post Feb 15 2006, 02:48 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(dirge3 @ Feb 15 2006, 03:45 PM)
dirge3 == chuah. was in group E. hmm... effy's group... is tat group D? remember there's one group quite tight... a few 2-2.5 points.
highwind: might drop by on weekends, if nt hope 2 c u in da next rd! all de best! wink.gif
Haha.........im going next week (25th of FEB). Hope to see you guys. Ill be mostly using my usual gaming nick "AhLooN"..........easy to recognize biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by highwind: Feb 15 2006, 02:49 PM
Chunky
post Feb 15 2006, 03:11 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(highwind @ Feb 15 2006, 02:48 PM)
Haha.........im going next week (25th of FEB). Hope to see you guys. Ill be mostly using my usual gaming nick "AhLooN"..........easy to recognize  biggrin.gif
GL Loon biggrin.gif
highwind
post Feb 15 2006, 09:39 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(Chunky @ Feb 15 2006, 04:11 PM)
GL Loon  biggrin.gif
biggrin.gif Thanks Chunky
blankerroo
post Feb 15 2006, 10:37 PM

57 posts

Not sure Group D or not, but definitely with another player's nick called "Handsome". I'm not sure who you are though dirge...

Anyway, guys, if you're serious in playing PES/WE, why not go and buy PES5 PC version online? Then we can all play against each other online. I'm waiting for my copy. Costs me around RM140 or so, but worth it la since you can play with anyone on the Internet.
RtP|DEV
post Feb 16 2006, 11:01 AM

266 posts

Hahahaha....
nasib baik aku bukak forum ni.dah berzaman x msk sini.
Aku pun nak pergi register,boleh lagi ke?
blankerroo
post Feb 16 2006, 12:41 PM

57 posts

Boleh register lagi RtP|DEV, ko nak main weekend ni or weekend 25 feb?
RtP|DEV
post Feb 16 2006, 01:03 PM

266 posts

Member aku(paan & apes) nak main minggu ni.Klau x dpt leh try minggu dpn.Aku ikut aje.
btw..blankeroo ko study kt kolej mane.Member aku kate die nampak ko kt uniten, ke die silap org.
Aku ni dev ingat lagi piala e-sukan?

This post has been edited by RtP|DEV: Feb 16 2006, 01:05 PM
blankerroo
post Feb 16 2006, 01:32 PM

57 posts

Dev aku tak berape ingat, tapi paan mmg aku ingat nama dia. Aku pun tatau korang blaja mana. Sape yg nampak aku kat Uniten ek? Paan ke? Aku dulu blaja Uniten, tapi dah abis dah. Final sem aku masa short sem 2005. Bulan 7 2005 aku dah boleh diconsider abis blaja dah, then aku sambung buat final year project aku sampai december 2005. Skrg tgh keje Panasonic.
RtP|DEV
post Feb 16 2006, 01:45 PM

266 posts

Hahaha..patut kitorang tgk ko waktu piala e-sukan mcm pernah nampak.Paan ngan apes blaja kt uniten.Aku pun dulu blaja kt uniten gak.hahaha...
6GDominator
post Feb 16 2006, 01:48 PM

ThE NeW SpAm KiNg~.~
3,407 posts

when is the tourney begins?
blankerroo
post Feb 16 2006, 02:12 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(RtP|DEV @ Feb 16 2006, 01:45 PM)
Hahaha..patut kitorang tgk ko waktu piala e-sukan mcm pernah nampak.Paan ngan apes blaja kt uniten.Aku pun dulu blaja kt uniten gak.hahaha...
Ooooh, aku pulak macam tak pernah nampak korang kat Uniten. Well, at least skrg dah tau la. Anyway, nanti join la. Tourney ni. The best is korang join yg weekn ni punye, 18 Feb sbb mana la tau kot2 final week tu nanti dah kurang sgt org join, takut diorang cancel je nanti.

