Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread v16

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 10 2012, 09:01 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Aug 10 2012, 08:47 PM)
I have great animosity towards silicone of any type. TPU I like.

Initial impressions:

1) Faxion is fatter (thicker, harder TPU), NeoHyb is thinner.
2) Faxion is better built, NeoHybrid is rougher around the edges. No button issues with the Faxion, altough the bottom mic hole is not 100% properly aligned.
3) Faxion has less lip around the screen. But the lip is smooth not rough like the NeoHyb.
4) Faxion offers much less grip compared to the NeoHybrid (especially my modded one). Even the TPU area is smooth.
nice review but uh.... any chance for a video review ? sorry bit spoiled on utube sweat.gif
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 10 2012, 09:12 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(RedDevils88 @ Aug 10 2012, 09:08 PM)
search the youtube there are plenty there
this one ?

hmm.gif

Added on August 10, 2012, 9:14 pm
QUOTE(RedDevils88 @ Aug 10 2012, 09:09 PM)
its not only a week old. they will change it on the same day or on the spot if there are not many people Q-ing

Added on August 10, 2012, 9:12 pmhttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bt2l5g_3w48&feature=g-all-u

SuperNexus
here i teach you how to fix that

nod.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Aug 10 2012, 09:14 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 10 2012, 10:13 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Aug 10 2012, 09:48 PM)
I'm from the pictars and words generation. Not quite comfortable with videos lol.
cry.gif
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 10 2012, 11:44 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(Xabrius @ Aug 10 2012, 11:03 PM)
Hey I just saw this
And this is crazy
If you see anyone selling this
PM me maybe?

add: It's a HDC Galaxy S3
it's nice it has 2 sim card slots HOWEVER i would pay better attention to the other specs such as cpu, gpu, ram, display screen, camera and all those other hardware.

And even after that, you got to ask, will this clone device be able to make use of the roms and third party applications there, namely ones made for the very popular S3 ? If not then i don't think it's worth it, even if the hardware was slightly better.

I like modding/tweaking and if it can't then really not worth it imho hmm.gif

PS: how are you going to claim warranty if something happens ? You think a chinese clone manufacture cares ? Their not even afraid of getting sued by Samsung for copying them, what are the chances their warranty exists rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Aug 10 2012, 11:45 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 11 2012, 02:13 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(ezmeer94 @ Aug 11 2012, 02:04 PM)
google the crack version biggrin.gif thumbup.gif
thumbup.gif
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 11 2012, 04:36 PM

4,456 posts

Playstation 3 wireless controller being used with the S3

As nice and easy to use the controls on the s3 touch screen, the game controller really feels better especially for non ported android game roms using emulators.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...e=search_result

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Aug 11 2012, 04:44 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 11 2012, 05:29 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Aug 11 2012, 05:22 PM)
If I check for update using phone, and it always said no new update wor. So I thought I'm on the test firmware until yesterday I connect to my computer using kies for the first time, kies told me I there is new update available. However, if I check using my phone, and it still said no new update. My current build is IMM76D.I9300XXBLG1
check this out

OTA Update Center – Someone (Finally) Got it Right
POSTED AUGUST 8, 2012 AT 7:30 PM BY FALLENWRITER

The dichotomy between custom ROM developers and OEMs has always been interesting. In the early days, developers focused on the major issues that plagued Android: smoothing out the UI, overclocking, memory management, etc. With many of these issues now resolved, developers have begun to focus on adding features that will enhance the user experience and take Android development to the next level. One such feature is the ability for custom ROM developers to seamlessly push OTA (Over The Air) updates to their users.

For a dev to do OTA updates currently, he (or she) would need to have his own hosting infrastructure in place. What the crew with OTA Update Center has done is centralize the entire process into a free, easy to use service that takes the legwork out of the equation. The result is a centralized system that features:

Add and remove OTA Updates in a centralised database.
Check for updates on boot of devices.
Check for updates manually when the person wants to.
Download the rom and flash it directly.
Download the rom without flashing.
Wipe data and or cache/dalvik before flashing the update.

