Proton PrevĂ© V14, Turbocharged Car; Supercharged Thread

G K Lai
post Aug 3 2012, 02:57 PM

839 posts

Hi all,

Does anyone noticed or heard a very soft sound from the engine bay after the engine is off and the fan also off?

Went home from about 20 minutes drive, parked the car, locked the car, the fan continue spinning to cool the engine down. Then I come back to the car at around 10 to 15 minutes later, the fan already stopped, I disarmed the alarm, open the engine booth cover, I can hear a very soft sound, something like a static or similar sound that we also can heard from old electronic component vibrating. Not as exaggerate as fluorescent light's ballast vibrating, but very light "bzzzzzzzz....." type of sound. Hard to describe laugh.gif maybe similar to old capacitor's sound?

Is that the sound of coolant still circulating? Are there any electric motor still working? All turbo kit have this sound? Anyway, the sound totally disappeared when I check back about 20 or 30 minutes later.

I noticed this since last Sunday, until today I put my ear near to the front grill and I hear it again. hmm.gif

Not meant to worrying anything, but just curious which component still working after we stopped the engine. smile.gif

Added on August 3, 2012, 2:58 pm
QUOTE(rich8833 @ Aug 3 2012, 02:29 PM)
small bomba truck can squeeze in traffic also...
Hahaha.... laugh.gif
How many HP this small car? Can carry so many people? flex.gif

This post has been edited by G K Lai: Aug 3 2012, 02:58 PM
G K Lai
post Aug 3 2012, 10:10 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Aug 3 2012, 03:28 PM)
The sound you hear is like water being pour onto a hot surface right?
That is the sound of the electric water pump. Its cooling down the turbo. The fan will on together with the water pump, only if its very hot. But if its not, then only the water pump will on.
Yes, WhitE LighteR, I think you are right about sound from electric pump, wow your car knowledge so good! thumbup.gif
About the type of sound, I think not similar to water on hot surface, that will be like frying vegetable or sound of steam. laugh.gif To what I heard, it sound like robotic servo motor? brows.gif

I did this test on fuel consumption:
I tried to be heavy foot for the last 2 tanks (RON95), although don't have chance to do it on all occasion, but I think I did it for 50% of time. The result are, not really a big difference on FC, maybe 10KM less mileage but not sure if it is due to heavy foot or other reasons (traffic jam frequencies etc...). Maybe my FC already high, so occasional heavy foot doesn't really affect my FC much. laugh.gif
G K Lai
post Aug 4 2012, 11:03 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(rich8833 @ Aug 4 2012, 08:37 AM)
Gooood morninnnng all the  wub.gif  wub.gif
some new technology news...any one want to place order ? RM4 MILLION ONLY>>

Good morning all, happy weekend!

I want to buy the girl only, how much? laugh.gif
G K Lai
post Aug 11 2012, 02:49 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(fulat @ Aug 11 2012, 01:05 PM)
betul... i cut for u tonight if i am meeting u both.. pm me your number and steven..
Bro fulat, no wonder... I almost want to ask why whenever I drive around 110-120km/h and want to accelerate more, I find the pedal very difficult to press, in fact I need to step on the pedal very hard. By the way, how you found this out? rclxms.gif
G K Lai
post Aug 12 2012, 03:39 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(fulat @ Aug 11 2012, 02:52 PM)
some owner here mentioned before on the earlier post.. on v7 i think...
Hi bro fulat, I just examined the pedal (carpet blocking throttle pedal), and was wonder if you only need to cut the coilmat carpet or the thick carpet on the "floor"? Which carpet to cut and how to cut? I'm sorry but I search with many terms but still can't find the information. Thanks in advance! smile.gif icon_question.gif
G K Lai
post Aug 12 2012, 11:11 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(arthur88 @ Aug 12 2012, 10:58 PM)
bro, can u come back to August 2012?
Hahaha..... laugh.gif rclxms.gif
G K Lai
post Aug 13 2012, 12:16 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(arthur88 @ Aug 12 2012, 11:13 PM)
bro, u didnt come to penang TT....T___T
My time mostly occupied by my chindren, their study, their tuition etc (yes, even no Sunday for me).... cry.gif
G K Lai
post Aug 17 2012, 07:48 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Aug 17 2012, 05:53 PM)
no proper place to mount the spring. have to mount it senget like tht. makes it got krek krek krek sound when operating.

Added on August 17, 2012, 5:55 pm
if u need to open the boot during rain. makes a diff meh if got spring or not. still wet ma. if u dun wan it to fully open then hold using ur hand can d lo laugh.gif
This thing very useful to me. Countless times both of my hands full of bags, box etc... pressed the remote control and it open up, no need to put the things on the dirty/wet floor. smile.gif I agreed it has disadvantage too, but for my usage, this helps me more than giving me trouble. I use the trunk boot 3-4 times a day. tongue.gif rclxms.gif
G K Lai
post Aug 18 2012, 01:25 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Aug 17 2012, 07:56 PM)
ok i manage to find the krek krek krek sound comes from where already.

Great share! Thank you WhitE LighteR! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by G K Lai: Aug 18 2012, 01:25 PM
G K Lai
post Aug 20 2012, 10:51 AM

839 posts

What a tragic news after not check back this thread for 2 days... ohmy.gif
Don't even have the chance to pray for bro fulat... sad.gif
RIP bro fulat and my condolence to Mrs. fulat and family.
We will always remember bro fulat and never forget his tutor and contribution to the group and friends.
G K Lai
post Aug 22 2012, 01:07 AM

839 posts

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Aug 21 2012, 03:55 PM)
Dear all,

The VP of PREVOC, FenomX and I has just finish paying our last respect to our great fulat at a funeral parlour at the outskirt of KL. Sorry, no pics was taken because our late bro here hates taking pictures.

Softbunny is a very strong woman and on behalf of fulat, she hope that we accept it and move on in our lives just like her. Continue to cherish our lives and also the people surrounding us. No tears was shed (physically) because our bro fulat wants us all to be always happy.

Sincerely,
Ken [V12Kompressor]
Thank you V12 (Mr. Ken)! nod.gif rclxms.gif

0.0552sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 09:54 AM