QUOTE(6GDominator @ Feb 16 2006, 01:48 PM)
when is the tourney begins?
Please refer to my initial post in the 1st page. smile.gif
highwind
post Feb 17 2006, 11:50 PM

180 posts

Can someone update tomolo's results.........Thanks

RtP|DEV
post Feb 19 2006, 11:43 AM

266 posts

Haha, aku dah pergi tournament smlm.Tapi kenapa format tournament die set random kt form player.Mcm tak adil.Sepatutnya form player mana blh random, ape2 color pon blh asal bkn random(merah ke,kuning ke, xpon hijau).Kalau random tu mcm nasib la.
Waktu game kedua aku, Veron ngan Figo form color kelabu(aku guna Inter).Haha mmg nasib x baik.

Ni aku sediakan table form pro evo.Tapi ni pro evo 3 punye,pro evo5 aku blm jumpa lagi.

This post has been edited by RtP|DEV: Feb 19 2006, 11:47 AM

blankerroo
post Feb 19 2006, 02:19 PM

57 posts

So ko qualify ke tak DEV? Memang rasa cam kurang adil, tapi reason dia buat form random tu aku rasa sbb nak kasi semua org punye selection fair la. So kalo ada org pilih team yg lemah, dia still ada chance utk menang lawan team yg kuat.

Anyway, kalo veron & figo down, ganti la dgn org lain. Org lain pun boleh tahan gak ooo... tapi kalo ramai sgt down, mmg susah la. But takpe, in the end, skill ko gak yg matters.
RtP|DEV
post Feb 19 2006, 03:51 PM

266 posts

Aku nasib baik dlm satu grup 3 pergi.Aku no 3,cukup mkn aje.Hahaha.Nasib baik aku x dtg minggu lepas.Hhahaha.
Menang 3,Seri 2,kalah 1.

Ade 2 grup ari tu.Satu grup 7 org.Setiap grup 3 pergi.Kire 6 org la pergi ari tu.

cannavaro
post Feb 19 2006, 04:58 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

Their Winning Eleven 9 version is bloody outdated.
They should have used an option file to update the transfers and all.

Btw, I went with 4 friends. I didn't qualify. Damn.
I was in the second group with two of my friends.

Just wanna share a brief review of my results:

Inter 0 - 0 Barcelona (my friend, he's 4th)
Boring. I play with this guy almost every day during the past few weeks. So we know each other's tactics and whatnot. Heck, he even asked me for a draw.

Inter 0 - 3 AC Milan I (group champion)
It seemed like he's a friend of Mun Wai. Mun Wai was there. Well, actually I assumed it was Mun Wai, judging from the pictures of the previous WE tournament posted at Playworks. Mun Wai won this tournament last year, right?

Inter 3 - 1 Man Utd (last place)
This dude's formation is suicidal! 4-2-4, plus his ball control is bad. And he put the attackers way up the pitch. No wonder he got owned 6-0 by the group champion. But he managed a win against the other Inter.

Inter 2 - 2 AC Milan II (3rd place)
Ah, my best moment came during this game. I was 2-0 down. I cut the deficit with a header from a corner. And then, the moment that I was waiting for throughout the tournament came. He fouled me at the halfway line@center circle, and much to his surprise, I scored directly from the freekick, completing the comeback.

Inter 1 - 2 Inter II (2nd last place)
It was raining. How rare. I find this defeat hard to accept because my mates beat him and they said he should be easy meat for me.

Inter 1 - 2 AC Milan III (my friend, he's 2nd)
Yet another training mate. Boring.

I'll be back next week.
RtP|DEV
post Feb 19 2006, 05:38 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Feb 19 2006, 04:58 PM)
Their Winning Eleven 9 version is bloody outdated.
They should have used an option file to update the transfers and all.
Let me ask you mate.Does konami actually release an official patch?I never heard a patch released for a PS2 game.Those save files are not patch,theyre save file made by fan based community(correct me if im wrong).The WE 9 is not outdated,Playworks use WE9 as it is.