Did I mention that the crew behind this service does not charge for it? So what are you waiting for? If you’re a ROM developer looking to take your game to the next level, head on over to the original thread or to the OTA Update Center homepage. Of course this wouldn’t be possible without the amazing team behind the service, so if you’re interested in contributing have a look at their credits page.

Source:
http://www.bgr.com/2012/08/10/ota-update-c...id-custom-roms/

flex.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Aug 11 2012, 05:33 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 11 2012, 05:44 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Aug 11 2012, 05:33 PM)
I'm still using stock rom

well in that case ...

if your phone is rooted, and you still want to use stock, then you could try OTA rootkeeper

alternatively there is also this

Sammobile
Everything for your Samsung Mobile. Keeps you updated with the latest rumors and firmwares.

Features
* Get notification when a firmware is uploaded
* Browse the forum
* Get the latest news/rumors
* Read our Twitter channels
* Get the latest info of your current firmware (SamFit)

hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Aug 11 2012, 05:55 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 11 2012, 05:56 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Aug 11 2012, 05:50 PM)
Y? I still happy with stock rom lor.
scroll up, i updated with some suggestions for your situation brows.gif
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 11 2012, 06:03 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Aug 11 2012, 05:56 PM)
he not saying batt packs, he is talking battery, which is = "take out cover and put in" battery, not the external battery
there is also something like this that can piggy back the s3 to provide an extra battery
http://www.alibaba.com/product-gs/59922007...alaxy_mini.html

looks ugly as hell though rolleyes.gif
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 11 2012, 08:02 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Aug 11 2012, 06:30 PM)
I don't quite understand.... Yes, I rooted my phone but what to do with root keeper and ota blocker? Sorry, I this is my first Android phone, just a newbie.... Can u explain further?
well if you go to the app link at googleplay i provided, it tells in detail what it does.

ota rootkeeper = is good if you root your phone, and also plan to use stock firmware. so whenever you update your stock firmware, you won't lose root. and that is the purpose of this app.

the 2nd is sort of the same thing. it blocks ota from auto updating your firmware, and keeps your root intact.

but of course if you never rooted your phone, then those 2 apps are hardly useful for you.

and finally the third app, is an easy way to know when firmware releases for the S3 are out asap. thats pretty much all that does.

By the way did anyone see this s3 case ? Got attitude sia laugh.gif lulz..

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Aug 11 2012, 08:04 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 11 2012, 10:17 PM

4,456 posts

if there were still any doubts about gorrila glass v2, well you can lay them to rest

This fella open the iphone 4 and samsung galaxy s3 straight out from box, and recorded putting them to a drag race from start to finish. so there is zero doubt it was legit, and just goes to show

samsung galaxy s3 > iphone 4 nod.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Aug 11 2012, 10:39 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 11 2012, 10:40 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(Sky04 @ Aug 11 2012, 10:28 PM)
guys.. is this normal?

I used TB batch files to "backup user apps and system data"

after flash another ROM, I restore using TB "Restore user apps and system data"

However, after restore, I open my game and found out that I need to download the files all over again, is this normal? For example, I need to download the files for Real racing 2 again when I open the apps.

I thought TB is suppose to restore those files as well?
my recent restore using tb pro using the image screenshot method, everything worked except for FF3 which i had to reinstall.

however ff1 and other games worked fine hmm.gif
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 11 2012, 11:53 PM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ Aug 11 2012, 11:24 PM)
tongue.gif Actually how many S3 user here got using anti virus apps ? biggrin.gif
I just keep look around for standby due to keep trying many apps for my S3.
Any suggestion ?
avast very good works really well on rooted android.

kaspersky is also good, but loses simply because it cannot be installed into the root where avast suceeds in doing. avast is free and kaspersky is not.
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 12 2012, 12:08 AM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(RedDevils88 @ Aug 12 2012, 12:04 AM)
to those who just got their phone and are new to android. Download LBE for privacy monitoring and Cerberus. you wont regret using them smile.gif
Then, I googled for information on LBE, and found this:
[APP][ROOT] LBE Privacy Guard - Most Powerful privacy protection app for Android - Page 48 - xda-developers
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...92#post20886092

Apparently LBE mines user data and is quite shady about doing it, and it also does not like being uninstalled. I suspect LBE made some low-level changes to the permission. It seems to me that everything else (i.e., every new install) has been blocked and denied permission... except LBE itself.

sweat.gif

i use avast and anti spyware pro and ad away for my security.

