QUOTE(Naraw @ Aug 9 2012, 12:18 AM)
i'm using latest wanamlite 2.1 rom and siyah kernel 1.4 they are compatible with each other, and no problem so far Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread v16
Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread v16
Aug 9 2012, 12:20 AM
4,456 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Aug 9 2012, 12:24 AM
This moborobo app is damn good. can even screencap my phone home
![]() i'm using it to move files between my pc and the android phone sd internal card. |
Aug 9 2012, 12:35 AM
Aug 9 2012, 01:54 AM
Aug 9 2012, 03:59 AM
Aug 9 2012, 05:09 PM
QUOTE(silentser @ Aug 9 2012, 02:18 AM) nope. no need. okay i tried it out, airdroid is FRIGGIN AMAZING !! open the app, go to browser, type in web.airdroid.com, capture the qr code. tadaaa you in, https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...e=search_result But i am very surprised it's free, because the software seems very good This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Aug 9 2012, 05:10 PM |
Aug 9 2012, 05:23 PM
QUOTE(bearbearhong @ Aug 9 2012, 05:20 PM) my s3 has been charging for almost 1 hour and battery remained at 69% and out of sudden dropped to 68% see the battery monitor and see which app during that duration of drain is using the most power.anything wrong with its battery? i have cleared all running apps and also restart twice the device... fed up then check the settings for the program such as sync and gps which are usually the culprits of battery drain. also check on googleplay other user comments about the battery life of the app whether they are also having the same issues. i saw a few batter monitoring apps but i too am still unsure which is the best/accurate For example this betterbatterystats app https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...e=search_result This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Aug 9 2012, 05:30 PM |
Aug 9 2012, 05:31 PM
QUOTE(RedDevils88 @ Aug 9 2012, 05:25 PM) i still think PowerAMP does a better job even on Siyah's kernel. im using Treble booster. i'm using player prothe bass is so solid on PowerAMP usign default Headsets https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...e=search_result |
Aug 9 2012, 05:34 PM
QUOTE(kimwee85 @ Aug 9 2012, 05:24 PM) i am also one of the owner of S3. Bought it 2 weeks ago. I damn like the phone. But still havent get cover for my S3. Any intro for all the S3 owner here? well if you hold down menu button (the middle button right at the bottom) until a menu pops up, you can then press on task manager and end the tasks to force close running apps.Actually how to clear the running apps(TouchWiz) ? quite new to the phone. for automation for force closing apps periodically, people use apps like easy task killer https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...e=search_result i'm also using that in conjunction with easy battery saver which automatically turns off services like wifi, gps and other power sucking features when not in use https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...e=search_result Added on August 9, 2012, 5:34 pm QUOTE(kimwee85 @ Aug 9 2012, 05:24 PM) i am also one of the owner of S3. Bought it 2 weeks ago. I damn like the phone. But still havent get cover for my S3. Any intro for all the S3 owner here? well if you hold down menu button (the middle button right at the bottom) until a menu pops up, you can then press on task manager and end the tasks to force close running apps.Actually how to clear the running apps(TouchWiz) ? quite new to the phone. for automation for force closing apps periodically, people use apps like easy task killer https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...e=search_result i'm also using that in conjunction with easy battery saver which automatically turns off services like wifi, gps and other power sucking features when not in use https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...e=search_result This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Aug 9 2012, 05:34 PM |
Aug 9 2012, 05:49 PM
QUOTE(bearbearhong @ Aug 9 2012, 05:43 PM) thanks bro, problem is the device showed charging, but battery percentage remained at 69% for more then hours and now, it start dropping to 68% then 67% during charging ? thats very weird .... checked d battery usage, nothing wrong, the most goes to cell standy. were you using the phone while it was charging by any chance ? if you got usb3 ports you could try siyah's kernel that has this feature QUOTE increased usb charging current limit in STweaks to 900mA for those who have USB3 ports. This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Aug 9 2012, 05:50 PM |
Aug 9 2012, 06:10 PM
QUOTE(bearbearhong @ Aug 9 2012, 05:56 PM) using usb chargin my phone, later will try use ori wall charger. fed up, this is 2nd time i encounter battery issue, last was when the fon is 2 weeks+. i've been using usb charger on a usb2 port, haven't had any issues if problem persist, i am going to samsung tomorrow. greatly disappointed for the hassle it brings to me maybe you got a bad one ? |
Aug 9 2012, 07:17 PM