You may see many versions of WE9(the pirated version).But actually theres only 3 version of it.
*Winning Eleven 9-Japanese version
*Pro Evolution Soccer 5-European Version
*World Soccer Winning Eleven 9 International-US and the rest of the world.

If u live in europe,u wont see Winning Eleven sold in Game Shops.If u want Winning Eleven, u must go to shop that sell imported videogames.

My advice, play PES 5.Why?Bcoz ESWC use PES(the european version of WE).
Theres a high chance that ESWC this year will have Pro Evo as one of its official games.

Inter 2 - 2 AC Milan II (3rd place)
Ah, my best moment came during this game. I was 2-0 down. I cut the deficit with a header from a corner. And then, the moment that I was waiting for throughout the tournament came. He fouled me at the halfway line@center circle, and much to his surprise, I scored directly from the freekick, completing the comeback.

Hahaha,that Milan guy is my friend.He call that free kick a 'bug'.

This post has been edited by RtP|DEV: Feb 19 2006, 05:42 PM
blankerroo
post Feb 19 2006, 08:02 PM

57 posts

Cannavaro, outdated or not, the unpatched version is the "original" version, and to me, playing the original version is more important. Why? Becoz normally the patched versions, they even change the players' statistics and lineup. I don't want that to happen, coz I want to practice playing with the original lineup and player statistics. This is important coz just like DEV said, ESWC will use PES5 unpatched as 1 of its official games.

Good luck next week Cannavaro. If you qualify, we'll meet next Sunday!

DEV, ESWC considers PES as 1 of its official games. But unfortunately, ESWC "MALAYSIA" does not. Just look at what happened in ESWC Malaysia 2005: they didn't consider it as 1 of our official games. They only sent representatives for other games, such as Warcraft and CS. Totally unfair.

I really hope ESWC 2006 will have PES5 as its official game.
cannavaro
post Feb 19 2006, 09:39 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(RtP|DEV @ Feb 19 2006, 05:38 PM)
Let me ask you mate.Does konami actually release an official patch?I never heard a patch released for a PS2 game.Those save files are not patch,theyre save file made by fan based community(correct me if im wrong).The WE 9 is not outdated,Playworks use WE9 as it is.

You may see many versions of WE9(the pirated version).But actually theres only 3 version of it.
*Winning Eleven 9-Japanese version
*Pro Evolution Soccer 5-European Version
*World Soccer Winning Eleven 9 International-US and the rest of the world.

If u live in europe,u wont see Winning Eleven sold in Game Shops.If u want Winning Eleven, u must go to shop that sell imported videogames.

My advice, play PES 5.Why?Bcoz ESWC use PES(the european version of WE).
Theres a high chance that ESWC this year will have Pro Evo as one of its official games.
I know about the patches and all (I joined PESFAN and PESINSIGHT), but you left out one version - Winning Eleven 9 - J League version. Btw, their version is not 'as is'. It's actually a WE9 with the English patch. Oh and, last time Konami used to provide official stat updates for the WE series. You'd have to register with them or something, and it was only available in Japan. I don't know about now though.

Anyway, my main gripe is about the transfers.
I do play PES5. In fact, that's the only version I play at home. And I used to update the teams manually before I discovered the fans-made option files on the net. Even the kits are realistic, and I don't have to patch the game.

QUOTE(RtP|DEV)
Hahaha,that Milan guy is my friend.He call that free kick a 'bug'.
Wahahahah. He's seen it before eh? Btw, my other friend who was in your group did the same free kick against one guy. He lost the match 4-1 though. Do you happen to be that guy?
He also told me about another guy who laughed at him during the match. Hahaha.
Why don't you post a review of your matches?