PS: avast offers the same features as cereberus, so no point having cereberus. i'm not doubting it's good, but if avast is equally as effective, then why install an additional app which by the way cost money to use ? hmm.gif

And LBE is too fishy, i don't trust using it sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Aug 12 2012, 12:13 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 12 2012, 12:14 AM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(RedDevils88 @ Aug 12 2012, 12:12 AM)
thanks for ur info regarding LBE. but do check out Cerberus  smile.gif
No problemo notworthy.gif

yeah i just check a minute ago

it's good but essentially it's the same as what avast can do.

avast got
1. firewall
2. anti virus
3. anti spyware
4. same feature as cereberus to lockdown your device from unauthorized usage. can find the phone remotely via gps, etc. criminal cannot even wipe the data or view it as it is encrypted and installed in the root. removing the sim card without the passkey also automatically locks down the phone.

and whats amazing is, it's free shocking.gif simply boggles the mind.

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Aug 12 2012, 12:17 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 12 2012, 12:34 AM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(RedDevils88 @ Aug 12 2012, 12:24 AM)
not sure about Avast's anti theft but check out some videos on Cerberus. another thing is that for rooted devices, u can install it using CWM and it will be an built in app. a full wipe cant destroy it. it has a disguised name too  thumbup.gif
avast does that too nod.gif here is a youtube of it in action which explains fully what avast anti-theft feature is capable of.

he didn't quite mention encryption, but it's there nod.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Aug 12 2012, 12:39 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 12 2012, 12:40 AM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(emy_xvidia @ Aug 12 2012, 12:31 AM)
Supernexus Build 2, at time of writing this, is being uploaded. Anyone wanna try this? Looks good, just maybe I'd prefer some of the Samsung features to be in it. Any way to inject those features in the .zip?
what are you talking about ? hmm.gif
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 12 2012, 12:45 AM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Aug 12 2012, 12:40 AM)
Flashing a new ROM destroys EVERYTHING.

Sadly we can't lock CWM recovery/download mode with a password. THAT would be bawse.

But amongst the tracking/anti theft apps I've used, Cerebrus is the undisputed champ. Samsung Dive (or anything else for that matter) pales in comparison.

As for anti viruses, lol. Yes, malware IS an issue on Android, but eff, YOU ARE PRESENTED WITH A PERMISSIONS LIST WHEN INSTALLING STUFF, CHECK IT.

I DO agree it helps for people who can't be bothered to check though - though myself I can do without the extra resource drain. Plus, got funny business happening to your phone? Nandroid restore lar. This is why taking 10 minutes a WEEK to backup helps.
i mean generally speaking, most people are like kyle from south park. they tend to just click okay for everything even if the permission list is told them right to their face.

i do check a bit the permissions, and okay it. but i would later re-review it using anti spyware pro which will remind me which apps exactly have fishy permission rights, which i will double check against the googleplay permission rights for the app to confirm it's correct, as well as check forum for what other users are talking about those fishy permission rights.

for example smartstay ex recent needed internet connectivity, why ? so the author finally removed that after people complained why unecessary permissions are required.

Anyway i also recommend this app because if there is anything funny on your phone, there will usually be outgoing traffic to the hackers server. so this is an easy way to quickly identify whether internet traffic from your phone is legit or whether your device was compromised.
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...rackerpro&hl=en

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Aug 12 2012, 12:47 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Aug 12 2012, 12:49 AM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(emy_xvidia @ Aug 12 2012, 12:46 AM)
like, injecting features like Smart Stay, motions into an AOSP ROM like the SuperNexus la  laugh.gif
are you talking about importing the nexus jelly bean firmware into the samsung galaxy s3 ? was that your meaning ?

Also if you want smartstay there is already an app that does this

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0425sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:40 PM