QUOTE While Galaxy S3 owners everywhere are anxiously waiting for Samsung and its carrier partners to roll out the Android 4.1 Jelly Bean update for the device – which is rumored to arrive in late Q3 / early Q4 – Samsung has gone ahead and did release an over-the-air (OTA) update for the Galaxy S3, but unfortunately it just brings a new baseband to the device. The update is available to international Galaxy S3 GT-i9300 users and measures just 1MB in size – the only thing the update addresses is the baseband of the device, which is now up to version XXLH1. Why the need of a radio firmware update? In case you don’t remember, the Galaxy S3 is affected by a “battery drain issue” in certain international markets – which is not a real problem, as it has been explained. This isn’t the first time Samsung rolls out stability updates for the Galaxy S3, and we especially remember the previous similar updates that were released in the U.S. to cripple the Search feature of the phone, following a couple of ban sales that Apple scored in the U.S. against the Galaxy Nexus smartphone and Galaxy Tab 10.1 tablet. The same dumb search update has been made available to international users, but Samsung later deemed the whole thing as a mistake and corrected the issue. In case you have received the new update, let us know whether it fixes the “battery drain issue.” Source: http://www.androidauthority.com/internatio...related-106761/ This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Aug 9 2012, 07:21 PM |
Aug 9 2012, 09:18 PM
QUOTE(jcksn81 @ Aug 9 2012, 08:43 PM) previously i use Wanamlite v2.0 my battery life usage pretty awesome... whereas i am using wanamlite 2.1 and siyah 1.4 today i upgrade to Wanamlite v2.1 + Siyah v1.5 beta i can feel my phone batt drain faster compare with when i use Wanamlite v2.0.... So now i flash back only use Wanamlite v2.1 ... hopefully is as good as v.2.0 battery perfomance... i'm using betterbarttery stats app, so will to wait a few days to get enough stats to diagnose what is draining the power the most and tweaking that Added on August 9, 2012, 9:20 pm QUOTE(Eiraku @ Aug 9 2012, 08:53 PM) Siyah is pretty customizable. You can set it up to save battery if you want. one thing i noticed was, triangle away status works when i got the siyah kernel installed.But I agree it's pretty mafan. Wanam's stockmod XLG9 kernel is great anyway, so why bother? I'm sticking with Siyah for the NTFS and the Swap support, otherwise the butter of Stockmod is pretty tempting. also siyah kernel has better support for betterbattery stats app. so there are indeed reasons why using siyah kernel is better than just sticking to wanamlite's which although good, does not have these sorts of support that siyah's offers. This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Aug 9 2012, 09:20 PM |
Aug 9 2012, 11:56 PM
QUOTE(CuriOu5 @ Aug 9 2012, 11:53 PM) I got notification that there is a upgrade. Tried to update but has error message after the reboot. Reason being my phone is rooted. Error message see below. to remove counter use triangle away My current baseband is I9300DXLE9 and my counter is 2. How can I upgrade the firmware without unrooting or do a factory reset as I do not want to reinstall all the apps again. I would wait for the Jellybean released if i have to do a factory restore. from what i've read online, if you doing a fresh install for rom, you should via recovery CFM 1. factory reset 2. clear cache 3. clear dalvik before selecting install zip from your internal sd and selecting the rom you want to upgrade/downgrade to. If your only changing kernel, you only need to 1. clear cache 2. clear dalvik If you want a sure fire way to restore your apps and settings after a factory reset, it's really a simple and easy matter. Follow these steps: 1. download and install titanium backup pro 2. run it and do a full backup of app+data 3. do a quick verification that the backup files are without errors (optional but i recommend it) 4. then do the factory reset/clear cache/clear dalvik/upgrade rom via recovery. and reboot once completed. 5. when S3 is booted up, install titanium backup and run it 6. using titanium backup use the recover app+data option, wait for the process to complete. once done, reboot your phone. 7. everything should be recovered, but if you are unsure, double check your apps load fine, and setting is how they originally were. It's no big deal honestly If you nilly dilly upgrade without doing proper steps of course there will be bugs. But if you do it properly your data will be safe from harm, and the upgrade process will be bug free This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Aug 10 2012, 12:02 AM |
Aug 10 2012, 12:03 AM