QUOTE(blankerroo)
Cannavaro, outdated or not, the unpatched version is the "original" version, and to me, playing the original version is more important. Why? Becoz normally the patched versions, they even change the players' statistics and lineup. I don't want that to happen, coz I want to practice playing with the original lineup and player statistics. This is important coz just like DEV said, ESWC will use PES5 unpatched as 1 of its official games.
True, but it depends on which patch or option file used.
I'm not against updating the stats, as long as they're realistic (e.g. Messi deserves a stats update!). I mean, that's why Konami put the edit feature in the game.

Hmm.. for ESWC, I guess they can't use an updated option file even if they want to, due to legal reasons. The option file updates the kits and player names but Konami don't hold the complete license for that. Makes sense.

Thank you blankeroo! I'm hoping that only a few people will turn up this Saturday, heh heh.
blankerroo
post Feb 19 2006, 10:35 PM

57 posts

But you must also hope that at least enough people come next weekend so that they can host the competition. If not, there might be a possibility that something like what happened to my friend last year will happen again: he registered and came on the day of the qualifying match, but as it turned out, nobody else came, so the match on that day was cancelled and he got a refund. Tough luck...
RtP|DEV
post Feb 19 2006, 10:40 PM

266 posts

Wahahahah. He's seen it before eh? Btw, my other friend who was in your group did the same free kick against one guy. He lost the match 4-1 though. Do you happen to be that guy?

Yeah,thats me.What a freekick.
Btw, my friend actually kena twice,One from you & another one from a different match.Hahahaha...

highwind
post Feb 21 2006, 12:17 AM

180 posts

Guys, Im going this week..........anyone else going?

Hope it wont cancel...>.<

This post has been edited by highwind: Feb 21 2006, 12:17 AM
dirge3
post Feb 25 2006, 06:19 PM

28 posts

good luck...may de force b with u ... n GUNNERS ruleZ!!! thumbup.gif

cannavaro
post Feb 25 2006, 07:30 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

12 people registered for today's competition, and naturally they were split into two groups of 6. Top two from each group will proceed in the tournament. I was in the second group. I qualified, but I barely made it. It was pretty tight.

My group's standings:

1st place 11 points
2nd (me) 9 points
3rd 8 points
4th 7 points
5th (Can't remember)
6th No points

I had to wait till the last match of the day between the guy who eventually took 3rd place and the guy who got 4th to make sure of my qualification.

The pressure was intense. For my last match, I had to come back from 2-0 down early in the game to beat the guy who took 3rd place (blankeroo's friend), and victory was achieved with a sweet last minute goal.

And right after that, I was rooting for him to either beat or draw with his next opponent (4th). Thank god he won.

As for the first group, two of my friends took 1st and 2nd place respectively.

dirge3, do you happen to be the Arsenal guy who took 1st place in the second group?

This post has been edited by cannavaro: Feb 25 2006, 07:34 PM
blankerroo
post Feb 25 2006, 07:38 PM

57 posts

See you guys tomorrow! My nick there will be my real name, Nikman. What are your nicks, btw? Good luck, may the best man win tomorrow! smile.gif
cannavaro
post Feb 27 2006, 12:27 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

So who won? I left after the quarterfinals.

For the QF, I do know that blankeroo won 4-2. From 2 goals down mind you. (Inter vs Inter)

Effy won 2-0. (Juventus vs Arsenal)

Effy's friend lost 1-3. (Milan vs Inter)

And a guy who used Man Utd won 1-0 against... Milan I think?

blankerroo
post Feb 27 2006, 12:46 AM

57 posts

In the quarterfinal, I won 4-2 against Safrol (his nick is DEV in this forum). Effy won 2-0 against someone (forgot his name - a Chinese, if I'm not mistaken). Effy's friend Nazmin lost 1-3 to another person (refer to him as Person A hereafter). The guy who used Man U (refer to him as Person B) won 1-0.

In semifinal, I won 5-4 on penalties with Effy, after drawing with him 1-1. Person B won against Person A 1-0.

In 3rd-4th placing, Effy won 3-2 against Person A.

In final, Person B won 3-1 against me. Boohoo! sad.gif

Anyway, I won RM200. Person B won RM500. Effy won RM100 I think.