QUOTE(CuriOu5 @ Aug 9 2012, 11:59 PM) no effects. it simply reset the binary back to 0. so when you want to claim warranty, of course you got to unroot and restore back to the stock rom, and do a factory reset.the samsung people will check if you tampered with the device, and will see the counter showing a 0 proving it wasn't tampered with. so you get your warranty as they cannot prove that you had tampered with it Added on August 10, 2012, 12:04 am QUOTE(Xabrius @ Aug 10 2012, 12:02 AM) don't temp me a-hole j/k nice pic as nice as that is, i'm content with the S3. The only thing that will truly top the S3 is next years S4 which may possible have the following tech OpenGL ES 3.0 http://www.androidauthority.com/khronos-an...ication-106050/ ARM Mali T600 GPUs http://www.androidauthority.com/tag/mali-t604/ Samsung Exynos 5 Dual (5250): world’s first Cortex A15 SoC http://www.androidauthority.com/samsung-ex...eatures-106609/ In summary QUOTE Some of the most important features of the newly unveiled Exynos 5250 are: Dual-core 1.7 Ghz Cortex A15 CPU Mali T604 GPU OpenGL ES 3.0 OpenCL 1.1 full profile Support for WXQGA displays Wi-Fi display support 12.8 GB/s memory bandwidth with 2 port 800 Mhz LPDDR3 RAM support 1080p 60 FPS video performance and VP8 codec decoder USB 3.0 support Samsung S3 is capped at 30 fps. The new Exynos Cortex A15 will have a 60 fps not to mention a stronger powered and more energy efficient GPU, and CPU to boot. Lets also not forget OpenGL ES 3.0 will provide a better framework for gaming graphics as there will be higher quality graphics games making good use of high compression algorithms. If you thought the S3 is good now (which it is), next years Samsung smartphones (possible the S4) will have these new tech, making video playback for movies, and even games that much better than in 2012. This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Aug 10 2012, 12:17 AM |
Aug 10 2012, 12:13 AM
QUOTE(Xabrius @ Aug 10 2012, 12:06 AM) i updated my reply with more info with further explanation why i'm not too worried about this year products since getting S3, when knowing that 2013 will be the year to be looking out for the next phase in smartphone leap in performance and features Post #1150 This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Aug 10 2012, 12:15 AM |
Aug 10 2012, 12:19 AM
QUOTE(Xabrius @ Aug 10 2012, 12:16 AM) I got S3. as for the other stuff i mentioned, they aren't even released yet the only thing that would make 2013 stuff even better is if they added wigig. Because already there are some wigig routers available already in 2012, but no wigig smartphones just yet also that said i keep to a firm 5 year upgrade cycle. not rich enough to upgrade too often. But i think S3 was worth the purchase because it really was a jack of all trades and made smartphone that more practical. but i do think that 2013 would have been a even better in terms of features, and more future proofed compared to in 2012. but i don't want to wait that long For example, with the upcoming spec features i mentioned coming in 2013, the ability of the android smartphone to stream via wireless 1080p content would be even more smoother. Not to mention games would be way better looking as well. This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Aug 10 2012, 12:29 AM |
Aug 10 2012, 03:34 AM
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Aug 10 2012, 01:21 AM) 5 year upgrade cycle. my friend he bought an ios iphone 4 before the android craze. he still stuck on a 2 year contract, ouch ... Nowadays you're lucky if you can hold on to the same device for more than 2 years. 2 years is the absolute limit of obsolescence IMHO. But, like you said, we all have financial constraints. It helps that I gave up upgrading my computer lol - I'm still rocking a 5 year old Dell M1210 as my primary + a free netbook I picked up somewhere. It's sad, I know. But I RARELY need a computer to do stuff anymore. Except maybe writing (in which case the Netbook is more than enough). I mean, my PHONE has more cores than my computer(s) lol. And, yes, the new Exynos is pure sex. and speaking of practical uses, i'm also finding that i more often now can leave my desktop pc, and go sit on my couch in the living room and browse the web via my android All that while i watch the olympics in my living room this is more then just a phone, it's an all in one mobile pc compact tablet hand held of sorts Added on August 10, 2012, 3:35 am QUOTE(Eiraku @ Aug 10 2012, 02:07 AM) Just ordered a couple of Mercury Color Screens in Black from Gmarket. Got a few spares too if anybody's interested. can self upgrade from 1gb to 2gb meh ? What to do. Sammy dun wanna put 2GB RAM into S3, we make swap. Sammy dun wanna make Black S3, we make one ourselves lar lol. And 3M, Y U MAKE NO ESTOC FOR S3? This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Aug 10 2012, 03:41 AM |
Aug 10 2012, 04:52 PM
that 10% discount for one day only by Samsung because LCW won a silver medal at olympics, brought the Samsung Galaxy S3 prices down to Rm 1.8k .....
*hang self x_x; |
Aug 10 2012, 07:59 PM
This is the best method to download torrents via the S3 assuming you have a QNAP Nas (which i do
QNAP needs Transmission QPKG http://forum.qnap.com/viewtopic.php?f=221&t=44999 Your S3 android phone needs Transmission Remote https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...e=search_result How it works is, torrents you want to download can be chosen from your android S3 phone and forward the download request to the transmission client that runs on the QNAP NAS. Why do this ? Because you can download torrent data directly to your QNAP NAS which has boat loads of storage space How are you going to view your videos if your downloads are on the QNAP though ? Simple. Use BubbleUPNP android app, and plex media server QPKG This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Aug 10 2012, 08:01 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0421sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:50 AM |