Good game everyone! Next time when you guys hear anymore tournaments, don't forget to inform us all here, like how Supa Depo and I did. smile.gif

This post has been edited by blankerroo: Feb 27 2006, 08:00 PM
RtP|DEV
post Feb 27 2006, 02:03 PM

266 posts

Wakahkahkah.....blankeroo istanbuled me.Im satisfied with my result.Never expect myself to go that far.I gain lots of experience in this tournament.Compared to Zzap & plaza alam central,this is the best tourney ive entered so far.Hope there will be Pro Evo in ESWC.

blankerroo
post Feb 27 2006, 08:01 PM

57 posts

There will be Pro Evo in ESWC (only it will be the PC version lah). But the question is whether there will be Pro Evo in ESWC MALAYSIA. Last year, PES4 was in ESWC 2005, but PES4 wasn't in ESWC Malaysia 2005...
dirge3
post Feb 28 2006, 02:44 PM

28 posts

darn... guess it's man utd's week ...lol.
nice meeting u cannavaro, nikman... were u in de group d as well? think i played against u in de final group game... arghhh... lost 2-1 ... must b hangover effect frm de morale-dampening arsenal loss to blackburn.
well certainly hope to meet u all again on de pitch.
<arsenal - lost in transition :| - bt will strikes back!! biggrin.gif>
cannavaro
post Mar 1 2006, 04:56 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

Nice meeting you too dirge3. What's your overall result?
I think I got the last place in our group, with only 3 points from 3 draws.
Btw, what formation did you use?

Yeah Nikman was the other Inter, with the 2 wingers playing really wide. Did you get own3d by the wingers? laugh.gif
blankerroo
post Mar 1 2006, 07:32 PM

57 posts

Hehe. I like putting those 2 wingers wide, so that I can counter-attack as soon as I get the ball when defending. By putting them very wide, when I counter-attack, the wingers will be free from any defenders, and I can just pass an overhead thru ball to them with ease. smile.gif

But that doesn't mean my goals are from crosses all the time. I also score goals via midfield. It's just that the wingers are the starting point of my attack: from them, I can either pass to the middle, or continue dribbling on the sidelines and cross.

If you look at my players' stamina bar, my wingers would be the ones that will lose stamina first before all the other players. wink.gif
dirge3
post Mar 2 2006, 05:08 PM

28 posts

mua gt 2 wins 2 draws n 1 loss. qualifying was 4 wins, 1 loss. my formation was 4-3-3. supposed to b de ultimate formation!! ( okok... everyone probably think theirs is de one...lol...) nt bad ... bt gt exposed a few times... demm... need some tweaking n more training. certainly nt used to both ur formation cannavaro n nikman... haha...

for u guys info... there might b another tournament in april... will update here later wen gt more info... hehehe... REVENGE WILL B MINE!!!
blankerroo
post Mar 2 2006, 07:04 PM

57 posts

Good2 chuah... tell us more about the tournament. If possible, just tell us where that tournament will be. At least we can plan whether we can easily come there or not. smile.gif
mywufi
post Apr 1 2006, 09:17 PM

56 posts

got any pictures kaaa??
blankerroo
post Apr 2 2006, 02:55 AM

57 posts

Pictures of Sunway Playworks Tournament? Don't have la. But you can go to their shop there. I think they should've already posted the pictures.
crimsonhead
post Apr 14 2006, 07:55 AM

One Of A Kind
2,261 posts

ada tournament lagi ke? i nak main.
nakata101
post Apr 14 2006, 08:12 AM

*******(PES&WE)******* Play Like Champion
2,423 posts

Blankerroo, so jealous u guys, can meet each others to play togather, i only can play online with u guys b4.
I m still live at Kedah now, maybe if got any bigs tournament (Big price), try pm me, i will like to plan to come to join tournament. 1-2 days to finish all game will suitable for me....if long term 1, dun pm me, ok!! tongue.gif

0.0304sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:04 AM